V4. Swiftlet Keeping Discussions, All About Swiftlet Keeping Industry

oneup
post Dec 6 2011, 03:43 PM

47 posts

I see alot of ppl asking questions abt how do we determine how success is your bird house. To be honest, so far there isn't really a correct answer as most would simply tell you that there is no exact answer due to the vast variables. So rather than asking what is "success", y don't we all chip in our own results as a method of comparison. I assume we are all enthusiast and we keep regular records of our BH. Below are my results. With the results, atleast we can see what ppl around us are performing and then maybe compare the differences in more details....

Year Started: Dec 2010
Size: 70 x 30 x 3 storey
Type: Open roof
Results:
Month 3: 1 Nest
Month 6: 1 Nest
Month 9: 10 Nests
Year 1: 21 Nests + 4 Incomplete Nests

oneup
post Dec 6 2011, 10:18 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Kanelam @ Dec 6 2011, 05:25 PM)
If you dont mind, please share the cost as well; land, building, 'consultantcy fee', etc
I think this is important to determine the cost vs gain.

For example, if I inherited a shoplot , then i dont have to pay anything except the renovation and consultancy.
Then it will tremendously reduce my initial cost.
Initial cost was about RM400k inclusive of everything. Land was inherited.

Added on December 6, 2011, 10:23 pm
QUOTE(mois @ Dec 6 2011, 08:16 PM)
Not renovate, just another extension actually haha. Shoplot is linked to the BH. But two separate BHs, now in dilemma whether to operate separately or just open a hole between them. But i guess probably open a hole in between. More spaces for birdies and hopefully percentage of staying there is higher. Just wondering, how much can we harvest monthly if the nest count is 3k, 4k, 5k?
From the things I heard and learnt, heard that it is best to open 1/2 holes connecting the birdhouses depending on the size, you mention 60ft or 80ft, I think 2 holes would b good enough.
Don't open the holes first, do the renovation and necessary fitting works, then lastly, open the holes. That way you do not need to start fresh.

Btw, 1.5year n 1.5k nests... WHOA! The nest results around my area is 300nests on the 1st year and it is considered very very successful!! Big goodjob! rclxms.gif

Abt the harvest, one of my friend who current run a BH with over 10k nests within, he harvest 10% of the nests everytime. His average harvest is 8-10kg depending.

So 3k would b around 200-300nests? 4k = 300-400nests? Not very sure since I am not there yet haha

This post has been edited by oneup: Dec 6 2011, 10:28 PM
oneup
post Dec 7 2011, 02:00 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Dec 6 2011, 11:09 PM)
Speaking about 10k nests, i dont think monthly harvest only 8-10kg. By the way 10% is kinda too low. Suppose to be 15% at least i guess. That translate 11-13kg monthly. How long does it take to reach 10k nests? I think once reach 10k nests mark, one year nest counts can be increased by few thousand nests!
I am not sure, but he told me 10% so I take his words heh...
He was one of the pioneer within the district, his BH is abt 10 yrs and i am not sure how long did it took for him to reach 10k nests because when i got to know him, it was already at the 8k nests mark...

Added on December 7, 2011, 2:02 pm
QUOTE(West Wing @ Dec 7 2011, 01:22 PM)
These days when the price of nests are down and the increment of nests are below expectation, many may want to sell off their failed BHs.

Like no serious buyers for nests the same apply to buyers for BH and selling is also be a problem unless you are selling very cheap. Previously, there are so many potential buyers asking for lands and BHs but they are now gone without a trace........

With every bad time, come good opportunities, opportunities to buy cheap nests and also cheaper land and BHs. Everything concerning swiftlets are on sales and I hope that the equipments, products, books, books and others should now be cheaper to reflex the present situation....maybe producers and supliers of these goods will also provide better discounts for their products to help owners of BHs badly hit.
Very true. 6 mths ago i still heard ppl talk abt it at kopitiam... Now no one is talking abt it anymore haha... But I do agree the fact that "with every bad time, comes good opportunities"

This post has been edited by oneup: Dec 7 2011, 02:02 PM
oneup
post Dec 9 2011, 09:58 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(Jo Yeo @ Dec 8 2011, 11:11 AM)
Another statistic should be in.

Got Consultant Or Not. Who.
No consultant. And I don't really like the idea of naming names.
oneup
post Dec 29 2011, 10:08 AM

47 posts

Dear WW and other experts,

I inspected my BH today and notice there was a baby bird on the floor. My teacher tell me to pick it up and try to let it fly by itself again, I did and it didn't fly... sad...

I really didn't know what to do abt it, so i decided to place it in one of the empty nests hoping that some other birds will take care of it....

I would like to know what should really been done?

If I leave it on the floor, it will surely die... If I keep try to make it fly... It will die too since it will drop on the floor...

Baby birds need frequent feeding I assume... It is very likely that it won't survive... =(

Regards,
Oneup

This post has been edited by oneup: Dec 29 2011, 10:17 AM
oneup
post Dec 29 2011, 12:03 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Dec 29 2011, 11:22 AM)
If u put on wrong nest, they will kick the baby out. There is nothing you can do except to return back the baby bird into its nest. I always do this and 80% of them survived. I love baby swiflets alot since they like to stick on my finger!
sad.gif Don't think I placed it on the right nest...
I found it on the floor near the bird house entrance. And there was no nest in that area. So it was impossible for me to know which is its nest.
I have no idea how it got there. Perhaps it got scared while we turn on the light and flew towards the exit and fell.

