184 Pages « < 147 148 149 150 151 > » Bottom

The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3

kel_jink
post Sep 19 2012, 01:59 PM

411 posts

The Hassy-nex 7 is grotesquely ugly! Not sure any super rish would even want to buy that abomination child of devil's arse with an inside-out organs unicorn sprinkled with mahogany wood stuck in the a-hole.
lwliam
post Sep 19 2012, 11:27 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

It does follow the norm of a usual design, but doesn't mean that it's ugly, or grotesquely ugly for that matter. From the looks of it, I think the curves will fit into the palm very well - giving a confident grip on the camera.

But wow, kel, you really set the bar real high for coming up with an adjective like that rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by lwliam: Sep 19 2012, 11:27 PM
RX-78-2
post Sep 20 2012, 01:08 AM

790 posts

hehe... i think it is ugly also at first glance.
The lens and knob part doesn't go along with the wooden handle.
ahtsong
post Sep 20 2012, 07:59 AM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 19 2012, 01:00 AM)
Wow.. Apparently Hasselblad is joining forces with NEX's E-mount and have connectivity with A-mount via adapter! This is big!

Hasselblad launches a CSC http://www.techradar.com/news/photography-...s-a-csc-1098200
seems like sony growing bigger and bigger...
chiahau
post Sep 20 2012, 08:10 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

How much is the estimated price for a Nex 6 hurmp?

Bout 2,4k right?
idoblu
post Sep 20 2012, 10:08 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(kel_jink @ Sep 19 2012, 01:59 PM)
The Hassy-nex 7 is grotesquely ugly! Not sure any super rish would even want to buy that abomination child of devil's arse with an inside-out organs unicorn sprinkled with mahogany wood stuck in the a-hole.
this tongue.gif

mavericksam
post Sep 20 2012, 10:09 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 20 2012, 08:10 AM)
How much is the estimated price for a Nex 6 hurmp?

Bout 2,4k right?
my guess would be bout 3k... 2.4k too close to 5R price... Self cannibalization...
chiahau
post Sep 20 2012, 10:11 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Body only should be 2,5k then.

Amazon selling for 800+

Street pricing should be 2,5k.

I have no need for the pancake lens.
mavericksam
post Sep 20 2012, 10:20 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 20 2012, 10:11 AM)

Amazon selling for 800+

Errmm...

Nex 7 retail is US1200 without lens. Selling about 4.2k here when it was first launched... roughly about 3.5 conversion...

Nex 6 retails at US850 without kit lens... 850 x 3.5 is about 3k... i doubt they will launch it at 2.5k straight up... probably after a few months... maybe...
chiahau
post Sep 20 2012, 10:23 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

I looking at street pricing.

Can get below 3k likely.

Still got cables inside Sony haha.

kel_jink
post Sep 20 2012, 10:38 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 19 2012, 11:27 PM)
It does follow the norm of a usual design, but doesn't mean that it's ugly, or grotesquely ugly for that matter. From the looks of it, I think the curves will fit into the palm very well - giving a confident grip on the camera.

But wow, kel, you really set the bar real high for coming up with an adjective like that  rclxms.gif
Grip is fine. Gassy is trying to create a new design language. But the product idea of adopting NeX 7 and turn it nothing remotely functionally better, and try to pass it off as ultra luxury goods, Leica comes to mind.

Leica used to be THE camera everybody wanted, high end, but still justifiable. One can use it to work, make money, express your hobby or your art. Leica used to advertise itself as the camera company with rich heritage, with great photog embracing it. But now? Unless those photogs were either sponsored by Leica, or they are ultra rich, not many working photogs are using one.

The worse fate that can happen to a Leica? You are not Aston Martin, you are Morgan. =D why would Leica wants to lock themselves to the niche of the niche market is really beyond me. (now substitute Leica to Hassy, you'll get what I mean)

I'm just a poor man rambling. Dreams remain a dream, but Hassy and Leica's latest news (hassy's NEx 7 and Leica/John Ive) really saddened me, cheapens the image. I can no longer view Leica owners the same anymore, to me they are just spoiled ultra rich toy. Back to shooting film... cry.gif
crazeoneeighteen
post Sep 20 2012, 11:27 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(kel_jink @ Sep 20 2012, 10:38 AM)
Grip is fine. Gassy is trying to create a new design language. But the product idea of adopting NeX 7 and turn it nothing remotely functionally better, and try to pass it off as ultra luxury goods, Leica comes to mind.

Leica used to be THE camera everybody wanted, high end, but still justifiable. One can use it to work, make money, express your hobby or your art. Leica used to advertise itself as the camera company with rich heritage, with great photog embracing it. But now? Unless those photogs were either sponsored by Leica, or they are ultra rich, not many working photogs are using one.

