Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

TSvin_ann
post Jul 30 2012, 09:50 AM, updated 14y ago

10,912 posts

General Talks on bicycles. Feel free to ask and share your cycling experience.Any routes, upgrades or any news that you have might be valueble to us! Also share the pictures of your bicycles!

Some poison for RoadBike. rclxms.gif

Frequently Asked Question on what kind of bikes to get:

1) Aluminum bike - 10 speed Tiagra (maybe mixed Tiagra - Sora), priced around RM3k up- this would be the absolute lowest point i would say to start from... any lower and you will land outside of 10speed equipment and any upgrades will certainly be more than the difference you saved not buying this bike.. shimano launched tiagra with 10speed beginning of this year making this a considerable choice... also, this grade of bike will have a more common grade of cockpit (handlebar, stem, seat post, saddle) and cheaper wheels

2) Aluminum bike - 10 speed 105 (maybe mixed 105 - Tiagra), priced around RM3.8k up- most likely the same frame above with a different paint livery, this would be an entry level into shimano's definition of competition components... tiagra would be what they called the top tier among the enthusiast group.. although both 10 speed... but materials and feel... tiagra has a shift indicator while the 105 does not hence giving you a pro feel (what the bike shop will tell you)...mostly.. tiagra has a bit more plasticky bits than 105... some slightly more expensive models might even start offering slightly better wheels like mavic aksiums along with better slightly better graded cockpit...

- i would not try and go past 105 on a aluminum bike... the best brands like specialized or bmc will be selling an aluminum bike equipped with 105 for a little over RM5k... going 1 notch up into ultegra will lead you to start looking into higher end bikes as those bikes will surely creep past RM6k and most likely a mismatch between frame and component grades... you will be practically trying to pair a set of RAYS CE28N onto a Perodua Myvi if you get what i mean in car terms...

3) Carbon bike - 10 speed 105 (possibly not full 105), priced around RM7k up- this would be a foray into performance bicycles... although a carbon frame... but this are not the best carbon has to offer for 2 reasons... carbon cloth grade (less modulus, less weave, lower grade binding agents) and the man power / time needed (less complex layup schedules) to layup the carbon layers into producing a frame... basically a mass produced frame with the lowest production cost possible... not all that bad... it should still be on par if not better with the best of the aluminum frames in terms of stiffness.. basically, component should be similar or slightly better than the aluminum 105 bike depending on the price you pay...

- here i would name one which shocked me quite a bit recently... saw this Look 566...this http://www.lookcycle.com/en/int/route/velo...-bike-2013.html , but i guess a previous year model...... carbon frame with Mavic Aksium wheels... not a complete 105 with some downgraded cranks and calipers... a carbon frame with comfort geometry retailing for RM7.1k if my memory serves me right...

- price is slightly high for some people... but if you look at it...maybe under 30% more if you are looking at a Apex or 105 equipped Specialize Allez

4) free for all - death - bankruptcy - you name it...
- step into this and there will be no return...

Credit: YB Butthead

Previous thread: Cycling V2

Updated: 2nd Nov 2012

This post has been edited by vin_ann: Nov 2 2012, 03:23 PM
TSvin_ann
post Jul 30 2012, 10:04 AM

10,912 posts

any info suggestion for 1st post to add?

like:

1. where the bike shops in KL?
2. how to buy a bike?
3. where's the cycling route that Roadbike cyclist go? or mountain biker go?
TSvin_ann
post Jul 30 2012, 11:23 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 30 2012, 10:48 AM)
wah... long and complicated story wor...

who so rajin to write that sort of serious stuff?  tongue.gif
lure more people join the cycling ma...

save ur hassle to reply each time same questions asked.

just put "refer to 1st post" icon_rolleyes.gif
TSvin_ann
post Jul 30 2012, 02:39 PM

10,912 posts

btw, my Sunday ride from Batu 18 to Titi.... 108KM...

yesterday was my second time riding to Titi with P2K since March this year where i had 3 flats in the last 10KM... =.='''

i reached very early, we have breakfast at cina apek kopitiam at the junction. i cant believe my own luck, there's two chicks having breakfast there too... i believe it's going to be awesome ride!

we have about 20 cyclists joining the ride... awesome... plus 2 guai lou riders... hehe...
From batu 18 to the Genting Perez kaki bukit, is about 17KM... our speeds were avearge above 30km/hr... i feel like wore out just before reaching the kaki bukit...

climbing hills... Perez... for second time.. feel some improvement on the feel good factor... must be along the way spotted few chicks... haha... 1 chick is using yellow green white Cippolini bike le..! oh yeah, another 2 chicks using Giant TCR SL3 ! same bike with me!!! 3 SL3 bikes gathered at top of Genting Perez!!! so nice! Too bad, forget to take photo!

we stopped at Titi for wan tan mee... while we were eating, a group of super bike arrived and stop at the same shop having wan tan mee too! one of the guai lou motorist is wearing SiDi shoe! 500 euro aka RM2,000, but it's cover until below knee ! lagi worth than RM1,000 SiDi cycling shoe...

