The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3

sniper on the roof
post Aug 13 2012, 11:16 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(watdahell @ Aug 13 2012, 06:47 PM)
I'm planning to buy a NEX-5N for my coming trip on early Oct.

I've checked around and I found that the price for single lens(NEX-5NK) is around RM2150-2200 with the usual freebies(SD card, bag etc.)

I also understand there's a new NEX-F5 coming next month?

Is it a bad idea to buy it now? Do you guys think there'll be a significant price drop( >RM200? ) for the NEX-5N once the new NEX is announced?

Thanks~
Taiwan grey market 5n already cheaper than f3 di
watdahell
post Aug 13 2012, 11:57 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Aug 13 2012, 11:16 PM)
Taiwan grey market 5n already cheaper than f3 di
Cheaper than F3( <RM1800? sweat.gif )

grey market is like AP set?
I've found a seller online selling AP set NEX-5NK for RM2k but I guess I'll buy a local set just to be safe.

This post has been edited by watdahell: Aug 13 2012, 11:57 PM
jimmyyap03
post Aug 14 2012, 12:00 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(watdahell @ Aug 13 2012, 11:57 PM)
Cheaper than F3( <RM1800? sweat.gif  )

grey market is like AP set?
I've found a seller online selling AP set NEX-5NK for RM2k but I guess I'll buy a local set just to be safe.
Personally advise buy for local set with extend warranty as it will not cheap price for further services or repair from sony centre. whistling.gif
samsungfreak
post Aug 14 2012, 12:56 AM

Also a PanasonicFreak
816 posts

I also buy from HK last time because Malaysia don't have yet. There is no Sony Malaysia warranty for it.

Please note that AP got PAL and NTSC, buy from HK and you get PAL which is same as Malaysia. Buy from Taiwan or Japan you get NTSC.
lwliam
post Aug 14 2012, 01:11 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

15Mar2012_6786 by william leong, on Flickr

Camera Sony NEX-3
Exposure 0.125 sec (1/8)
Aperture f/22.0
Focal Length 16 mm (fisheye adapter)
ISO Speed 200
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

15Mar2012_6806 by william leong, on Flickr

Camera Sony NEX-3
Exposure 0.125 sec (1/8)
Aperture f/18.0
Focal Length 16 mm
ISO Speed 200
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 14 2012, 01:12 AM
lwliam
post Aug 14 2012, 01:15 AM

6,075 posts

15Jul2012_3153 by william leong, on Flickr

Camera Sony NEX-3
Exposure 0.003 sec (1/320)
Aperture f/10.0
ISO Speed 200
Exposure Bias -0.3 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

15Jul2012_3161 by william leong, on Flickr

Camera Sony NEX-3
Exposure 0.004 sec (1/250)
Aperture f/13.0
ISO Speed 200
Exposure Bias -0.7 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire
Andrewtst
post Aug 14 2012, 10:41 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,779 posts

QUOTE(Noobiba @ Aug 13 2012, 08:38 PM)
paiseh brother Ah hao, not much photo by this 16mm, ok below is the photo to show the vignetting, shot with 16mm at f/8, sun pin promote a bit I wanna sell that body and lens, quit DSLR as it's too bulky to carry around hehe. Just check and see te vignetting shown...

this set for sale too, hehe offer me a good price everything inside photo for sale.
Did you use any filter? (just notice you mention you not using any filter) or possible your 16mm defective? It is kind of strong vignette in your photo.

I try snap using f/8 as well, it is not that bad vignette.

Added on August 14, 2012, 10:49 am
QUOTE(jerm @ Aug 13 2012, 03:35 PM)
hey guys, is there any shop that's selling the 16mm lens as is, without buying the entire kit?
That 16mm lens official price is RM 899.00 - http://www.sony.com.my/product/sel16f28

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 14 2012, 10:51 AM
geek8585
post Aug 14 2012, 10:55 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 14 2012, 01:15 AM)
Camera Sony NEX-3
Exposure 0.003 sec (1/320)
Aperture f/10.0
ISO Speed 200
Exposure Bias -0.3 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire

Camera Sony NEX-3
Exposure 0.004 sec (1/250)
Aperture f/13.0
ISO Speed 200
Exposure Bias -0.7 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire
Nice shot william... my skill still not enough to snap these kind of pic... will try hard to snap fish eye image like you do notworthy.gif

Added on August 14, 2012, 10:58 am
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 14 2012, 10:41 AM)
Did you use any filter? (just notice you mention you not using any filter) or possible your 16mm defective? It is kind of strong vignette in your photo.

That 16mm lens official price is RM 899.00 - http://www.sony.com.my/product/sel16f28
i do notice the vignette from my 16mm lens as well especially in low light/indoor+close up situation...
if you use to shoot landscape/scenery or outdoor photo, vignette will disappear...

probably 16mm is too wide? how about work with the ultra wide angle adapter? shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by geek8585: Aug 14 2012, 10:58 AM
Ah hao
post Aug 14 2012, 11:10 AM

1,619 posts

ur pic vignet quite obvious too sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Ah hao: Aug 14 2012, 11:10 AM
Andrewtst
post Aug 14 2012, 11:10 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,779 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Aug 14 2012, 10:55 AM)
Nice shot william... my skill still not enough to snap these kind of pic... will try hard to snap fish eye image like you do   notworthy.gif

Added on August 14, 2012, 10:58 am
i do notice the vignette from my 16mm lens as well especially in low light/indoor+close up situation...
if you use to shoot landscape/scenery or outdoor photo, vignette will disappear...

probably 16mm is too wide? how about work with the ultra wide angle adapter?   shakehead.gif

I also notice it got slightly vignette when snap indoor dark, but not that bad as Noobiba one. This 16mm is wide angle lens, I think it means suppose be wide right.

