Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only

tctham
post Jan 24 2012, 02:30 PM

653 posts

anyone installed those katzeye focus screen thingy? or you all so far no encounter problems with manual lens?
tctham
post Jan 24 2012, 09:25 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jan 24 2012, 05:02 PM)
Canon 5D X ? sounds nice  brows.gif 
if so, canon has been naming their product with X  quite often
the unfill warranty card tricks works even now right ?
unlike canon its a bit hard to do..
http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/cat--Nikon-DS...-cat_nikon.html

unless you really want the spilt focusing screen,
if not changing it wouldn't help much imo  smile.gif
QUOTE(razuryza @ Jan 24 2012, 07:05 PM)
no problem as u can depends on the dot
haha.. cuz the focus confirmation dot lights up and the electronic rangefinder says the subject is in focus, but when i shift the focus (by a bit), it still stays in the same condition.. in other words, there is a slight free play or region of "in-focus" instead of dead on.. not sure if i described properly.. was thinking that if got the split screen it would be slight easier to get the correct focus.. but then my dilemma is the cost + support from nikon if i change the focus screen might be void? + i will lose the other focus dots guide when i not using the middle focus.. the other focus dots would still work, but now i dun have a "pointer" for me to point at.. unless i keep tapping the lights.. haha~ my issue is with the 85mm f/1.4 at wide open.. i guess i'll just have to practice more until it's a second nature to me.. hehe.. thanks for the opinions. smile.gif
tctham
post Jan 24 2012, 11:01 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jan 24 2012, 10:25 PM)
Err wait,  what camera are you using ?
the 85/1.4 fail you in AF ?
samyang 85/1.4 is full manual lens.. nikkor af-s wun fail me de.. but i cannot afford.. keke~

edit: read wrong.. i using D5100 and pair with the samyang, it's a full manual focus.. no AF..

This post has been edited by tctham: Jan 24 2012, 11:01 PM
tctham
post Jan 24 2012, 11:49 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jan 24 2012, 11:06 PM)
Now i know you using Samyang,
and on D5100 lol, must be hard haha
ever tried in D300 or D700 those ? awesome, you can see the indicator tells you where to turn during mfing  tongue.gif
haha.. small viewfinder.. i found out the hard way that it is impossible to focus without looking at the confirmation dot..

i no try it on any other camera yet except D70s.. haha~ that's agito's camera.. smile.gif

yea.. it does tell me when to turn.. but when the confirmation light lit up and the "electronic rangefinder" says it is in focus.. i can still move the focus ring back and forth like 1-2mm and the focus confirmation + "e-RangeFinder" still says it's in focus.. thus the picture turns out to be hit/miss case.. even stopping down to f/2.8 i still encounter that issue.. not sure it's an issue with my mind/eyes/fingers.. hahaha but that samyang lens is gorgeous.. loving it. smile.gif

spam another shot of my cat.. keke

tried taking the star picture.. but there's way too much clouds.. sad.gif at least i find out that i cannot use up to 30 secs for night sky shots.. i end up with star trails instead.. hahaha~ failed attempt.. guess I'll open the lens wider and or bump the ISO.. i heard that opening the shutter for long periods may cause dead/hot pixels.. sad.gif is that true?

edit: spam another inanimate object.. do c&c.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by tctham: Jan 24 2012, 11:56 PM
tctham
post Jan 25 2012, 12:13 AM

653 posts

yea.. using middle focus point.. i even avoid focus & recompose to make sure.. i also tested using tripod and remote release.. just to be sure..

tested that there is a slight free-play with the confirmation dot..

if focus with live view on max magnification, then things improves ALOT.. but that's for static objects like that orchid.. for quick moments, i still have to rely on viewfinder..

i got a few more pictures, but i haven't really gone through them yet.. usually i just fire extra.. just in case.. focus, fire, re-focus.. then fire and repeat for about 3 times.. just in case
tctham
post Jan 25 2012, 08:11 PM

