184 Pages « < 148 149 150 151 152 > » Bottom

The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3

tplcaik
post Sep 21 2012, 12:08 AM

<DeaL WiTh ConFideNcE>
3,541 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Sep 20 2012, 05:31 PM)
Just to share with NEX users, esp those interested in manual lens - I just got an old new Canon FD 50mm F/1.8 lens from LYN seller sevenor here. It's a great deal, a fraction of the cost of the Sony SEL50F18 but obviously this is old lens and manual focus/aperture. For those who are still using kit lens (SEL1855 and SEL16F28), you have got to give this a try. The lens is soooo unbelievably new, totally clean and I won't believe it's an old lens even after holding and using it.

I just tried it and focusing is easy with focus peaking mode and continuous drive mode (shoot non stop while minor adjustment of focus ring). Managed to get very nice sharp photos, and so much better than the SEL1855 smile.gif

Obviously though, if you are willing to go for the SEL50F18, I think that's best with autofocus and nicer bokeh (this Canon FD is 5 blade aperture, but still very nice!!).

Just thought of sharing this info - sevenor is extremely helpful and very patient in explaining the manual lens concept, and doing test shots.
Sample photo pls smile.gif what is the best price he gave?
post Sep 21 2012, 01:56 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(alvinwh @ Sep 20 2012, 11:49 PM)
thanks for ur prompt reply. mean i cant put near my camera less than 25cm distance, got it..
so ur advice is used 18-55mm instead of pancake?
you see,
using 55mm to shoot at 25cm distance
vs
16mm at 24cm distance
55mm will give you with a perspective emphasis on something you shot.
alvinwh
post Sep 21 2012, 02:19 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 21 2012, 01:56 AM)
you see,
using 55mm to shoot at 25cm distance
vs
16mm at 24cm distance
55mm will give you with a perspective emphasis on something you shot.
tq.. tis is i used 55mm to shoot.. any advice to improve?

crazeoneeighteen
post Sep 21 2012, 09:15 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(alvinwh @ Sep 21 2012, 02:19 AM)
tq.. tis is i used 55mm to shoot.. any advice to improve?
Zoom your lens to the max to move in and out until your subject is in focus.If you really want to max out your focus point.Although on paper each lens has a minimal focus distance you still can push a little more if don't mind some degree of softness around your shot.
You may want to try these.
1. Macro lens.
2. Raynox if don't want to buy macro lens.
3. Extension tube but prepare to lose couple or triple of stops.
4. Reverse your lens if you have old manual focus lens.
5. Long lens like telephoto zoom.
6. Last resort digital zoom.
Taken with my dinosaur a300 with 50mm macro long time ago.Subject is a 12 inch figure.Think I took this shot beyond the recommended focus distance hence a little soft at the bottom half of the picture.It's not technically sound but I can live with it. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by crazeoneeighteen: Sep 21 2012, 09:21 AM
alvinwh
post Sep 21 2012, 11:40 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(crazeoneeighteen @ Sep 21 2012, 09:15 AM)
Zoom your lens to the max to move in and out until your subject is in focus.If you really want to max out your focus point.Although on paper each lens has a minimal focus distance you still can push a little more if don't mind some degree of softness around your shot.
You may want to try these.
1. Macro lens.
2. Raynox if don't want to buy macro lens.
3. Extension tube but prepare to lose couple or triple of stops.
4. Reverse your lens if you have old manual focus lens.
5. Long lens like telephoto zoom.
6. Last resort digital zoom.
Taken with my dinosaur a300 with 50mm macro long time ago.Subject is a 12 inch figure.Think I took this shot beyond the recommended focus distance hence a little soft  at the bottom half of the picture.It's not technically sound but I can live with it. tongue.gif
thanks for ur advice.. then wat setting u used in nex5n to take tis pic? i probably try it.. dinasour 300 is wat lens? i just hope tat used the existing nex5n provided acc to snap a good pic, wont think to upgraded tis n tat.. anyway, i got many 12 inches figure also, stay tune my pic..
poolcarpet
post Sep 21 2012, 12:08 PM

548 posts

Price listed in his sales thread.

Sample photo - took some of people and looks much better than kit lens but don't want to share publicly. Here are 2 test shots, still need to get used to the manual focus...

