Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

butthead
post Aug 20 2012, 06:41 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(afn. @ Aug 20 2012, 11:31 AM)
Dude, relax i was just asking because the topic title was "Cycling V3, General talks on bicycles". So. Daaa..
dude... i am relaxed... jus giving you a bit of heads up before you get bashed over there.. you know lar.. MTBers are tough dudes...

anyways... was on my lousy phone replying earlier... hard to type too many words blush.gif

RM3k is quite generous if you are starting off with a hardtail... it depends on which aspect of MTB you are looking into..

hardtail XC? full sus XC? All mountain? downhill?

RM3k can start you something quite decent with the first but will not be even enough to make it into the latter 3 cats at all... with MTB.. i guess there is no running away from Merida & Giant since they are quite big in the budget market... of course you can take a look at other brands, but they might start off a bit more expensive...o

of course XDS and the likes makes lots of very interesting bikes too for the price they offer... but i guess the MTB thread guys will agree with most of us in trying your hardest to steer away from it...one way or another among the 2001 reasons...

make way for some money for helmets and protection gear too.. shorts and watchamacallit that you need...MTB has a vast variety of different things to consider (from types of bikes, frame, to drivetrain, mechanical or hydro discs, fork, etc..) ... you should consider hitting the net to take a look at the range of brands to consider first and then the shops later to realize what you can or cannot afford to buy... it's a matter of where you want to invest the majority of your money into...

http://www.merida-bikes.com/
http://www.scott-sports.com/global/en/

specialized, Yeti, and many others in KL...the baikbike directory is a good guide for shops...

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 20 2012, 02:39 PM)
Time to change the topic title to Racing/road bike rather than Cycling liao for sure haha...

MTB & RB are consider two distinct cat & dog for sure
haha... the topic are kinda greedy in wanting to hit every aspect of cycling... be it fixie, singlespeed or even the japanese ultra mini wheel bike if possible...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 20 2012, 06:47 PM
mrjgx
post Aug 21 2012, 10:29 PM

59 posts

Suddenly hands itchy wanna buy new bib shorts...saw some of the latest collection from pedalspot and the super sleek looking bib in black red color..however for its price ~rm450 I better get a pair of gp4000s..haihs...but I'm so tempted. It's been long since I last wanna buy cycling related stuffs..managed to control the unnecessary lusts. Lately I've been wanting a new super bright tail light (blinkers), and a big shorts with a nice set of jersey...zzz

Talking about Merida brand..i admit it is very very hard and rare for me to find another Merida owners during my weekend ride..they all only popped out everywhere like mushrooms when there are ride events, charity ride, etc. I don't know where all those Merida owners ride during weekend... hmm.gif

But merida bike is good you know..I own one. The after sale service is quite good too so I'm happy with my purchased, although I didn't really like its brand name..sounds girlish and Spanish.

For a beginner I would recommend either Merida or Giant bike. For around Rm5k - 10k difference, you can only eliminate a mere kgs only with those top of the line carbon bikes...Better shed your own body weight and keeps the wallet happy nod.gif

I forgot my bike's weight..hurm....Last I check was 8kg..change wheelsets it reduced to 7.5kg..then I weigh the bike without removing front and tail lights and all the sensors...should be around 7.2kg or less if I didn't wrong on the initial 8kg weight..hehe..

Owh btw, Anyone registered for the granfondo event yet?

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Aug 21 2012, 10:44 PM
butthead
post Aug 21 2012, 11:02 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 21 2012, 10:29 PM)
Suddenly hands itchy wanna buy new bib shorts...saw some of the latest collection from pedalspot and the super sleek looking bib in black red color..however for its price ~rm450 I better get a pair of gp4000s..haihs...but I'm so tempted. It's been long since I last wanna buy cycling related stuffs..managed to control the unnecessary lusts. Lately I've been wanting a new super bright tail light (blinkers), and a big shorts with a nice set of jersey...zzz

Talking about Merida brand..i admit it is very very hard and rare for me to find another Merida owners during my weekend ride..they all only popped out everywhere like mushrooms when there are ride events, charity ride, etc. I don't  know where all those Merida owners ride during weekend... hmm.gif

But merida bike is good you know..I own one. The after sale service is quite good too so I'm happy with my purchased, although I didn't really like its brand name..sounds girlish and Spanish.

