Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

SUSendau02
post Feb 18 2012, 12:33 AM

3,180 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 17 2012, 02:45 PM)
^ in the end they hire the cheapest of them all,
in case the guy fail,  the boss can say "well at least the guy is cheap"  laugh.gif
But screwed the most exp project. penny wise pound foolish
extremepower
post Feb 18 2012, 12:34 AM

545 posts

btw, I am just giving warning to those who's applying jobs here. So, don't be surprise if your replies from employers are late or non existence. You have to be proactive and beat the rest (lower salary) if you are desparate. wink.gif Hope this helps.
7up
post Feb 18 2012, 08:32 AM

129 posts

for those staying in jb travelling everyday to singapore, with EP, do they need to pay any VEP for their malaysian vehicle?
toughnut
post Feb 18 2012, 10:52 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(senyii @ Feb 16 2012, 02:12 PM)
I'm Looking at mechanical field..but I think hard to be enployed by Ong co since I dun hv Exp in this field
that's incorrect. most engineers in OnG are mostly from mechanical, structural, naval or offshore marine engineering
r1v3r
post Feb 18 2012, 11:04 AM

1,305 posts

This year budget is for the people of Singapore. The gov had too much focus on growth in the past. With growing ageing population, this budget come at the right time for its people.

When economy down, employer might cut older local staff for cheaper ft. With lower ft quota and higher cpf for elder staff, sg gov is protecting their people. Minister Tharman had said lower growth is expected for this "inclusive theme" budget.

No point argue with ex finance minister over the budget if the gov fail to win its people vote right? After the last GE, pap have to do this.

I wish MY gov have the HEART for its people like SG.

Ok, let's see what we have
1) more medical staff needed with the expansion.
2) more bus driver and service technician with new buses
3) education and training center will have greater demand since gov want to train more worker.
More trainer jobs.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Feb 18 2012, 11:18 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 18 2012, 11:46 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ad3rb33n @ Feb 17 2012, 08:37 PM)
ya i still ard....close to 14k(inclusive of allowances+bonus, which is taxable rite?)
so i still have to pay 1st then only get the rebate?

still a bit  rclxub.gif
if u r still around u will be taxed as a resident although u worked less than 183 that year... if i had not mistaken, only if u quit... but i have a friend that quit or rather got transfered back to msia... he too didnt have to pay 15%
QUOTE(extremepower @ Feb 17 2012, 11:25 PM)
BTW, todays budget. Sg will reduce intake of Foreign Talents. So, this means it is going to be slightly tougher to come in. Good luck. wink.gif
Can't blame them making noise. Even the local PR here is feeling the heat from FT.
It is the employers fault who wanted to bring in lower pay people squeezing out the locals and PRs. wink.gif
if you're good you compete... the gov is tightening and not closing the door totally... may the best man wins rclxms.gif
QUOTE(toughnut @ Feb 18 2012, 10:52 AM)
that's incorrect. most engineers in OnG are mostly from mechanical, structural, naval or offshore marine engineering
it depends on where on the ong supply chain... upstream or downstream it is all diff lor...
toughnut
post Feb 18 2012, 12:34 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 18 2012, 11:46 AM)
it depends on where on the ong supply chain... upstream or downstream it is all diff lor...
oh yea, i'm referring to upstream laugh.gif
TSLester1987
post Feb 18 2012, 03:34 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(7up @ Feb 18 2012, 08:32 AM)
for those staying in jb travelling everyday to singapore, with EP, do they need to pay any VEP for their malaysian vehicle?
VEP is applicable to all foreign vehicle. in fact, the reason VEP is implemented is to control those working in Singapore but stay in JB
to don't drive to work. to avoid the traffic congestion in SG.
megadisc
post Feb 18 2012, 04:43 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Feb 18 2012, 04:34 PM)
VEP is applicable to all foreign vehicle. in fact, the reason VEP is implemented is to control those working in Singapore but stay in JB
dont forget
it's to make money !
tailtwist
post Feb 18 2012, 07:05 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Feb 18 2012, 04:43 PM)
dont forget
it's to make money !
Yeah..of course...ERP as well mah..DUH!
extremepower
post Feb 18 2012, 07:11 PM

545 posts

Years of so called iron fist rule. It is changing. The % is getting lower, just like in Malaysia. Spring cleaning. wink.gif
sapapa
post Feb 18 2012, 07:31 PM

264 posts

Hey guys, my company holds 15% of my monthly salary for the period of 6 months(probation period). After this period, the company would return the money back to me. I have been asked that applying a GIRO account would help me as I would get the full salary and the company does not hold 15% of my monthly salary for 6 months.

