127 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

Tigerr
post Dec 28 2011, 10:09 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(rexona @ Dec 27 2011, 12:12 PM)
Depends on company / sector? It's still pretty common in the big banks here to encash the 16% for nonPR/SC's.
Yes, few years ago, my friend in one of the big4 got the CPF paid in cash by the company as he just an EP holder, but after he got his PR, he rclxub.gif as a big chunk of his salary has been deducted to be paid into CPF. Whatever cash he recieved prior to getting the PR, he has to put in back into the CPF. He is about 2 months without salary...

crazy25kid
post Dec 28 2011, 10:25 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Dec 28 2011, 10:09 AM)
Yes, few years ago, my friend in one of the big4 got the CPF paid in cash by the company as he just an EP holder, but after he got his PR, he  rclxub.gif  as a big chunk of his salary has been deducted to be paid into CPF. Whatever cash he recieved prior to getting the PR, he has to put in back into the CPF. He is about 2 months without salary...
Oh...so it means if one works for 2 years before getting PR and got the employer contribution for CPF encashed.
When one becomes a PR, the amount from the 2 years needs to be "deposit"ed into CPF?
seantang
post Dec 28 2011, 11:11 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Dec 28 2011, 10:09 AM)
Yes, few years ago, my friend in one of the big4 got the CPF paid in cash by the company as he just an EP holder, but after he got his PR, he&nbsp; rclxub.gif&nbsp; as a big chunk of his salary has been deducted to be paid into CPF. Whatever cash he recieved prior to getting the PR, he has to put in back into the CPF. He is about 2 months without salary...
That wasn't my case leh. I started contributing to CPF after getting PR. Anything and everything I received before becoming PR was not in scope for CPF.

This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 28 2011, 11:12 AM
Aloong
post Dec 28 2011, 01:43 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Dec 28 2011, 09:23 AM)
The landlord only want 1 year lease so only can take 1 year lo. Frm that guideline means 1 year lease 1 month agent fees but my agent say each individual pay to their agent, meaning landlord pay 1 month to his agent and i pay 1 month to my agent ar? Rich d lo agent like this lol
I suggest u contact other agent and check it out. I rented 1 yr in Oct 2010 for half month commission only. Then in Oct 2011 I rented 2 year for one month commission.
But if u signa dn pay already, too bad lor.
If havent u can just try check around for other places, and fake fake ask them about commission policy lor

Added on December 28, 2011, 1:45 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 28 2011, 10:05 AM)
Eh what agency is your agent from? Regardless one year or two year lease also pay 1month agent fee from both tenant and landlord side is like cheating, must let us know so that we can avoid agents from those agencies next time biggrin.gif
Correct, tell us which agent, which company??
Maybe the agent is not license one.

This post has been edited by Aloong: Dec 28 2011, 01:45 PM
wlcling
post Dec 28 2011, 02:10 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

I thought now hdb standardize ruling is 1 year lease for all contracts... Standard agent fee is 1 month..
MPIK
post Dec 28 2011, 02:36 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Dec 28 2011, 02:10 PM)
I thought now hdb standardize ruling is 1 year lease for all contracts... Standard agent fee is 1 month..
It can be also a 3 mths rent, 6 mths etc etc.. not die die must 1 year.

contract is dead one, human is alive one...
Laine
post Dec 28 2011, 04:05 PM

325 posts

hi, anyone knows where can i check my EP application status? the usual web site that i went to last time seems inaccessible... thanks.
ivanswk
post Dec 28 2011, 04:11 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(iStevei @ Dec 27 2011, 11:47 AM)
Sry din provide enf details. Here it goes:..