Going back... climbing 12KM long of hills... anyway, must be the leftover feel good factor still there, i does not feel terrible like 1st time...

no flat ! nice ride!
TSvin_ann
post Jul 30 2012, 02:55 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 30 2012, 02:44 PM)
STOP IT!!!  mad.gif

you are killing me...

yesterday... i only saw a big bunch of aunties... ride also no mood...
you were there yesterday?

are you hanging out with ur gang at the junction when you saw a huge group of cyclists swing by?

wonder which one is you.... gotta refresh me scanning memory...

TSvin_ann
post Jul 30 2012, 04:43 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 30 2012, 03:01 PM)
i am not there la... i was at my usual riding ground... jus no guuurrls yesterday... jus a bunch of aunties... so blardy disheartening...

and i only slept for less than 4 hours the night before and i had to forcefully get out of bed to go riding with high hopes...

well, it's true wat they say... the higher your expectations... the bigger the disappointment...

cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif my weekend cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
sound like me when im on running fever. Run.Run.Run.

Running have much higher percentage of bump into chicks...

btw, why bother how many psi pump using hand pump. jandi Boleh jalan, nothing much u can ask for when you're puncture!

Janji Perjalanan Diteruskan! thumbup.gif
TSvin_ann
post Jul 30 2012, 05:00 PM

10,912 posts

My apologize on messing your life Butthead.

Allow me to post the below:

TSvin_ann
post Jul 30 2012, 07:47 PM

10,912 posts

No... there's no such perfection thing in cycling world...

although you might feel it's the most perfect, but as time fly, 1 month, 3 month, half year, 1 year, 2 years time, you will soon find your perfections are not perfect anymore...

there's newer groupset available, newer, lighter, features packed, lighter etc etc... you will find urself upgrading...

Let's welcome the latest gadget in town...

2013 Compagnolo Athena 11 EPS

Campagnolo hasn't yet set prices for individual components, but expects the Athena 11 EPS group to cost about the same as a Shimano Ultegra Di2 group—a little more than $2,000. Compare that to Super Record 11 EPS, which costs about $5,150; Record 11 EPS, at $4,500; or Shimano Dura Ace 7970 Di2, about $3,300. Expect to find Athena 11 EPS on bikes costing about $5,000. The company expects to begin shipping Athena 11 EPS to bike manufacturers in August. Aftermarket customers will need to wait until the end of 2012 for the product to start landing in shops.

Athena, Centaur, and Veloce Mechanical Triples

The company also used their launch to unveil three new mechanical shift triple groups: Athena 3x11 speed, Centaur 3x10 speed, and Veloce 3x10 speed. Almost every component in the groups is designed specifically for use with triple cranks—the only part shared with standard groups are the brake calipers. Campagnolo claims that the cranks feature the lowest Q-Factor distance, best ankle clearance and lowest weights of any road triple cranks.

dammit! i knew it! My next upgrade on groupset ! Campagnolo Centuar triples ~! Let's set the timeline 2015. Gotta whack mileage kaw kaw on my 105 before upgrade in 2015. Fair enough right... 1 day save USD1, should be able reach my goal!

oh waits... before i forget.

here's the link: http://www.bicycling.com/bikes-gear/new-bi...11-eps-launched
TSvin_ann
post Jul 31 2012, 10:12 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 31 2012, 09:49 AM)
there is perfection in the cycling world... there is however, no such thing called "SATISFACTION"

electronic shifting is over-rated... get the new mechanical DA instead... Giant and Campy is like Nobita and Giant.. can never mix... heck, you don't even see any of their lineup using campy as stock components...
=.=''

really ah?

maybe by 2015, carbon frame become better and cheaper... can upgrade frame as well...

so even the advance TCR not match with campy? "Giant and Campy is like Nobita and Giant" doh.gif

or Giant and SRAM a better combo?

TSvin_ann
post Jul 31 2012, 10:27 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 31 2012, 10:13 AM)
difference between triple and double?  3 - 2 = 1... the difference is 1 blush.gif

there are a total of 4 types of un-awesomely worthless riders...