I went to GIRO few days ago and talked to the officers there. They said that I am not liable to any tax, they could not help me with this. They said that this is between you and your company.

So now I'm confuse.

I wonder if anyone experience this before?

This post has been edited by sapapa: Feb 18 2012, 07:32 PM
seantang
post Feb 18 2012, 07:50 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(sapapa @ Feb 18 2012, 07:31 PM)
Hey guys, my company holds 15% of my monthly salary for the period of 6 months(probation period). After this period, the company would return the money back to me. I have been asked that applying a GIRO account would help me as I would get the full salary and the company does not hold 15% of my monthly salary for 6 months.

I went to GIRO few days ago and talked to the officers there. They said that I am not liable to any tax, they could not help me with this. They said that this is between you and your company.

So now I'm confuse.

I wonder if anyone experience this before?
I'm confused too.

Where is GIRO and they have officers?

Is your company paying your salary in cash? If they bank it in, they don't have to withhold any potential taxation in case you don't pay your tax, as the bank records will show that they have passed all of your salary to you.

PepsiCo
post Feb 18 2012, 07:50 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Feb 17 2012, 02:20 PM)
well, about my interview earlier this week, i pretty much spent  about 30minutes getting killed and owned by the GM, where he boldly mentioned that I am not adaptable, not flexible, and technical minded ( he is is looking for someone with more commercial minded). Sent a thank you letter the day after the interview, and the HR said will revert to me by Friday(today). But today the HR said still cannot conclude their selection yet. My guess is that, I did bad, but the others did worse. lol
GM come down doing interview? That's rare, unless the company very small, you applying very high position or you applying to become his secretary.

Added on February 18, 2012, 7:53 pm
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Feb 18 2012, 03:34 PM)
I think not working very well. Still see a lot of foreign vehicles in Sg. smile.gif

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Feb 18 2012, 07:53 PM
sapapa
post Feb 18 2012, 08:29 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 18 2012, 07:50 PM)
I'm confused too.

Where is GIRO and they have officers?

Is your company paying your salary in cash? If they bank it in, they don't have to withhold any potential taxation in case you don't pay your tax, as the bank records will show that they have passed all of your salary to you.
My company holds 15% of my salary for 6 months because they are afraid that I might run half-way and they have to use that money to pay income tax.

They pay me by cheque. I know that I am don't have to pay any tax at the moment but if I leave the company within 6 months, I have to pay tax.

This post has been edited by sapapa: Feb 18 2012, 08:29 PM
extremepower
post Feb 18 2012, 10:21 PM

545 posts

If your company file proper papers, they should not hold you I think. It is up to you and the tax man. You dare to con the tax man? lol. wink.gif
Aloong
post Feb 18 2012, 11:09 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(ad3rb33n @ Feb 17 2012, 09:48 PM)
ya that is resident tax rite? but i stayed less than 183 days for last year... so categorized under non-resident which is entitled to be taxed 15% or progressive tax structure(for resident tax) whichever higher? that what the iras website said... that y i confused
Nope nothing to do with resident or NR. Just give a call to IRAS.
deodorant
post Feb 19 2012, 12:19 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(sapapa @ Feb 18 2012, 07:31 PM)

GIRO? hmm.gif ... you sure you put the correct acronym here?
sapapa
post Feb 19 2012, 04:04 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 19 2012, 12:19 PM)
GIRO? hmm.gif ... you sure you put the correct acronym here?
Yea, GIRO = IRAS, the income tax building at Novena
senyii
post Feb 19 2012, 04:34 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Feb 18 2012, 10:52 AM)
I'm from material science but working experience in mechanical...

Still waiting for offer frm
My co..

124 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:57 PM