Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only

ojtee
post Jan 27 2012, 05:31 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Jan 27 2012, 06:01 PM)
Portraiture length for FX is 85mm ~ 135mm. Do the maths for DX.

For group photo, it depends on the number and what "kind" of group photos to be produced, I personally prefer 50mm on FX but that would be half-body only.
yeah 50mm - 90mm in DX, that's why I am asking for opinions on using either the 50mm 1.4G or the 85mm 1.8D in DX as basically I would prefer a nice bokeh and as much isolation as possible although its not that important. Setting will be outdoors by the poolside mainly,we hope it doesn't rain on that day!
Andy214
post Jan 27 2012, 05:37 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Jan 27 2012, 05:31 PM)
yeah 50mm - 90mm in DX, that's why I am asking for opinions on using either the 50mm 1.4G or the 85mm 1.8D in DX as basically I would prefer a nice bokeh and as much isolation as possible although its not that important. Setting will be outdoors by the poolside mainly,we hope it doesn't rain on that day!
Your 105 Macro tongue.gif
Sharp and nice creamy bokeh tongue.gif

For the 50, I think the 50 1.8G is sharper; Seeing some of the sample photos around, it seems the 1.8G produce much better results. Tempting.....

85 also have new G version for 1.8.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jan 27 2012, 05:37 PM
Everdying
post Jan 27 2012, 05:49 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Jan 27 2012, 04:51 PM)
What's the recomended FL for portrait, group photos for DX cameras?
I'm undecided between 85mm f1.8D and 50mm f1.4G

I would basically be taking pix from about 10 feet/3m or so

any advise?
from ur sig u have a 16-85, that is good enough for group photos.
else its not really that hard for u to drag out that lens and set it to the respective 50mm and 85mm lengths and see how it works right...

plus when u say 3m away for portrait is only half the info.
half? 3/4 length? headshot?

again, dragging out ur 16-85 and setting it to see which one works better for u...

This post has been edited by Everdying: Jan 27 2012, 05:51 PM
Isepunye
post Jan 27 2012, 05:53 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Jan 27 2012, 05:31 PM)
24 F1.4 bokeh is thumbup.gif notworthy.gif and i was so drool.gif and i took off my wallet and i cry.gif
donabe28
post Jan 27 2012, 06:53 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Jan 27 2012, 03:52 PM)
nope! last time my 18105 got dat problem. repair cost almost 300. forgot whats the problem IIRC something related to motors. the problem encounter for me, lens abit hunting
thanks for helping me... very costly repair..
ojtee
post Jan 27 2012, 07:23 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 27 2012, 06:37 PM)
Your 105 Macro  tongue.gif
Sharp and nice creamy bokeh  tongue.gif

For the 50, I think the 50 1.8G is sharper; Seeing some of the sample photos around, it seems the 1.8G produce much better results. Tempting.....

85 also have new G version for 1.8.
ah yes, i did test it out past few days, only thing is that i can only get half maybe 1/4 shot, i may need to do group of maybe 5-6 people, and with the 105mm, i would need to stand 30m away ....haha!

would need it by mid march, so i wouldnt wannna get the 85 1.8g as yet, as i don't really know how it performs

Added on January 27, 2012, 7:32 pm
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 27 2012, 06:49 PM)
from ur sig u have a 16-85, that is good enough for group photos.
else its not really that hard for u to drag out that lens and set it to the respective 50mm and 85mm lengths and see how it works right...

plus when u say 3m away for portrait is only half the info.
half? 3/4 length? headshot?

again, dragging out ur 16-85 and setting it to see which one works better for u...
i did look at the 16-85mm, in fact i was trying it out due CNY gathering and mostly took pics of the kids, 85mm end was fine. I really like the versatility and the IQ of the lens, but may not be that useful.....
thing is the function will be at 7pm onwards, so low light capability is the one i would be looking for, (50mm)85mm f/1.8 vs (50mm)85mm f/5.6...hmmmm, i think you know what i mean tongue.gif

groups shots maybe 5-6 people, mostly i may wanna get full length with occasional headshots and 3/4 length

