Are property prices going to up further? V4, nothing's gonna stop us now

bighagan
post Nov 25 2011, 03:28 PM

QUOTE(omyfish @ Nov 25 2011, 03:15 PM)
5 years ago: 
A fresh grad earning RM1800/month planning to buy a 300k property in future.

Monthly installment for 90% of RM300k loan (35 years) is around RM1250.

He know that he need to have at least RM4200 income per month to get the bank to approve his loan for a 300k property.

So, he work very hard, hoping to get the increment until he achieve the amount of income.

5 years later:
He had achieved RM4200/month income (Not bad right?) . But the same property in the area had increased to RM600k.

Monthly installment for 90% of RM600k loan (35 years) is around RM2500.

Now, he need to have at least RM8300 (net income) to get his loan approved for the same property. sad.gif

5 year later (let say property price keep increasing):....
He achieved RM8400 net income... but this time he need to have RM16800 income to get the property in same area..

you are so darn right,

in your example, there is a tenor of 15 years, i am just wondering, is there any financial/economical crisis happen in between

this story can go on and on and on.....

the longer time you fear, the more price that you have to pay for....

property price will drop, but it may not be the property that is in your wish list.....
kh8668
post Nov 25 2011, 03:42 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

5 years ago: 

He know that he need to have at least RM4200 income per month to get the bank to approve his loan for a 300k property.

So, he work very hard, hoping to get the increment until he achieve the amount of income.

5 years later:
He had achieved RM4200/month income (Not bad right?) . But the same property in the area had increased to RM600k.

Now, he need to have at least RM8300 (net income) to get his loan approved for the same property. sad.gif

He achieved RM8400 net income... but this time he need to have RM16800 income to get the property in same area..

good assumption bro. nod.gif
silverfish1
post Nov 25 2011, 03:43 PM

223 posts

5 years ago: 

5 years later:

My opinion - he may have 3 options then;
1) Wait for correction-Accept the fact that property have increased unnaturally....
3) Wait for auction property in the same place- Keep his fingers crossed...
3) Go for a substitute property - Buy a cheaper property elsewhere and save the agony once for all. Have more money for other things in life...

omyfish
post Nov 25 2011, 03:50 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(silverfish1 @ Nov 25 2011, 03:43 PM)
1) Wait for correction-Accept the fact that property have increased unnaturally....
3) Go for a substitute property - Buy a cheaper property elsewhere and save the agony once for all. Have more money for other things in life...
4) Get a wife and share the house loan with her.

cherroy
post Nov 25 2011, 04:16 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(silverfish1 @ Nov 25 2011, 03:43 PM)
1) unrealistic, there is no such thing of property price should at what price. If there are people buying at that price and enough people buy at that price, it will stay at that price.
One may forever wait, and only see price keep on up and up.
Last time, 500k, unrealistic high, wait, then 600K, wait again, then 700k, wait again, now 850k, even price crash afterwards or plunge, it may from 850k, to 600k, still higher than 500k initially.

2) Unrealistic, like waiting rabbit to hit the tree. It is not the like only one enter the bidding for the auction.

3) Yes, there is realistic, what you can earn, what you can buy or afford to buy. Alternative, increase one's income level.

Don't need to complain, don't need criticise, don't need hope price to crash, when seeing price keep on going up.
If see it too high cannot afford, just let it be, just let go and just like (3). That's all.

Added on November 25, 2011, 4:19 pmDon't get me wrong, I am not saying buyers should or shouldn't continue bbb mode.
In fact, current pricing is somehow elevated, my personal opinion, just nobody has the crystal ball to predict how property market may be heading for in near term.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Nov 25 2011, 04:19 PM
R o Y
post Nov 25 2011, 05:22 PM

930 posts

Actually there alot of value buy subsale property out there in decent locations. Just have to be willing to put some effort in to finding them.
Iceman74
post Nov 25 2011, 05:27 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 25 2011, 04:16 PM)
1) unrealistic, there is no such thing of property price should at what price. If there are people buying at that price and enough people buy at that price, it will stay at that price.
Last time, 500k, unrealistic high, wait, then 600K, wait again, then 700k, wait again, now 850k, even price crash afterwards or plunge, it may from 850k, to 600k, still higher than 500k initially.
Not entirely true. If the person wanted to buy at RM500k 3 years ago but can't cos Salary not enough eg RM3k
Now if(BIG IF) it do drop to RM600k & his salary increase to RM5k. The person will be more comfortable buying it now.

