All About Harddisk Thread V4

Shufflerz
post Feb 1 2012, 12:04 AM

913 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 31 2012, 08:55 PM)
Are you running critical data that you require RAID 5?
Put the 3 drives in a separate NAS box and run it as eSATA or as Gigabit.
What's the meaning of critical data?
I don't want separate drives it look "messy" where you have D E F and you don't know where to put what.
TSeverling
post Feb 1 2012, 12:08 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(trinityz @ Jan 31 2012, 09:51 PM)
whatever it is, don't ever let them charge your credit card unless you wanna be cheated by them.
you can read my case here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2203437&hl=

which they have kept my money and did nothing!
Did you try informing your bank of this fraudulent CC charge and have them revoke it? If successful, the banks would punish the offending company.
jchue73
post Feb 1 2012, 06:17 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Shufflerz @ Feb 1 2012, 12:04 AM)
I don't want separate drives it look "messy" where you have D E F and you don't know where to put what.
If you don't know what's critical data means you don't have any important files that you cannot afford to loose lah... biggrin.gif

RAID 5 can be designated as one single drive letter. Why does it need to be D E F?
TSeverling
post Feb 1 2012, 11:54 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 1 2012, 06:17 AM)
RAID 5 can be designated as one single drive letter. Why does it need to be D E F?
That was his reason for using RAID-5, to get only one partition out of three HDDs.
gazer8866
post Feb 1 2012, 11:57 AM

52 posts

Anybody here know the hitachi cinemaster hard disk?
Neo|ofGeo
post Feb 1 2012, 11:58 AM

Stop Complaining and Read
3,142 posts

perhaps its better if we hope External Harddisk prices drop first
because that would create alot of purchase of External Harddisk rather then Internal,
unless aiming for new rig or NAS system,
a lack of profits in internal will lead em to act faster

jchue73
post Feb 1 2012, 12:25 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Feb 1 2012, 11:54 AM)
That was his reason for using RAID-5, to get only one partition out of three HDDs.
I think this is going round and round in circles... I thought Shufflerz's problem was because he's using SSD, he wants to set all SATA ports to AHCI and therefore cannot do "hardware" RAID for his other 3 normal hardisk.

My suggestion to him was to take out the 3 hardisk, find a 3 or 4 bay enclosure and connect the PC with eSATA (cheap ones) or the connect via Gigabit switch (more expensive type). The eSATA NAS enclosures can run RAID 5 via a separate SATA RAID controller card installed in the PC or a real standlalone NAS enclosure having it's own RAID 5 controller and connects via Gigabit network. In either case, the RAID 5 volume can be set as a single drive.

After that he says he does not want to take out the hardisk because it will become D E F drives? hmm.gif
TSeverling
post Feb 1 2012, 01:14 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 1 2012, 12:25 PM)
I think this is going round and round in circles... I thought Shufflerz's problem was because he's using SSD, he wants to set all SATA ports to AHCI and therefore cannot do "hardware" RAID for his other 3 normal hardisk.

My suggestion to him was to take out the 3 hardisk, find a 3 or 4 bay enclosure and connect the PC with eSATA (cheap ones) or the connect via Gigabit switch (more expensive type). The eSATA NAS enclosures can run RAID 5 via a separate SATA RAID controller card installed in the PC or a real standlalone NAS enclosure having it's own RAID 5 controller and connects via Gigabit network. In either case, the RAID 5 volume can be set as a single drive.

After that he says he does not want to take out the hardisk because it will become D E F drives?  hmm.gif
Sorry, my bad. blush.gif
trinityz
post Feb 1 2012, 02:17 PM

477 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Feb 1 2012, 12:08 AM)
Did you try informing your bank of this fraudulent CC charge and have them revoke it? If successful, the banks would punish the offending company.
yup, and i was told that this is not a fraud case because it's an authorized transaction which i approved. so nothing the bank can do cause now the issue is between me and the merchant.

so yeah, i'm screwed.

