All About Harddisk Thread V4
wildwestgoh
Mar 22 2012, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(harryfoo @ Mar 22 2012, 02:40 AM)  Guys, is this serious? It's my boot drive at the moment. Check with your HDD manufacturer tools to ensure you got the warranty, then send for RMA if it fail. One of my HDD also has 1 "Reallocated Sectors Count", but the stupid software respond with GOOD condition... darn. Also check "Pending Sectors Count" to see if there's any, if there is, then try to do low level format (backup whole HDD first) to see if it does increase the "Reallocated Sectors Count", if this attribute increase rapidly then send for RMA.
arthur88
Mar 22 2012, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(dkk @ Mar 21 2012, 12:13 AM) There's nothing to it. You just remove the screws. It comes straight off. The trick is in finding a matching board.  where do you get your hdd the matching board. i have been googling around, asking friends and colleagues.....but no one knows....they just "send for RMA..."
wildwestgoh
Mar 22 2012, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(arthur88 @ Mar 22 2012, 10:38 AM) where do you get your hdd the matching board. i have been googling around, asking friends and colleagues.....but no one knows....they just "send for RMA..." Because finding matching board is like finding grain of salt in desert, it's not easy as just buy and replace. Read a page or 2 back and you should see there's only few percentage of working ones.
arthur88
Mar 22 2012, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Mar 22 2012, 10:42 AM) Because finding matching board is like finding grain of salt in desert, it's not easy as just buy and replace. Read a page or 2 back and you should see there's only few percentage of working ones. so your suggestion is...?send to RMA?
TSeverling
Mar 22 2012, 11:30 AM
If you RMA, you will lose the data on it because the manufacturers won't bother to fix the HDD and give you back another HDD; check the serial numbers if you got back the same model.
If you really want the data, the easiest solution is to send it for data recovery. Please bear in mind that you're likely to spend at least a few hundred ringgit anyway if you try to fix it yourself. You may need to buy HDDs for their PCBs as some PCBs may not work for you, then you may discover that the problem wasn't with the PCB but something else, etc etc, and then finally discover that your data was completely lost, either through the original damage or you had damaged it while trying to fix it.
dkk
Mar 22 2012, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Mar 22 2012, 10:42 AM) Because finding matching board is like finding grain of salt in desert, it's not easy as just buy and replace. Read a page or 2 back and you should see there's only few percentage of working ones. I agree. It's practically impossible to find. Just send for RMA. My experience was from office. In our office, we usually buy a couple of hard disk at a time. The twin was already in the office. And it still is a data-recovery thing. We're not actually fixing the hard disk here. Just getting the data off. Because even after we found the matching board on another hard disk, we now have 1 board, and 2 hard disks ...
Boomeraangkid
Mar 22 2012, 09:25 PM
erm i just got a USB3.0. whats the average write speed for USB3.0? im only getting around 60MBps.
Reyz
Mar 22 2012, 09:45 PM
guys...i need to know is it the rma hd a refurbished hd or new one?just send my my WD green hd to rma n back with new serial number.
TSeverling
Mar 22 2012, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Mar 22 2012, 09:25 PM) erm i just got a USB3.0. whats the average write speed for USB3.0? im only getting around 60MBps. USB 3.0 supports 400+MB/s read/write, but HDDs have lousy performance and is the bottleneck. Depending your HDD's model, 60MB/s isn't surprising.
cybersans
Mar 24 2012, 06:31 PM
forget about harddisk price hike;
when will seagate 1TB single platter drive available in malaysia? i think they already release that product even though that "massive flood" caused their factory to be shutting down.
jimmydotnet
Mar 25 2012, 01:22 AM
guys..wanna ask something... currently my mobo have max up 6 sata port for HDD/DVD Drive is there any retail shop selling sata port extension PCI card ? found PATA to SATA converter card...but that one only one port...need more please !!
letze
Mar 25 2012, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(JML @ Mar 21 2012, 08:56 AM) Hi, got a question here.. my ladtop 2.5 HDD (Hitachi travelstar 40GB about 10 yrs old) can't load windows due to damage file. but i dont want to re-install the windows
I want to retrieve the file inside the 2.5 HDD.. can i use my desktop IDE cable to connect to my ladtop 2.5 HDD to access files inside? if cannot.. what other way can i use? Easier way, you can insert windows live cd (boot from this cd and access windows from there, connect an external hdd, start a backup. This post has been edited by letze: Mar 25 2012, 02:44 PM
TehWateva
Mar 26 2012, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(jimmydotnet @ Mar 25 2012, 01:22 AM) guys..wanna ask something... currently my mobo have max up 6 sata port for HDD/DVD Drive is there any retail shop selling sata port extension PCI card ? found PATA to SATA converter card...but that one only one port...need more please !!  How I go about this issue is to get a 4bay 3.5" external enclosure. Beats stuffing 20 HDD into my desktop
walamak1988
Mar 28 2012, 03:45 AM
Currently looking for 2.5 HDD enclosure for my Laptop SATA Hard disk..any recommendation? Btw,ever heard of Astone brand?thanks in advance
DarkNite
Mar 28 2012, 07:31 AM
High prices of HDD may drive many users back to Seagate.
harryfoo
Mar 28 2012, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(DarkNite @ Mar 28 2012, 07:31 AM) High prices of HDD may drive many users back to Seagate. Why is that so?
sotong168
Mar 29 2012, 11:12 AM
darn, my samsung f4 died yesterday, total power-on time baru 5days, luckily i tested it b4 handover to buyer, phew....
DarkNite
Mar 29 2012, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(harryfoo @ Mar 28 2012, 04:24 PM) Why is that so?  Currently its prices are lower than WD.
SUSlogit85
Mar 29 2012, 04:14 PM
this is my hard drive first 80GB HDD Resuit [attachmentid=2763296] [attachmentid=2763297] [attachmentid=2763298] [attachmentid=2763299]
secand 80GB HDD Resuit [attachmentid=2763300] [attachmentid=2763301] [attachmentid=2763302] [attachmentid=2763305]
so 80GB Both HDD is good Resuit or bad ?????
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB for replacement for my Samsung F3 1TB TO RMA then i got received Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB So now Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB HDD Resuit [attachmentid=2763311] [attachmentid=2763313] [attachmentid=2763314] [attachmentid=2763315] [attachmentid=2763316]
so now Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 2TB Resuit is good or bad u see Health about number high and low the number high 100 is good or bad what diffrent high and lower number so which batter high number or lower number high like 100 and lower like 99 or 90 like that
TSeverling
Mar 29 2012, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(logit85 @ Mar 29 2012, 04:14 PM) so 80GB Both HDD is good Resuit or bad ????? so now Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 2TB Resuit is good or bad All your listed HDDs are in good working condition. Not all SMART data are important to the actual health of your HDD. Most of them are informational, like the "Power On Hours Count". "Reallocated Sector Count" and "Current Pending Sector" are something to look out for, but only if the values are increasing over a short period or the value is large. I don't know why your "Spin Retry Count" is highlighted as a warning. It can be hard to interpret the raw data shown. My Samsung 1TB's "Spin Retry Count" has a Current and Worst value of 252 and a Threshold of 51, unlike your 100 and 97. I haven't looked deeply into the meaning of the SMART attributes. This post has been edited by everling: Mar 29 2012, 08:26 PM