This post has been edited by ojtee: Jan 27 2012, 07:32 PM
tctham
post Jan 27 2012, 08:14 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Jan 27 2012, 07:23 PM)
ah yes, i did test it out past few days, only thing is that i can only get half maybe 1/4 shot, i may need to do group of maybe 5-6 people, and with the 105mm, i would need to stand 30m away ....haha!

would need it by mid march, so i wouldnt wannna get the 85 1.8g as yet, as i don't really know how it performs

i did look at the 16-85mm, in fact i was trying it out due CNY gathering and mostly took pics of the kids, 85mm end was fine. I really like the versatility and the IQ of the lens, but may not be that useful.....
thing is the function will be at 7pm onwards, so low light capability is the one i would be looking for, (50mm)85mm f/1.8 vs (50mm)85mm f/5.6...hmmmm, i think you know what i mean  tongue.gif

groups shots maybe 5-6 people, mostly i may wanna get full length with occasional headshots and 3/4 length
you edi got 35mm right? is it ok if you go for 85mm and then compensate the missing "50mm" using your feet to zoom? 85mm for portrait.. 35mm for group.. although 85mm abit hard to get full body with 3m
post Jan 27 2012, 09:34 PM

473 posts

Erm...now my lens is install on my camera...So how to store it? What i means is do i need to separate the lens and camera for store in cupboard?

Added on January 27, 2012, 9:38 pmCan i use lenspen to clean my mirror inside the camera? I saw a single dust in it but dunno can use lenspen to clean or not...><

This post has been edited by 163119779: Jan 27 2012, 09:38 PM
Everdying
post Jan 27 2012, 09:49 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Jan 27 2012, 07:23 PM)

thing is the function will be at 7pm onwards, so low light capability is the one i would be looking for, (50mm)85mm f/1.8 vs (50mm)85mm f/5.6...hmmmm, i think you know what i mean  tongue.gif

5-6 ppl with 50mm, and from 3m away...they're going to have to really squeeze tight.
just use ur 16-85 with flash for those group shots better.

for headshots, actual 85mm lens still better...even tho u have to stand further back with DX.
doesnt matter if 50mm is roughly a 75mm field of view blah blah blah, the lens distortion is still of a 50mm.

for the rest, i guess either ur 35mm or 16-85 will do fine.
ojtee
post Jan 27 2012, 10:22 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 27 2012, 10:49 PM)
5-6 ppl with 50mm, and from 3m away...they're going to have to really squeeze tight.
just use ur 16-85 with flash for those group shots better.

for headshots, actual 85mm lens still better...even tho u have to stand further back with DX.
doesnt matter if 50mm is roughly a 75mm field of view blah blah blah, the lens distortion is still of a 50mm.

for the rest, i guess either ur 35mm or 16-85 will do fine.
was thinking of using the 1224 for group shots, and put the 85mm on for portrait. i think the UWA perspective would be good in the poolside view. Purpose is to get as much pictures, portraitwaise of bride n groom during the evening dusk lighting, thing is i prob be the only 'photog' there and reception is for SIL, so pressure is on me....haha.....hop i don't just go snapping food pics instead of people..... biggrin.gif

thing is i luv the 85mm bokeh.......decisions,decisions
celciuz
post Jan 27 2012, 11:29 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(163119779 @ Jan 27 2012, 09:34 PM)
Erm...now my lens is install on my camera...So how to store it? What i means is do i need to separate the lens and camera for store in cupboard?

Added on January 27, 2012, 9:38 pmCan i use lenspen to clean my mirror inside the camera? I saw a single dust in it but dunno can use lenspen to clean or not...><
Use a blower, raise the mirror then blow. Don't use lenspen, unless its the one designed for sensor.
iloveOov
post Jan 27 2012, 11:51 PM

