8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Keto Diet, Share you exp, tips and trick

WinkyJr
post Apr 27 2016, 12:14 PM

430 posts

suggest me any good whey protein for keto? (high protein, low carb)

ianlee
post Apr 28 2016, 11:49 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Apr 27 2016, 12:14 PM)
suggest me any good whey protein for keto? (high protein, low carb)
I use ON Gold Standard Whey. Only 3g of carbs per scoop which should be low enough to keep you from hitting your daily carb limit.

Another good brand I've seen recommended is Dymatize Whey (1g of carb only per scoop) but it is constantly out of stock.
WinkyJr
post Apr 28 2016, 04:21 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(ianlee @ Apr 28 2016, 11:49 AM)
I use ON Gold Standard Whey. Only 3g of carbs per scoop which should be low enough to keep you from hitting your daily carb limit.

Another good brand I've seen recommended is Dymatize Whey (1g of carb only per scoop) but it is constantly out of stock.

another q

do u guys experience intense pain at you forehead?
i've been in keto for almost 2 weeks
the pain start on 3rd days until now
hurt more during exercise & after exercise
sometimes feels like want to pitam

the doc said it just sinus and gave me pain killer but i don't have any flu tho

ianlee
post Apr 28 2016, 06:59 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Apr 28 2016, 04:21 PM)

another q

do u guys experience intense pain at you forehead?
i've been in keto for almost 2 weeks
the pain start on 3rd days until now
hurt more during exercise & after exercise
sometimes feels like want to pitam

the doc said it just sinus and gave me pain killer but i don't have any flu tho
Not sure if related to keto or not but make sure you drink enough water and also replenish your electrolytes (Drink some chicken broth)
~Battousai~
post May 9 2016, 10:04 AM

4,477 posts

finally someone catered to the keto diet crowd

https://www.facebook.com/gainzmeal/photos/a...?type=3&theater

can message them on how to customise to add more fats into their low carb meals rclxms.gif
nightshade_nova
post May 22 2016, 02:19 AM

443 posts

Im a believer in keto now that Ive tried it. smile.gif

Good for busy people who dont have time to do cardio and wanna burn fat.
Even if you only go slightly below your daily calorie intake, the effect is much more noticeable.

Regarding going keto and gaining muscle, no problem at all.
You can do both. nod.gif

darklight79
post May 22 2016, 08:45 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(nightshade_nova @ May 22 2016, 02:19 AM)
Im a believer in keto now that Ive tried it.  smile.gif

Good for busy people who dont have time to do cardio and wanna burn fat.
Even if you only go slightly below your daily calorie intake, the effect is much more noticeable.

Regarding going keto and gaining muscle, no problem at all.
You can do both.  nod.gif
This is so wrong on so many levels. Dead wrong.

On every level, hormonal and otherwise, it's not optimal.

Ketosis is a catabolic state even in high calories. Insulin down, SHBG up, T3 down, hyou name it and it's not optimal and that nonsense is popular online doesn't change anything. Lots of stupid stuff is popular online.

There is a difference in muscle SPARING and muscle BUILDING.

nightshade_nova
post May 25 2016, 09:38 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 22 2016, 08:45 AM)
This is so wrong on so many levels. Dead wrong.

On every level, hormonal and otherwise, it's not optimal.

Ketosis is a catabolic state even in high calories. Insulin down, SHBG up, T3 down, hyou name it and it's not optimal and that nonsense is popular online doesn't change anything. Lots of stupid stuff is popular online.

There is a difference in muscle SPARING and muscle BUILDING.
I dont wanna lawan sifu, but just from my experience. Proof in the pudding, ppl told me they noticed my growth.
I tried it in the first place cos someone suggested to me.
He has allergic seasons and his hormones would go haywire afterwards
he fix it by keto diet for a while or so he said.
And ppl who are diabetes also practice it under doctor supervision etc.
I didnt listen that well, just picked up a few here n there. whistling.gif

Im not sure about the mechanism also, but I made sure I get enough nutrients and only slightly go below daily calorie intake or dont even go below.
No starving, dont feel hungry. (instead always feel full cos milk/cheese and oil aha biggrin.gif )
Diet doesnt mean starve. Diet is just what you eat.

Im an ovolacto vegetarian in the first place anyway, so I always look out for these kind of things.

Before this my rambo method was eat a lot, and burn the fat away by exercising.
Didnt work that well. sweat.gif
I was underweight > 80kg > 65kg.
Gained a lot of fat, not much muscle.

Now around 60kg, but Im going steady gaining muscle and losing fat.
I know cos my butt is a good indicator lel.
Relic from my 80kg excess eating was my butt, somehow that part is really hard to burn off.

