Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

mercury8400
post Apr 26 2012, 01:58 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 26 2012, 11:40 AM)
Could be subsidiary cards. Or they already have a home loan etc with the bank. Or they may have other income you don't know about. Or they simply didn't tell you their real salary. I have never told anyone besides my parents my real salary in my entire life.
No leh. I got Citi premier miles but my total pay is nowhere near S$80k p.a.
deodorant
post Apr 26 2012, 02:07 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 26 2012, 01:49 PM)
do u employees get auto infinite card ar? or priority banking?

lol no. scb has preferred banking (which allows you to apply for world mastercard) and priority banking (which allows you to apply for visa infinite). the primary criteria for getting into preferred / priority banking is 'keep $xxxxx in deposits' or 'have $yyyyy worth of housing loan,' neither of which my poorfag self qualifies for smile.gif
idvdi
post Apr 26 2012, 03:03 PM

84 posts

i got some questions to ask hor...
lately i just got an offer from singapore, working as an engineer assistant.
and i have exactly no idea on singapore's expenses and living and salary thingy.

they offer me SGD 1.6k + allowance as i am a diploma graduate. how is that ah?
toughnut
post Apr 26 2012, 03:14 PM

3,239 posts

freshies engineer paid 2200 and above.

for expenses, check back few pages back, i think there's a breakdown. generally 1000 will be enough for a small room (500), food (300-400) and bill/transport (100). if you share room, can save/spend more.
idvdi
post Apr 26 2012, 03:38 PM

84 posts

thanks. it helps very much! =)
omg528
post Apr 26 2012, 04:04 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Apr 24 2012, 05:17 PM)
This MIGHT BE good for those who already have a car for family and personal used, the $450 can supplement the montly expenses.

Assumed you already have own car, so exclude tax, parking, insurance etc:

some sales people can clock 5000km or more per month.

Say your car can run at best 14km/l, that's 360L of petrol.

Say you buy cheap RON 92 (take it as $2/L) , that's $2 x 360 x 15% discount(if you have) =  $612

every 10k you service your car once, say cheap cheap type $100, that's $50/month

say your tyre last you 40,000km, cheap cheap 4x $100/pc, that's  $50/month

Just these extra running cost item alone cost you $712 / month.

$450 you get is not much unless your cut on the sales is really good to offset the difference.
cost of car dont have to be 80k lah... this will do
http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...=215345&DL=1009
the 450 is for me to take cab or mrt...to travel in sg...lol...
but i think is quite difficult because some places are damn far and deep...
i will cost me more if keep travel thr...later i cant cover my expenses....
haiz...gonna withdraw the offer la...
seantang
post Apr 26 2012, 05:35 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 26 2012, 01:58 PM)
No leh. I got Citi premier miles but my total pay is nowhere near S$80k p.a.
You hansem kua?

Tigerr
post Apr 26 2012, 05:44 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 26 2012, 11:09 AM)
if I decided to convert it to cash, is it higher than Clear card ? but Clear card a lot of dining perks, which i use quite often  smile.gif

Mine is still 2X monthly salary limits after so long. Never offer to increase also. Maybe spending power not there coz this is my secondary card.

Added on April 26, 2012, 11:10 am

I'm also confused on those minimum requirement set by banks. Shouldn't it be regulate by the central bank, like the MAS ?
i received citibank letter to ask to fill up the form to increase my limit to 4x salary...but with current limit, i also enuff use, so, no bother about it. not that i am a big spender, i only use it for grocery and overseas hotel and food.......otherwise, hardly use the card.....
Mackiddo
post Apr 26 2012, 07:15 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 26 2012, 12:20 PM)
well if you go to the bank's websites ... for example DBS Esso Platinum card (i just randomly clicked)
Hehe. I got this card. Use only for petrol tongue.gif . Kinda like free for life, DBS can't charge annual fees for it even if they wanted to.
r1v3r
post Apr 26 2012, 09:54 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 26 2012, 07:15 PM)
Hehe. I got this card. Use only for petrol  tongue.gif   . Kinda like free for life, DBS can't charge annual fees for it even if they wanted to.
? EM guys don't have those company discount card? 18% or more?

I was mainly using dividend card for petrol, now looking at how and which card to apply for JB petrol. Any idea?

I have sub card and I keep the total limit less tha 2x salary just to make sure I don't over spend. I can't brain the idea of spending more than 1 month salary on daily expenses and being charge 20+% interest.

Added on April 26, 2012, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 26 2012, 02:07 PM)
lol no. scb has preferred banking (which allows you to apply for world mastercard) and priority banking (which allows you to apply for visa infinite). the primary criteria for getting into preferred / priority banking is 'keep $xxxxx in deposits' or 'have $yyyyy worth of housing loan,' neither of which my poorfag self qualifies for smile.gif
What's the difference btw world MasterCard and MasterCard?