For a beginner I would recommend either Merida or Giant bike. For around Rm5k - 10k difference, you can only eliminate a mere kgs only with those top of the line carbon bikes...Better shed your own body weight and keeps the wallet happy  nod.gif

I forgot my bike's weight..hurm....Last I check was 8kg..change wheelsets it reduced to 7.5kg..then I weigh the bike without removing front and tail lights and all the sensors...should be around 7.2kg or less if I didn't wrong on the initial 8kg weight..hehe..

Owh btw, Anyone registered for the granfondo event yet?
yeah.. merida sounds like the mirinda soft drink... a blardy cookie name...

i think all the merida is being used as "crash bikes"... on normal rides with buddies... use the high end carbon ones.. on big events where there is countless idiots that can incite a crash... bring out the merida...no heart feelings breaking a merida...hahaa

no offense la.. but it's not the worst bike there is in the market.. and if it helps anything... i think they are the 2nd largest frame makers both inhouse and for OEM and ODM after Giant... so, technology and experience in frame making is on par with most others... that is unless you want the best of the best of the best.. then you know where to look in that case..
littlebeettle
post Aug 21 2012, 11:31 PM

1,099 posts

guys,

will need some help from any of you here...

my brother upgraded his polygon frame to proton t-sprint half carbon frame.

There will require an additional accessory to hold the shifting cable located at the down tube in order to make his Tiagra groupset fully integrated.

The bike shop owner told us he will take some time to order that part from Taiwan.

Does anyone here know what is the name of this part?
Proclaimer
post Aug 21 2012, 11:50 PM

1,150 posts

Did a Genting Sempah -> Bukit Tinggi Peak(Berjaya Hills) and back, estimated 800+ above sea level, total 40km. All i can say is the ascent is freaking nuts! rclxub.gif

Descent though is one of the best i've experience! rclxms.gif

Added on August 21, 2012, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(afn. @ Aug 19 2012, 11:06 PM)
Hi! I need help with buying MTB. I've been looking for an entry level MTB and i am a beginner just about to start mountain biking. Any suggestion? My budget is 3k.
Haha, you ask this in MTB thread you sure die.

Best is to go LBS to get some info of what a 3k bike can offer you. If you dont mind second hand stuff you can check bicyclebuysell out. There are always good deals there if you look hard and smart enough. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Proclaimer: Aug 21 2012, 11:56 PM
butthead
post Aug 21 2012, 11:57 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(littlebeettle @ Aug 21 2012, 11:31 PM)
guys,

will need some help from any of you here...

my brother upgraded his polygon frame to proton t-sprint half carbon frame.

There will require an additional accessory to hold the shifting cable located at the down tube in order to make his Tiagra groupset fully integrated.

The bike shop owner told us he will take some time to order that part from Taiwan.

Does anyone here know what is the name of this part?
the proton frames should not be using downtube shift levers... so they should not require the shifter boss converter kit for STI levers as far as i know... so, not sure which part your bike shop is referring to...

maybe take a pic of the offending problem and post it up...

it'll be darn funny if this thing is still needed in this day and age...

tat or it broke off.. if it broke off... god help you..

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Aug 21 2012, 11:50 PM)
Did a Genting Sempah -> Bukit Tinggi Peak(Berjaya Hills) and back, estimated 800+ above sea level, total 40km. All i can say is the ascent is freaking nuts!   rclxub.gif

Descent though is one of the best i've experience!  rclxms.gif
no ascent is un-nuts... as long as it heads up... it's a suffer fest...

i did a 700M climb on sunday before i ran out of water... 600+ on yesteday before i ran out of energy and just a peek over 300M today before my tube finally gave up on me... sucked big time...

Added on August 21, 2012, 11:59 pm

Added on August 21, 2012, 11:56 pm

Haha, you ask this in MTB thread you sure die.

