The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3

jimmyyap03
post Apr 15 2012, 11:22 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(jtleon @ Apr 15 2012, 11:11 AM)
A mount adapter will enable you to have more selection later on. 
but from my view if you do not have any plan to purchase more lens within these few years then buying E-mount lens is a good choice and save $$$.  EA2 alone will cost more than RM1k right?
Yup, agreed with you as well, as not so soon to get another lens too

geek8585
post Apr 15 2012, 12:04 PM

923 posts

To all NEX5N users,

Actually i really looking for a solution, whether to go for 5NK now or wait for the 5ND which dunno will come on what time... i'm going for a trip on coming weekend and plan to take the new babe go along if possible... the 16mm worth for my waiting =(

or might as well save the 300++ and top up a little bit get some better lens? ohya, the existing 18-55mm can apply fish eye adapter?

jimmyyap03
post Apr 15 2012, 12:10 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Apr 15 2012, 12:04 PM)
To all NEX5N users,

Actually i really looking for a solution, whether to go for 5NK now or wait for the 5ND which dunno will come on what time... i'm going for a trip on coming weekend and plan to take the new babe go along if possible... the 16mm worth for my waiting  =(

or might as well save the 300++ and top up a little bit get some better lens? ohya, the existing 18-55mm can apply fish eye adapter?
sony 18-55mm not an idea lens for fish eye adapter
geek8585
post Apr 15 2012, 12:17 PM

923 posts

QUOTE(jimmyyap03 @ Apr 15 2012, 12:10 PM)
sony 18-55mm not an idea lens for fish eye adapter
so you mean if want to use the fish eye adapter, i should wait for the 16mm lens?
jimmyyap03
post Apr 15 2012, 12:29 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Apr 15 2012, 12:17 PM)
so you mean if want to use the fish eye adapter, i should wait for the 16mm lens?
yup rclxms.gif
LinaLHY
post Apr 15 2012, 01:05 PM

63 posts

Hi guys, apparently the SEL50F18 is retailing in Malaysia for RM1,099. The dealer is offering me RM1,040 but through COD. Do you think it's worth to get it, or should I just spend MUCH MUCH less and go with the oldie Minolta MD 50mm f/1.7?

Cheers!
cjlai
post Apr 15 2012, 03:11 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Apr 15 2012, 11:00 AM)
What is the price in Malaysia?
the retail price is 4499 or 4999 with kit....

but i think sh b able to get it around 4099 / 4599 or cheaper

Added on April 15, 2012, 3:12 pm
QUOTE(LinaLHY @ Apr 15 2012, 01:05 PM)
Hi guys, apparently the SEL50F18 is retailing in Malaysia for RM1,099. The dealer is offering me RM1,040 but through COD. Do you think it's worth to get it, or should I just spend MUCH MUCH less and go with the oldie Minolta MD 50mm f/1.7?

Cheers!
it depends on how u use it.... if u oredi tired to MF with ur MD lens.... then u can consider getting the e-mount

This post has been edited by cjlai: Apr 15 2012, 03:12 PM
sunboon
post Apr 15 2012, 04:32 PM

31 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2306202
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2253190&hl=nex

This post has been edited by sunboon: Apr 15 2012, 04:36 PM
LinaLHY
post Apr 15 2012, 05:29 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(cjlai @ Apr 15 2012, 03:11 PM)

Added on April 15, 2012, 3:12 pm
it depends on how u use it....  if u oredi tired to MF with ur MD lens....  then u can consider getting the e-mount
Just taking everyday shots, I guess. I do have a minolta md 45mm f/2 and it's amazing for the price I got it for! That's why I wanted to get more MD lenses. Very affordable and good. tongue.gif The thing is I'm not sure if I want to fork out RM 1k for AF and OSS. :/ Currently bidding for 50mm, 135mm and 55-200mm macro on ebay. hopefully won't kena out-bid again. T__T
Dreamworks
post Apr 15 2012, 05:43 PM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

First time playing with Toy Camera picture effect, kinda like the look/feel biggrin.gif
DSC02373 by pixeltailz, on Flickr

p/s: My initial funding for SEL50F18 went to â–² Now restart from zero sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Apr 15 2012, 05:47 PM
Kazz123
post Apr 15 2012, 08:28 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(Dreamworks @ Apr 13 2012, 10:31 PM)
Don't worry, it's normal but try not to do it too often. You've managed to hit 29minutes which is already quite good ady, my 5N I think 20minutes++ laugh.gif
Not just NEX but pretty much every DSLR our there due to the large sensor size...
oh!! thanks a lot...was worrying for a few days there... tongue.gif
TSnlik
post Apr 16 2012, 12:45 AM

876 posts

Just share 2 pics from Pantai Sekinchan. Weather that day was drab and kept drizzling shakehead.gif .