Edu: Deg in Mechanical Eng.
Industry: Automation / machine maker (currently)
Title: Service Eng
Working Exp: 1 1/2 yr

Indusry: Air conditioning M&E (previously)
Title: Project Eng
Working Exp: 1 1/2 yr

Ya i know both is different field  blush.gif
QUOTE(sching @ Dec 27 2011, 11:56 AM)
Lets say I am an ACCA member (3 years plus working exp). Currently working in Deloitte (1 year audit line and 2 years plus tax line). Planning to go into investment banking/corp finance. What will be the standard pay in Spore?
lurk around here, u can benchmark sweat.gif
http://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/
http://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/831-ho...-per-annum.html

SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 28 2011, 08:50 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Dec 28 2011, 08:56 AM)
Which luxury car has high resale values in Singapore?&nbsp; Also, do folks who purchase BMWs, Mercs or Audis care about resale values?&nbsp; Only the poorer ones or penny-pinchers like yourself would bother about such matters.
Have you read Millionaires book by thomas stanley?? If you have read it you know what I mean

Added on December 28, 2011, 9:01 pm@alaskanbunny

you told me you are pursuing PMP.

may I ask you:

From an accountant to Project manager/Business Development manager.

From a big company to a France start up company with a 20% pay rise.

is it good or not for the future?

It seems interesting since the job scope will different and of course the new challenge

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 28 2011, 09:03 PM
mercury8400
post Dec 28 2011, 11:06 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 28 2011, 08:50 PM)
Have you read Millionaires book by thomas stanley?? If you have read it you know what I mean

may I ask you:

It seems interesting since the job scope will different and of course the new challenge
France start up company???
You do know that Frace is having economic problems right???
And a start-up???? Statistically most start-ups fail in the first 5 years....let alone with the looming economic crisis and all

bellion
post Dec 28 2011, 11:13 PM

3,168 posts

No, I have not read the book and don't know what you mean.

If it's anything like your eat chap fan for 365 days a year philosophy, I certainly won't bother to read it.

Neither will BMW owners.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 28 2011, 11:21 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

may I ask you:
for me i would go for it... a good challenge

in singapore?
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Dec 28 2011, 11:06 PM)
France start up company???
You do know that Frace is having economic problems right???
And a start-up???? Statistically most start-ups fail in the first 5 years....let alone with the looming economic crisis and all
nah... my friend started Total's office in msia or was in indo last year and he's being paid fat fat pay... transfered to UK last month

not all industries suffer...
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 29 2011, 12:16 AM

1,569 posts

I realize the 3 highest country with the longest average age to live:

1.Japan
2.Singapore
3.Hongkong

2 of them have small population and land. If wanna live better working in stress life country such as Japan,Singapore, and Hongkong. More stress= long age!
seantang
post Dec 29 2011, 12:28 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 29 2011, 12:16 AM)
I realize the 3 highest country with the longest average age to live:

1.Japan
2.Singapore
3.Hongkong

2 of them have small population and land. If wanna live better working in stress life country such as Japan,Singapore, and Hongkong. More stress= long age!
No, wrong conclusion.

The stronger the currency against USD = long age!
Def
post Dec 29 2011, 12:39 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 27 2011, 12:48 AM)
It's only you I'm afraid. It's served me quite well. 90% of the jobs I'm interested in look for someone who's legally qualified to practice. That's about all there is to it. As for all your cut and paste... as long as the governing bodies and other professional bodies recognise CPA, that's irrelevant.

All the cut & paste comments that I posted represent the view of every employers whether MNCs, listed co, Big 4 and other big/small co. I can cut & paste more comments from others if you want to read more.
CPA (aus) is only recognised in Msia, Spore, China & HK.
In Spore and HK, employers will die laughing looking at your CPA Aus cert. For them hiring a CPA Aus makes no difference hiring a clown. In China, companies have started to disregard cpa aus and focus more on hiring accountants from other more superior bodies. In Msia, the Big 4 have started to revise their policy requiring Aust acc grad to sit for ICAA or MICPA (both ICAA and MICPA have signed MOU). Then what's the point of it being recognised in these 4 countries, it's treated like rubbish. Every employer knows that CPA Aus exam is inferior, kacang putih & low standard. No need to sit for exam, also can pass to become member. rclxm9.gif

