Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

TSvin_ann
post Jul 30 2012, 09:50 AM, updated 14y ago

10,912 posts

General Talks on bicycles. Feel free to ask and share your cycling experience.Any routes, upgrades or any news that you have might be valueble to us! Also share the pictures of your bicycles!

Some poison for RoadBike. rclxms.gif

Frequently Asked Question on what kind of bikes to get:

1) Aluminum bike - 10 speed Tiagra (maybe mixed Tiagra - Sora), priced around RM3k up- this would be the absolute lowest point i would say to start from... any lower and you will land outside of 10speed equipment and any upgrades will certainly be more than the difference you saved not buying this bike.. shimano launched tiagra with 10speed beginning of this year making this a considerable choice... also, this grade of bike will have a more common grade of cockpit (handlebar, stem, seat post, saddle) and cheaper wheels

2) Aluminum bike - 10 speed 105 (maybe mixed 105 - Tiagra), priced around RM3.8k up- most likely the same frame above with a different paint livery, this would be an entry level into shimano's definition of competition components... tiagra would be what they called the top tier among the enthusiast group.. although both 10 speed... but materials and feel... tiagra has a shift indicator while the 105 does not hence giving you a pro feel (what the bike shop will tell you)...mostly.. tiagra has a bit more plasticky bits than 105... some slightly more expensive models might even start offering slightly better wheels like mavic aksiums along with better slightly better graded cockpit...

- i would not try and go past 105 on a aluminum bike... the best brands like specialized or bmc will be selling an aluminum bike equipped with 105 for a little over RM5k... going 1 notch up into ultegra will lead you to start looking into higher end bikes as those bikes will surely creep past RM6k and most likely a mismatch between frame and component grades... you will be practically trying to pair a set of RAYS CE28N onto a Perodua Myvi if you get what i mean in car terms...

3) Carbon bike - 10 speed 105 (possibly not full 105), priced around RM7k up- this would be a foray into performance bicycles... although a carbon frame... but this are not the best carbon has to offer for 2 reasons... carbon cloth grade (less modulus, less weave, lower grade binding agents) and the man power / time needed (less complex layup schedules) to layup the carbon layers into producing a frame... basically a mass produced frame with the lowest production cost possible... not all that bad... it should still be on par if not better with the best of the aluminum frames in terms of stiffness.. basically, component should be similar or slightly better than the aluminum 105 bike depending on the price you pay...

- here i would name one which shocked me quite a bit recently... saw this Look 566...this http://www.lookcycle.com/en/int/route/velo...-bike-2013.html , but i guess a previous year model...... carbon frame with Mavic Aksium wheels... not a complete 105 with some downgraded cranks and calipers... a carbon frame with comfort geometry retailing for RM7.1k if my memory serves me right...

- price is slightly high for some people... but if you look at it...maybe under 30% more if you are looking at a Apex or 105 equipped Specialize Allez

4) free for all - death - bankruptcy - you name it...
- step into this and there will be no return...

Credit: YB Butthead

Previous thread: Cycling V2

Updated: 2nd Nov 2012

This post has been edited by vin_ann: Nov 2 2012, 03:23 PM
butthead
post Jul 30 2012, 10:00 AM

593 posts

first c0cker to arrive icon_rolleyes.gif
TSvin_ann
post Jul 30 2012, 10:04 AM

10,912 posts

any info suggestion for 1st post to add?

like:

1. where the bike shops in KL?
2. how to buy a bike?
3. where's the cycling route that Roadbike cyclist go? or mountain biker go?
butthead
post Jul 30 2012, 10:17 AM

593 posts

and first to defile it cool2.gif

cycling is a sport related to foot fetishes...

you ride like nuts on days that has no ends (must like SM a lot, M more if not S)... and can suffer like a dog ran over by an 18-wheeler...

after that, get back up... smile and pretend like nothing happened when your buddies get to the end of a bike ride looking like they got ran over by a truck and diss them for being slow pokes.... and giving them the loser salute...

but, your suffering gets offset by nice scenery that is often not available here...