Instead.. i offer something more mouth watering from Sekinchan drool.gif smile.gif in our Nex photo gallery

Paddy fields ?? .. yes yes very lushfully green brows.gif . KeanHui already did an excellent coverage of it.

This post has been edited by nlik: Apr 16 2012, 09:36 PM
kel_jink
post Apr 16 2012, 03:42 PM

411 posts

First one was shot 50mm 1.4 wide open, lighting was semi dim. Focus was ok, I took my time to focus as it was static object.

Second one miss focus and was shot wide open as well, lighting was harsh bright cloudless day. My ML 50 1.4 shows some glowing at 1.4. Missed focus to about 1-2mm on the stem instead.

3rd one was shot at 2/2.8 i forgot, given very short focusing distance I intended to include the tag and the cupcakes, but missed the tag.

Last one was shot Nikon 28mm wide open at 2.8, fairly satisfied but wish to include the nose too but ha!

*all was shot on A mode, auto ISO, auto white balance, first 3 one +3 saturation, +3 sharpness, last one: +1contrast, -3saturation, +3 sharpness.

Conclusion: admittedly at 1.4 it's very hard to focus but not impossible. Getting to know more about your equipment is definitely going to help in this regard.

Cheers,
Kelvin
Fattyfei
post Apr 16 2012, 05:03 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(LinaLHY @ Apr 15 2012, 01:05 PM)

Cheers!
I think the 50mm f1.8 would be a good choice after reading some reviews online. 75mm equiv. Good for portrait shots. A bit long tho. Need some distance between subject. I have mine pre-ordered from Studio Zaloon and I hope i can get it soon.

If you plan to try MF then the Minolta lens would be nice.

QUOTE(kel_jink @ Apr 16 2012, 03:42 PM)

First one was shot 50mm 1.4 wide open, lighting was semi dim. Focus was ok, I took my time to focus as it was static object.

Second one miss focus and was shot wide open as well, lighting was harsh bright cloudless day. My ML 50 1.4 shows some glowing at 1.4. Missed focus to about 1-2mm on the stem instead.

3rd one was shot at 2/2.8 i forgot, given very short focusing distance I intended to include the tag and the cupcakes, but missed the tag.

Last one was shot Nikon 28mm wide open at 2.8, fairly satisfied but wish to include the nose too but ha!

*all was shot on A mode, auto ISO, auto white balance, first 3 one +3 saturation, +3 sharpness, last one: +1contrast, -3saturation, +3 sharpness.

Conclusion: admittedly at 1.4 it's very hard to focus but not impossible. Getting to know more about your equipment is definitely going to help in this regard.

Cheers,
Kelvin
Difficult even with peaking? I've not tried MF yet but planning to. Still scouting for a decent lens.

This post has been edited by Fattyfei: Apr 16 2012, 05:06 PM
kel_jink
post Apr 16 2012, 05:06 PM

411 posts

Difficult under low light scene as the contrast is really low.
stimix
post Apr 16 2012, 05:37 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Awh.. another ancient minolta 50F1.4 owber spotted haha..

Yeah damn difficult of getting ctr focus at F1.4... My PC fair ah moi shots all failed bcos of F1.4..darnnnnn..The best I think hv to go Manual focus wth better control on shutter speed? (Probably high ISO & fast shutter to avoid ctr out of focus?)

kel_jink
post Apr 16 2012, 06:49 PM

411 posts

Haha, unfortunately Stimix, mine is c/y mount Yashica 50 1.4 not Minolta's. I come from shooting film cameras (35mm to medium), so I guess that helps too in estimating your focus zone.

Just a suggestion, if I were to shoot in pc fair, dim lighting and chaotic white balance, I'll shoot b&w and wide open, but it's just me. Unless I'm shooting products which require me to shoot in color, then I'll go f4-4.5 with diffused flash. If I need to shoot fast in dim light, I'll switch off the peaking and zoom, and just adjust focus quickly to "catch" the in focus area and snap, a lot faster this way.
stimix
post Apr 16 2012, 09:23 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Oh...Tnx for the tips...but at F4 the background probably not so bokeh wor
geek8585
post Apr 16 2012, 09:55 PM

923 posts

5ND with all the basic package (8gb+case+sp)... 2.7k ok tak? hmm...
kel_jink
post Apr 16 2012, 10:33 PM

411 posts

Stimix if you are shooting products I guess I need most things in focus anyway. I think aperture has to be subject and context dependent as well.

184 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:17 AM