653 posts

the moment when it's falling and you try to save it.. and you made things worse by accidentally smacking and accelerate it's fall.. or redirected it to elsewhere which is more damaging.. sad.gif

thank goodness those only happened to my phone.. not the camera.. *touch wood*

nowadays if i drop things, i will let it land on my feet.. (provided that it's not heavy enough to break a toe or anything that i'd miss later) cause i reckon my feet is softer than the floor.. then when it actually hit the floor, it wasn't direct fall from its original height but slight rebounded from my feet.. not sure if this logic works or i'm just cheating myself.. hahaha~
tctham
post Jan 25 2012, 11:30 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Jan 25 2012, 11:23 PM)
just back from Lowyat Plaza.. a friend of mine urgently need to purchased SB700..quite shocked coz Lowyat full with B+W filter now..coz remember previously its hard to fine any..and when take a closer look, yeah its damn FAKE!!!!
It doesnt have hologram sign and the package seems kinda funny. Guess what, the seller quote RM350 for 72mm filter.
*the intention of this message is to alert all forumer out there..
how to differentiate the filter genuine or not ar?
tctham
post Jan 25 2012, 11:58 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Jan 25 2012, 11:36 PM)
the easiest way is the hologram at the box, fake one didnt have it.
kewl.. didn't know about that.. hehe.. thanks a lot. smile.gif
tctham
post Jan 27 2012, 08:14 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Jan 27 2012, 07:23 PM)
ah yes, i did test it out past few days, only thing is that i can only get half maybe 1/4 shot, i may need to do group of maybe 5-6 people, and with the 105mm, i would need to stand 30m away ....haha!

would need it by mid march, so i wouldnt wannna get the 85 1.8g as yet, as i don't really know how it performs

Added on January 27, 2012, 7:32 pm
i did look at the 16-85mm, in fact i was trying it out due CNY gathering and mostly took pics of the kids, 85mm end was fine. I really like the versatility and the IQ of the lens, but may not be that useful.....
thing is the function will be at 7pm onwards, so low light capability is the one i would be looking for, (50mm)85mm f/1.8 vs (50mm)85mm f/5.6...hmmmm, i think you know what i mean  tongue.gif

groups shots maybe 5-6 people, mostly i may wanna get full length with occasional headshots and 3/4 length
you edi got 35mm right? is it ok if you go for 85mm and then compensate the missing "50mm" using your feet to zoom? 85mm for portrait.. 35mm for group.. although 85mm abit hard to get full body with 3m
tctham
post Jan 28 2012, 12:04 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(iloveOov @ Jan 27 2012, 11:51 PM)
spam picture 2day~

your pictures are fantastic as always. smile.gif

This post has been edited by tctham: Jan 28 2012, 12:04 AM
tctham
post Jan 29 2012, 11:09 PM

653 posts

hi sifu(s),

wanna ask your opinion, which looks better?

or

i help my friend take this with her camera.. then when see the picture.. dunno how see which is better.. @_@ actually both same picture.. but one is cropped to 1:1 format and another is cropped to 16:9 format..

also if can c&c on how to further improve it.. do share.. hehe..
tctham
post Jan 29 2012, 11:27 PM

653 posts

you have to half press it.. did you half press it?
tctham
post Jan 29 2012, 11:29 PM

653 posts

funny.. i used d5100 and it can perform the selected functions mentioned in the video.. even on my kit lens..

just set to af-s and single point focus by selecting in the <i> and then you can move your red (focus) dot around by using the 4 way directional pad..
tctham
post Jan 29 2012, 11:34 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Jan 29 2012, 11:29 PM)
Well, im no sifu, personally if to choose between these 2, i will choose the second picture.

Comment on composition.

The 1st pic is too distracting with those reflection in the water.

Also, i quite cant get what is the message and subject the shooter wanna express.

Which one is the subject?

If the signage is the subject, it is not sharp enough i believe.