Best is to go LBS to get some info of what a 3k bike can offer you. If you dont mind second hand stuff you can check bicyclebuysell out. There are always good deals there if you look hard and smart enough.  smile.gif
tried to warn him... jus hope he is one of the lucky ones who escapes un-harmed blush.gif

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 22 2012, 12:02 AM
ryan3721
post Aug 22 2012, 02:05 AM

120 posts

Guys need input: roadie odo already around 3300km now and the 105 chain is .75% stretch. lbs quoted me shimano 105 chain RM115.

Is that a normal price? Any idea KMC x10 chain good or not? Saw Ebay selling boxed version of gold color X10SL for USD52 with delivery...

A friend suggested SRAM instead, hmm...

Thank you.
butthead
post Aug 22 2012, 09:10 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Aug 22 2012, 02:05 AM)
Guys need input: roadie odo already around 3300km now and the 105 chain is .75% stretch. lbs quoted me shimano 105 chain RM115.

Is that a normal price? Any idea KMC x10 chain good or not? Saw Ebay selling boxed version of gold color X10SL for USD52 with delivery...

Thank you.
cheapest 10 speed chains are around the price of RM100... +- a bit depending of your bike shop...

KMC good in terms of??? i always personally think of KMC as a fancy chain and a lightweight one with the X10SL... and with anything that is lightweight.. comes with problems of longevity...

i'd say go with the shimano if you want conservative and go with the KMC if you want a fancy chain... just don't gripe about it if it wears down any quicker than your current shimano does... i haven't used KMC before, but i had used one of the token lightweight ones before... killed it in less than 6 months and along with it tore a couple of tooth of the aluminum cassette that i bought along with it... painful experience, never gonna try those stuff again...

in terms of shimano vs sram... there is no difference as far as i have tried... have tried SRAM chain on shimano and both shimano chain on SRAM... no skips or slips or visible degradation of front chain ring shifting performance...

of course, some purist will tell you that the specific chains are designed with their own components in mind especially how the chain ring pins and ramps are designed.. so, it is up to you on whether to believe it or not.. i personally felt no difference... that or i am not picky enough...
TSvin_ann
post Aug 22 2012, 09:20 AM

10,912 posts

Guys, gals, boys and girls,

Anyone is joining Ride for Life???

3 days 370KM, from Trolak, Perak to Batu Feringgi, Penang.

your pocket will be burn RM500, but tax examptible.

miaopurr
post Aug 22 2012, 09:34 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 22 2012, 09:20 AM)

http://www.baikbike.com/images/events/rfl2012_L.jpg
got tax exemption? tak faham. can explain a bit more?

that rider in the poster, his ass kena cucuk dengan saddle eh? that has gotta hurt

Added on August 22, 2012, 9:36 am
QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Aug 22 2012, 02:05 AM)

Thank you.
shimano DA, rm140. only rm25 diff from your quoted shimano 105. not that i'm telling to buy DA chain, but i want to show you that price difference is small. instead of DA, you might want to get ultegra chain. lighter, durable and cheaper than DA.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Aug 22 2012, 09:42 AM
butthead
post Aug 22 2012, 09:48 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 22 2012, 09:20 AM)

tax exempted or not... losing RM500 is not going to go well with me...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 22 2012, 09:34 AM)
that rider in the poster, his ass kena cucuk dengan saddle eh? that has gotta hurt
more like hitting his gonads icon_question.gif

or maybe his balls is itching and he is just scratching his balls with his saddle.

Added on August 22, 2012, 9:36 am

shimano DA, rm140. only rm25 diff from your quoted shimano 105. not that i'm telling to buy DA chain, but i want to show you that price difference is small. instead of DA, you might want to get ultegra chain. lighter, durable and cheaper than DA.
yeah.. same like cassettes... even team sky also uses ultegra cassettes for their domestiques... slightly heavier so it doesn't drop the bike below uci weight limit and more stronger than DA...

This post has been edited by butthead: Aug 22 2012, 09:49 AM
TSvin_ann
post Aug 22 2012, 10:07 AM

10,912 posts

got tax exemption? tak faham. can explain a bit more?

