Oct 4 2012, 12:45 AM
6,515 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Lowyat.net Malaysia Status: Perma Banned |
who used jr pass b4 for purpose other than shinkansen?
can't find the info i wan on jr pass web n some other web i wanna ask, if we holding jr pass n wanna take jr train within the city say from shinjuku to akihabara, do i still need to go to que at the counter to get ticket? or i can just show the jr pass n take the normal train (none shinkansen)? thanks |
Oct 4 2012, 06:17 AM
1,362 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Oct 4 2012, 12:45 AM) who used jr pass b4 for purpose other than shinkansen? show them the jr pass will do... =)can't find the info i wan on jr pass web n some other web i wanna ask, if we holding jr pass n wanna take jr train within the city say from shinjuku to akihabara, do i still need to go to que at the counter to get ticket? or i can just show the jr pass n take the normal train (none shinkansen)? thanks |
Oct 4 2012, 07:45 AM
Oct 4 2012, 08:12 AM
1,221 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Oct 4 2012, 10:19 AM
374 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Oct 4 2012, 07:45 AM) there's a officer at every entrance of the gate. just show it to him and he will open the gate for you.The officer is very helpful. I asked if this is the right train to take and he answer me back in english lol! |
Oct 4 2012, 10:22 AM
kyoto sifu,
wanna ask about route to arashiyama - kinkakuji - kyoto station my plan is like this.. morning take jr from kyoto to saga arashiyama then take the sagano scenic train at trokko saga station to trokko kameoka then from kameoka, back from trokko arashiyama and then explore araishiyama a while my question is how do i go to kinkakuji from arashiyama, best is take by bus or buy train? thanks |
Oct 4 2012, 10:32 AM
214 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: KL |
I planned to buy Google Nexus 7 16GB. But Asus Malaysia selling at RM999 and Japan selling it only at 19800yen (about RM770). Since I going to travel there on November 2012. I wanna ask
Is it compatible with Malaysia voltage? Should I buy or should not? |
Oct 4 2012, 10:35 AM
Oct 4 2012, 12:11 PM
1,340 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: here |
QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Oct 4 2012, 10:22 AM) kyoto sifu, There is no train from arashiyama to kinkakuji.wanna ask about route to arashiyama - kinkakuji - kyoto station my plan is like this.. morning take jr from kyoto to saga arashiyama then take the sagano scenic train at trokko saga station to trokko kameoka then from kameoka, back from trokko arashiyama and then explore araishiyama a while my question is how do i go to kinkakuji from arashiyama, best is take by bus or buy train? thanks From Arashiyama, take Bus No. 11 to Yamagoe Naka-cho (transfer point), then change to Bus No.59 and get off at Kinkakuji-michi. from kinkakuji, you may hoop in Bus No. 101 & 205 back to Kyoto station. Why dont you do Kinkakuji first then Arashiyama? besides avoid the crowd, you may also take jr train back to kyoto at the end of your trip. You can try explore arashiyama area first, then scenic train at last (remember last train depart at 5pm). |
Oct 4 2012, 12:14 PM
115 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Singapore |
To future travellers to Tokyo.
Seems like now you can get free WiFi on some JR train stations. All you need to do is to register your e-mail for first time and then you can get free WiFi access for 3 hours. Just need to relogin after that to extend. Check out this PDF for more information- http://www.jreast.co.jp/e/pdf/free_wifi_02_e.pdf free wifi, Tokyo |
Oct 4 2012, 12:46 PM
31 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Oct 4 2012, 12:14 PM) To future travellers to Tokyo. So nice.i was struggling finding places with wifi outside of the hotel.. Seems like now you can get free WiFi on some JR train stations. All you need to do is to register your e-mail for first time and then you can get free WiFi access for 3 hours. Just need to relogin after that to extend. Check out this PDF for more information- http://www.jreast.co.jp/e/pdf/free_wifi_02_e.pdf free wifi, Tokyo |
Oct 4 2012, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(menmissed @ Oct 4 2012, 12:11 PM) There is no train from arashiyama to kinkakuji. thansk for the infoFrom Arashiyama, take Bus No. 11 to Yamagoe Naka-cho (transfer point), then change to Bus No.59 and get off at Kinkakuji-michi. from kinkakuji, you may hoop in Bus No. 101 & 205 back to Kyoto station. Why dont you do Kinkakuji first then Arashiyama? besides avoid the crowd, you may also take jr train back to kyoto at the end of your trip. You can try explore arashiyama area first, then scenic train at last (remember last train depart at 5pm). why i didn't choose kinkakuji first is bcos i read few review saying kinkakuji is best to visit during 3-4pm cos that time the sunlight will shine towards the temple n the temple will looks very nice maybe i should consider ur suggestion as well u mean go kinkakuji first then only go araishiyama n take trokko train to kameoka then back to saga arashiyama n back to kyoto station? |
