125 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

minizian
post Aug 16 2012, 05:34 PM

1,074 posts

Do you guys stand out and ride when climibing over steep hills or just sit on saddle and push your way uphill?
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 05:37 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Aug 16 2012, 05:34 PM)
Do you guys stand out and ride when climibing over steep hills or just sit on saddle and push your way uphill?
that depends on the situation... short steep one where sitting in the saddle does not generate enough power.. of course... if on loose roads with lots of sand.. better not...

always keep in mind that rising out of the saddle increases your heart rate which in turns wears you down faster...

so, there is a ratio on how much you can do in or out of saddle and that is a very personal thing to individual riders...

usually... even though you don't get out of the saddle.. it is still good to do a 20 or 30 seconder to help rotate and use your other muscles a bit...

Added on August 16, 2012, 5:44 pm
QUOTE(tenno @ Aug 16 2012, 05:28 PM)

Added on August 16, 2012, 5:32 pm
I used to eat Cloud 9 for my feeding. Bananas will spoil easily, unless it was supplied by the team. When I was training on my own I relied on Cloud 9. Those days not a single energy bar/gel can be found in Malaysia, unless the team brought it in. No GNC, Guardian was around, but they dun sell energy bars... the only brand I can remember was Shaklee. Even then it was only sold thru agents...
you just do what you gotta do to survive... i think athletes nowadays have it easy... everything is available and information is abundant on the web...

i use to buy those oat bars or marshmallow rice crispies... on long rides.. oat bars are hard to take because it is dry and hard... rice crispies on the other hand is so sweet you need water to wash it down...

stupidity rocks when you are a teenager...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 16 2012, 05:44 PM
minizian
post Aug 16 2012, 05:48 PM

1,074 posts

So how you guys did the standing up? just stand up and ride?

Wondering if the clipless pedal tension setting for everyone is tight(need more strenght to unclip) or light(easy exit)? For me i just put tension as light as pedal allow for to allow me to clip out easier.
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 05:55 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Aug 16 2012, 05:48 PM)

Wondering if the clipless pedal tension setting for everyone is tight(need more strenght to unclip) or light(easy exit)? For me i just put tension as light as pedal allow for to allow me to clip out easier.
dunno wat you meant... just stand up.. rock your bike from side to side away from your pedal downstroke...

it's hard to answer this... how each person do it is slightly different... but basically it is about finding your own rhythm doing it...

clip tension is also preference.. most people want it tight because they don't want their foot to slip out when they are violently sprinting (which is why trackies don't use clipless pedals)... generally, you progressively increase tension as your foot will sure un-clip by itself in the event of a crash...

the stuff about rider gets dragged along with the bike in a crash is pretty much a joke... the jerks involved in a crash is much more than the force you need to unclip at max tension...

but if you are scared.. then jus live with light tension first... as i say... progressive is the key point..
Sky.Live
post Aug 16 2012, 06:49 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

http://impossibleisnull.blogspot.com/2011/...t-2nd-gear.html

KOM 2011 result 2:05 for first, see the author got no.5 from pedaling using one gear only, means it's possible to be top 10 with a fixie!!

I only stand up to rest my bike, relax my other muscle, it's very intense to cycle in stand up position, i would have worn out by just one small uphill, i rather spin up slowly
butthead
post Aug 16 2012, 10:20 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 16 2012, 06:49 PM)
KOM 2011 result 2:05 for first, see the author got no.5 from pedaling using one gear only, means it's possible to be top 10 with a fixie!!
unfortunately... yip is not considered much of a human being...

most of the things he do will wear out even the energizer bunny....
TSvin_ann
post Aug 16 2012, 11:01 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Aug 16 2012, 05:48 PM)

no confidence on standing up? you can build up your confidence on stationery bike in gym / health club...

practice as much as you can on stationery bike... swing left right, swing right left until you have your confidence to try it on roadbike.

if worried on the clip shoe, no harm trying with normal shoe. get the feel. also try it as much as you can with ur normal non-clip shoe on roadbike with standup position before proceed to clip shoe.

I believe, when u switch to clip shoe, you able to feel the different ! you wont want to go back to normal shoe or stationery bike...

hope this step by step, standing up position on roadbike do helps...

good luck
sunghajung11
post Aug 16 2012, 11:16 PM

37 posts

getting my first road bike real soon. any suggestion where i can ride, get used to my bike and cycling before joinin those group cycling?
putrajaya botanical gardens?
or anywhere in kl?
mrvenkon
post Aug 17 2012, 12:54 AM

142 posts

Hello Hello, everybody,
sorry to tell that i am not going to Malaysia this year..m(−−)m
But maybe next year,during my winter holiday (^^)..

By the way,just want to ask whether in Malaysia,
Is there anyone / anywhere
selling second hand 3-bar roller?(sorry dont know how to translate in english) sweat.gif sweat.gif
in japanese is 三本ローラー..
http://www5.ocn.ne.jp/~bikes/elite_roller01.htm
If there is can i know how much is the price,
Thank You
Hope to see you all next year^^

Regards、
Yamato
Veron83
post Aug 17 2012, 01:08 AM

434 posts

anyone know where can I get the GIANT Anyroad bike in K.L?
ryan3721
post Aug 17 2012, 01:39 AM

120 posts

Bike Thief Gets Owned

btw any idea we can like customized/marking our bikes so we can identify it later?

