132 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

Coffee lover please come in

wshazi
post Mar 8 2015, 10:28 AM

23 posts

I'm considering home roasting too.

However, as I found out, getting green bean in Malaysia is a problem. U need AP to import them. Please let me know if you know any green bean supplier here.

As for machine, I've shortlisted 2 machine. 1 is hottop which u can direct purchase from Taiwan. Another 1 is 1kg roaster made by Indonesian.

The hottop is powered by electric and using heating elements. The Indonesian is using gas burner.

Pricing, both roaster costing almost the same.

I won't put my money on aillio just yet. Waiting for the review.
wshazi
post Mar 8 2015, 10:37 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 2 2015, 12:01 AM)
They are all  pressurized milk No?
My definition of freshness is from the moment they milked from the cow to my cup.
Alan
post Mar 8 2015, 12:54 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(wshazi @ Mar 1 2015, 08:29 PM)
Personally I like farm fresh due to its taste and affordability.  Farmhouse is overrated.  Processes in Australia,  frozen,  shipped  and process again in Malaysia. 

Not so fresh in my opinion.
Ya, the farm fresh full cream is not bad.

Anyone tried ikea coffee bean? The 1st taste is way too acidic... the aroma is medium, taste more on medium roast... just the sour taste bother me... any trick to reduce the sour taste? Adding too much milk will mask up the coffee taste... a waste if leaving the whole pack to trash...
patryn33
post Mar 8 2015, 01:01 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(wshazi @ Mar 8 2015, 10:37 AM)
My definition of freshness is from the moment they milked from the cow to my cup.
U have the time info for each brand?
How you find those info?
patryn33
post Mar 8 2015, 01:06 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(wshazi @ Mar 8 2015, 10:28 AM)
I'm considering home roasting too. 

However,  as I found out,  getting green bean in Malaysia is a problem.  U need AP to import them. Please let me know if you know any green bean supplier here.

As for machine,  I've shortlisted 2 machine.  1 is hottop which u can direct purchase from Taiwan.  Another 1 is 1kg roaster made by Indonesian.

The hottop is powered by electric and using heating elements.  The Indonesian is using gas burner. 

Pricing,  both roaster costing almost the same.

I won't put my money on aillio just yet.  Waiting for the  review.
These roaster cost usd$1.2k, if doing it for cost savings.
Anyone calculated how long it takes to see break even?

If I were to do it, it takes like 200 lb of coffee to break even. Will take me 267 weeks or 5.5 yrs to finish these coffee. If machine break down I need to fix prolong my break even date. I guess it's more interest than cost in my case

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 8 2015, 01:15 PM
wshazi
post Mar 8 2015, 03:33 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 8 2015, 01:01 PM)
U have the time info for each brand?
How you find those info?
Just based in logic. Between locally produce and imported one.

Imported milk is not air flown to Malaysia.
skitZo`
post Mar 8 2015, 06:16 PM

748 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 8 2015, 01:06 PM)
These roaster cost usd$1.2k, if doing it for cost savings.
Anyone calculated how long it takes to see break even?

If I were to do it, it takes like 200 lb of coffee to break even. Will take me 267 weeks or 5.5 yrs to finish these coffee. If machine break down I need to fix prolong my break even date. I guess it's more interest than cost in my case
Exactly, cost wise it takes time to really break even when investing into a good home coffee roaster.

Or another cheaper option is to use a whirley pop or air popcorn popper. But i think the whirley pop is a much better choice to start because it is cheap and all you need is a gas burner.

Shipping from amazon.com to malaysia is around RM170.00 for the Whirley pop.

Been using it since 2013 and still working fine. Home roast 300g of green beans every week.
patryn33
post Mar 8 2015, 08:35 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(wshazi @ Mar 8 2015, 03:33 PM)
Just based in logic.  Between locally produce and imported one.

Imported milk is not air flown to Malaysia.
I read over 95% of the milk found are imported
patryn33
post Mar 8 2015, 08:36 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(skitZo` @ Mar 8 2015, 06:16 PM)
Exactly, cost wise it takes time to really break even when investing into a good home coffee roaster.

Or another cheaper option is to use a whirley pop or air popcorn popper. But i think the whirley pop is a much better choice to start because it is cheap and all you need is a gas burner.

Shipping from amazon.com to malaysia is around RM170.00 for the Whirley pop.

Been using it since 2013 and still working fine. Home roast 300g of green beans every week.
Where did u get your green beans? What kind is avail ?
skitZo`
post Mar 8 2015, 10:52 PM

748 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 8 2015, 08:36 PM)
I get from ebay sellers which i believe from penang, a few coffee supplier and during CAFFA from espressolab.

Kind that is available brazil santos, mandheling g1, ethopia sidama, yirgacheffe, guatemala, colombia, tanzania, honduras, mexico and costa rica.

Price ranges from rm70-100 per kilo based on type of beans. I usually buy in bulk. Prices are quite high though.

