138 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Supplementation discussion and review thread V2, Give your opinion!

harris92
post Aug 22 2012, 04:22 PM

-
536 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ Aug 22 2012, 03:49 PM)
So the best bet is to buy combination of whey & casein in a tub rite? What brands got such combination? Thanks.
Protein blends dude. Examples are like Optimum Nutrition's Nitro-Core 24, or BSN's Syntha-6, there are others out there as well, just need to look.
MugenK20A
post Aug 22 2012, 05:09 PM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(harris92 @ Aug 22 2012, 05:22 PM)
Protein blends dude. Examples are like Optimum Nutrition's Nitro-Core 24, or BSN's Syntha-6, there are others out there as well, just need to look.
Ok just what i need. Brand & names. Thanks a lot man tongue.gif
RedShirt
post Aug 23 2012, 09:03 AM

515 posts

Anyone takes supplements for joints ?
I believe that lifting weights and running are both taking a toll on my knees and elbows and I don't think I am getting enough from my diet. What to eat for joints ?

I have been taking Glucosamine + Chondroitin from Kordel (off pharmacy counter) but I am wondering if anyone else is taking something different. I finished my bottle last month and recently, feeling some slight pain at my knees again.
raziel1986_4
post Aug 23 2012, 09:34 AM

56 posts

guys, has any1 order from this company b4?
http://fitlion.com/my/
whatdamn
post Aug 23 2012, 09:40 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(RedShirt @ Aug 22 2012, 07:03 PM)
Anyone takes supplements for joints ?
I believe that lifting weights and running are both taking a toll on my knees and elbows and I don't think I am getting enough from my diet. What to eat for joints ?

I have been taking Glucosamine + Chondroitin from Kordel (off pharmacy counter) but I am wondering if anyone else is taking something different. I finished my bottle last month and recently, feeling some slight pain at my knees again.
i would add grapeseed extract and at least 3g worth of EPA/DHA from fish oils as a start. either your running form or shoes are not optimum. have you checked your pronation? are you warming up sufficiently before doing either activity? you should spend at the very least 5 mins of quality stretching and self myo-fascial release prior to those activities.

another reason could be that you've a muscle imbalance in your legs and/or arms.
RedShirt
post Aug 23 2012, 10:01 AM

515 posts

What you said makes sense. I am rather an impatient person when I am about to start my exercises.

Come to think of it, there is a stretching bench in my gym and I tend to use it to stretch before starting. When in the gym, I can run for 7-8km or bench press about 50-55kg without any knee or elbow joint pains.

However, when I run outdoors, I would just do some basic school PE warmups and just go or when I am at home and I try to do some pushup using bars, my joints will hurt

I suppose besides supplements, I should start a good practise of proper warmup routine.

I am taking fish oils regularly, but maybe not up to 3g worth though.

Thanks for your advice.
VaLeNrUdOn
post Aug 23 2012, 11:01 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(RedShirt @ Aug 23 2012, 10:01 AM)
What you said makes sense. I am rather an impatient person when I am about to start my exercises.

Come to think of it, there is a stretching bench in my gym and I tend to use it to stretch before starting. When in the gym, I can run for 7-8km or bench press about 50-55kg without any knee or elbow joint pains.

However, when I run outdoors, I would just do some basic school PE warmups and just go or when I am at home and I try to do some pushup using bars, my joints will hurt

I suppose besides supplements, I should start a good practise of proper warmup routine.

I am taking fish oils regularly, but maybe not up to 3g worth though.

Thanks for your advice.
dunno about your elbows...
but for your knees i think it hurts when u run outside because of the force you use to push yourself forward..when you're in the gym on the treadmill...u don't need that force as much if not at all..the conveyer pulls your leg back for you..
try lowering your body by bending ur knees a little bit more when u run on the road...that will prolly help involve more hamstring work smile.gif..
just my 2 cents....
raziel1986_4
post Aug 23 2012, 11:12 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(VaLeNrUdOn @ Aug 23 2012, 11:01 AM)
dunno about your elbows...
but for your knees i think it hurts when u run outside because of the force you use to push yourself forward..when you're in the gym on the treadmill...u don't need that force as much if not at all..the conveyer pulls your leg back for you..
try lowering your body by bending ur knees a little bit more when u run on the road...that will prolly help involve more hamstring work smile.gif..
just my 2 cents....
running/jog Force of impact on pavement is higher compared to run/jog on a treadmill,
for beginner treadmill is good option due to the low impact force by 15%-25% vs pavement.
or what you can do run on Padang bola is good for the knees also.

other tips, try to maintain good running/jog posture plus good heel to toes.. most people land on their toes or flat footed while runnig.....
whatdamn
post Aug 23 2012, 11:50 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(raziel1986_4 @ Aug 22 2012, 09:12 PM)
running/jog Force of impact on pavement is higher compared  to run/jog on a treadmill,
for beginner treadmill is good  option due to the low impact force by 15%-25% vs pavement.
or what you can do run on Padang bola is good for the knees also.

other tips, try to maintain good running/jog posture plus good heel to toes.. most people land on their toes or flat footed while runnig.....
i disagree with your comment on heel to toe running as this usually leads to pain in the knees because of the load path that runs straight up from the strike point of your heel all the way up to your hips.
raziel1986_4
post Aug 23 2012, 12:38 PM

56 posts

>>>The finding - what do you expect?

