Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only

jchue73
post Jan 26 2012, 05:28 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(b0r1nG @ Jan 25 2012, 01:58 AM)
How do you find it compared to 35mm F1.4G?
I have both and to me both take wonderful pics. I have not tested if the nano coating on the 24mm f/1.4 works.

For me, I will only choose one lens for the other when I feel like using different focal lengths because quality wise, both take great pics.
jchue73
post Jan 28 2012, 02:16 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Jan 27 2012, 04:51 PM)
What's the recomended FL for portrait, group photos for DX cameras?
I'm undecided between 85mm f1.8D and 50mm f1.4G

I would basically be taking pix from about 10 feet/3m or so

any advise?
At those distance, 85mm on DX body will give you head and shoulder pics of the bride and bridegroom while 50mm on DX body will give you 2/3rd of the body in portrait orientation. More people would be difficult to fit in the frame. If in landscape orientation, 50mm would fit 4 people but limited to head and shoulder pics. 85mm in landscape mode would give a tight crop of the couple's faces.

QUOTE(ojtee @ Jan 28 2012, 01:34 AM)
yeah, was planning to load the 1224 on the D5100, and have the other bokehliciuos lens on the D300s...... tongue.gif
The D5100 doubles up as backup and video too.....or i may just pass it to my niece to snap groups photos  blink.gif
Mounting different lenses on two bodies is always a good idea. Be careful while doing group pics with the 12-24mm. If possible try to avoid putting people at the extreme sides when taking in landscape mode at the extreme wide angle as distortion can be bad. Try not to tilt the camera too much.

On a side note, you will find that wide angle pics are the most difficult to master but if properly executed, the outcome gives the most satisfaction.
jchue73
post Jan 29 2012, 01:52 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 28 2012, 10:43 PM)
Just now tried to capture the picture of performer dancing at the stage,I sit second row but not manage to zoom in with my nikon d5100 and kit lens. sad.gif Around 1k budget smile.gif
If you're serious about capturing stage shows, the 70-200mm f/2.8 is your best bet. Anything else would be a hit or a miss.

QUOTE(seather @ Jan 29 2012, 12:01 AM)
the 70-300 VR is an FX lens... means wif 1.5 crop factor will become 105-450mm on DX camera.. laugh.gif
Does not matter if your 70-300mm lens is FX or DX... On a DX body like the D5100, the FOV becomes 105-450mm.
jchue73
post Jan 29 2012, 02:45 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jan 29 2012, 02:00 AM)
sad.gif But i really needed a lens for stage performer zoom because i do shoot a lot this kind of photo sad.gif I still think of getting 55-300 or 70-300 sad.gif budget around 1k only.if get used one,worry also =[
If you do a lot, there is no shortcut. Talent is one thing but without proper equipment, you'd just be shooting and getting missed shots. If you were using a Nikon DSLR with built-in motor like the D90, I would have recommended the cheaper AF-D 80-200mm f/2.8 that's available 2nd hand. Else, try and hunt for Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8.

Regardless of how tiny the subjects are because of reach, can you show samples of your shots? Stage shows usually have so little available light. Perhaps yours is an exception. From there we can know if you really need a f/2.8 lens.
jchue73
post Jan 30 2012, 01:29 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ Jan 29 2012, 07:20 PM)
ive ask this question previously, and imo, its better to save few bucks to get VRII, no doubt at all.
If like this, the original poster (makaroni) would not in the first place have said he has a tight budget right?

QUOTE(makaroni @ Jan 29 2012, 07:21 PM)
thats the most im worry about coz my hand is not tough as steel, just thinking that i must use fast shutter speed to avoid blur image with 80-200, if i can i dont want to burn all my money to buy vr1/vr2 just for VR thing..
Proper technique, higher shutter speed (after taking into account your crop factor if you're using DX body) and perhaps a monopod if you can.

VR might prevent motion blur from your hand holding technique. VR would not freeze fast action of the subject. You still get motion blur from the subject moving.

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Jan 29 2012, 07:25 PM)
The focussing is insanely fast for the vrII
Yes, no doubt.

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Jan 29 2012, 07:25 PM)
Hehe but the vr helps alot for wedding and concerts etc! You can shoot at 1/10th at 70mm where the lights are dim!
Of course. When the subject stays put and does not move...

QUOTE(seather @ Jan 29 2012, 07:27 PM)
i don think 4.4k vs 6.9k is a few bucks....  sweat.gif

for focus speed the new "re-released" AF-D version is still slower than the VR2 but not by much...

if gonna shoot at  low light @ 200mm... i guess VR2 is the obvious choice unless wanna carry a tripod around...