Please do Remember this couple of years, properties price Increase dramatic. Out of ordinary, if you ask me. If you guys said cost of materials increase, please ask around to completely built a 2-storey same as those developers showhouse cost how much & you know what i mean.

Alot those investors(especially those newly enter) wanted it UP non-stop but this will cos more harm to Malaysia economy. We now as a whole rakyat cannot "TAHAN" the inflation increase too fast.

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Nov 25 2011, 05:56 PM
silverfish1
post Nov 25 2011, 06:18 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(omyfish @ Nov 25 2011, 03:50 PM)
4) Get a wife and share the house loan with her.
5) Buy land and build your own house??
sampool
post Nov 25 2011, 08:01 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Nov 25 2011, 06:27 PM)
Not entirely true. If the person wanted to buy at RM500k 3 years ago but can't cos Salary not enough eg RM3k
Now if(BIG IF) it do drop to RM600k & his salary increase to RM5k. The person will be more comfortable buying it now.

Please do Remember this couple of years, properties price Increase dramatic. Out of ordinary, if you ask me. If you guys said cost of materials increase, please ask around to completely built a 2-storey same as those developers showhouse cost how much & you know what i mean.

Alot those investors(especially those newly enter) wanted it UP non-stop but this will cos more harm to Malaysia economy. We now as a whole rakyat cannot "TAHAN" the inflation increase too fast.
yes, same quantity of sand, brick, simen, steel are being use to build a same house... from last few years ago compare to now..

This post has been edited by sampool: Nov 25 2011, 08:02 PM
cyjh
post Nov 25 2011, 08:36 PM

115 posts

If cost of material go up I wonder the material use to built the houses in places like ipoh or alor star and so on is the same material????
I think nothing to do with price of material, yes material go up but is not 100% increase.
But anyway is prop increase that means rent also increase so cost past down to consumer, so those still running thread mill better run faster to close the gap. Prop drop or not corrected or not nobody for sure know. But now the r still increase also there r also reduce n tis r prime area. Mayb not all but sure got a few.
R o Y
post Nov 25 2011, 08:44 PM

930 posts

Material is one factor, coz nowadays houses getting bigger and bigger buildup, and at the same time people expect better finishing materials, tiles, etc.

Modern Tamans must have nice walkways and driveways in front of each house, cabling and drains all concealed underground.

Land price also going up

kh8668
post Nov 26 2011, 12:18 AM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

QUOTE(cyjh @ Nov 25 2011, 08:36 PM)
If cost of material go up I wonder the material use to built the houses in places like ipoh or alor star and so on is the same material????
I think nothing to do with price of material, yes material go up but is not 100% increase.
But anyway is prop increase that means rent also increase so cost past down to consumer, so those still running thread mill better run faster to close the gap. Prop drop or not corrected or not nobody for sure know. But now the r still increase also there r also reduce n tis r prime area. Mayb not all but sure got  a few.
hmmm..true..i saw a lot of properties (mass) are asking for higher rental now.

SilverfoX
post Nov 26 2011, 05:26 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 25 2011, 04:16 PM)

2) Unrealistic, like waiting rabbit to hit the tree. It is not the like only one enter the bidding for the auction.

3) Yes, there is realistic, what you can earn, what you can buy or afford to buy. Alternative, increase one's income level.

Don't need to complain, don't need criticise, don't need hope price to crash, when seeing price keep on going up.
If see it too high cannot afford, just let it be, just let go and just like (3). That's all.

Added on November 25, 2011, 4:19 pmDon't get me wrong, I am not saying buyers should or shouldn't continue bbb mode.
In fact, current pricing is somehow elevated, my personal opinion, just nobody has the crystal ball to predict how property market may be heading for in near term.
True.
You will never win by waiting and waiting. Don't be emotional and stop dreaming about getting your dream house. Buy whenever you can, you need to get into the market as early as possible and move with the market fluctuation and in the mean time save and aim to upgrade to your dream house later.