5 figures Housing loan? Then almost all house owner will get the infinite card.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Apr 26 2012, 10:10 PM
singaporestreet
post Apr 26 2012, 10:14 PM

13 posts

ok guys question.

normally, in singapore will they deduct something like epf in the salary?

sorry noob question. i'll start working there next month.
elie3173
post Apr 26 2012, 10:18 PM

40 posts

Hi everyone . I am going to submit my spr application . Noticed there is a thing called household census list . Does anyone know what is that ? Any other thing I need to take note during submission ? Thanks in advance for your reply smile.gif
megadisc
post Apr 26 2012, 10:30 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 26 2012, 04:14 PM)
freshies engineer paid 2200 and above.

for expenses, check back few pages back, i think there's a breakdown. generally 1000 will be enough for a small room (500), food (300-400) and bill/transport (100). if you share room, can save/spend more.
yup ...around there liao
nothing more to add unless you are a spendrift

QUOTE(idvdi @ Apr 26 2012, 04:03 PM)
i got some questions to ask hor...
lately i just got an offer from singapore, working as an engineer assistant.
and i have exactly no idea on singapore's expenses and living and salary thingy.

they offer me SGD 1.6k + allowance as i am a diploma graduate. how is that ah?
mentioned above liao
singapore company always pay base on education salary scale
cannot run wan

QUOTE(singaporestreet @ Apr 26 2012, 11:14 PM)
ok guys question.

first 2 years deduct 5 percent then gradually increase till 21%
no need declare to malaysia since both of them have no agreement to declare each other's income tax details

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Apr 26 2012, 11:18 PM)
Hi everyone . I am going to submit my spr application . Noticed there is a thing called household census list . Does anyone know what is that ? Any other thing I need to take note during submission ? Thanks in advance for your reply smile.gif
no idea wor..
what you apply as ? technical skills or tag allong to someone ...
i remmeber there is a checklist when you download the form from ICA
u can refer there wan ...

mercury8400
post Apr 26 2012, 11:03 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 26 2012, 05:35 PM)
You hansem kua?
no. there was a promo. Anyone above yearly salary of S$36k can apply. So I apply and got it.
haha tongue.gif
jae
post Apr 26 2012, 11:04 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(Alvis1988sun @ Apr 26 2012, 11:38 AM)
Helooooo. I will be going to BDO Singapore to interview next week, under external audit, which will require to bond 18mths employment. Hence, i am keen to know:
1) What is the computer policy/bond u meant in BDO SG?
2) How much is the asking/ expected salary should i request? I am an ACCA graduate with 3 years working experience but not from Big4, which 1 year and 4 months in small local audit firm & 1 year and 8 months in a PLC as accounts executive, both in KL. i am 24 yrs old now.
3) How is the working life there? Everyday works till mid night ma?
4) since i can apply ACCA membership now, does BDO singapore pay for me?

Your kind reply & advice to me i am much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
1) Means if you leave before your bond expires, you pay them back
2) Most likely they will offer 1st year associate, at most as an experienced A1. Pay last I heard around $2.2-2.3k (entry level)
3) Depends on your luck
4) No idea.
singaporestreet
post Apr 26 2012, 11:08 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Apr 26 2012, 10:30 PM)
no need declare to malaysia since both of them have no agreement to declare each other's income tax details

thanks! that was very helpful! only 5%. yeah!
SUSkockroach
post Apr 26 2012, 11:28 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Apr 26 2012, 09:30 PM)

Are you sure? please don't mislead other people.
Mackiddo
post Apr 26 2012, 11:33 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Apr 26 2012, 09:54 PM)
? EM guys don't have those company discount card? 18% or more?

I was mainly using dividend card for petrol, now looking at how and which card to apply for JB petrol. Any idea?

can't reveal too much, confidential biggrin.gif . DBS knows who are the employees rclxms.gif
I use Msia cc when pumping petrol in Msia.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 26 2012, 11:34 PM
wlcling
post Apr 26 2012, 11:36 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(singaporestreet @ Apr 26 2012, 10:14 PM)
ok guys question.

only for sg pr and citizens got cpf... if not u take full 100% salary take home. but still got yearly income tax la...
singaporestreet
post Apr 26 2012, 11:51 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Apr 26 2012, 11:36 PM)
only for sg pr and citizens got cpf... if not u take full 100% salary take home. but still got yearly income tax la...
oh yearly income tax. is there minimum salary to be taxed?

and the percentage is it more or less with malaysia?

124 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.1833sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:35 PM