Its your body, so its your decision. My personal experience, this method is better for me compared to the calorie excess and exercise.
I think the human body is very adaptable. I feel like going keto just makes your body change "fuel type".
If youre doing strength training, your body wont just stay the same just because your diet is not optimal or something.
If you have the required nutrients, then your body will grow.
Lift weight everyday, eat enough but just cos keto diet wont gain muscle? Dont think so.

It might be less optimal, but to what degree, no one could say with absolute scientific certainty.
Probably not for everyone. Most ppl would prefer the "tried and true" methods.

One thing though, the menu could get boring.
But I like making caprese. Never get tired of those.
darklight79
post May 26 2016, 09:47 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Nah. Not lawan buddy.

I'm NOT saying YOU'RE stupid.

I'm saying there's a lot of stuff online which is stupid.

You only look bigger from keto possibly because:-
1.Growth response as a beginner
2. Illusion because of being leaner

ianlee
post May 26 2016, 10:17 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 26 2016, 09:47 AM)
Nah. Not lawan buddy.

I'm NOT saying YOU'RE stupid.

I'm saying there's a lot of stuff online which is stupid.

You only look bigger from keto possibly because:-
1.Growth response as a beginner
2. Illusion because of being leaner
Scientific Journal: The effects of ketogenic dieting on skeletal muscle and fat mass - Jacob T Rauch, Jeremy E Silva, Ryan P Lowery, Sean A McCleary, Kevin A Shields, Jacob A Ormes, Matthew H Sharp, Steven I Weiner, John I Georges, Jeff S Volek, Dominic P D’agostino, Jacob M Wilson.

Link: http://www.jissn.com/content/pdf/1550-2783-11-S1-P40.pdf

Excerpt:
Background

This is the first study ever to research very low carbohydrate ketogenic dieting (VLCKD) relative to a traditional high carbohydrate diet in resistance trained athletes.

Methods

Twenty-six college aged resistance trained men volunteered to participate in this study and were divided into VLCKD (5 % CHO, 75 % Fat, 20 % Pro) or a traditional western diet (55 % CHO, 25 % fat, 20 % pro). All subjects participated in a periodized resistance-training program 3x per week. Body fat and lean mass were determined via dual xray absorptiometry (DXA), while muscle mass was determined via ultrasonography analysis of the quadriceps. All measures were taken at week 0 and 11.

Results

Lean body mass increased to a greater extent in the VLCKD (4.3 ± 1.7 kgs ) as compared to the traditional group (2.2 kg ± 1.7).

Ultrasound determined muscle mass increased to a greater extent in the VLCKD group (0.4 ± 0.25 cm) as compared to the traditional western group (0.19 ± 0.26 cm). Finally fat mass decreased to a greater extent in the VLCKD group (-2.2 kg ± 1.2 kg) as compared to the traditional group (- 1.5 ± 1.6 kg).

Conclusions

These results indicate that VLCKD may have more favorable changes in LBM, muscle mass, and body fatness as compared to a traditional western diet in resistance trained males.

Also worth reading:
http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/can-you-bu...genic-diet.html
Everdying
post May 26 2016, 10:43 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,730 posts

QUOTE(ianlee @ May 26 2016, 10:17 AM)
Scientific Journal: The effects of ketogenic dieting on skeletal muscle and fat mass - Jacob T Rauch, Jeremy E Silva, Ryan P Lowery, Sean A McCleary, Kevin A Shields, Jacob A Ormes, Matthew H Sharp, Steven I Weiner, John I Georges, Jeff S Volek, Dominic P D’agostino, Jacob M Wilson.

Excerpt:

Also worth reading:
well that link also concludes by -
Quite simply, my adventure in carbohydrate-less anabolism was to prove that you can perform at a high level on minimal carbohydrate—at least in the short term. Carbohydrates are not required to flip the protein synthesis switch, but perhaps there are other ways to make the overall anabolic process more efficient and effective.

Does that mean everyone should adopt a ketogenic diet? I don't think it is for everyone (and perhaps not for the long-term), but it's still interesting to see what your body can achieve through thick and thin.

and that 1st study, why determine muscle mass by quads? instead of overall?
then again, imo...any diet still works...but one should select based on long term as its basically a life style change.
doing something that as that 2nd link only recommends for the short term is basically short changing urself.

This post has been edited by Everdying: May 26 2016, 10:44 AM
ianlee
post May 26 2016, 10:54 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 26 2016, 10:43 AM)
well that link also concludes by -
and that 1st study, why determine muscle mass by quads? instead of overall?
then again, imo...any diet still works...but one should select based on long term as its basically a life style change.
doing something that as that 2nd link only recommends for the short term is basically short changing urself.
Maybe because the quads are the biggest muscle, hence easier to measure? I honestly don't know but all I was trying to do was to dispel the myth that it is IMPOSSIBLE to build muscle while on a low carb diet.