4 me personally, prefer the VR2... slowly saving up now  blush.gif
The AF-D can be gotten 2nd hand for much cheaper than 4.4k. Get it now, practice with it and when the time is right, sell it for the VR2. You could probably sell it around the same price you bought it 2nd hand.

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jan 29 2012, 07:47 PM)
ya learn from rosmah.... sikit sikit jadi bukit... whistling.gif
Follow Rosmah? rclxub.gif Dangerous lah. You'd probably end up with a D3X + 600mm f/4 lens.

QUOTE(Irbean @ Jan 29 2012, 08:10 PM)
then u should answer it yourself. If you can grab the VRII, and get numerous wedding job, u still can gain the return from the lens. but its just my opinion, coz that's what i do rite now =)
Equipment is one thing. Talent is another. I hope nobody confuses and think that when you have great equipment, you get talent great too.

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Jan 30 2012, 01:45 AM)
last photo for the same girl ><
Errr... Why are you posting pics with Canon when this is a Nikon thread? doh.gif
jchue73
post Feb 3 2012, 11:35 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Feb 3 2012, 10:31 AM)
wahh syiok ...
do it once then kawtim dy. smile.gif
Errr, monitor calibration must be done from time to time. The monitor setting will lari after while.

QUOTE(fubs @ Feb 3 2012, 10:43 AM)
guys, noob question here:

what cable do i use to get my sb600/900 off camera? i usually play with cls but you know la, cls sometimes aren't that reliable in the sun.

any suggestions?
SC-28 and the more expensive SC-29.
jchue73
post Feb 8 2012, 12:55 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Feb 7 2012, 10:45 PM)
So the D3X is dead? Wondering how much is the 2nd hand price when the D800 is out in the market.
Yes, I would not mind a 2nd hand D3X too.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 7 2012, 10:47 PM)
D800 to D3X is somewhat like D7000 to D300s. Another tweaked or maybe improved D4X probably appear to replace the D3X.
24Mp is already stunning for me.

QUOTE(seather @ Feb 8 2012, 12:37 AM)
if this is ur first FX body, yeap smile.gif a 16-35 f4 VR UWA lens will set u back another 4k
Why stop at 16-35mm f/4? Go for 14-24mm f/2.8. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 8 2012, 12:56 AM)
is it me or is the 14-24mm lens is a fantastic lens
both the interior shots looks woah...
Yes, the 14-24mm f/2.8 is that awesome to use. One of my favourites actually.

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 8 2012, 12:56 AM)
on a side note, look how much difference without AA filter can do to your photos... click me
NONAC is dead this time round... wahahahaa
Nice link.

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Feb 8 2012, 12:33 PM)
Would like to know if any D7000 users here faced back-focusing issue before and how did you fix it?
Noticed the problem occurred when aperture is wide open. I am using kit lens
Does it happen when you use tele or wide angle on the kit lens? In what type of conditions does it happen? Low light?

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Feb 8 2012, 12:45 PM)
Anyone had experience sending lens for service in Nikon HQ in menara PKNS?

want to send mine, cause the zoom ring is stuck (few pages back) and the Nikon person (Mahfooz) asks me yo send for checkup..

How long foes it take, and how much does they quote for the fee?
Wah... How did you manage to get Mahfooz on the phone? If I'm not wrong, he's a high ranking big gun in Nikon handling NPS section.

Anyway, to get Nikon SC to check your lens, they charge you RM 20 on which can be deducted from the repair cost later on.

How long? Lucky will be 2 weeks. Unlucky? 2 or 3 months?

BTW, you can check status of our repair online after receiving the work order number.

http://servicestatus.nikon.com.my
jchue73
post Feb 9 2012, 02:43 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 8 2012, 07:50 PM)
Capture NX software is a damn good software. Of course they dont give it to you for free.
In case it was not mentioned here, the latest version 2.3.0 update is 64 bit. No more running 32bit in 64bit OS. Finally ! Much faster and smoother.

QUOTE(b0r1nG @ Feb 8 2012, 10:36 PM)
here...D800 ISO6400 image

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/readflat...thread=40544685

It is 1 stop worse than D700

D800 is meant for studio photography and high fashion portraits with strobes
Not too bad what... You're expecting D3s territory?