226 posts

spam picture 2day~

TS0168257061
post Jan 27 2012, 11:59 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Jan 27 2012, 10:22 PM)
was thinking of using the 1224 for group shots, and put the 85mm on for portrait. i think the UWA perspective would be good in the poolside view. Purpose is to get as much pictures, portraitwaise of bride n groom during the evening dusk lighting, thing is i prob be the only 'photog' there and reception is for SIL, so pressure is on me....haha.....hop i don't just go snapping food pics instead of people..... biggrin.gif

thing is i luv the 85mm bokeh.......decisions,decisions
bokeh is boring,
just get the wide angle, wide angle is fun brows.gif
tctham
post Jan 28 2012, 12:04 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(iloveOov @ Jan 27 2012, 11:51 PM)
spam picture 2day~

your pictures are fantastic as always. smile.gif

This post has been edited by tctham: Jan 28 2012, 12:04 AM
Agito666
post Jan 28 2012, 01:30 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(locksng12 @ Jan 23 2012, 12:22 AM)

Wish you guys a Happy Chinese New Year smile.gif
May our relationship with our family and friends be blessed  rclxms.gif
i see photoshopped brows.gif
ojtee
post Jan 28 2012, 01:34 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jan 28 2012, 12:59 AM)
bokeh is boring,
just get the wide angle, wide angle is fun  brows.gif
yeah, was planning to load the 1224 on the D5100, and have the other bokehliciuos lens on the D300s...... tongue.gif
The D5100 doubles up as backup and video too.....or i may just pass it to my niece to snap groups photos blink.gif
jchue73
post Jan 28 2012, 02:16 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Jan 27 2012, 04:51 PM)
What's the recomended FL for portrait, group photos for DX cameras?
I'm undecided between 85mm f1.8D and 50mm f1.4G

I would basically be taking pix from about 10 feet/3m or so

any advise?
At those distance, 85mm on DX body will give you head and shoulder pics of the bride and bridegroom while 50mm on DX body will give you 2/3rd of the body in portrait orientation. More people would be difficult to fit in the frame. If in landscape orientation, 50mm would fit 4 people but limited to head and shoulder pics. 85mm in landscape mode would give a tight crop of the couple's faces.

QUOTE(ojtee @ Jan 28 2012, 01:34 AM)
yeah, was planning to load the 1224 on the D5100, and have the other bokehliciuos lens on the D300s...... tongue.gif
The D5100 doubles up as backup and video too.....or i may just pass it to my niece to snap groups photos  blink.gif
Mounting different lenses on two bodies is always a good idea. Be careful while doing group pics with the 12-24mm. If possible try to avoid putting people at the extreme sides when taking in landscape mode at the extreme wide angle as distortion can be bad. Try not to tilt the camera too much.

On a side note, you will find that wide angle pics are the most difficult to master but if properly executed, the outcome gives the most satisfaction.
freddy manson
post Jan 28 2012, 09:37 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(iloveOov @ Jan 27 2012, 11:51 PM)
spam picture 2day~

later have to show us lah. how u get the skin tone that good but the mood is that dull~ so awesome..
give a bit of hints saja la.. hehe

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jan 27 2012, 11:59 PM)
bokeh is boring,
just get the wide angle, wide angle is fun  brows.gif
wide angle is boring,
just get the super tele, super tele is fun brows.gif
dvlzplayground
post Jan 28 2012, 10:10 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

hey guys, opinions please smile.gif im still waiting for the 85mm f1.8G. should i continue to wait or should i just get a tamron sp90? this is for a d40

usage: portrait, stage shots, compressed perspective

im also thinking about the tamron 70-200 f2.8. been reading about slow/inaccurate AF on tamron lenses. how bad is it for u guys? i dont mind the AF noise
ojtee
post Jan 28 2012, 11:32 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 28 2012, 11:10 AM)
hey guys, opinions please smile.gif im still waiting for the 85mm f1.8G. should i continue to wait or should i just get a tamron sp90? this is for a d40

usage: portrait, stage shots, compressed perspective

im also thinking about the tamron 70-200 f2.8. been reading about slow/inaccurate AF on tamron lenses. how bad is it for u guys? i dont mind the AF noise
if AF speed is not an issue, then the tamron would do nice, thing about the 85 1.8g is that there isn't any real life feedback test on it, so its kinda gamble if you get it first hand, abathen, since its the 2nd gen 1.8, it will prob be as good if not better than its predecessor

125 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0686sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:08 AM