Other forumers, my apologies...it's a bit sidetracked. notworthy.gif

Then comes to your challenge requesting me to trade Linkedin with you. You deliberately deleted your request on trading Linkedin & I am very surprised that you made a U turn,...you scared ah? First you suggested we trade Linkedin & I accepted your invitation and now you chickened out....aiyaa! why? You portray yourself as a high flyer in a high profile job in a MNC, giving the so called 'expert' advise to other forumers but when comes to real action, you got frightened and withdrew. What does it prove? is it that all your so called high profile image in this forum are all tipu?
Like what I said, we're both laughing stock (blame it on the cpa aus qualification that we have). Come on my partner in crime, lets's trade Linkedin and we can have a good laugh till this year end.

jasonkwk
post Dec 29 2011, 12:42 AM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 29 2011, 12:28 AM)
No, wrong conclusion.

currency is manipulated by the central bank, and HKD is pegged to USD. Japan Central Bank keep selling Yen to depreciate the currency.
oh wait.. where is the long age thing come into picture.

This post has been edited by jasonkwk: Dec 29 2011, 12:43 AM
r1v3r
post Dec 29 2011, 12:48 AM

1,305 posts

I am in SG SuZhou industry area for a short stay. Many things here look like SG except the air quality. Other than cheap local fashion item, many things here cost the same if not higher than SG dollar to dollar.

IMO, one have to ask for >4x salary to maintain same purchasing power when move from SG to SuZhou but you have to bear with the air quality here.

local simple meal 6~10 RMB, 500ml beer 5RMB.
Bus ride 2~3 RMB per ride
Taxi start from 10 RMB
KFC meal ~30RMB

Dollar to dollar, cost of living in SG is way lower than SuZhou unless you willing to use many fake item.

I have to hunt a couple of shops to buy ORIGINAL tonner box that contain ORIGINAL tonner at 5x the usual price for the fake version, not to mention the risk of buying fake tonner at the original price.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Dec 29 2011, 12:50 AM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 29 2011, 12:59 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Dec 29 2011, 12:48 AM)
I am in SG SuZhou industry area for a short stay. Many things here look like SG except the air quality. Other than cheap local fashion item, many things here cost the same if not higher than SG dollar to dollar.

IMO, one have to ask for >4x salary to maintain same purchasing power when move from SG to SuZhou but you have to bear with the air quality here.

local simple meal 6~10 RMB, 500ml beer 5RMB.
Bus ride 2~3 RMB per ride
Taxi start from 10 RMB
KFC meal ~30RMB

Dollar to dollar, cost of living in SG is way lower than SuZhou unless you willing to use many fake item.

I have to hunt a couple of shops to buy ORIGINAL tonner box that contain ORIGINAL tonner at 5x the usual price for the fake version, not to mention the risk of buying fake tonner at the original price.
How about Binjiang?

Added on December 29, 2011, 1:01 am
QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 29 2011, 12:28 AM)
No, wrong conclusion.

Kuwait is the strongest but their average living just 60 yrs old.

Added on December 29, 2011, 1:04 am
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 28 2011, 11:21 PM)
for me i would go for it... a good challenge

in singapore?

nah... my friend started Total's office in msia or was in indo last year and he's being paid fat fat pay... transfered to UK last month

not all industries suffer...
then next move, is it better to go with PMP or MBA? I'm currently doing my CIMA.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 29 2011, 01:04 AM
TSdeodorant
post Dec 29 2011, 01:11 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 29 2011, 12:59 AM)
then next move, is it better to go with PMP or MBA? I'm currently doing my CIMA.

PMP cert you need 2 years of project management experience.

[edit] it's not exactly 2 years, it's like 4000 hours or something that I can't remember and can't be bothered to look up, lol.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Dec 29 2011, 01:11 AM
ivanswk
post Dec 29 2011, 09:27 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 29 2011, 12:59 AM)
then next move, is it better to go with PMP or MBA?
whichever your company will sponsor

127 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:51 PM