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 9 2012, 10:29 AM)
basically rm8k, and nowhere near rm7.5k supposedly of the D800.
think that guy just fishing for customers, then later say 'no la, u didnt see rm7.5k+++++'
If that is the same guy, I would suspect so...

Anyway, any idea where the D800 is made? Japan, Thailand, Malaysia?

jchue73
post Feb 10 2012, 07:54 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 10 2012, 05:00 PM)
I often read this that Louis Pang mentioned he bought every single Nikon's products with his own wallet and not being sponsored. And that usually come when there's debate happening between Canon vs Nikon thingy. Probably one of their procedure that we may not know, but I hardly see Louis promoting Nikon or showing off himself with Nikon. Unlike so photographer at his level, one of their introduction is their camera history which bear the big logo of Canon sweat.gif
I think other pros outside of Malaysia get treated better by Nikon. Canon in Malaysia is just doing what Canon generally does for their pros worldwide.

Anyway, if I get to charge a cool 5 figure for every wedding shoot, I too can buy every Nikon with my own pocket money. No sweat. biggrin.gif
jchue73
post Feb 12 2012, 10:54 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Feb 10 2012, 08:34 PM)
Hey Jchue73, I got my self the 3n1 but felt it was very weird carrying it, was wondering do you use the backpack set up or the X position?
Actually, I have not used my 3nI in a while after getting the Speed Racer and Airport Acceleration V2. What do you mean by weird carrying it? I usually use it in single strap position. Rarely in the X position. I find that the bag is out of shape when you put heavy stuff. The paddings are not hard enough and so the lenses can move about in the bag. The strap is also not he most comfortable. It used after a while, the straps can stretch permanently ! Especially if you use 1 sling.
jchue73
post Feb 14 2012, 03:38 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 13 2012, 05:37 PM)
is it really worth it to go for the 14-24? or shud i just settle down with the 16-35?

haiz..everyday got problem to think sweat.gif
The 14-24mm f/2.8 has the better glass. If you have the 24-70mm f/2.8, the 14-24mm f/2.8 makes a great pair.

Oh, while you're at it, get the 35mm f1/.4 too. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Feb 13 2012, 09:13 PM)
if 16-35 can go F2.8 like canon...
it will be a perfect wide lens...
I think it's silly to make a new 16-35mm f/2.8 lens when Nikon already has 14-24mm f/2.8. Besides, I believe they made the 14-24mm f/2.8 to complement the trinity zooms i.e. 24-70mm f/2.8 and 70-200mm f/2.8.

If you want the 35mm range, you can get the older AF-S 17-35mm f/2.8. Not too bad lah but if compared to the 16-35mm f/4, it shows it's age.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 13 2012, 09:25 PM)
14-24 replaces the 17-35, 16-35 is for budget users.
Budget? LOL There's nothing budget about the price though. sad.gif

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 13 2012, 10:08 PM)
have you used the current canon's 16-35?
it's yuck
Agreed. Wide angles have always been Nikon's domain.

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Feb 14 2012, 12:20 AM)
but d range 14-24 is onli for UWA user...
can't reali do much like walkaround...
Depends on different shooting styles...
jchue73
post Feb 14 2012, 01:09 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 14 2012, 11:37 AM)
does it work when you put a canon 17 ts lens on nikon body ?
Nope. Canon mount is bigger than Nikon. Smaller mount lens (Nikon) with proper adapter will work on Canon body though.

QUOTE(Irbean @ Feb 14 2012, 11:43 AM)
wah kinda lost already.. btw does anyone knows what is the cheapest price for d700 at the moment?
I thought it's something like RM 6.1k thereabouts?
jchue73
post Feb 16 2012, 01:14 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 16 2012, 02:15 AM)
Yes, FX lens can be used with crop sensor and vice versa.

However, when DX lens attached to FX sensor may cause vignetting as the lens is not capable to fill the light up to the size of the sensor.
Need to be more precise... If you shoot FX body in FX mode with a DX lens, you'll get vignetting.