occasionally... you hope for some eye candy (pretty gurls in lycra) to cancel out some of the pain....

which you seldom get... and when you do get them... you know the drill... (act like a horny idiot who has never seen a girl in 5 centuries and howl like a wolf to creep them out)

and when your salary comes out at the end of the month... you take the whole lump of it to buy something that does not make any sense even to Obama (assuming you don't pawn your house or sell your car to do it)
(jus so that you can show off your shiny new bike to your bike buddies who will get so jelly and try to sell their organs in the coming month to buy a better bike than yours)

sooner or later, you will find yourself so deep in divorce, or your girlfriend leaving your ass for sleeping more with your bike than with her...
(not a big deal since you are already bankrupted anyways...the judge with sympathize with you for not even being able to afford her alimony or child support fees and you will have no inheritance to split with her which is a plus)

So, in a nutshell... cycling is a sport where you have to love hurting yourself, and your wallet even more... earn your bragging rights with epic rides.. or a cool bike if you are a tub of lard that cannot pedal more than 5KM without needing a a block of lurpak...

at the end of a tough day where you took the shortcut home... log on to forum after getting your B2B massage, post up tons of BS about anything and everything, pictures of your cam whoring activities, B2B massage reports, and occasionally act like werewolves when any mention of a girl comes up... that is if you are not busy poisoning one another into bankruptcy...

summary, cycling is for idiots and lonely fappers... jus kiddin brows.gif

start your journey to hell heaven, i meant with some local cycling magz or if you have no $

http://www.baikbike.com/

from there on, get your first cheap bike (which you will ultimately regret) from a shop very very far away from where you live....

http://www.baikbike.com/bicycle-shops/

then further poison yourself with some of the international cycling sites and land yourself in further misery for knowing you just got conned into getting the wrong one and must now go sell your tushy to make more money for your new fancy shmancy shiny bike...

http://velonews.com
http://www.bikeradar.com

or come here to get a few jabs of poison needles from our resident doctors who specialize in evilsm and hypnotic and subliminal poisoning...

nuff said...

This post has been edited by butthead: Jul 30 2012, 10:47 AM
butthead
post Jul 30 2012, 10:48 AM

593 posts

this is so ridiculous...

http://bicycling.com/blogs/boulderreport/2...-olympic-bikes/

secret squirel club

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport...l-sort-off.html

the bike looks horrid...

This post has been edited by butthead: Jul 30 2012, 11:23 AM
TSvin_ann
post Jul 30 2012, 11:23 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 30 2012, 10:48 AM)
wah... long and complicated story wor...

who so rajin to write that sort of serious stuff?  tongue.gif
lure more people join the cycling ma...

save ur hassle to reply each time same questions asked.

just put "refer to 1st post" icon_rolleyes.gif
butthead
post Jul 30 2012, 11:23 AM

593 posts

this is so ridiculous...

http://bicycling.com/blogs/boulderreport/2...-olympic-bikes/

secret squirel club

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport...l-sort-off.html

the bike looks horrid...

Added on July 30, 2012, 11:41 am
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 30 2012, 11:23 AM)
lure more people join the cycling ma...

save ur hassle to reply each time same questions asked.

just put "refer to 1st post"  icon_rolleyes.gif
you are evil... you will pay for your sins...

haha... refer to 1st post... is like "talk to the hand, cos the face ain't listening"...

people will ask anyways... cos, they like a to be whipped silly... and that give us more chance to mock people.. mwahaha

in view of this serious matter... we have to appoint someone who has a serious attitude and more importantly.. passion for cycling.. and that person is..... isssss.... issssssssssss... not me, not you, not sky, not miaopurr, not hianboy, not lot101...

so, who?

dinraxx??? he puasa la... no energy to tap the keyboard... and kena "internet fasting" also...

This post has been edited by butthead: Jul 30 2012, 11:45 AM
joonming
post Jul 30 2012, 12:45 PM

JM
540 posts

V3 = Butthead and vin_ann chat thread?

