My wish atm would be to buy an EVF, if only the price wasn't so insanely high
This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Feb 3 2012, 06:10 PM
The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3
Jan 29 2012, 11:12 PM
2,141 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Polaris Galaxy |
Wanna share a few pics I took not long ago with my 5N. The sharpness and colours (hard to judge if your monitor is TN-panel) on this thing is just simply awesome, really happy with the purchase. By the way, please add my name in the 5N user list, thanks!
![]() ![]() ![]() My wish atm would be to buy an EVF, if only the price wasn't so insanely high This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Feb 3 2012, 06:10 PM |
Feb 3 2012, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 3 2012, 07:07 AM) What colour? QUOTE(ChinWY @ Feb 3 2012, 08:16 AM) Switch to contrast detection mode. Takes the pain out of everything. Works great with manual focus lens. Also set focus to Flexible Spot and you will be able to take the fuss out of getting the right object in focus. Even with EVF there is no guarantee you have hit the sweet spot. I thought 5N uses contrast detection since it is mirrorless QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 3 2012, 10:57 AM) Wah, don't tempt me please |
Feb 4 2012, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(cokehau @ Feb 4 2012, 11:41 AM) I think it's quite a good deal if 5N body + SEL18200 only RM3K in total. Would have went with this bundle instead of SEL1855 + pancake QUOTE(ChinWY @ Feb 4 2012, 12:26 PM) QUOTE(3rotor @ Feb 4 2012, 12:45 PM) Is the clicking that bad? Mine only happens when I shake the camera violently, but I think you normally won't shoot videos while shaking here and there fast fast right? |
Feb 4 2012, 11:14 PM
How much?
This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Feb 4 2012, 11:15 PM |
Feb 5 2012, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 5 2012, 08:34 AM) BTW, do you all protect your lens wth filter? I added a Hoya HMC UV filter Y'day bcos the shop say it's necessary for xtra protection & better pic quality Protect, yes... Improve pic quality, no. It's the opposite actually, higher chances of bad pic due to lens-flare especially at night where there's artificial light. QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 5 2012, 11:18 AM) Just played with Nex-7 at mid valley Sony. Rm4499 just body. No kit yet. Fuyoh, way above my budget. Have to stick with my ori plan of saving up for an EVF instead It's small! And quiet, not as quiet as x100 but good enough. AF seems fast to me. EVF is good but not great. Only glass can beat it. Love tri navi but I wish the knobs as more resistance. Right now it's too easy to knock them off their settings. Still no 50mm lens yet |
Feb 5 2012, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 5 2012, 04:24 PM) Hmnnn likedat abit got cheated liao lor...bcos the salesperson told me that hoya Hi index multi-coated UV also reduced lens flare wor..accordingly, those standard without coating probably induce flare ...darn...Anyway, Today I got another Hoya macro +4 filter haha..still lotsa things to perfect the picture takingh.. I failed taking macro wth 18-55mm..kenot focus at all..and thus straight away go back to get the macro filter.. Multi-coated UV filters (especially good brands like Hoya and B+W) are indeed less prone to flares compared to normal filters, but no matter what it will still not be as good as naked lens. You are after all adding another layer of glass and air for the light to pass through before reaching your sensor.Only then, found out I need to deactivate the autofocus to get the best macro shot using this limited 18-55...Still looking for cheaper F1.8 lens... QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 5 2012, 04:34 PM) Reputable shop and guranttee genuine to me. According to them, those fake hoya using plastic lens & not real glass + not cheap for sure- RM200 for the macro filter & HCM UV filter RM130 Hmm... Why not opt for a Raynox DCR-250 instead? Reviews of it are generally quite decent, me considering to get one |
Feb 5 2012, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 5 2012, 05:26 PM) Hmmm Tnx. probably will try shooting wth & without that UV coated filter for comparison haha Ah, personal preference I guess. The Raynox has a spring-loaded adapter so it's much more easy to mount/remove, I don't like to screw/unscrew because most of the time I will drop something in the process I will try out the macro after I finished charging my battery...darn so fast finished ...not even 460 shot..less than 30 nia!! probably almsot 1 hr failed macro shooting this morning haha.. Battery life hard to judge lor. My case I find panaroma mode consumes more power, and since I have the LCD brightness set to Auto, under sunny day the battery will drain faster. |
Feb 5 2012, 06:15 PM
Spam a few more pics
Takeshita Street. The very definition of "people mountain people sea" (人山人海 ![]() Went there with high hopes of seeing cosplays, but all I found after squeezing through the crowd is this » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Feb 5 2012, 06:20 PM |
Feb 5 2012, 06:29 PM
For Hoya, I think most will recommend at least the PRO1 Digital series... Normal range not so good. Can consider Kenko as well since Hoya is supposedly re-badged as Kenko for sale in Japan.