You can use DX lens on FX bodies. If you set the FX body to auto-detect DX lenses, the FX body will switch automatically to 1.5x DX crop mode when you mount a DX lens. On a D700 and D3/D3s, that's 5.2MP instead of the full 12MP resolution. As far as I know, this DX auto-detection only works with Nikon original lenses. Of course you can switch the FX body manually to use DX crop mode when using DX or FX lens...
jchue73
post Feb 18 2012, 12:44 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 17 2012, 07:18 PM)
all thanks to u and others for the decision making tongue.gif
What help? We just pushed you into the pit ! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 17 2012, 08:55 PM)
Wide angle is nice if you can go in close... its different feel compared to tele lens.
Yup. I always say that teles are easiest to shoot. Most difficult is when you shoot wide and get your shot correct. nod.gif

Just like what Robert Capa said, if your pictures aren't good enough, you're not close enough.
jchue73
post Feb 23 2012, 06:59 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(makaroni @ Feb 23 2012, 04:25 PM)
im in dilemma, with 9k budget  rclxub.gif

1. new nikon 70-200 vr2 pair with my sigma 18-50mm f2.8 (if got budget later then can sell sigma & buy new 17-55)

2. new 17-55 + new 80-200 & sell my sigma

3. new 17-55 + 2nd 70-200 vr1 & sell my sigma

4. 2nd 70-200 vr1 & pair with my sigma

5. 2nd 70-200 vr1 + 2nd 17-55 & sell my sigma

any oppinion guys?
Either 3 or 5. I assume you're using DX body? DX body does not need the latest VR2 updates in the optics like what the FX body does.
jchue73
post Mar 6 2012, 01:28 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 1 2012, 03:49 PM)
if both object at the same distance.
DOF on DX is thinner.
That's incorrect. FX always has thinner DoF.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 1 2012, 03:49 PM)
but when u frame the object so both looks the same in the viewfinder.
ie. u move closer with FX, then the DOF on FX become thinner cos closer to object.
Correct.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Mar 1 2012, 06:10 PM)
Yeah, the DOF on DX is thinner given the same distance between camera and object. My bad and thanks for correcting me blush.gif
Don't think you needed to be corrected because you were correct to begin with. FX always have thinner DoF.

QUOTE(ojtee @ Mar 1 2012, 11:16 PM)
my first additional gear is always a flashgun, hell i have 2 SBs,  but i dunno if the R1C1 does count in as 1 or 2 , if its 2 then 1 have 4 flashes..... tongue.gif
Wah... R1C1 is hardcore already.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 2 2012, 08:30 PM)
i want the crop factor.
plus D700 or 800 doesnt look interesting to me.
if got money sure go straight D3s or D4.
1.5x crop factor on D800 already gives you 16MP. What more do you want? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 2 2012, 11:34 PM)
yalor, nikon's ergonomics is so nice. hold a D700, then go hold the 5D2, u'll definitely feel the 5D2 is cheaper build (not cheaper la..maybe not as tough tongue.gif)

for D800 vs 5D3, maybe it comes to the user itself. see whether u nid godly MP's or faster frame rate (and also other things that they offer) tongue.gif
Strange that for the first time in many years, Nikon is playing the lead in the MP race... sad.gif Like celciuz, I rather sacrifice a little on the MP and go for a higher frame rate.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 4 2012, 01:25 PM)
nikon 20mm is the easiest widest one to find...and not that expensive.
also got 14mm and 18mm primes, but definitely not cheap or even easy to find here.
I still have my 18mm... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Mar 5 2012, 12:56 PM)
Who's more interested with Canon 5DMK3 than D800/D800E now?
Have not taken a peek at the other side... What does it have that will entice future D800 owners?

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 5 2012, 04:49 PM)
if D4 is targetted at sporting pros, the most they will go is ISO3200 with a f/4 lens.
most of the time will be at ISO1600 or lower depending on condition with their f/2.8 lens.
so i would think for them the high ISO is already excellent at those settings.
what D4 offers them tho, is 10FPS at RAW with no noticeable loss in speed due to its 100 shot RAW buffer.
and, it can still AF with lenses f/8 and slower, meaning they can stick on a 2x TC in front of their 200-400 f/4, and get a 400-800 f/8 that can still AF...no current body right now is able to do this.
Exactly. +1

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Mar 5 2012, 09:05 PM)
2x TC for sport photographer? you must be jk right?
for fast action shots, you need to have fast af speed, superb tracking accuracy and high speed burst mode.
i bet you have nv try any TC before. The af speed with TC is like 2 times slower than without.
The 2x TC is the worst, it's horrendously slow and totally not suitable for fast pace action.
this is why we rarely see sports photographer using TC.
TC is more useful on birding/wildlife, and it's only for slow(seldom move) subjects.
We do see people using TC for sports. Just not so common.

Of course you find it "more often" used on something like a 200mm f/2.0 or on a 300mm f/2.8 and 400mm f/2.8 lenses mounted on pro bodies.