With the whirley pop i can only manage to roast to city or full city roasts for medium never tried any further than beginning of 2nd crack.

This post has been edited by skitZo`: Mar 8 2015, 10:55 PM
patryn33
post Mar 8 2015, 11:10 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(skitZo` @ Mar 8 2015, 10:52 PM)
I get from ebay sellers which i believe from penang, a few coffee supplier and during CAFFA from espressolab.

Kind that is available brazil santos, mandheling g1, ethopia sidama, yirgacheffe, guatemala, colombia, tanzania, honduras, mexico and costa rica.

Price ranges from rm70-100 per kilo based on type of beans. I usually buy in bulk. Prices are quite high though.

With the whirley pop i can only manage to roast to city or full city roasts for medium never tried any further than beginning of 2nd crack.
Wow prices indeed high, u got to buy bulk since u are home roasting.

But then roasted beans are rm$40 per 250g

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 8 2015, 11:13 PM
hanny562
post Mar 8 2015, 11:17 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 8 2015, 08:36 PM)
Can get from taobao actually, there are few green bean seller in TAOBAO. haha

anyone interested to purchase Delonghi ECO310 (blue color)? Planning to let go my machine and get a E61 Espresso machine biggrin.gif
patryn33
post Mar 8 2015, 11:35 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(hanny562 @ Mar 8 2015, 11:17 PM)
Can get from taobao actually, there are few green bean seller in TAOBAO. haha

anyone interested to purchase Delonghi ECO310 (blue color)? Planning to let go my machine and get a E61 Espresso machine biggrin.gif
Buy the seller, after watching this hmm..
Then it's China importer doing Brazil to China to misa vs Brazil to msia

I thought locally there are coffee farm... Cannot source direct?
Vietnum supplier but think must buy 60Kg each time
http://www.wscafe.com/

A lot of Hawaii coffee farms sells green coffee directly but Hawaiian coffee itself is costly to begin with

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 9 2015, 04:47 AM
wshazi
post Mar 9 2015, 12:15 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 8 2015, 08:35 PM)
I read over 95% of the milk found are imported
U are right. 95% of milk products, powdered, cheese, etc.

Malaysia however still produce fresh milk.
patryn33
post Mar 9 2015, 12:28 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(wshazi @ Mar 9 2015, 12:15 AM)
U are right. 95% of milk products, powdered, cheese, etc.

Malaysia however still produce fresh milk.
To add fresh is not the only factor affecting taste. The feed and if free range etc affects taste too.
wshazi
post Mar 9 2015, 09:15 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 9 2015, 12:28 AM)
To add fresh is not the only factor affecting taste. The feed and if free range etc affects taste too.
Taste is very subjective. Pricing and freshness are not.
DEVILtonight
post Mar 9 2015, 05:23 PM

74 posts

Question! Thinkin of getting an espresso machine + grinder from another country. Any idea if will kena bomb by duty charge when it reaches here?

EDIT: Solved. Found a similar question here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2870741

This post has been edited by DEVILtonight: Mar 10 2015, 05:17 AM
wadthehellz
post Mar 10 2015, 08:00 PM

152 posts

Anyone using rattleware teflon pitcher? I ordered 1 from taobao. hope it's great rclxms.gif
thepro91
post Mar 11 2015, 12:26 AM

104 posts

Hi everyone. Im TC a coffee enthusiast home barista just like all of you. Never knew this thread is active until accidentally bumped into in while looking for a new coffee machine. I see some of you guys are using the same machine as i am, the Philips Saeco Poemia HD8325. This is my first machine and i would say i have learnt a lot from it. It's a machine which teaches me a lot personally. Being tight on budget, this is all i could afford. From hand grinding with Hario Mini Mill grinder to Breville BCG800 and finally Gaggia MDF. One step at a time i would say to those who just joined. Some of my items were shipped from Taobao. Only the PF from SeattleCoffeeGear.

The Poemia is a great learning tool with some modifications to be done. For example, the Panarello Latte Wand takes a huge leap into making fine microfoam and also the Non-Pressurized PF for the Saeco makes a huge difference on the creama, body , acidity and flavour as a whole. Practising latte is a challenge and experience on this machine due to the inconsistency and under-pressured steam. For me, i guess i have different priorities now as extraction or rather looking for a GOD shot now matters hence the search for a better machine.

All in all nice to meet you guys and i hope i get to contribute and learn from all of you. Meantime wish me luck in finding for a good reasonable single group machine!

Here are some shots and latte art done on the Poemia ! biggrin.gif Keep brewing and practising !

(p/s : Loads of failed latte art prior to all these, practise makes perfect. biggrin.gif )

DEVILtonight
post Mar 11 2015, 02:30 AM

74 posts

thepro91: Nice setup, and diggin' the results of your milk frothing. So far I cant tahan the steaming from lower end machines, and give up too soon... but evidently, it's possible. Can def see your passion in this.

132 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0371sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:44 PM