If me, the 1st pics, the bridge is a good foreground subject.
actually i was just telling her what settings to use when taking a landscape at night.. so i didn't really choose a good subject.. for a moment, i just felt the scene looked quite nice with the lights.. so i just fired away.. i admit i was careless and didn't find any story behind the shot.. haha.. thanks for pointing that out.. i think probably next time around i need to find a subject in the scene before taking the picture.. i usually shoot when feeling tells me to.. keke..

thanks for the comment.. smile.gif will take note with the subject thingy.. and the answer to your question.. there was no subject in mind when i took the picture.. haha.. XD my bad..

another side question.. to make the signage sharper.. i would have to take few pictures and merge it right? if i wanted to get the exposure right.. otherwise.. i either get blown out highlights or i get dark scene. sad.gif
tctham
post Jan 29 2012, 11:36 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 29 2012, 11:31 PM)
I think you misuderstand me,I mean can perform the red dot thing moving but the lens wont focus onto the point sad.gif what's the problem?
either you are on manual focus mode.. (the switch set to M on your lens) or you have switched the focusing feature from your shutter button to the AE/AF button.. that's my guess.. @_@
tctham
post Jan 29 2012, 11:41 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Jan 29 2012, 11:37 PM)
i think u mean HDR, but why not just long exposure? not necessary u need HDR. HDR wont help u make the signage sharper.

Focus will. or infinity
yea.. i was thinking of HDR.. you referring to the DESA PARK CITY signage? or other signage? i was referring to that one wor.. cuz if i expose the scene correctly, that sign's highlight will overflow until the word desa park city is a smudge of white.. if i under expose the scene, then it's sharper..

p/s: i forgot where i set the focus point to.. haha.. this was taken at f/11.. altho with f/11, there is a possibility that i pre-focused at wrong area and the desa park city signage was not in the in-focus range.. haha.. i can upload the darker version of it tho.. XD

This post has been edited by tctham: Jan 29 2012, 11:45 PM
tctham
post Feb 1 2012, 11:50 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(KIEN18 @ Feb 1 2012, 11:32 PM)
looks like somewhere in Johor?  hmm.gif

it's actually desa park city, kepong

nice clouds by the way.. keke..
serene feeling

edit: i spam pictures again.. keke

actually hor.. i think the star picture.. quite alot of coma.. how do you all photoshop it away using lightroom? @_@ i know stopping down can reduce coma.. but i cannot stop down.. cuz have to take picture within 3 secs else star -> star trails.. @_@
my exif:
85mm
2 secs
f/1.4
iso 400

This post has been edited by tctham: Feb 1 2012, 11:58 PM
tctham
post Feb 2 2012, 12:19 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Feb 2 2012, 12:15 AM)
Guys,I bought the nikon d5100 with free lcd screen protector.but the lcd screen protector seems very easy to get scratch even though I take good care of it.any advise on this? feel frustrated when saw the minor scratch on the screen.
my lcd screen protector only got smudge marks wor.. no scratches.. do you flip your screen back whenever not in use? if really unhappy, then change the protector again? haha~ better protector scratch than the lcd scratch.. hehe
tctham
post Feb 6 2012, 08:30 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Feb 6 2012, 07:12 PM)
Is it possible to take continuous self-timer shots with the pop-out flash?
i can't speak for other models.. i've tested on my d5100.. if i set it to timer, and even if i set it to take 2 shots.. it wouldn't do so with the pop-up flash.. however, i am able to take continuous self timer shots with the pop-up flash by using the interval mode.. which sets your camera to take x number of shots within a y interval starting from z time (or now).. not sure if that is helpful. @_@
tctham
post Feb 9 2012, 09:17 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 9 2012, 05:26 PM)
Weather here jeju island is veil cold until my finger skin cracked and even have glove I can't feel half press shutter button...saw many nice chicks but got obi friend nearby and can't ninja shoot and range is too short...dem...
omg~ i want the siu mui mui pictures.. dun ninja.. just samurai them in the open only!! ganbatte!!

0.0486sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:43 AM