SUSngkhanmein
post Feb 1 2012, 04:47 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

does WD black scorpio worth 2 get it now?? the price r 100% higher b4 thai flooded. cry.gif
dkk
post Feb 2 2012, 03:27 AM

11,400 posts

QUOTE(Shufflerz @ Feb 1 2012, 12:04 AM)
Spoken like a person who has never had to reformat and reinstall his OS every 3 months or so because of virus, worms, etc. smile.gif
Boldnut
post Feb 2 2012, 01:20 PM

2,209 posts

Hey guys take a look at this article. It clearly shows that anybody who buy HDD now are pretty much getting rip off by HDD maker.

They dont suffer any "serious" shortage anymore, just that they want to make everyone believe it so they can sell at double the price.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/storage/displ..._Shipments.html

So if u dont really need a HDD now dont buy, try to find things to delete, do a clean up on ur HDD is far better than getting rip off by HDD maker.
TSeverling
post Feb 2 2012, 03:53 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Feb 2 2012, 01:20 PM)
Hey guys take a look at this article. It clearly shows that anybody who buy HDD now are pretty much getting rip off by HDD maker.

They dont suffer any "serious" shortage anymore, just that they want to make everyone believe it so they can sell at double the price.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/storage/displ..._Shipments.html

So if u dont really need a HDD now dont buy, try to find things to delete, do a clean up on ur HDD is far better than getting rip off by HDD maker.
The situation is actually more dire than that. Particularly with statements like
Essentially, Seagate implies that the hard drive industry will never be the same and HDDs will not become commodity products like dynamic random access memory (DRAM) where customers dictate pricing.

By the end of March 2012, Seagate (wiki) and WD (wiki) will assume control of 90% of the HDD market (wiki), leaving only Toshiba (wiki) as the wild card. Seagate and WD's key products is the HDD, so it will be in their best interests to keep the prices high. Maybe Toshiba could try to spoil this, but it would have a small effect since it has only 10% of the market.
askm3
post Feb 3 2012, 11:24 AM

382 posts

Hi there,

I have a 2 year old Scorpio Blue 320GB 5400 which I use for keep my personal data, photos n etc.

recently, the harddisk giving me trouble and can't detect anymore, have "tek tek tek" sound once plugged.

Called up WD, they as me to send to factory to claim warranty since it still under warranty.

But how to retrieve the datas from the HDD ya?
SUSngkhanmein
post Feb 3 2012, 11:30 AM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

i really need hdd badly.. so WD My Passport Essential is come with 5.4 or 7.2 krpm? i need external hdd can any1 recommend me? thanks~
cybersans
post Feb 4 2012, 11:28 AM

319 posts

they (seagate & western digital) need extra money so that they can build factory on the tibet range wink.gif
thats why they still not dropping the price.
welcome to the world of capitalism. makes more money and lets the idiots (who buys) suffers!
siauann
post Feb 8 2012, 08:20 AM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

i got one external WD HDD..passport...
yday i copy some files from my office pc...when i reach home and plug in my laptop the hdd cannot be read...after a while it shows "drive not formatted"
if i format sure all things gone! what can i do?
today i reach office plug in my office pc still the same. try colleague pc still the same.. sad.gif
i dunno if this can be discuss here. anyone can help>?
KoYuKii
post Feb 8 2012, 12:50 PM

1,979 posts

ive a RAID10 for my pc. but today i found tat 1 of my mirror harddisk has failure. currently im using 640gb x4. but very hard to find 640gb 3.5" HDD.

so i wanna ask that can i use 2.5" HDD 640gb 5400rpm for replacement?
samkian
post Feb 9 2012, 12:20 PM

78 posts

I'm now using a WD 160GB hdd and its temperature can reach up to 70°C. Is it normal or too hot? What is the maximum safe temperature for hdd?
SSJBen
post Feb 9 2012, 03:17 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(samkian @ Feb 9 2012, 12:20 PM)
I'm now using a WD 160GB hdd and its temperature can reach up to 70°C. Is it normal or too hot? What is the maximum safe temperature for hdd?
shocking.gif

WAAAAAAY too hot.
That's critical levels of a temperature that can be sustained by a HDD.

No HDD should ever go above 50c at load.
Give or take, even in a notebook... a HDD shouldn't be hotter than 55c (even at 50c, that's way too hot).
Your HDD could be toasted anytime at 70c.

134 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0384sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:35 AM