My understanding would be tax exemption just like book. for this 1, its should be fall under "Hadiah wang kepada institusi atau organisasi diluluskan" aka Approved donation.

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 22 2012, 09:48 AM)
tax exempted or not... losing RM500 is not going to go well with me...
more like hitting his gonads  icon_question.gif
You're right. I'm now in between my group ride to Lumut or this Ride for Life... Lumut ride is during Malaysia Day holiday Sept 15-17... Ride to Lumut and might be ride back to PJ also... icon_rolleyes.gif

but i thinks Rife for Life charity event must have lot of chicks... laugh.gif
miaopurr
post Aug 22 2012, 10:11 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 22 2012, 10:07 AM)
My understanding would be tax exemption just like book. for this 1, its should be fall under "Hadiah wang kepada institusi atau organisasi diluluskan" aka Approved donation.
You're right. I'm now in between my group ride to Lumut or this Ride for Life... Lumut ride is during Malaysia Day holiday Sept 15-17... Ride to Lumut and might be ride back to PJ also...  icon_rolleyes.gif 

but i thinks Rife for Life charity event must have lot of chicks...  laugh.gif
ok faham. rm500 off aggregate income.

"but i thinks Rife for Life charity event must have lot of chicks..." <-- this will change butthead's decision
mrjgx
post Aug 22 2012, 10:21 AM

59 posts

Did a Genting Sempah -> Bukit Tinggi Peak(Berjaya Hills) and back, estimated 800+ above sea level, total 40km. All i can say is the ascent is freaking nuts!  rclxub.gif

Descent though is one of the best i've experience!  rclxms.gif
hi bro...any route map for the ride? I want to try going further up sempah towards bkt tnggi as well...until today havent tried other routes apart from hulu langat area and sempah-janda baik..bored already... smile.gif

miaopurr
post Aug 22 2012, 10:25 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 22 2012, 10:21 AM)
hi bro...any route map for the ride? I want to try going further up sempah towards bkt tnggi as well...until today havent tried other routes apart from hulu langat area and sempah-janda baik..bored already...  smile.gif
have you tried broga loop?
mrjgx
post Aug 22 2012, 10:28 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 22 2012, 10:25 AM)
have you tried broga loop?
not a proper loop..but I have done bangi-lenggeng before..passed some broga routes..the whole loop not yet..my friends don;t wanna do the loop as it will take until afternoon to complete..we all have family at home waiting on weekend ride.. tongue.gif

it ain't that cold there right? going up fraser might be my next target..i like cold2 place to ride. tongue.gif

miaopurr
post Aug 22 2012, 10:40 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Aug 22 2012, 10:28 AM)
not a proper loop..but I have done bangi-lenggeng before..passed some broga routes..the whole loop not yet..my friends don;t wanna do the loop as it will take until afternoon to complete..we all have family at home waiting on weekend ride.. tongue.gif

it ain't that cold there right? going up fraser might be my next target..i like cold2 place to ride.  tongue.gif
what time do you usually finish your ride?
mrjgx
post Aug 22 2012, 10:50 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 22 2012, 10:40 AM)
what time do you usually finish your ride?
my usual route... bt14-bt18-climb perez until n9 signboard and turn back-bkt hantu-bt 14...730am start rolling...930am finished ride...then go have bfst kaw2.. tongue.gif

miaopurr
post Aug 22 2012, 10:55 AM

587 posts

quick rides eh, memang tak sempat broga. i usually allocate sunday mornings for long rides. i make sure to be home by 1pm or 1.30pm at the latest. saturdays and other times for the family.
mrjgx
post Aug 22 2012, 11:00 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 22 2012, 10:55 AM)
quick rides eh, memang tak sempat broga. i usually allocate sunday mornings for long rides. i make sure to be home by 1pm or 1.30pm at the latest. saturdays and other times for the family.
That's great. sum1 here pls organize a broga loop trip....we gather around 5-7 cyclists and let's roll!

wheres captain butthead? rclxms.gif

125 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:59 AM