Added on August 14, 2012, 11:11 am
QUOTE(Ah hao @ Aug 14 2012, 11:10 AM)
ur pic vignet quite obvious too sweat.gif
It got slightly at right side but not that bad, and probably is lighting issue, as my room only got one small light, and right side is far darker than left.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 14 2012, 11:11 AM
poolcarpet
post Aug 14 2012, 11:29 AM

548 posts

I also did some quick tests on my NEX C3 with the 18-55 and 16mm... slight vignetting for 16mm but I think not as bad as what is mentioned above.... see for yourself (sorry the zoom lens was moved a bit hence the different FL). Straight OOC jpeg resized only.

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 14 2012, 11:10 AM)
I also notice it got slightly vignette when snap indoor dark, but not that bad as Noobiba one. This 16mm is wide angle lens, I think it means suppose be wide right.

Added on August 14, 2012, 11:11 am
It got slightly at right side but not that bad, and probably is lighting issue, as my room only got one small light, and right side is far darker than left.
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Aug 14 2012, 11:30 AM
lwliam
post Aug 14 2012, 11:53 AM

6,075 posts

I would actually worry less about these minor issues and instead of shooting white wall and lens caps to prove the point, why not do real world shots and make it work for you instead of against you?
I agree, vignette is stg of a drawback, but it's not like it's unable to be removed in post process? Furthermore, nowadays, who still posts photos without any touch up? Don't say moms and dads la. but my point is, shoot more to gain more experience, rather than moaning over stg you have no control over (unless you're very rich, then buying another lens isn't an issue ie. 24f1.8Z)
geek8585
post Aug 14 2012, 12:01 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 14 2012, 11:53 AM)
I would actually worry less about these minor issues and instead of shooting white wall and lens caps to prove the point, why not do real world shots and make it work for you instead of against you?
I agree, vignette is stg of a drawback, but it's not like it's unable to be removed in post process? Furthermore, nowadays, who still posts photos without any touch up? Don't say moms and dads la. but my point is, shoot more to gain more experience, rather than moaning over stg you have no control over (unless you're very rich, then buying another lens isn't an issue ie. 24f1.8Z)
Honestly, that lens i really craving for quite a while d... really a pcs of good glass rolleyes.gif
if really wan to go for zeiss... might as well go for SAL rather than SEL...
Ah hao
post Aug 14 2012, 12:11 PM

1,619 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Aug 14 2012, 12:01 PM)
Honestly, that lens i really craving for quite a while d... really a pcs of good glass  rolleyes.gif
if really wan to go for zeiss... might as well go for SAL rather than SEL...
i am still funding for the sel 11-18mm gonnabe thumbup.gif

hope the performance will be good and price will be low <<<impossible tongue.gif
RX-78-2
post Aug 14 2012, 12:13 PM

790 posts

Well said, LWliam!
Better focus on learning how to take a better photo with the gears in hand.
Skills does matter!
I'm still early stage in learning photo shooting, the more I shoot, the more i need to learn!

btw, i'm the one mostly not editing my photo. too lazy to learn photoshop.
i only shoot jpg, and use the crop and resize only when needed.
Try to train myself to shoot like using film camera, avoid PP.
lwliam
post Aug 14 2012, 12:23 PM

6,075 posts

When I said touch up, I'm just refering to curves and levels, satyration, slight cropping (actual crop is best done in camera), and if needed vignette correction. And oh, pimple removal from bride's face. No need to the extent of add a missing person to the pic for example. But u get my idea right? Think of it as garnishing on a plate. It complements the image rather than overpowering it. Presentation matters.

Added on August 14, 2012, 12:26 pmOh btw rx782, film shooters edit too. There's burning and dodging in the darkroom. There are levels adjustments too, but a more labor intensive way with chemicals and stopwatch.

This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 14 2012, 12:26 PM
Ah hao
post Aug 14 2012, 12:36 PM

1,619 posts

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Aug 14 2012, 12:13 PM)
Well said, LWliam!
Better focus on learning how to take a better photo with the gears in hand.
Skills does matter!
I'm still early stage in learning photo shooting, the more I shoot, the more i need to learn!

btw, i'm the one mostly not editing my photo. too lazy to learn photoshop.
i only shoot jpg, and use the crop and resize only when needed.
Try to train myself to shoot like using film camera, avoid PP.
i use a freeware name Photoscape, easy like abc but powerful software biggrin.gif
RX-78-2
post Aug 14 2012, 12:49 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Aug 14 2012, 12:23 PM)
When I said touch up, I'm just refering to curves and levels, satyration, slight cropping (actual crop is best done in camera), and if needed vignette correction. And oh, pimple removal from bride's face. No need to the extent of add a missing person to the pic for example. But u get my idea right? Think of it as garnishing on a plate. It complements the image rather than overpowering it. Presentation matters.

Added on August 14, 2012, 12:26 pmOh btw rx782, film shooters edit too. There's burning and dodging in the darkroom. There are levels adjustments too, but a more labor intensive way with chemicals and stopwatch.
Agreed.
Especially for business purpose, sure you need to give the best outcome for your customers like wedding and product shots.

I'm lazy person, so will try to get the results I want with minimum mod. just my liking! tongue.gif
Still a lot for me to learn especially on composition. sweat.gif
Ah hao
post Aug 14 2012, 01:47 PM

1,619 posts

Not my picture but i cant wait to show it in this thread, its taken by shukrie, this pic is sooooooooooo awesome !

Taken by nex 5N

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1480097/+400
lwliam
post Aug 14 2012, 03:00 PM

6,075 posts

Question: did you use flash on the bread pic?

184 Pages « < 125 126 127 128 129 > » Top

0.0359sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:04 PM