Sky.Live
post Jul 30 2012, 01:34 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 30 2012, 09:36 AM)
apa kaitan the pump with the puncture... maybe you haven't got the shard out completely before you replace the tube and pump it up?

unless it's a deep cut or a cut on the sidewall.. doubt you have to throw the tire away....

There's a small line hole.. can see thru if you fold it over.. feels scary

QUOTE(joonming @ Jul 30 2012, 12:45 PM)

tht's right haha
SYAMiLLiON
post Jul 30 2012, 01:50 PM

459 posts

reporting in
butthead
post Jul 30 2012, 01:59 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Jul 30 2012, 12:45 PM)
you all haven't wake up ma... that is why only 2 of us...

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 30 2012, 01:34 PM)
There's a small line hole.. can see thru if you fold it over.. feels scary
tht's right haha
how small is small??? i lived with a sizeable slit around 2-3mm before on my rear detonators... noticeable if you forcefully flip it inside out... i just took one of the tire boots from my birzman patch kit and stuck it inside covering the slit jus to be safe... and it ran for quite some time until the next couple of puncture luckily not over that area and all the way until the tire got worn down to it's kevlar layers...

it totally depends on you... if you feel that the peace of mind is important to you... then, it is money well spent... for me, worst case even if i forgot to bring a spare tube is to walk home from taman tun...

but frankly, every puncture will more or less create a small damage or hole on the tire... it is just a matter if you spotted it.. the only one that is not recommended to ignore is the sidewall damages... that has to be changed out as soon as possible...

here is what the tire boot looks like... not all patch kits are supplied with them...a thicker material and more tough to add another layer over the tire for temporary use...

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=13249

in the case of birzman ones.. the boot is the bigger square piece with lotsa wordings...
http://www.birzman.co.uk/tyre-repair.html

This post has been edited by butthead: Jul 30 2012, 02:01 PM
Sky.Live
post Jul 30 2012, 02:02 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 30 2012, 01:59 PM)
you all haven't wake up ma... that is why only 2 of us...
how small is small??? i lived with a sizeable slit around 2-3mm before on my rear detonators... noticeable if you forcefully flip it inside out...  i just took one of the tire boots from my birzman patch kit and stuck it inside covering the slit jus to be safe... and it ran for quite some time until the next couple of puncture luckily not over that area and all the way until the tire got worn down to it's kevlar layers...

it totally depends on you... if you feel that the peace of mind is important to you... then, it is money well spent... for me, worst case even if i forgot to bring a spare tube is to walk home from taman tun...

but frankly, every puncture will more or less create a small damage or hole on the tire... it is just a matter if you spotted it.. the only one that is not recommended to ignore is the sidewall damages... that has to be changed out as soon as possible...

here is what the tire boot looks like... not all patch kits are supplied with them...a thicker material and more tough to add another layer over the tire for temporary use...

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=13249

in the case of birzman ones.. the boot is the bigger square piece with lotsa wordings...
http://www.birzman.co.uk/tyre-repair.html
loaning my bike to a friend to do powerman, afraid that something would happen to him.
I tried many pump but still cant get the air pressure to enough level after changing the tube
butthead
post Jul 30 2012, 02:17 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 30 2012, 02:02 PM)
loaning my bike to a friend to do powerman, afraid that something would happen to him.
I tried many pump but still cant get the air pressure to enough level after changing the tube
hand pump? enough pressure for you is??? 110psi?

hand pump tak boleh la... even though they claim max pressure is 160psi... you'll need arms like

to pump it that high... even my cacated floor pump that says it is capable of 160psi also very hard to get past 110psi... have to throw my body weight on the down stroke to force the air in... the claimed max pressure means that the seals will hold up to 160psi of pressure being pumped in... not that it can be done easily...

furthermore, such short stroke pumps is gonna kill your arms before powerman does... jus meant for emergency road side repairs and easy portability only...

