May 11 2012, 10:01 PM
115 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
oneup,
Please never start an external sound at 3:00AM! Unless you want your neighbors to hate you and complain about your noisy farm! Which idiot told you this... just change during the daytime... if you think the sound can drive the birds away during other time of the day.. what makes you think the sound won't drive them away at the ungodly hour of 3:00AM? Unless your farm is at rural area or plantation... its totally not advisable to on the external sound at 3:00AM.... never.... who suggest this idea to you is very strange person with weird idea... |
May 11 2012, 10:42 PM
142 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
May 11 2012, 11:08 PM
451 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Of course true le...but same as bn, o.oo1% wanton mee n panmee make this kind of money loh...hehehe...have to explain it just in case we will be flooded wt panmee n wanton mee stalls just liked bird farms...
May 11 2012, 11:25 PM
47 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(philoswiflet @ May 11 2012, 10:01 PM) oneup, Thanks for the reply, but my farm is in the estate, so its ok.Please never start an external sound at 3:00AM! Unless you want your neighbors to hate you and complain about your noisy farm! Which idiot told you this... just change during the daytime... if you think the sound can drive the birds away during other time of the day.. what makes you think the sound won't drive them away at the ungodly hour of 3:00AM? Unless your farm is at rural area or plantation... its totally not advisable to on the external sound at 3:00AM.... never.... who suggest this idea to you is very strange person with weird idea... They say some birds recognize the sound and by changing the external sound, it will drive returning birds away. |
May 12 2012, 02:33 PM
1,397 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(oneup @ May 11 2012, 11:25 PM) Thanks for the reply, but my farm is in the estate, so its ok. Going into your Agri BH @ 3am and are you sure that there is no tiger or wild boar around. Very dangerous and of no use......you only disturb the birds and if I am a new bird, I surely will not return again to your BH for the rest of my life....cos you scare the shit out of me...hahahahaThey say some birds recognize the sound and by changing the external sound, it will drive returning birds away. Seriously, no one with sense change sound during the middle of night as the last thing you want to do is to disturb the birds. Change sound only when require and the best time to do so is during the afternoon when there is the least of birds and then observe the result during the evening when the birds return; that will definitely gave you a clearer Yes or No on your new sound. You can practically tell the guy who told you to do so @ 3 am that he must be mistakenly for OWLS..... or BATS ranching. Swiftlets not only have good hearing but very good sight and that's why they can see misquotes or flies from very far away and zoom in. They can remember your BH and entrance so well that they need no eye to see the way in and once, a friend changed his entrance and place a card board over the old hole and so many birds hit the card board straight on....that's why I posted @ forum not to change hole unnecessary for you may end up killing the birds unintentionally.,,,,with broken wings. Oyes, the swiftlet has no ABS brake. Hope that I am of help to you, my friend. Added on May 13, 2012, 4:53 pm QUOTE(kohloh @ May 11 2012, 10:42 PM) KohLoh....my friend,What's the best offer for nests now as I cannot check around without commitment to sell and many of my friends now are harvesting nests as now is the harvesting season and wish to know about the price. I immediately think of you for an update on the price since you posted that Indo can now sell directly to China and EBN must be moving thru Indo. Here, there were buyers for Rm2500 for AB nests and I know once they come, they will be choosy now that Malaysia still cannot sell like what I experienced at Terengganu during the opening ceremony of the Peladang buyer office there. Or maybe, you want to take me for a trip to China or Indo to discuss selling EBN under water cos above water cannot sell hahahaha.........mau cari jalan, cari KohLoh. This post has been edited by West Wing: May 13 2012, 04:53 PM |
May 13 2012, 10:32 PM
115 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
oneup,
Sorry for the tone of my earlier reply to your query. One can try out various pet theories if it does not affect others but the thing is to think whether a hypothesis is plausible... otherwise too many trials and errors. The external sound is to attract birds not yet making nests in the farm or maybe even to help keep fledgings from going away to another farm... in the dead of the early morning when the birds are mating or making nests or whatever and suddenly the external sound is started... I think it might unsettled the birds especially those not yet committed to your farm and think of external sound play at that ungodly hour will serve to advertise your farm to owls... It seems like only those who want to strike lottery or 4 digit will go to rural area in the dead of night/very early morning. to seek help from supernatural forces.. and perhaps criminals might be around as they like to go into action during ungodly hour. I often change sound at 8 Am when there are birds around and I can see their response... another thing, make sure your external sound do not contain elements of SOS or stress sound which will be detrimental to your farm. |
May 14 2012, 10:05 AM
47 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Dear WW, philoswiflet,
I was told to start early for that day and then turn it back to 5am after. Guess it's not a good idea. That night after i changed it, i was worried for a night because after giving it some thought, i think it might lure owls to my BH, and i check it via the cctv the nxt day and all was good. The BH is not v far away, its 20mins drive, I went to change the external sound at 8PM, since the sound stop at 7:30pm. And adjust the timer to 3am~7:30pm... I've adjusted it back to 5am~7:30pm... |
May 14 2012, 06:48 PM
416 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
May 14 2012, 07:18 PM
4 posts Joined: May 2012 |
Hi sifus here,