Feb 5 2012, 06:43 PM
Yours is the exact same thing? I thought you bought the PRO1 for that price, and even then shashinki isn't exactly the cheapest around
Feb 5 2012, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 5 2012, 10:56 PM) Pro1 is actually one step below Super HMC The Hoya filter in the shashinki link above is an ordinary one but yea I agree B+W is better, and also more costly anyway Hoya filters got so many variations that is too confusing. i rather buy B+W Added on February 5, 2012, 11:23 pm QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 5 2012, 08:49 PM) Yeahlor..mine not pro but HMC multicoated UV..darm kena con liao... I thought Hoya very expensive but only RM70?? Likedat my Hoya Macro filter probably also ~ RM100 only Adoooiiiii Actually, you might have issues with lighting if you are too close to a subject, for example shadow being cast by your camera/lens/lens-hood or something like that. So no need close till 1cm gua =)Furthermore, tested the macro on 18-55mm lens..- No good..can't get even get closer than 10cm..better than without but not till 1cm!! darm conned again This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Feb 5 2012, 11:23 PM |
Feb 6 2012, 03:13 PM
Sienz... Have been asking around for the EVF but price is freaking expensive at RM1k+, total up the cost with 5N kit can almost get A77 body (RM34xx) liao
Feb 6 2012, 09:37 PM
Powah la you, one new macro filter each day
In the process of acquiring a used Raynox DCR-250 myself, hopefully the deal goes through so I can also start macroing |
Feb 7 2012, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 6 2012, 10:21 PM) Tnx. Just now play abit wth +10 macro lens..now can focus very close dy That's some serious vignetting with +10 and +4 stacked, but the size of coins look the same to me in both pics Just check the effect wth just +10 macro filter Vs just only +10. Both in abit darker environment wth light maingly from my desktop LCD haha » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Feb 7 2012, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(nlik @ Feb 7 2012, 02:08 PM) Maybe we can gather a few people and buy in bulk, perhaps can get cheaper http://www.tamron.co.jp/en/lineup/b011/index.html Local distro for Tamron already has it, price is still high atm but should drop after 3-4 months... Hopefully http://www.futuromic.com/product-details.a...&keyword=&page= This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Feb 7 2012, 02:34 PM |
Feb 7 2012, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(Ah hao @ Feb 7 2012, 02:48 PM) i suppose Tamrom and Sigma should be significantly cheaper than original lens? This Tamron is ~$60 cheaper than Sony in the States, but since it's still new here I guess prices are usually higher Sony 18200 rrp2399 vs tamron rrp2899 ? http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/8350...6_3_Di_III.html Can't really find any extra info online with regards to price apart from a shop selling at RM2550. http://www.ylcamera.com.my/product.php?pag...dbrowse_order=1 Added on February 7, 2012, 3:05 pm QUOTE(nlik @ Feb 7 2012, 02:44 PM) Tamron B011 at the moment have issues with the sweep panorama feature. Better to hold your purchase until there is an official Fix or some announcement. I see, didn't know about this problem This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Feb 7 2012, 03:05 PM |
Feb 7 2012, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(whateva2k @ Feb 7 2012, 03:06 PM) Love that its black in color and size does not add too much bulk. Can totally see myself using this as my general use lens. Can consider selling my kit lens after getting this lens According to users, the Tamron produces blurry pics when used in NEX-5N's panorama mode and that a possible cause is its vibration compensation system (something about reporting itself as SEL18200 thus the NEX uses a setting which is suitable with SEL18200's OSS but not with Tamron's VC) Hopefully the price comes down soon, and the problem mentioned by nlik dissappeared. QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 7 2012, 09:58 PM) Lol... You are officially obsessed with macroing. And by the way, didn't you say this 5N is for your daughter? This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Feb 7 2012, 10:34 PM |