Added on August 17, 2012, 1:43 am
QUOTE(Veron83 @ Aug 17 2012, 01:08 AM)
by the rate of Malaysia Giant distributor doing their business, I would say by around mid of next year, if they ever decided to bringing in the model whistling.gif

This post has been edited by ryan3721: Aug 17 2012, 01:43 AM
butthead
post Aug 17 2012, 09:08 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 16 2012, 11:01 PM)
if worried on the clip shoe, no harm trying with normal shoe. get the feel. also try it as much as you can with ur normal non-clip shoe on roadbike with standup position before proceed to clip shoe.

I believe, when u switch to clip shoe, you able to feel the different ! you wont want to go back to normal shoe or stationery bike...
think he already has clipless la... just whether he needs to tighten the tension up....

jus do it progressively as a big jump in tension is sometimes hard to handle even when trying to clip in...

QUOTE(sunghajung11 @ Aug 16 2012, 11:16 PM)
getting my first road bike real soon. any suggestion where i can ride, get used to my bike and cycling before joinin those group cycling?
putrajaya botanical gardens?
or anywhere in kl?
ask your nearest bike shop... they will organize rides depending on which days...

there are a whole bunch going around at night nowadays... from fixie groups to road riding ones to the weekend MTB warriors...

QUOTE(mrvenkon @ Aug 17 2012, 12:54 AM)
Hello Hello, everybody,
sorry to tell that i am not going to Malaysia this year..m(−−)m
But maybe next year,during my winter holiday (^^)..

By the way,just want to ask whether in Malaysia,
Is there anyone / anywhere
selling second hand 3-bar roller?(sorry dont know how to translate in english) sweat.gif  sweat.gif
in japanese is 三本ローラー..
http://www5.ocn.ne.jp/~bikes/elite_roller01.htm
If there is can i know how much is the price,
Thank You
Hope to see you all next year^^

Regards、
Yamato
i saw some minoura ones being sold...not sure bout the price...

http://www.minourausa.com/english/trainer-...rs-e/moz-e.html

it's just roller by the way.. or at least the way we call it in malaysia...

QUOTE(Veron83 @ Aug 17 2012, 01:08 AM)
that freak of nature?

not sure if anyone will be interested in bringing it in... agree with ryan3721... at the rate they operate.. hopefully next year or you can try to go and pester them in bringing it in...

by right 2013 bikes are in stores latest end of Q3 or Q4 of the previous year...

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Aug 17 2012, 01:39 AM)
Bike Thief Gets Owned

btw any idea we can like customized/marking our bikes so we can identify it later?

Added on August 17, 2012, 1:43 am

by the rate of Malaysia Giant distributor doing their business, I would say by around mid of next year, if they ever decided to bringing in the model  whistling.gif
cress
post Aug 17 2012, 09:08 AM

32 posts

Thanks all for your input, will b staying faithful with me MTB for now till I have the funds for a better setup. Onwards to more cycling, bike shorts, baggy or non baggy? Any reccomendations of shops in KL/PJ which carries a good variety of bike shorts?
butthead
post Aug 17 2012, 09:11 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(cress @ Aug 17 2012, 09:08 AM)
Thanks all for your input, will b staying faithful with me MTB for now till I have the funds for a better setup. Onwards to more cycling, bike shorts, baggy or non baggy? Any reccomendations of shops in KL/PJ which carries a good variety of bike shorts?
For MTB? it's up to you... quite a lot of MTB riders use lycra nowadays... the normal padded shorts are more of a functional thing if you need em.. mostly the downhill riders will use them, i guess it offers extra protection in case of a fall as it is thicker than lycra and is not contacting the skin directly...
cress
post Aug 17 2012, 09:17 AM

32 posts

Yep, need up cus my normal sporting shorts doest do a good job of protecting my *ehem* after a 1 hr + ride. Irritation & of course burning sensation down south. Furthermore, looking to do away with me gel saddle cover as it moves alot during my pedalling. Will be hunting for a pair later today and see whether they have it in my size or not....
butthead
post Aug 17 2012, 09:21 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(cress @ Aug 17 2012, 09:17 AM)
Yep, need up cus my normal sporting shorts doest do a good job of protecting my *ehem* after a 1 hr + ride. Irritation & of course burning sensation down south. Furthermore, looking to do away with me gel saddle cover as it moves alot during my pedalling. Will be hunting for a pair later today and see whether they have it in my size or not....
GH, KH and Pedalspot has a wide selection... the former 2 is a bit more pricier... you can also head to bikepro as they too have some but mostly lycra..

Added on August 17, 2012, 9:22 amVuelta 2012 Startlist

confirmation that Andy is still nursing his broken pelvis... so, it's down to 2 man showdown between alberto and froome...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 17 2012, 09:22 AM
cress
post Aug 17 2012, 09:31 AM

32 posts

Thanks butthead, gonna start calling them up later asking for quotes.
butthead
post Aug 17 2012, 09:44 AM

593 posts

think i saw pedalspot is only opening half day tomorrow on their sites...

you can take a look at their site too.. there is some listed apparels there....
cress
post Aug 17 2012, 10:12 AM

32 posts

Yeap, saw the popup on their site, states that they are open half day tomorrow and off on 19-21st. So have to get it today no matter what.... hahahahha
butthead
post Aug 17 2012, 10:27 AM

593 posts

yeah... go get your watever spare tubes, patch kits, spare watever, bike service tomorrow... gonna be a long weekend without a ride if your bike breaks down...haha

125 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:03 PM