Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

singaporestreet
post Mar 4 2012, 11:28 PM

13 posts

hi guys... i was just offered a position in singapore..

and there are several questions i'd like to ask..

1 - living in jb or singapore? (which one is cheaper)
2 - if in jb, if my company is at queen street, should i live at gelang patah or jb city?

thanks for the help!!

sorry just noobie..
singaporestreet
post Mar 5 2012, 02:09 AM

13 posts

guys plzz help.. there are several questions i'd like to ask..

2 - if in jb, if my company is at queen street, should i live at gelang patah or jb city?
3 - motorcycles vs car commuting (do i need to pay toll at custom?)
4 - car vs motorcycles (time to destination.. is it really motorcycle faster?)
5 - i tried by bus it took around 1.5 hours to reach my office from jb sentral..

plzz..plzzz... help..sorry just noobie..
singaporestreet
post Mar 5 2012, 03:02 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(singaporestreet @ Mar 5 2012, 02:09 AM)
guys plzz help.. there are several questions i'd like to ask..

3 - motorcycles vs car commuting (do i need to pay toll at custom?)
4 - car vs motorcycles (time to destination.. is it really motorcycle faster?)
5 - i tried by bus it took around 1.5 hours to reach my office from jb sentral..

plzz..plzzz... help..sorry just noobie..

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Mar 5 2012, 02:31 AM)

cant u just stay in singapore?
i probably can.. so you suggest for me to just rent a room in singapore?
is it cheaper?
singaporestreet
post Mar 5 2012, 07:38 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 5 2012, 07:47 AM)
bus from Bkt Indah or Gelang Patah, all the way non stop to Jurong East Interchange

Added on March 5, 2012, 7:48 am

of coz JB rental is cheaper

Added on March 5, 2012, 7:53 am

1. JB
2. almost same distance ?
3. toll at old causeway (exit Sg and enter My)  & for 2nd causeway (in/out of Sg/My)
4. No
5. Good for you
so, do you suggest me to rent in spore or commute daily from jb? in your opinion..

i'm still undecided since there are quite a few cons and pros between the two.. the problem is i still dunno the pro and cons..
singaporestreet
post Mar 6 2012, 12:41 AM

13 posts

thank you very2 much for all the advice; pepsico, r1v3r, Lester1987, extremepower and everyone else for the advice.. i'll definitely buy you guys drinks if we ever meet..wink.gif

so, i'll stay in jb then.. thanks again!!
singaporestreet
post Apr 26 2012, 10:14 PM

13 posts

ok guys question.

normally, in singapore will they deduct something like epf in the salary?

sorry noob question. i'll start working there next month.
singaporestreet
post Apr 26 2012, 11:08 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Apr 26 2012, 10:30 PM)
first 2 years deduct 5 percent then gradually increase till 21%
no need declare to malaysia since both of them have no agreement to declare each other's income tax details

thanks! that was very helpful! only 5%. yeah!
singaporestreet
post Apr 26 2012, 11:51 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Apr 26 2012, 11:36 PM)
only for sg pr and citizens got cpf... if not u take full 100% salary take home. but still got yearly income tax la...
oh yearly income tax. is there minimum salary to be taxed?

and the percentage is it more or less with malaysia?
singaporestreet
post Apr 27 2012, 06:55 AM

13 posts

guys, when i collect my employment pass at manpower office, should i bring any documents?

it's already approved, my future employer told me i need to personally go there, register my thumb print?

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 27 2012, 12:02 AM)

Added on April 27, 2012, 12:03 am

www.iras.gov.sg

Added on April 27, 2012, 12:11 am
www.cpf.gov.sg
thankx Mackiddo!

This post has been edited by singaporestreet: Apr 27 2012, 07:00 AM

0.0382sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:01 PM