I always tell my wife no point getting a beautiful house now that will suck all our cash flow and spending 30 years to pay it off. Buy a few investment properties now, small/ affordable/ cash flow positive ones. Continue to save and upgrade when the fruits from these investments are ready.
Most of our friends in their mid 20s already buying 600k to 1mill property for own stay and will be spending the rest of their life paying off the debt. No extra money for other investments, its difficult to reach financial freedom.
I always think my own home is a liability, not generating income but sucking my networth.

Added on November 26, 2011, 5:39 amBy the way, property prices in Klang valley is too hot at the moment, especially the newly launched props. Which idiot will pay RM1.2 million for a 1300sqft condo in subang jaya. It doesn't make sense. I am not sure if any locals will pay this sort of prices.

I would rather buy something better overseas with good rental yield.

Property prices in Australia is cooling off and prices in some areas are dropping like 10%+ already. It will soon hit China. These sort of prices are unsustainable in my humble opinion.

We will see whats gonna happen next in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by SilverfoX: Nov 26 2011, 05:39 AM
Gary1981
post Nov 26 2011, 07:32 AM

1,610 posts

House price is up and up day by day...My house bought @ rm490k in march this year, now latest my offering @ rm600k already. Got agent offering rm650k....really has the urge to sell...
hazairi
post Nov 26 2011, 08:26 AM

2,694 posts

each day, the signs are showing that the malaysia property price will drop soon...
Can't wait for cheap bargains either next year or another 2-3 years..
It's worth the wait!
venven81
post Nov 26 2011, 08:51 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Nov 26 2011, 07:32 AM)
House price is up and up day by day...My house bought @ rm490k in march this year, now latest my offering @ rm600k already. Got agent offering rm650k....really has the urge to sell...
wah bro lucky you! in just a matter of months and the price shot up by 30%?! that's more money you can make than getting salary eh. good luck mate biggrin.gif
dlyw1103
post Nov 26 2011, 10:29 AM

869 posts

By REALTY CHECK By DATUK ABDUL RAHIM RAHMAN | Nov 26, 2011
Housing supply and demand – are we nearing equilibrium?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is there any equilibrium point in housing market, considering the many factors influencing demand and supply?

The main determinants of the demand for housing are demographic. Population size and population growth are the core demographic variables. However, family size, the age composition of the family, the number of children, net migration, non-family household formation, the number of double family households, death rates, divorce rates, and marriages are other demographic variables that would influence demand for housing. Other factors such as household income, price of housing, cost, availability of credit, consumer preferences, investor preferences, price of substitutes and price of complements all play a role in determining demand for housing.

Income is an important determinant of demand as shown by a study conducted by De Leeuw in 1971 that showed positive income elasticity of demand in North America ranging from 0.5 to 0.9, meaning the market demand for housing grew as real income rose. The price of housing is also an important variable influencing demand for housing, where in terms of elasticity just like any normal goods it is negative – increase in price will result in decrease in demand.

As for supply, the quantity of incoming supply is typically influenced by cost, price of existing stock of houses, and the technology used in the construction, where material costs tend to contribute the largest share of the construction cost, about 30% to 40%. In the short run, supply tends to be very price inelastic – increase in cost will have less effect on supply. However, over a longer period, it tends to be very price elastic – increase in cost will lower supply.

A study conducted by Fallis in 1985 showed price elasticity of supply was estimated at 8.2, indicating increased in cost would lower supply significantly. The degree of elasticity depends on the elasticity of substitution and supply restrictions. For example, the use of capital intensive technology has been employed to reduce the rising labour cost, thus having less impact on the supply of housing.

As at first half of 2011, Malaysia had 4,466,062 units of housing, an increase of 1.7% from the total of supply in the first half of 2010. About 24,709 units were completed in the first half of 2011, a lower number compared to 50,611 units completed in the first half of 2010. Kuala Lumpur and Selangor accounted for 6,567 units or 27% of the total new stock. Kuala Lumpur and Selangor had 414,436 and 1,285,192 homes, reflecting an increase of 2.0% and 1.7% respectively from the total as of first half of 2010.