Before giving their main finding away, take a moment to guess what they would have found...If you are anything like me, and have read the substantial amount on the internet and in books about how it's "better" (there's that word again) to land on your forefoot, then of course, your expectation might be that they found:
The majority of runners land on the forefoot
Those that DO NOT land on the forefoot are the runners who finish towards the back of the field
Well, if that's what you thought, you'd be completely incorrect...! Because the finding is the following:
The vast majority (75%) of the elite runners land on the heel
About 1 in four (24%) runners landed on the mid-foot
Only 4 out of 283 runners landed on the forefoot

further reading can be done here
http://www.sportsscientists.com/2008/04/ru...footstrike.html

and please take note, wearing shoes and without wearing one, require totally different running technique. heel to toes technique should be done in fluid motion, and when you land it should in between your heel and mid of your foot progressively moving towards your toes to spring you forward. just my 2cent.

im agree to disagree.

whatdamn
post Aug 23 2012, 01:13 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(raziel1986_4 @ Aug 22 2012, 10:38 PM)
>>>The finding - what do you expect?

Before giving their main finding away, take a moment to guess what they would have found...If you are anything like me, and have read the substantial amount on the internet and in books about how it's "better" (there's that word again) to land on your forefoot, then of course, your expectation might be that they found:
The majority of runners land on the forefoot
Those that DO NOT land on the forefoot are the runners who finish towards the back of the field
Well, if that's what you thought, you'd be completely incorrect...! Because the finding is the following:
The vast majority (75%) of the elite runners land on the heel
About 1 in four (24%) runners landed on the mid-foot
Only 4 out of 283 runners landed on the forefoot

further reading can be done here
http://www.sportsscientists.com/2008/04/ru...footstrike.html

and please take note, wearing shoes and without wearing one, require totally different running technique. heel to toes technique should be done in fluid motion, and when you land it should in between your heel and mid of your foot progressively moving towards your toes to spring you forward. just my 2cent.

im agree to disagree.
for discussion purposes, more research needs to be done to solidify which is a better running technique. some of the more recent journals note that having a foot strike at the anterior of the foot may reduce the injuries to the knee. there is a caveat though in that the metatarsals tend to take more of a beating but this gets better over time as your feet in general and your ankles get used to it.

literature:
A review of mechanics and injury trends among various running styles.

raziel1986_4
post Aug 23 2012, 01:48 PM

56 posts

tq for the info, will look into it.
DT1
post Aug 23 2012, 10:49 PM

1,186 posts

Anyone here taking Dymatize Elite Casein?
MugenK20A
post Aug 25 2012, 11:49 AM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Aug 23 2012, 11:49 PM)
Anyone here taking Dymatize Elite Casein?
Yeah i was looking for some reviews bout this also...
DT1
post Aug 25 2012, 05:30 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ Aug 25 2012, 11:49 AM)
Yeah i was looking for some reviews bout this also...
Well I am looking to sell my tub. I just took one scoop.

I absolutely dislike the taste, which is similar to those super cheap chocolate cookies.
shiloong7081
post Aug 25 2012, 07:47 PM

928 posts

you guys have any problem with myofusion probiotic ? I seem to have diarrhea with this. Damn sad, and it's my fav supp too sad.gif
xGKx Phoenix
post Aug 25 2012, 07:50 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ Aug 25 2012, 07:47 PM)
you guys have any problem with myofusion probiotic ? I seem to have diarrhea with this. Damn sad, and it's my fav supp too sad.gif
How long have you been using it? I've heard of "bowel issues" with myofusion before, specifically for probiotic. If you've only just started, it's probably a good thing. Meaning the probiotics are doing their job smile.gif

Otherwise, try sticking with it for a while and see how you go.

Also what's your fiber intake like?
shiloong7081
post Aug 25 2012, 08:13 PM

928 posts

QUOTE(xGKx Phoenix @ Aug 25 2012, 07:50 PM)
How long have you been using it? I've heard of "bowel issues" with myofusion before, specifically for probiotic. If you've only just started, it's probably a good thing. Meaning the probiotics are doing their job smile.gif

Otherwise, try sticking with it for a while and see how you go.

Also what's your fiber intake like?
fiber about 4 servings of fruits + vege. Have been using this for the past 1 week , had no issues with the old version. It would suck if I had to stop using this, one of the cheapest protein blend with a decent nutrition profile out there
[G]ooD_DaY
post Aug 25 2012, 08:13 PM

1,450 posts

Sifus, current stats of me
20yo, 180cm, 65kg, been in body-building for 9months
Goal is to look like

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7WCAtjU6Kgw...1ac.tl_zc_gvaac

Video : 2.16 Maiko Lima

Currently having weight-gainer for pre and post workout, BCAA for pre and post workout also, and daily multivitamin from GNC.

Planning to increase my supplement for fish oil, creatine and maybe glutamine, biggrin.gif
And maybe cut off my weight-gainer to whey also.

Can i know which brand is good and value for money for bolded? And btw from what i saw from previous posts, someone stated that Animal pack seems to be better than a lot of other multi-vits, looked it up just now n i think i will bankrupt if i get that shocking.gif

Current diet mostly look like these:-

-Morning : 4 whole eggs and milo with oat
-Lunch : Whatever cooked in home, usually rice with some chicken or vege or both
-Preworkout : BCAA and Weight-gainer and some solid foods, whatever available at home
-Postworkout : BCAA and Weight-gainer and home cooked dinner
-Prebed : A cup of milk or maybe sometimes supper like maggie goreng / roti canai

Working out 5 days a week, chest, back, legs, shoulders and arms, each part for each day, saturday sometimes will go for cardio, or sometimes arm day will be together with cardio, cardio mostly around 15 mins only. Before that I was 60kg, now 65kg only 5kg gain over this long period, thinking now that maybe i need to change something so im here to ask for opinions and recommendations.
Thanks biggrin.gif notworthy.gif
alien9
post Aug 25 2012, 08:18 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Aug 25 2012, 08:13 PM)

From 60kg to 65kg within 9 months? With a newbie gains and those mass gainers, you should have been gain more weight than that. Don't you think that your gain is slow?

138 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:25 AM