Feb 8 2012, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(zarakiken @ Feb 8 2012, 11:54 AM) Can the NEX-5N use this UV filter...? Any filter is usable as long as its thread size is 49mm. You can always just get the camera first and filters later, go survey online for different brands/alternatives so you'll roughly know how much to expect and not get chopped by shop.opps... sorry... the link... lol... http://mauinsons.com/store/fpro-010m-uvhaz....html#!tab2 QUOTE(wiNd @ Feb 8 2012, 12:02 PM) btw, here's a lion dance video shoot, with NEX5N, 1080p, handheld, edited with Windows Movie Maker. enjoy! Shot with kit lens? 25p or 50p? I must say 5N can take good pics and good videos, btw your heads very steady, much better than mine:PQUOTE(stimix @ Feb 8 2012, 12:42 PM) RM150 -ilens...Also not cheap bcos I found out later got RM50 close up lens too Not trying to be mean or anything, but RM150 for iLens is rather expensive... Quality should be more or less equivalent to Octopus only The hoya +4 macro lagi teruking - RM200!! QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Feb 8 2012, 06:06 PM) Expect at least ~RM1k for the EVF and ~RM500 for OVF, I've asked a few shops in Gurney last time.Added on February 8, 2012, 7:18 pmDang! Overexposed ![]() I see so many like to take b&w, so I also try... But phailed, not grainy no "feel" ![]() This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Feb 8 2012, 07:18 PM |
Feb 9 2012, 07:36 AM
QUOTE(zarakiken @ Feb 9 2012, 12:12 AM) Hmmm... any good online store or land shops to recommend...? lol... still newbie on this... and i notice the 49mm is hard to find... oh ya... is the octopus filters good...? they are kinda cheap for amateur like me for testing... Most shops sell filters at high prices, or even accs. like lenspen, blowers, etc. for that matter, buying online is cheaper provided you can wait just a day or two By the way, here's how a cheap filter can ruin your image especially in night shots. I cincai-cincai take for comparison, so please forgive the "cincainess" » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(hisel @ Feb 9 2012, 12:43 AM) ebay. 49mm kenko is only RM11+shipping, and now i'm waiting my new 67mm, also from ebay. pm me, i can help u to buy, but u must wait 1 month for delivery You sure it's original? A lot of fake Kenko, Hoya, and even B+W floating around on eBay, especially from sellers based in Hong Kong and China Added on February 9, 2012, 12:46 am and for me, lens filter is just to protect ur lens, and not much effect or different with or without This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Feb 13 2012, 10:23 PM |
Feb 9 2012, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 9 2012, 09:54 AM) Yeah I know it's expensive compare to Octopus X10 ~ RM50 nia..Well, this is called impulsive buying..beh tahan liao and that day that shop selling Octopus at Millenium Square closed..and I kenot stand so I check out the fames LYN seller in Digital Mall Sec14...As he is reputable and telling me ilens is similar to kenko & Hoya & from Korea..so I trusted him lor.. Copy pasta from one old post. A test/comparison between several brands of UV filters including B+W, Hoya, Heliopan, Marumi, Kenko, Cokin, etc.BTW, what cincai filter you used to compare wth a better filter http://www.lenstip.com/113.1-article-UV_fi...troduction.html http://www.lenstip.com/120.1-article-UV_fi...troduction.html And to make proper comparisons, you must maintain the position as even slight angle change can alter the results, not accurate. Oh, the "cincai" filter is a Singapore brand, can't remember the name but iianm it's RM10 cheaper than iLens when I bought it. Collecting dust atm, only attach when I go places with seawater... Seawater very bad I have the pancake, but seldom use bacause prefer the flexibility of zoom. QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2012, 10:31 PM) I dot have a NEX5/5N to compare. All I know that I moved from E-P1 and GH1 and the NEX7 shits on them both, wipes the floor with it!So much so that I'm putting these two cameras and lenses for sale. Oh wow, sounds badass! Mind taking a few shots? Especially with the CZ24 Added on February 9, 2012, 10:47 pm QUOTE(Hico @ Feb 9 2012, 10:35 PM) In theory,if you squeeze most pixels out of the same sensor, you'll generally end up with more noise compared to the one with lesser megapixels This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Feb 9 2012, 10:47 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0237sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:22 PM |