Thanks anyways =)
oneup
post Dec 29 2011, 06:53 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Dec 29 2011, 05:22 PM)
Well, taking about chicks that cannot fly, most of our type of swiftlets have 2 chicks and all you need to do is to see which nest has one chick of similar size.

Failing so, just put the bird into any one and pray that it will survive and some do so at least it got a chance; thanks to you and your kind heart.

From what you written, it's a swiftlet about to fledge  and so, any place is OK as the parent birds will hear it's call when they return....and the parent should be able to feed it there and then and in no time, the bird will be able to fly out of the BH.

Just like bats, the parents can distinguish their babies from thousand of others by their cries.
Lets hope the parents can hear its crying.
I will enter the BH again tomorrow to check if its doing ok.
Thank you!
oneup
post Jan 3 2012, 12:54 PM

47 posts

Just notice myself recently that there are few types of wire for the speakers.
I myself has used the following:
1- aluminum copper wire
2- pure copper
3- pure tinned copper

I highly recommend all to avoid aluminum copper as I have paid the price for using such wires. The external sound wires lasted 3 months and corrosion are already very serious until the extend that some speakers stop working.
Pure copper or pure tinned copper are the way to go. Both are good against corrosion. But tinned copper is higher priced and last even longer...

Happy new year all!

Also, I notice everytime during Xmas till after CNY, the number of birds flying in the sky are significantly reduced... Fireworks scaring off the birds? Co-incident?

This post has been edited by oneup: Jan 3 2012, 02:43 PM
oneup
post Jan 3 2012, 09:00 PM

47 posts

Dear all sifus and hobbyist,

Suddenly thought about the sounds collection that I had and used.
There were 1 sound that got me curious.
I have been operating Tongkat Ali for 3 months last year.
I notice when I first use the sound, it happens to draw alot of birds and most importantly, unlike other external sound, Tongkat Ali actually make the birds enter the birdhouse. Problem is, altho I seen many birds going in and out the BH, it only lasted for abt a week. And the sound wears off. And After 3 month, the BH only has 1 nest.

Any comments?

This post has been edited by oneup: Jan 3 2012, 09:00 PM
oneup
post Jan 5 2012, 01:34 PM

47 posts

As much as i want to believe.
I hope the government is serious and on the matter.
Rumor has that the election will be as soon as February/March/April.
From our government's track record, let say BN win.
I think everything will go back to square 1.
All they care is themselves, license here n there.
Yes they can't seem to solve some simple problems.
oneup
post Jan 16 2012, 02:58 PM

47 posts

For every1 who is in the industry, we basically understand whats going on and how simple the solution is.
Sifu WW posts basically sums up all the important points.
If the government wants to help sincerely, the issue would have been solved by now.
oneup
post Jan 31 2012, 11:17 AM

47 posts

Comparing the two.
I have to agree with WW abt the sound part.
If you want to have a BH in town area, you have to run with no sound. And the again, if they allow it in Town with such rules, it is just a matter of time ppl start blasting the sounds 24/7.

Abt voting. What has BN given us till now? Look at the issue, not what affect yourself n yourself only.

DAP decision to demolish BH in city area is not a wrong one. They have their reasons and those are indeed valid reasons. It is because the decision affect us, thats y we are against it. Millions are happy with the rules.

What different are we from those who get RM500 and vote BN for ourselves if we decide to vote BN because they would let us keep our BH in city area? Look at whats best in the long term, for our nxt generations.

I agree with Chank

This post has been edited by oneup: Jan 31 2012, 11:19 AM
oneup
post May 9 2012, 10:08 AM

47 posts

Sad to hear that BH owners now has to sell to the 8 companies with license at ridiculous prices and then the 8 companies sell to the one and only company with export license.
Who is the boss of that one and only company? MCA President Son, atleast thats what I heard...
Not sure how true is it.
oneup
post May 11 2012, 02:47 PM

47 posts

Can any1 advise on method of changing external sound?
I have decided to change my external sound, should I change it at night and start the sound at 3am?
Reason being that some has told me if you change the sound during the day, some birds currently staying might be driven away by the new sound.
oneup
post May 11 2012, 11:25 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(philoswiflet @ May 11 2012, 10:01 PM)
oneup,

Please never start an external sound at 3:00AM! Unless you want your neighbors to hate you and complain about your noisy farm! Which idiot told you this... just change during the daytime... if you think the sound can drive the birds away during other time of the day.. what makes you think the sound won't drive them away at the ungodly hour of 3:00AM?

Unless your farm is at rural area or plantation... its totally not advisable to on the external sound at 3:00AM.... never.... who suggest this idea to you is very strange person with weird idea...
Thanks for the reply, but my farm is in the estate, so its ok.
They say some birds recognize the sound and by changing the external sound, it will drive returning birds away.
oneup
post May 14 2012, 10:05 AM

47 posts

Dear WW, philoswiflet,

I was told to start early for that day and then turn it back to 5am after. Guess it's not a good idea.
That night after i changed it, i was worried for a night because after giving it some thought, i think it might lure owls to my BH, and i check it via the cctv the nxt day and all was good.

The BH is not v far away, its 20mins drive, I went to change the external sound at 8PM, since the sound stop at 7:30pm. And adjust the timer to 3am~7:30pm...

I've adjusted it back to 5am~7:30pm...

0.0667sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:06 AM