The worse fate that can happen to a Leica? You are not Aston Martin, you are Morgan. =D why would Leica wants to lock themselves to the niche of the niche market is really beyond me. (now substitute Leica to Hassy, you'll get what I mean)

I'm just a poor man rambling. Dreams remain a dream, but Hassy and Leica's latest news (hassy's NEx 7 and Leica/John Ive) really saddened me, cheapens the image. I can no longer view Leica owners the same anymore, to me they are just spoiled ultra rich toy. Back to shooting film...  cry.gif
Agree to disagree on your statement about Leica.Although their blood is too rich for anyone,you are missing the point of Leica.To begin with they are not for the average photography enthusiast and not marketed as a commercial camera.Their main selling point is retaining like their 35mm film rangefinder.Basically not anyone will gets it but those people migrate from rangefinder 35mm film will be at ease with M series.Their dyramic range beats everything on dslr but it takes a lot of skill and technique to master.When a hk friend came over here,gets to try out her M9.To be honest it's clunky and the lcd preview screen is crap.But the magic happens when the file is loaded on a computer.A bit like shooting film in the old days as you won't fully know what picture you get until it's developed.Cost and aesthetic value aside the Leica photos has it's own unique look that can't be emulated on photoshop or other dslr.The closest is fujifilm x series.

It's the same when you compare ff to medium format,it's photographer's photographer camera.You need to earn your stride to be able to use one.When you already at that stage to earn that stride cost it's something is not your main concern.
kel_jink
post Sep 20 2012, 11:42 AM

411 posts

Funny you should mention dynamic range. Isn't film has the greatest dynamic range still? I should correct my statement too, I'm referring to digital Leica. Too bad we have to keep the thread clean and relevant to NeX discussion. We should create a thread to discuss about this issue: brand appeal.

Anyway, Leica's "unique look" is much to do with their lens rather than the camera itself, ImO.
crazeoneeighteen
post Sep 20 2012, 12:02 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(kel_jink @ Sep 20 2012, 11:42 AM)
Funny you should mention dynamic range. Isn't film has the greatest dynamic range still? I should correct my statement too, I'm referring to digital Leica. Too bad we have to keep the thread clean and relevant to NeX discussion. We should create a thread to discuss about this issue: brand appeal.

Anyway, Leica's "unique look" is much to do with their lens rather than the camera itself, ImO.
Try comparing nex with leica lens equipped with a true leica m9 as the difference is apparent.Thought nex it's a digital format hence what's the point bringing a 35mm film dynamic range to this discussion???So are we gonna talk about 4x5 next.
Not saying must get Leica or Hasselblad but rather than just comparing tech sheet of respective makes and models why not just embrace how each brands or makes as an equipment on it's own.

lwliam
post Sep 20 2012, 02:43 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

What each of you said does have your own merits and brings truth. The way I see it, Hassy saw an opportunity and has probably did some market research for what the market wants in their own niche of niche group. This is probably where Sony fits into their business strategy. Why not oly? Why not panasonic? Nikon1? Canon M? But Sony? My best guess is that Hassy realised that amongst all brands, Sony has the most innovative brains behind the CSC line in the market comparatively. That's good news for Sony. Imagine this, a MNC wants a slice of cake from the business of a local company (sony's young alpha division, not Sony as a whole). It's a win win for both.
watdahell
post Sep 20 2012, 05:13 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 20 2012, 10:11 AM)

Amazon selling for 800+

if can get this price than drool.gif drool.gif

but don't know why our electronic products are always more expensive than the US retail price sad.gif
poolcarpet
post Sep 20 2012, 05:31 PM

548 posts

Just to share with NEX users, esp those interested in manual lens - I just got an old new Canon FD 50mm F/1.8 lens from LYN seller sevenor here. It's a great deal, a fraction of the cost of the Sony SEL50F18 but obviously this is old lens and manual focus/aperture. For those who are still using kit lens (SEL1855 and SEL16F28), you have got to give this a try. The lens is soooo unbelievably new, totally clean and I won't believe it's an old lens even after holding and using it.

I just tried it and focusing is easy with focus peaking mode and continuous drive mode (shoot non stop while minor adjustment of focus ring). Managed to get very nice sharp photos, and so much better than the SEL1855 smile.gif

Obviously though, if you are willing to go for the SEL50F18, I think that's best with autofocus and nicer bokeh (this Canon FD is 5 blade aperture, but still very nice!!).

Just thought of sharing this info - sevenor is extremely helpful and very patient in explaining the manual lens concept, and doing test shots.

This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Sep 20 2012, 05:32 PM
alvinwh
post Sep 20 2012, 11:21 PM

412 posts

bought it last saturday, newbie here, hope everyone sifu can tunjuk ajar here notworthy.gif

Added on September 20, 2012, 11:25 pmwant to ask, i found my nex5N got difficulty when shoot closed up pic, may i know wat lens should be used 1855 lens or pancake? then how the setting in the camera?

This post has been edited by alvinwh: Sep 20 2012, 11:25 PM
post Sep 20 2012, 11:31 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

0.25meter is the minimum focusing distance for your 18-55mm lens.
so stay within the range and focus.

every lenses are difference.
I know some point and shoot camera can focus as close as 1cm, but wont happen in larger sensor camera.
alvinwh
post Sep 20 2012, 11:49 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 20 2012, 11:31 PM)
0.25meter is the minimum focusing distance for your 18-55mm lens.
so stay within the range and focus.

every lenses are difference.
I know some point and shoot camera can focus as close as 1cm, but wont happen in larger sensor camera.
thanks for ur prompt reply. mean i cant put near my camera less than 25cm distance, got it..
so ur advice is used 18-55mm instead of pancake?

184 Pages « < 147 148 149 150 151 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:45 PM