I discovered this forum few months ago, when i started my first farm. There are much useful info, advice from many generous sifus here that help me a lot. Many thanks to West Wing, tuckfook, coolandy, benchai,... and many others for your sharing with non-profit. Since swiftlet farming industry is very new, secret and high-profit, there are many traps awaiting for rich investors without knowledge. Many bad consultants are looking at your pocket. So, i choose my way to learn and develop a birdhouse myself. My Bh is in good location and under flying path. After about 5 months, my bh got about 100 nests. From that day until now, for 2 months, it had lower growth rate than before, only about 10 nest each month. I made an overall inspection and found that nothing unusual. Temperature, humidity, brightness,... are within range. No critical changes were made as well. Was there any sifu in this situation before? What is the possible reason for low growth rate of nest population? I need your advice to improve the situation. Thanks in advance. |
May 14 2012, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(bancroft @ May 14 2012, 07:18 PM) Hi sifus here, Below are just my opinion only and other may disagree.I discovered this forum few months ago, when i started my first farm. There are much useful info, advice from many generous sifus here that help me a lot. Many thanks to West Wing, tuckfook, coolandy, benchai,... and many others for your sharing with non-profit. Since swiftlet farming industry is very new, secret and high-profit, there are many traps awaiting for rich investors without knowledge. Many bad consultants are looking at your pocket. So, i choose my way to learn and develop a birdhouse myself. My Bh is in good location and under flying path. After about 5 months, my bh got about 100 nests. From that day until now, for 2 months, it had lower growth rate than before, only about 10 nest each month. I made an overall inspection and found that nothing unusual. Temperature, humidity, brightness,... are within range. No critical changes were made as well. Was there any sifu in this situation before? What is the possible reason for low growth rate of nest population? I need your advice to improve the situation. Thanks in advance. Past few months were not a good months for swiftlets growth and most BHs complained of slow growth and some even told of reduction of nests. so, don't worry. My guess is that of the climate changes and it will be better cos by looking at the sky these 7 days, time are getting better for increment of nests and hopefully, that will apply for the nest price... Don't do any renovation when the good are going......but it's only my opinion on the matter discussed; it's up to you. This post has been edited by West Wing: May 14 2012, 07:53 PM |
May 15 2012, 10:48 AM
360 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(West Wing @ May 14 2012, 07:51 PM) Below are just my opinion only and other may disagree. Hey WW, change your name to WISE Wing it is more appropriate.Don't do any renovation when the good are going......but it's only my opinion on the matter discussed; it's up to you. BTW, there was one night, a long time ago, at about 2am. that my timer failed. For some reason, the day sound played, at daytime volume and I observed that many birds flew out and disappeared into the night. Whether the same birds came back later or the next evening I do not know but I know for sure that it definitely frightened the birds with the sudden change at night. The same does not happen daytime. This post has been edited by tuckfook: May 15 2012, 10:58 AM |
May 15 2012, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(tuckfook @ May 15 2012, 10:48 AM) Hey WW, change your name to WISE Wing it is more appropriate. Bro, BTW, there was one night, a long time ago, at about 2am. that my timer failed. For some reason, the day sound played, at daytime volume and I observed that many birds flew out and disappeared into the night. Whether the same birds came back later or the next evening I do not know but I know for sure that it definitely frightened the birds with the sudden change at night. The same does not happen daytime. common instinct animal sense and just like us, if we suddenly hear loud sound at night, I believe we either faint or piss in the pant and run; likewise, the swiftlets can hear well in the dark but cannot see well, too although the have much better sight than us. They will excrete white shit and fly like mad. So, in day time, the birds can see well in the BH and hear well so they can see where the sound coming. Just like in new BH, when one enter it, all birds will fly out but in very old BH, the birds will just ignore you and keep circling in the BH because they can see you as friend. Hope that I made some sense. |
May 15 2012, 11:16 PM
167 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Bancroft I just completed my 25 th BH and building my 26 th and earthwork for 27 th BHs .I will share with you my observation . Every new BH will attract a first wave of birds and in some fresh areas homeless birds. If you build in feeding area with no nearby BHs , young birds will occupie your BH instead of flying a long way home to their BH of birth.
I observed that when this first wave has settled in there is a period of slow growth as in your case. This is normal and population will increase more aggressively during the three peak breeding season particularly May and April. In exceptional occasion you may be surprised by unusual increase from your neighboring BH being abandon ( due to many reasons) One Bh I designed and commissioned in Kuching in 5 months there was an increase of 1500 birds . This is during the forest fire ragging in Kalimantan .( Here is the 5% luck that I mentioned previously) I also noted that if the BH is not conducive thisfirst wave of birds . They will abandon the BH and this spell trouble as it will be very difficul to populate such BH dispite putting in lots of efforts including extra feeding and so on. One technic I use is to leave a large LAL . This make it easy for the birds to come into the Nesting Room and start to stay. You will notice that they will only occupie the utmost end and darkest area. When I observe tha there are no new markings indicating stagnant growth. I will clean the whole BH and place the sweeped Bird Shit and placed them in buckets . Do very aggressive harvesting except those nests with eggs and babies. Next I reduce the size of the LAL . Change external sounds. The clean sweeped floor you will be able to identify new shit spots to assase the number of new birds staying. This is my practice. Caution do at your own risk . Has work well for me. Good luck! Enjoy this fun reading. |
May 16 2012, 12:11 AM
3,626 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Hornbill land |
25 BHs? My god bro you really invest heavily into this industry. If price is good and 4 kgs from each BH which translate into 100kgs per month. Rm3k a kilo, u can easily make rm300k per month.