1) compact crank users - useless weaklings
    a 50/34 crank so they have a lighter set of gears while keeping weight considerably low

2) hybrid compacts - bastards who do not want to admit they are a useless bunch of asswipes
    a 52/36 crank, usually a standard BCD 130 crank with 52/39 swapped with a 36 inner chain ring, wants a lighter gear but does not want to show people that [s]he is riding a BCD 110 crank like a weakling

3) triple crank users - no words to describe them...
    this people is so rubbish that they need a mountain bike granny ring to survive, never mind the weight.. you need a mid cage RD, UN-conventionally long chain which makes shifting sloppy and the ability to bear the laughter of the public...

4) the ultimate weakling - triple or compact crank paired with a wide range 11-32 or 11-34 mountain bike cassette
    this people might as well put a motor on their bike... needs to be shot in the face if you meet them... usually, they will produce excuses like they climb hills a lot.. which is generally an outright lie...

i am in category 4  sweat.gif and i climb lotsa hills  whistling.gif
triple crank will produce a lot of gear overlap... but it will give the lowest possible gear inch in any sort of combination even without a wide range cassette...

even roberto heras in the USPS days won his vuelta title with a triple crank riding up alto de l'angliru
i am in category 1. why u no talks about big crank? how's the big crank thing?

i'm got a feel, im going to upgrade my compact crank to big crank as my next upgrade that's if im decided to leave my compact crank comfort zone...

you in category 4? dont bluff la... you must be using Rotor crank... oval shape or big crank!
TSvin_ann
post Jul 31 2012, 10:40 AM

10,912 posts

dammit...

butthead, y u so evil trying to trap people...

i forget, i need to upgrade my legs power 1st before any upgrades.

last few days suddenly thought about stem... my original 90mm Giant stem doesnt make my cycling photo looks like other cyclist bending...

anyway, current stem gives me no problems. just gatal gatal thinking about it, and relates to other cyclists on their discussion about stem.

A stem look important?
TSvin_ann
post Aug 1 2012, 12:31 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 1 2012, 11:56 AM)
it's a 2007 bike... if re-produced in 2011 frame with astana color schemes.. why is it not limited?

just because there is no more Pro Machine SLC01 in BMC lineup.. they jus simply made an astana livery race machine..

this is the actual pro machine slc01 back in 2007.
looks familiar... oh yeah... one of my gang member riding BMC Astana bike...............................................
TSvin_ann
post Aug 1 2012, 01:54 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 1 2012, 12:52 PM)
dun understand wats so nice about it?

i like the one with the bare carbon... as jeremy clarkson says..."it's a symphony of evil"

and you can go into stealth mode at night...
.......er.......

never bother whatever BMC le.......................................

that's why i put so many dot dot dot behind...

i cant really express anything out...

wei, are you Pedalsport fansi ??
TSvin_ann
post Aug 1 2012, 02:23 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 1 2012, 01:57 PM)
yeah lah... only idiots like hianboy can understand... all the arty farty con my party shit...

no la... i jus pass by to buy tube jeh (only shop left opened past 8PM cry.gif )... no more spare at home.. nanti saturday morning no hot pants to see, then stress build up and no where to release... huh... i kenot imagine... it's a monday to friday 5 day build up... saturday if no release... critical level adi... nanti become like fukushima daiichi...

suddenly see they all snapping pictures of this bike... thought apasal so fantastic... so, i join and snap also la... like flashmob  tongue.gif

i heard it is in the region of over RM25k... owner got some own parts taruh masuk...

until the day i can afford to buy a BMC race machine from them.. then i masuk kelab la...
to be honest, how frequent you can use ur TT bike for ride.

it's too precious to ride on malaysia holes everywhere road here...

once a hot chic Triathlete told me, why use TT bike? it's not allowed in some races. plus, if too light, cant join also. She said best still is a roadbike... can masuk any races...

BMC vs LOOK TT bike.. which one better?

wait i tonight post LOOK TT pokka dotted design here to counter BMC...
TSvin_ann
post Aug 1 2012, 03:24 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 1 2012, 02:30 PM)

TT bikes are generally very stable and mild in handling... not agile like our road bikes...so, hitting rough roads are not too bad unless you are dealing with very bumpy roads and deep potholes... most people are more terrified of pure TT bikes (disc wheel with deep dish up front) hitting heavy cross winds... possible to get blown off your line by heavy gusts of wind... and much like how Andy Schleck hit the deck and broke his pelvis...

in my view... i need at least 3 bikes...