Other states which showed significant number of units completed are Sarawak (2,612), Penang (2,507) and Perak (2,184). The incoming supply in the country was recorded at 560,636 units, where Selangor is the largest contributor (134,143 or 24% of the total) followed by Johor (76,429 or 14%) and Negri Sembilan (65,227). Kuala Lumpur has 39,656 units coming on stream.

In terms of transactions recorded as of first half of 2011 for the country, there were 133,984 transactions in the residential category, out of which the largest transacted numbers were priced in the range of RM100,000 to RM150,000, which accounted for 22,857 units, followed by units priced between RM250,000 and RM500,000, which accounted for 21,559 units.

Selangor recorded the highest number of transactions at 38,424 units, followed by Johor (15,015 units), Penang (13,832 units), and Kuala Lumpur (11,522 units). The most popular units transacted in Selangor, Kuala Lumpur, and Penang were for units priced between RM250,000 and RM500,000, while in Johor, the highest transactions recorded were for units priced between RM100,000 and RM150,000.

This brief analysis gives an indication that the total number of units coming into the market needs to be in line not only with the level of affordability of potential buyers in the area the projects are to be launched but also the demographics of Malaysian population.

As of July 2010, total population was estimated to be 28.25 million and the population is expected to grow at a rate of 2.4% per annum, where about 65% of the population is urban population. Today, less than 4% of Malaysians live in poverty and it is estimated that about 2.0% of the total urban population in Malaysia lives below the poverty line, earning monthly household income of equal or less than RM750. Low income households (earning income equal or less than RM2,000 per month) represents 75% of the median income in Malaysia.

The national average household income is estimated at RM4,000 per month. It should also be noted that about 65% of Malaysia’s population is below the age of 35, thus there would definitely be strong demand for housing.

Due to continuous movement in the factors affecting supply and demand for housing, policy intervention is necessary to ensure that the majority of the population has equal access to own homes. Singapore’s public housing policy is often cited as the most successful example of affordable housing provision in Asian cities. A study conducted in 2000 estimated that about 85% of the total population lived in public housing with nearly 95% of them owning the flats they occupied.

By centralising its public housing effort under a single authority, Housing Development Board, Singapore has circumvented the typical problems of duplication and fragmentation of duties, and bureaucratic rivalries associated with multi-agency implementation. This centralised function also serves as a mechanism to ensure supply and demand are checked.

It is hoped that the provision of affordable homes as announced in Budget 2012 would achieve its main objective of increasing home ownership among the majority of the population.

·Senator Datuk Abdul Rahim Rahman is the executive chairman of Rahim & Co group of companies.

cherroy
post Nov 26 2011, 10:40 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cyjh @ Nov 25 2011, 08:36 PM)
But anyway is prop increase that means rent also increase so cost past down to consumer, so those still running thread mill better run faster to close the gap. Prop drop or not corrected or not nobody for sure know. But now the r still increase also there r also reduce n tis r prime area. Mayb not all but sure got  a few.
It is not the material price alone, yes, materials price has escalating 20%, 50%, but also, it is the land the matter and demand that matter.
See no developers interested to buy land at rural area to build houses, but all rush and concentrated on urban area or prime area.
It is the concentrated demand the push up the prices.

Rental market is not as good as property price.

Last time a condo price that was 500k, now may be selling at 800k, but rental still around 3k+ only (fully furnished), may be notch up a few hundred buck only in this period of time.
sunnyK
post Nov 26 2011, 10:47 AM

663 posts

which mean to say big majority of malaysian buy houses to occupy and not for speculation.

a pricing correction or cooling off by 10% to 25% depending on location should occur second half next year as property prices enter its stabilizing period and from thereon the economy especially and even politics will determine prices

This post has been edited by sunnyK: Nov 26 2011, 10:53 AM
airline
post Nov 26 2011, 01:28 PM

7 stars
7,923 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Nov 26 2011, 07:32 AM)
so good appreciation. mind to share where is this?
landed property ke?

124 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:30 AM