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Mar 5 2012, 10:22 PM)
I believe those people are from the press. They have designated areas and the proper lenses for them to have the need to use a TC. If they want a closer crop, it's usually faster for their desk editor to crop in PP.

p/s: BTW, AF tracking and Canon equipment should not be mentioned in the same line. biggrin.gif

jchue73
post Mar 7 2012, 08:58 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 7 2012, 07:24 PM)
spam noob photo, just now edit photos found got a nice korean chick in frame tongue.gif

You sure she's Korean? Looks like tourist looking at the English guide map.
jchue73
post Mar 7 2012, 11:55 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 7 2012, 10:13 PM)
Not exactly subject friendly to slow focusing lens like my 35 and 85  doh.gif  Almost no time to recompose.. when recompose then OOF jor dry.gif... somemore if I use the non cross sensors, sometimes it hunts  rclxub.gif
The shoot kids successfully, you need to be good with kids first and foremost. It helps if you manage to get their attention. I took thousands of shots of my daughter and son. Less than 1% can be considered keepers. Yeah, with kids it's all about timing and speed of capturing spontaneity. Primes are damn difficult to shoot. The 24-70mm f/2.8 was a saviour.
jchue73
post Mar 14 2012, 10:56 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 14 2012, 06:02 PM)
yes same speed, but somehow, i feel that d300s' AF system is faster than the D700. anyone can confirm that?
D700 has the same focusing system as the D3s. How is it the D300s is faster? hmm.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 14 2012, 09:19 PM)
I'm kinda disappointed with the Canon 5Dmk3 samples though, I read a lot about the ISO performance is D3s like... but when I saw the samples... some of them even looked OOF and look muddy... they should have at least hired a pro photog to shoot like Nikon did for their D800/D800E samples.

http://web.canon.jp/imaging/eosd/samples/eos5dmk3/
I took a look at the pics. Not too bad me thinks. It's not the same territory as the D3s at high ISO but remember it's shooting way more megapixels.

Anyway, I guess the reason why Canon did not hire pros to shoot with the 5DMkIII is perhaps they are trying to portray that normal shooters can also shoot reasonably well with the 5DMkIII. No need pros to show the camera's capabilities.

QUOTE(tctham @ Mar 14 2012, 09:37 PM)
Wrong! 35mm regardless of DX/FX lens on a DX/FX body will still be 35mm focal length..the same goes for 50mm DX/FX lens on a DX/FX body is still a 50mm focal length.. the field of view is still the same.. only the angle of view is different..

very hard to explain this without paper.. haha.. i'm too used to drawing..
If people are still confused, just have a play with the lens simulator. Switch from DX to FX and change DX and FX lenses to see what type of picture you're getting at different focal lengths.

http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/lens/simulator/
jchue73
post Mar 15 2012, 02:04 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(metsatsu @ Mar 14 2012, 11:22 PM)
I asked one of the camera shops in Penang about the 5DM3 price which they were told by their distributor, that it would be sold for around RM9.5k. Dunno how accurate was that, the shop owner told me that was his latest update thus far.

His prediction is that D800 will not go more than RM9k. But don't take my words for it.

Added on March 14, 2012, 11:26 pmBtw, RM20K for the D4, that's a shocker
Aiyoh... sweat.gif That Penang shop owner again ah? doh.gif

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Mar 15 2012, 01:43 AM)
yes in the spec sheets it writes that both cameras (D700 n D3s) has got the same focusing system. but have u tried both? well i own both. D3s felt faster n snappier, n even the pattern is different smile.gif

n i never had alot of experience with a D300/300s. but holding my fren's D300s, the focusing pattern seems the same. but it felt faster tongue.gif not that i have any article to confirm this info sweat.gif maybe its just me tongue.gif
I read again my original reply and it's a little flawed. It does not any meaning to answer your original question. I originally intended to write the following... "D700 has the same focusing system as the D300s. How is it the D300s is faster?"

Anyway, I don't own a D3s. I own the D300 as well as the D700. With similar settings under similar lighting conditions, be it at AF-C or AF-S with 11 or 51 AF areas with 3D tracking, Lock-On on Long, Normal, Short or Off, the D700 to me is a little more snappy. I have no doubt that the D3s is more snappy than both the D700 and the D300.

BTW, the focusing pattern on the D300 is not the same as the D700 even though both have 51 AF areas. D700 is more narrow while the D300 is more spread out.

0.0593sec    1.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:17 PM