1) training roadie, with tough wheels and tougher tyres
2) race weekend roadie, super light and no common sense...
3) a TT bike.. even if i dun TT... just for the fun of owning one..
3 bikes, that's the ultimate cyclist who achieve his/her top status in cycling world????????

just like a rich man journey,

1st seek money,
got money seek power,
got money and power seek status,
got money and power and status seek for peaceful in mind (where religous come in)
TSvin_ann
post Aug 2 2012, 11:56 PM

10,912 posts

Haze! Haze is back!

sigh... This weekend is moving to new place.... still not yet fully pack... cant be doing long ride... need to reserve energy for moving...

my new place, i thinks i'm nearer to butthead... icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway, my new playground will be Desa Park City after settle down at my new place... Anyone cycling at Desa Park City?

Butthead, want cycle kat DPC?
TSvin_ann
post Aug 3 2012, 02:17 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 3 2012, 03:21 AM)
i sometimes go desa park city hill to ride in the evening. See sunset and shit. Most importantly, bird watching around the park.
dude....suddenly, that sounds like some creepy stalker shit  shocking.gif ... cut it out  shakehead.gif

Added on August 3, 2012, 3:23 am

70kph descending sempah..dust be gone in no time... No need to dust
no need to work? so fast can reach at desa park hill to see sunset and shit ah?

yay... bird watching around the park would be most crucial motivation factor... waits i move to my new place this weekend, then we can go bird watching together... i buy u kluang kopi... ok o not... hianboy want to join?

my highsest speed recorded was when coming down from bukit tangga with speed 75km/hr... its was heaven... but before that, suffer like hell...
TSvin_ann
post Aug 3 2012, 03:42 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 3 2012, 02:31 PM)
i got 2 bird watching mode one.. one is upclose and personal where i round and round the park... the other is i take super binoculars and stalk from the top of desa park city hill  notworthy.gif ... sometimes, if correct angle... can see longkang some more  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

if see adi syiok... can run up to water reservoir there settle it  brows.gif

after this post... sure desa park city ban cyclist adi  brows.gif

time for some bragging rights  icon_rolleyes.gif ... sprinted from the top of the climb of templar park heading towards selayang...  >90kph drafting behind a lorry (ran out of gears  vmad.gif  50 x 11, is itu macam punya lar  blush.gif kenot komplain manyak manyak)

coming out of penchala link tunnel towards mutiara damansara... on a good day maybe 70k at the end of the tunnel if can find a car to draft...
WTF.... you are so high level on bird watching...

i better ride alone.
TSvin_ann
post Aug 6 2012, 09:53 AM

10,912 posts

Last 2 days busy moving... foreveralone, pindah stuffs sendiri... no cycling, my group had some wonderful heaven hell ride... lucky got do short run on Sat, have 2 indo chicks, 1 KL chick, and 1 German guy together with others. haha...

my bikes are my 1st priority. moved them 1st.

wah... i heard my name being mentioned few times.. no wonder i keep sniffing past 2 days. i'm also burnt 2 Continential GP3000s tyres for my moving! Relocation of Unifi cost me RM300! vmad.gif

now only can online from office while waiting installation on Sat...

Desa Park City shall be my new playground... beware of speeding / turtle alike Giant TCR SL3 Gold color like Ah Long bike spinning around! laugh.gif

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 5 2012, 10:04 PM)
Vinn Ann, Din know you also Bike kaki liao.. Me just switched over to Road bike at last after years wth MTB.. Now my MTB given to my daughter haha..

Just got a 2nd hand 2008 Merida road FLX 906 amd already upgraded to Ultegra groupset except the brake level still 105. Too bad wheelset is the heavy Mivac Aksium.

Seriously looking for bling-bling wheelset & compact carbon.scandium handlebar & stem liao... Wanna touch belpw 8Kg haha
you got daugther? When want to come Desa Park City ride together to test out ur Merida with your daughther.... rclxms.gif

btw, my dearest senior, your riding purpose is "Gaya 1st, spec 2nd, feel 3rd, and speed infinity place behind" right?

TSvin_ann
post Aug 6 2012, 05:26 PM

10,912 posts

btw, is it safe to cycle from Kepong (beginning of LDP) to The Curve > Bandar Utama >Tropicana > Ara Damansara in early morning and evening during weekdays?

my distance is cut short after moving to Kepong from Setapak. Less worry but still worry. doh.gif

weekend i have no problem cycling the route above...

btw, how late cyclists cycling in DPC normally?

Gotta change some route go outdoor cycling instead of indoor RPM...

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0506sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:34 PM