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Sep 21 2012, 12:08 AM)
Sample photo pls smile.gif what is the best price he gave?
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Sep 21 2012, 12:12 PM
lwliam
post Sep 21 2012, 12:22 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(alvinwh @ Sep 21 2012, 11:40 AM)
thanks for ur advice.. then wat setting u used in nex5n to take tis pic? i probably try it.. dinasour 300 is wat lens? i just hope tat used the existing nex5n provided acc to snap a good pic, wont think to upgraded tis n tat.. anyway, i got many 12 inches figure also, stay tune my pic..
when he meant dinosaur A300 with 50mm macro, it means:

Sony Alpha A300 + 50mm f/2.8 macro lens
alvinwh
post Sep 21 2012, 12:51 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 21 2012, 12:22 PM)
when he meant dinosaur A300 with 50mm macro, it means:

Sony Alpha A300 + 50mm f/2.8 macro lens
thanks.. sorry i didnt catch it..
post Sep 21 2012, 01:13 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Dinosaur : "ancient" laugh.gif
alvinwh
post Sep 21 2012, 01:37 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 21 2012, 01:13 PM)
Dinosaur : "ancient" laugh.gif
google it.. its a big guy
crazeoneeighteen
post Sep 21 2012, 03:09 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(alvinwh @ Sep 21 2012, 11:40 AM)
My nex5n was given to gf as mostly now I shoot with 550d with sp90.Hope to get nex6 so can use some of those lens accumulated from dinosaur days.
If you are talking about 12inch figure you won't have problem getting a full portrait shot with your kit 55mm focal end.
Something like this.
If any tighter need different lens addy or some of the mentioned tips.
Setting wise can be f8 to 16 and not worry about shutter speed as camera will be on tripod.Just make sure have a spare battery if you constantly relying liveview to take your shot as you'll be using long shutter speed and time to compose figure stance.Or bump your iso to shorten long shutter speed.
Also check google or youtube for focus stacking so should you want 100% sharp across your subject especially your figure in dramatic poses.
fansoption
post Sep 21 2012, 03:21 PM

3,065 posts

USMC 2nd MEB in Afghanistan's Helmand province

crazeoneeighteen
post Sep 21 2012, 03:26 PM

130 posts

Wah!!Got military kaki here oso.
tararan
post Sep 21 2012, 05:43 PM

328 posts

Guys any idea when will Nex-5R or Nex-6 coming to Malaysia?

This post has been edited by tararan: Sep 21 2012, 05:44 PM
mls_gamer
post Sep 21 2012, 06:13 PM

1,589 posts

Picture above really awesome..
tplcaik
post Sep 21 2012, 06:23 PM

<DeaL WiTh ConFideNcE>
3,541 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Sep 21 2012, 12:08 PM)
Price listed in his sales thread.

Sample photo - took some of people and looks much better than kit lens but don't want to share publicly. Here are 2 test shots, still need to get used to the manual focus...

Thanks, so is the peaking still supporting?
poolcarpet
post Sep 21 2012, 06:31 PM

548 posts

Yeah peaking works, but I find it very hard to keep it steady and focus and shoot at the same time.

So I've configured drive mode to be continuous shutter priority mode, then basically I let the shutter rip and take 10-20 shots while adjusting focus slightly. Then take sharpest/best out of these lot.

LOL! What a way to take photos!!! I will surely draw a lot of attention to myself considering the NEX shutter is not exactly the quiet type smile.gif

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Sep 21 2012, 06:23 PM)
Thanks, so is the peaking still supporting?
weikoon
post Sep 21 2012, 06:39 PM

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Sep 21 2012, 06:31 PM)
Yeah peaking works, but I find it very hard to keep it steady and focus and shoot at the same time.

So I've configured drive mode to be continuous shutter priority mode, then basically I let the shutter rip and take 10-20 shots while adjusting focus slightly. Then take sharpest/best out of these lot.

LOL! What a way to take photos!!! I will surely draw a lot of attention to myself considering the NEX shutter is not exactly the quiet type smile.gif
is it because without OSS that makes the different when u hard to keep it steady n focus at the same time? i guess even kit lens 18-55mm when switch to manual focus also had a same problem, right? correct me if i m wrong.. sweat.gif
Andrewtst
post Sep 21 2012, 07:58 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,779 posts

NEX-5N for SALES

Anyone interesting, check below link. smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2517031

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Sep 21 2012, 07:59 PM
Noobiba
post Sep 21 2012, 10:50 PM

35 posts

I'mma Gearhead ! LOL

Did a quick test on my 1-day old RX100 with my Nex 5 + E16, similar lighting condition, similar ISO, diff shutter as Nex sensor is abit more sensitive maybe it's bigger, and similar aperture at f/2.8, f/5.6, and f/8, RX100 at 28mm, Nex at 16mm (24mm), and the result...

E16 lose, lose until cham cham, very very lousy. WTF to Sony made a crap lens to use on APSC sensor and a good lens on 1" sensor, maybe their marketing gimmick to ketagih their customers to buy more and more ? Lol we're the water-fish !

Off topic, I should test the E16 with my iPhone 4 maybe it will win this time !

Added on September 21, 2012, 10:57 pmDammit, just found that my A200, Nex 5 and RX100 unable to share the similar charger, and transfer cable, WTF so many cables tangling on my table now !

Is it very hard to create a universal port to all their cameras ? dammit they should learn from Apple on this.

This post has been edited by Noobiba: Sep 21 2012, 10:57 PM

184 Pages « < 148 149 150 151 152 > » Top

0.0191sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:33 PM