And yes, I agree that most diets work, it all depends on how committed you are smile.gif

Everdying
post May 26 2016, 10:57 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(ianlee @ May 26 2016, 10:54 AM)
Maybe because the quads are the biggest muscle, hence easier to measure? I honestly don't know but all I was trying to do was to dispel the myth that it is IMPOSSIBLE to build muscle while on a low carb diet.

And yes, I agree that most diets work, it all depends on how committed you are  smile.gif
i guess so can build muscle, but is it optimal? probably not, and definitely not in the long term.
ianlee
post May 26 2016, 11:11 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 26 2016, 10:57 AM)
i guess so can build muscle, but is it optimal? probably not, and definitely not in the long term.
Honestly curious why would you say that is. Granted, more long term studies need to be done (Probably will take a while as this way of eating isn't mainstream) but I wanna know why you think it isn't optimal

Anecdotally, I've seen many people who use Keto and build muscle in the long term (This guy is on keto for more than a decade https://www.instagram.com/darthluiggi)
Everdying
post May 26 2016, 11:21 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(ianlee @ May 26 2016, 11:11 AM)
Honestly curious why would you say that is. Granted, more long term studies need to be done (Probably will take a while as this way of eating isn't mainstream) but I wanna know why you think it isn't optimal

Anecdotally, I've seen many people who use Keto and build muscle in the long term (This guy is on keto for more than a decade https://www.instagram.com/darthluiggi)
that guy - link broken btw - is probably on a higher protein ratio.

and before u go posting more links...
straight from the horse's mouth.
http://ketogains.com/2016/02/ketogains-ket...context-part-1/
There is no “true” ketogenic diet – A ketogenic diet is #context dependent of your goals, body fat percentage, activity levels, etc.

anyway, im not really bothered to follow a low carb...cos i get headaches.
currently im following just a basic something like 35% protein / 25-30% fat / rest filled up by carbs...gonna see how this goes for next month tongue.gif
ianlee
post May 26 2016, 11:35 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 26 2016, 11:21 AM)
that guy - link broken btw - is probably on a higher protein ratio.

and before u go posting more links...
straight from the horse's mouth.
http://ketogains.com/2016/02/ketogains-ket...context-part-1/
anyway, im not really bothered to follow a low carb...cos i get headaches.
currently im following just a basic something like 35% protein / 25-30% fat / rest filled up by carbs...gonna see how this goes for next month tongue.gif
Yeah it depends on your goals but the common denominator for keto is low carb.

And higher protein doesn't mean it isnt keto right?

Of course I agree it isn't for everyone, what's best is the diet you can stick to right? thumbsup.gif

Sidenote: I've tried keto in the past with great results, and just started keto again about 3 months ago. (Also, you probably have headaches due to low electrolytes, very common in early stages. Supplementing with some broth or sodium will help a lot)
lilredridinghood
post May 26 2016, 11:35 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(ianlee @ May 26 2016, 11:11 AM)

Anecdotally, I've seen many people who use Keto and build muscle in the long term (This guy is on keto for more than a decade https://www.instagram.com/darthluiggi
)
Fixed

btw, nothing is ever optimal, some people react well with keto, some don't, very subjective

Everdying
post May 26 2016, 11:49 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(ianlee @ May 26 2016, 11:35 AM)
Yeah it depends on your goals but the common denominator for keto is low carb.

And higher protein doesn't mean it isnt keto right?

Of course I agree it isn't for everyone, what's best is the diet you can stick to right?  thumbsup.gif

Sidenote: I've tried keto in the past with great results, and just started keto again about 3 months ago. (Also, you probably have headaches due to low electrolytes, very common in early stages. Supplementing with some broth or sodium will help a lot)
low carb also subjective.
if one must mention darthluiggi, i think there are alot of half-truths being thrown around as for gains they all still take 25-50gms of carbs both before and after workouts...so a total of 50-100gms.
those amounts definitely far exceeds the standard low carb recommendations.

This post has been edited by Everdying: May 26 2016, 11:49 AM
darklight79
post May 26 2016, 04:19 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(ianlee @ May 26 2016, 10:17 AM)

Excerpt:

Also worth reading:
1. Bodybuilding.com = lol
2. You sure you want to dispute Alan Aragon, one of the world's TOP nutritionists who has locked horns with Jeff Volek (a low carb fanatic)
3. Even Kane Sumabat, an aesthetic legend doesn't do low carb anymore.

Gonna edit this with more links. On mobile now.

darklight79
post May 26 2016, 04:20 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

http://www.alanaragonblog.com/2013/03/13/2...-dr-jeff-volek/

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0216sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:58 AM