This post has been edited by butthead: Jul 30 2012, 02:20 PM
Sky.Live
post Jul 30 2012, 02:23 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I think at most it reach 30 psi only..
butthead
post Jul 30 2012, 02:35 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 30 2012, 02:23 PM)
30psi cannot ride one wor... you climb on the bike only.. the rim will be touching ground already...

was using topeak pocket rocket last time until the presta adapter fell off and went to another dimension... and now on a mini birzman... both can easily get it up to 50-60 pounds... if you want to force it, maybe 70++ is possible...

last i pumped during puncture.. i went home to use floor pump to top it up and it started off pumping around 75psi... which meant that after 200-300 odd strokes in front of some un-appealing aunties watching me stroking in the middle of nowhere... i got it up to 70 odd psi...

This post has been edited by butthead: Jul 30 2012, 02:36 PM
TSvin_ann
post Jul 30 2012, 02:39 PM

10,912 posts

btw, my Sunday ride from Batu 18 to Titi.... 108KM...

yesterday was my second time riding to Titi with P2K since March this year where i had 3 flats in the last 10KM... =.='''

i reached very early, we have breakfast at cina apek kopitiam at the junction. i cant believe my own luck, there's two chicks having breakfast there too... i believe it's going to be awesome ride!

we have about 20 cyclists joining the ride... awesome... plus 2 guai lou riders... hehe...
From batu 18 to the Genting Perez kaki bukit, is about 17KM... our speeds were avearge above 30km/hr... i feel like wore out just before reaching the kaki bukit...

climbing hills... Perez... for second time.. feel some improvement on the feel good factor... must be along the way spotted few chicks... haha... 1 chick is using yellow green white Cippolini bike le..! oh yeah, another 2 chicks using Giant TCR SL3 ! same bike with me!!! 3 SL3 bikes gathered at top of Genting Perez!!! so nice! Too bad, forget to take photo!

we stopped at Titi for wan tan mee... while we were eating, a group of super bike arrived and stop at the same shop having wan tan mee too! one of the guai lou motorist is wearing SiDi shoe! 500 euro aka RM2,000, but it's cover until below knee ! lagi worth than RM1,000 SiDi cycling shoe...

Going back... climbing 12KM long of hills... anyway, must be the leftover feel good factor still there, i does not feel terrible like 1st time...

no flat ! nice ride!
butthead
post Jul 30 2012, 02:44 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 30 2012, 02:39 PM)
i cant believe my own luck, there's two chicks having breakfast there too... i believe it's going to be awesome ride!

must be along the way spotted few chicks... haha... 1 chick is using yellow green white Cippolini bike le..! oh yeah, another 2 chicks using Giant TCR SL3 !
STOP IT!!! mad.gif

you are killing me...

yesterday... i only saw a big bunch of aunties... ride also no mood...

This post has been edited by butthead: Jul 30 2012, 02:45 PM
TSvin_ann
post Jul 30 2012, 02:55 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jul 30 2012, 02:44 PM)
STOP IT!!!  mad.gif

you are killing me...

yesterday... i only saw a big bunch of aunties... ride also no mood...
you were there yesterday?

are you hanging out with ur gang at the junction when you saw a huge group of cyclists swing by?

wonder which one is you.... gotta refresh me scanning memory...

butthead
post Jul 30 2012, 03:01 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 30 2012, 02:55 PM)
you were there yesterday?

are you hanging out with ur gang at the junction when you saw a huge group of cyclists swing by?

wonder which one is you.... gotta refresh me scanning memory...
i am not there la... i was at my usual riding ground... jus no guuurrls yesterday... jus a bunch of aunties... so blardy disheartening...

and i only slept for less than 4 hours the night before and i had to forcefully get out of bed to go riding with high hopes...

well, it's true wat they say... the higher your expectations... the bigger the disappointment...

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif my weekend cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
malleus
post Jul 30 2012, 04:16 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 30 2012, 02:23 PM)
that's weird.. I've done up to 70psi on my topeak hand pump before. (the words are so faded I can't tell which it is anymore, but its one of the rockets).

if u were with that same group that went the wrong way that I think you were, the last guy who decided to cycle all the way had done a total of 196km that day. and he was recovering from a hairline fracture on his ribs too.

This post has been edited by malleus: Jul 30 2012, 04:18 PM

125 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:22 PM