May 16 2012, 12:39 AM
Mois , no I only have one shared bh. One research Bh in Kk . I built 20 BHS in Sabah in the last 2 and half years only 7 are designed and commissioned the rest 12 are all designed ,built , commissioned . All are done in house no sub contractors and all sold including land. BH #25 sound on next week and is my only BH for Sale.
I take great pleasure and challenge locating land in the best area and develop BH and the challenge to populate the BHs. Not much interest in the end product. In fact is starting to be a bit boring and routine. May look for new challenge. Oh by the way if you can produce 20 to 30 kg even at 2k / kg is still very attractive. I have been encouraging many friends to be BH developer. |
May 16 2012, 10:35 AM
As I see it……………
Going to be parent birds with go the along the food path and many other area that the flock visit as the pair will check out many BHs before deciding on the BH that they will make their family. That’s why when we see many birds going in and out, that doesn’t mean that they will stay but then that’s a very good chance that they will stay as they like your BH a least like your music and do pay a visit there. There are always very good chances that the birds will return to their birth place to make their families and if they do, you got one thing good here and that’s they will make nests very fast cos they are so used and confidence to the BH surrounding unlike new BHs which the birds will need to check out before deciding to make nests… Breeding time is important and not fledging time but then there are very good chance that the going to breed pair with be there to observe/survey your BH as so many birds seem to gather around your BH during fledging time. I believe that must be the curiosity of swiftlets. The myth about old birds never leave BH are not always right for if you make it impossible for them to stay, they will leave . Those old days when I saw thousand of newly fledged birds flying and playing high in the sky near the hill but these scenario are all gone. I also notice many adult birds are flying up there and maybe trying to secure new bride for the future or maybe they are the parents assisting the young ones of the art of flying and science of life. Above are just my belief in the subject in swiftlets. Added on May 16, 2012, 10:48 am QUOTE(benchai @ May 16 2012, 12:39 AM) Mois , no I only have one shared bh. One research Bh in Kk . I built 20 BHS in Sabah in the last 2 and half years only 7 are designed and commissioned the rest 12 are all designed ,built , commissioned . All are done in house no sub contractors and all sold including land. BH #25 sound on next week and is my only BH for Sale. Hi Ben!I take great pleasure and challenge locating land in the best area and develop BH and the challenge to populate the BHs. Not much interest in the end product. In fact is starting to be a bit boring and routine. May look for new challenge. Oh by the way if you can produce 20 to 30 kg even at 2k / kg is still very attractive. I have been encouraging many friends to be BH developer. You must b very proud to built more than 20 Bhs and my only one, designed by me still incomplete after 15 months. So, my advice to any new fellow wanting to build BH, never overpay the contractor and go by the book. Generosity and kindness to the contractor never get you any way but just trouble. Sorry to say that I heard from others that contractors can never be trusted with their job and they are often bad paymaster as well........meaning that they will leave alot of unpaid jobs..... My one......high hope, high dream and high ambition all gone down the drain.........cos the planks promised 3 weeks ago still no sign at all........... so, now, I have no dream and only hope is that the BH be completed as fast as possible and quality and specifications cannot be enforced anymore. This post has been edited by West Wing: May 16 2012, 10:48 AM |
May 16 2012, 01:26 PM
2,452 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Kuching, Sarawakland |
long time no come beck here.. my BH growth also stagnant since start operation in July 2011... hopefully these few month can get some increase...
May 16 2012, 06:43 PM
Wise wing , I spent 2 years on design and building methodology .my present method I can complete a 20x 60 ft x 8 ft / stories x3 stories from ground up to on sound
within 60 days. A 2 stories of the same dimension 45 days. Imagine in 15 months you may have 1000 nests who knows ! Gerald 7 you need to stimulate your BH and if no increase try to find the source of problem. Very often a small change like internal sounds or adjusting position of LAL or altered the size of LMB or LAL can brings good result. Don't fear changes otherwise the bh will remain stagnant forever. |
May 16 2012, 07:40 PM
4 posts Joined: May 2012 |
Dear uncle WestWing, benchai,
Thanks for your advice. I will wait and observed for a few months before any renovation. Have you here ever tried extra fooding for swiftlet? How is its effectiveness? Does it help to increase population faster? Sorry if this topic discussed before cos i have searched on V1, V2, V3 but cant found any result. |
| Change to: | 0.0304sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:58 PM |