Oct 4 2012, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Oct 4 2012, 01:47 PM) thansk for the info Oh ic. weekdays ok lar, too crowded during weekends, sometimes.why i didn't choose kinkakuji first is bcos i read few review saying kinkakuji is best to visit during 3-4pm cos that time the sunlight will shine towards the temple n the temple will looks very nice maybe i should consider ur suggestion as well u mean go kinkakuji first then only go araishiyama n take trokko train to kameoka then back to saga arashiyama n back to kyoto station? there are alternatives, it's your call. i suggest that way is because you could have walked so much at kinkakuji n around arashiyama area, then you can just sit n relax yourself in train at ur last journey. Scenic train to torokko kameoka, then walk to umahori for JR train all the way back to Kyoto station. |
Oct 4 2012, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(menmissed @ Oct 4 2012, 02:21 PM) Oh ic. weekdays ok lar, too crowded during weekends, sometimes. cool.. ur idea is nice.. can view the evening scene at arashiyama as well then only back to kyoto stationthere are alternatives, it's your call. i suggest that way is because you could have walked so much at kinkakuji n around arashiyama area, then you can just sit n relax yourself in train at ur last journey. Scenic train to torokko kameoka, then walk to umahori for JR train all the way back to Kyoto station. one thing i wanna ask if i depart from torokko arashiyama, issit possible? bcos most ppl will take the train from torokko saga (first station) and the train should be full already am i right, still able hop in at torokko arashiyama until kameoka? |
Oct 4 2012, 05:41 PM
2,278 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL-KL |
QUOTE(johnchew91 @ Oct 4 2012, 10:32 AM) I planned to buy Google Nexus 7 16GB. But Asus Malaysia selling at RM999 and Japan selling it only at 19800yen (about RM770). Since I going to travel there on November 2012. I wanna ask which japan shop selling this cheap?? voltage wise just buy a power adapter etc lor..japan 100v plug to msia 240v sure kaboom..hahaIs it compatible with Malaysia voltage? Should I buy or should not? |
Oct 4 2012, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Oct 4 2012, 02:44 PM) cool.. ur idea is nice.. can view the evening scene at arashiyama as well then only back to kyoto station Im not sure, week day should be ok, to be safe, once you reach arashiyama, buy ticket first lo. I heard that other place got sell the scenic train ticket, but i not sure which station, you may check it out...one thing i wanna ask if i depart from torokko arashiyama, issit possible? bcos most ppl will take the train from torokko saga (first station) and the train should be full already am i right, still able hop in at torokko arashiyama until kameoka? if you have time, get a bus from arashiyama to Kyoto station. More to see.. |
Oct 4 2012, 11:58 PM
224 posts Joined: May 2012 |
Wanted to make a trip to jp
And i already checked airasia price are about rm1k (not sure is this possible ?) a 14days trip The place i wanted to go: Kiyomizu-dera(temple) Kyoto Tower Kyoto Imperial Palace Nijo Castle Heian-jingu Shrine Sanzen-in tokyo tower ! Osaka Castle Fushimi Inari Taisha (ya, thousand of red torii) Arashiyama (bamboo garden) Kyoto best place for maple leaf (i don't know whr, but i know nov is best time) Kinkaku-ji ("Temple of the Golden Pavilion") Akihabara (ppl who watch anime must go ?0.0) well most of this place are around kyoto erm tokyo i doesn't know very muchh but i need to ask for the budget 14days meal,stay(B&B),airline,transport |
Oct 5 2012, 08:33 AM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Oct 5 2012, 02:28 PM
21 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Hi Cyyap95,
It is a lot of work planning and working out the budget for a trip. You need to invest time and effort. This is also my first attempt and below are the pointers to assist you in your planning. To estimate the budget required, you will need to : 1) Draw out your itinerary. 2) Decide on the type of accommodation (hotel, hostel, ryokan, etc) and the location of your accommodation. The hotel booking website links provided by deodorant is a good place to start for hotel expense estimation. 3) Decide on mode of transport (bus, train, flight, car, etc). 4) Decide on type of meals (fast food, bento meals, kaiseki (full course meals), etc). 5) The types of passess required (bus pass, JR Rail Pass, Kansai Pass, etc.). 6) Create a worksheet to detail out your choices and the related expenses related. The links provided by deodorant would be a good starting ground. I find japan-guide especially useful. They have a forum you could post questions to and get very helpful replies and information. This link below will help you plan your travel around Kyoto : http://www.city.kyoto.jp/koho/eng/access/i...eigo-rosenn.pdf This link provide some tourist bus routes in Kyoto : http://www.city.kyoto.jp/koho/eng/access/i...ieigo-omote.pdf Some useful Tokyo transport links : http://www.jreast.co.jp/e/routemaps/pdf/Ro...ajorrailsub.pdf http://www.tokyometro.jp/en/subwaymap/index.html http://monge.u-bourgogne.fr/gdito/poisson2...o_trainmap.pd... pm me your e-mail address so I can send you a sample copy of the worksheet for the travel planning. Enjoy your planning! |
| Change to: | 0.0327sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:49 AM |