134 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V4

wongzai
post Mar 29 2012, 10:05 PM

780 posts

My almost 1 year WD Green 1TB just dead.. waiting warranty.

bad luck cry.gif

luckily still able boot up to partial data from it before completely dead... smile.gif
SUSlogit85
post Mar 29 2012, 10:25 PM

1,814 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 29 2012, 08:21 PM)
All your listed HDDs are in good working condition. Not all SMART data are important to the actual health of your HDD. Most of them are informational, like the "Power On Hours Count". "Reallocated Sector Count" and "Current Pending Sector" are something to look out for, but only if the values are increasing over a short period or the value is large. I don't know why your "Spin Retry Count" is highlighted as a warning.

It can be hard to interpret the raw data shown. My Samsung 1TB's "Spin Retry Count" has a Current and Worst value of 252 and a Threshold of 51, unlike your 100 and 97. I haven't looked deeply into the meaning of the SMART attributes.
current and worst what is that worst
and what threshold
1tb threshold 6 if high number like 50 or 100 will be bad
0 mean very good ah
harryfoo
post Mar 29 2012, 10:42 PM

2,296 posts

QUOTE(wongzai @ Mar 29 2012, 10:05 PM)
My almost 1 year WD Green 1TB just dead.. waiting warranty.

bad luck  cry.gif

luckily still able boot up to partial data from it before completely dead... smile.gif
Reliability of WD Green sucks to the max.
wongzai
post Mar 29 2012, 10:45 PM

780 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Mar 29 2012, 10:42 PM)
I agreed.. this is the first time i get WD, all the while i'm having Seagate sad.gif

Hope the rma unit return earlier.
TSeverling
post Mar 30 2012, 11:24 AM

3,591 posts

Both of my WD Green 1TBs have passed their third year of life. *touch wood*

QUOTE(logit85 @ Mar 29 2012, 10:25 PM)
current and worst what is that worst
and what threshold
1tb threshold 6 if high number like 50 or 100 will be bad
0 mean very good ah
Interpreting the data is difficult, especially as it doesn't seem to adhere to a single standard. This is why I don't read too deeply into the SMART data and so I haven't learned it. If you wish to learn, you'll have to look from other sources. Furthermore, a Google white-paper (linked on the first post of the topic) suggests that SMART data does not adequately predict impending HDD failures, making it less useful to learn.
apihblind
post Mar 30 2012, 11:37 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Mar 29 2012, 10:42 PM)
only green or all WD hdd? hmm.gif coz im gettig WD,what you guys suggest for 1TB size?
harryfoo
post Mar 30 2012, 01:02 PM

2,296 posts

My RMA-ed 500gb WD Green just returned back to me. They replace me with a completely new 800gb WD Green HDD.
TSeverling
post Mar 30 2012, 01:24 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Mar 30 2012, 01:02 PM)
My RMA-ed 500gb WD Green just returned back to me. They replace me with a completely new 800gb WD Green HDD.
WD's 808GB HDDs are not new, it has been a few years already, and are created from scavenged defective platters and targeted at Chinese customers, hence the unusual use of the 8s. That said, I have no idea if they are less reliable or not.
harryfoo
post Mar 30 2012, 01:50 PM

2,296 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 30 2012, 01:24 PM)
WD's 808GB HDDs are not new, it has been a few years already, and are created from scavenged defective platters and targeted at Chinese customers, hence the unusual use of the 8s. That said, I have no idea if they are less reliable or not.
I have no choice, they return me this drive. cry.gif
TSeverling
post Mar 30 2012, 02:04 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Mar 30 2012, 01:50 PM)
I have no choice, they return me this drive. cry.gif
It's not all bad. The platters might be scavenged, but it could still last you 3 years so you've gained 300GB for free. smile.gif
Edna236
post Mar 30 2012, 03:49 PM

The prices have dropped since its peak, but still nowhere near what it used to be before the Thailand floods.user posted image

This post has been edited by Edna236: Mar 30 2012, 03:49 PM
SUSlogit85
post Mar 30 2012, 11:46 PM

1,814 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 30 2012, 11:24 AM)
Both of my WD Green 1TBs have passed their third year of life. *touch wood*
Interpreting the data is difficult, especially as it doesn't seem to adhere to a single standard. This is why I don't read too deeply into the SMART data and so I haven't learned it. If you wish to learn, you'll have to look from other sources. Furthermore, a Google white-paper (linked on the first post of the topic) suggests that SMART data does not adequately predict impending HDD failures, making it less useful to learn.
i have woory Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB abit bad resuit or good resuit rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by logit85: Apr 2 2012, 10:19 PM
sotong168
post Mar 31 2012, 10:30 AM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

another hdd failed on me, darn tough luck, 2 units in a row!
kuching dun hv wd express service, poslaju to s'pore is gonna cost me > rm40, which wd distro in kuching could i hand-in my faulty unit?
bad melatonin
post Apr 1 2012, 02:21 PM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

guys hows hitachi 3.5" hdd? r they good? hitachi still gv 3yrs warranty rite? i need to ditch my wd green oredi, too slow.
krel89
post Apr 1 2012, 02:43 PM

409 posts

quick qestion:
i just drop my 1TB external HD and when i connect it to USB, it say my HD is not format.. any pro know how to solve this?? to much data on that HD.. dont want to lose it T_T
TSeverling
post Apr 1 2012, 03:39 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(krel89 @ Apr 1 2012, 02:43 PM)
quick qestion:
i just drop my 1TB external HD and when i connect it to USB, it say my HD is not format.. any pro know how to solve this?? to much data on that HD.. dont want to lose it T_T
There are several HDD testing tools listed on the first post of this topic which you could try. If in doubt, use the HDDScan 3.3.
harryfoo
post Apr 1 2012, 07:37 PM

2,296 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 30 2012, 02:04 PM)
It's not all bad. The platters might be scavenged, but it could still last you 3 years so you've gained 300GB for free.  smile.gif
Hopefully.

Btw, the current batch of Samsung HDD in the market manufacture buy Seagate?
krel89
post Apr 1 2012, 09:46 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Apr 1 2012, 03:39 PM)
There are several HDD testing tools listed on the first post of this topic which you could try. If in doubt, use the HDDScan 3.3.
i just tested.. and it say
UltraDMA CRC Errors so, how do i fix this???
TSeverling
post Apr 1 2012, 10:16 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(krel89 @ Apr 1 2012, 09:46 PM)
i just tested.. and it say
UltraDMA CRC Errors  so, how do i fix this???
I strongly recommend taking your external HDD to your local shop or trusted expert for testing and advice. They might need to extract the HDD from the casing to test it with another external device or directly plug it in to a computer to see if the HDD is still working or not. Please do not use or power on the external until they have examined it.
krel89
post Apr 1 2012, 10:28 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Apr 1 2012, 10:16 PM)
I strongly recommend taking your external HDD to your local shop or trusted expert for testing and advice. They might need to extract the HDD from the casing to test it with another external device or directly plug it in to a computer to see if the HDD is still working or not. Please do not use or power on the external until they have examined it.
if i do that, would it cost me greatly??
just browse the internet just now and saw a company that doing backup for HD and i say it about RM5++ for my samsung..
ahhh, rather lose that data then spend some money when i can buy two 2TB at the same price..

134 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:23 AM