127 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 26 2011, 12:34 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 25 2011, 11:30 PM)
Oh really? Since when do you know what I'm proud of and what I'm not?

Added on December 25, 2011, 11:33 pmIs that so?

A real measurement of your worth is not how good you think you are (or how bad you think others are) but how much someone wants to pay you.

So, let's cut to the chase. How much do you earn from your non-kacang putih qualifications? Lets trade Linkedin profiles. Based on that, we can immediately tell if you're the laughing stock or I am. I want to see if you laugh harder at me, or I laugh harder at you.

Added on December 25, 2011, 11:36 pmIf you have a strong resume, then apply online or respond to job advertisements - as higher profile or front office jobs tend to be advertised.

If your resume is not so strong, it's best if you engage a recruitment agent - most back office and lower profile accounting jobs are not advertised.

Added on December 25, 2011, 11:46 pmI tend to like someplace farther from the CBD, eg. AMK or Yio Chu Kang up north where the rent is cheaper. And there's really no need to pay a premium and stay near an MRT station. As long as you stay near a feeder bus bus-stop, you can get to the MRT station in 5-10 minutes (5-10 stops). Assuming a 15 minute train ride, you're in town within 30-45 minutes from the moment you step out the door.

My place is about 15-20 minutes walking from the MRT station, but there's a feeder bus bus-stop directly underneath my block. And with a smartphone app that shows next bus arrival time, there's minimal waiting time involved.

Added on December 25, 2011, 11:52 pmYour friends are right. The occasionally frequent "nice" meal will always happen.

Nobody possesses enough will power or underdeveloped taste buds to eat $5 economy meals 3 times a day, 7 days a week. Even if such people exist, they are not very fun to be around.
They are not fun but at least they can save more money for the future.. The true friend is the one who accept them who they are..even they are thrifty..if they are very sincere befriend with you, why not.
lostintransition
post Dec 26 2011, 12:40 AM

106 posts

Thanks for the reply. Honestly, my resume does not stand out – it is just an average type of resume.

Do I stand a better chance if;
- I use reputable recruitment agents such as Robert Walters, Michael Page etc...... in addition to the generic job search such as Jobstreet and JobsDB?

Well, I have about 5 years of experience…. About 2 years in auditing (Big 4) and 3 years in commercial…the commercial experience is mostly on transactional accounting and supporting management decision making on financial accounting and costing....

The role I am looking for should have a stronger management accounting component… things like costing, spending and CAPEX, budgeting & FPA, business partnering, pricing, assisting management with decision making,......things that concern about the running of a business....

Hopefully, I can enter a company which is deemed as industry leaders and they are willing to invest in their finance staff…..….

Hahaha… do you think I am too naïve to think something like that?…like, get a clue boy….~!

This post has been edited by lostintransition: Dec 26 2011, 09:03 AM
crazy25kid
post Dec 26 2011, 12:49 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(lostintransition @ Dec 26 2011, 12:40 AM)
Hahaha… do you think I am too naïve to think something like that?…like, get a clue boy….~!

I say go for it.
If you never try, you will never get it
But if you try, you still have a glimpse of hope.
cyc85
post Dec 26 2011, 10:46 AM

sob~sob~
1,202 posts

anybody got job to recommend for me?
customer service field....
pm me if you have any....
i got 2 years experiences....
seantang
post Dec 26 2011, 11:32 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 26 2011, 12:34 AM)
They are not fun but at least they can save more money for the future.. The true friend is the one who accept them who they are..even they are thrifty..if they are very sincere befriend with you, why not.
I don't know about you but the whole, entire reason I came to Singapore in the first place, was so that I don't have to be thrifty in order to save money for my future. By growing my income, I don't have to minimise my expenses to achieve my savings target.

Added on December 26, 2011, 11:41 am
QUOTE(lostintransition @ Dec 26 2011, 12:40 AM)
Thanks for the reply. Honestly, my resume does not stand out – it is just an average type of resume.

Do I stand a better chance if;
- I use reputable recruitment agents such as Robert Walters, Michael Page etc...... in addition to the generic job search such as Jobstreet and JobsDB?

Well, I have about 5 years of experience…. About 2 years in auditing (Big 4) and 3 years in commercial…the commercial experience is mostly on transactional accounting and supporting management decision making on financial accounting and costing....

The role I am looking for should have a stronger management accounting component… things like costing, spending and CAPEX, budgeting & FPA, business partnering, pricing, assisting management with decision making,......things that concern about the running of a business....

Hopefully, I can enter a company which is deemed as industry leaders and they are willing to invest in their finance staff…..….

OK, 2 years Big4... and if your commercial experience is with a reasonable brand name and your educational background is reasonable - I'd think your profile's okay... somewhere in the middle. If you want to get into the "industry leaders"... then I reckon it's a matter of getting your resume noticed vs the competition. This is the hard part.

I think you should work both sides... respond to ads as well as engage recruitment agencies. Another avenue is Linkedin... there are lots of Singaporean recruiters hanging out there and contacting people to make new connections. For ads, try www.efinancialcareers.sg as well. Very focused for finance (esp. banking) jobs.

This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 26 2011, 11:41 AM
toughnut
post Dec 26 2011, 12:20 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 26 2011, 11:32 AM)
I think you should work both sides... respond to ads as well as engage recruitment agencies. Another avenue is Linkedin... there are lots of Singaporean recruiters hanging out there and contacting people to make new connections. For ads, try www.efinancialcareers.sg as well. Very focused for finance (esp. banking) jobs.
I had to agreed with that. I got into one of the well established group because of the profile i listed in linkedin. Few headhunters approached me and I got the job I chose.

Problem is....... it's freaking stressful compared to all my previous jobs. Damn high expectation and lots of pressure. Just need to grow more balls and tough up.

Merry christmas and happy holiday to y'all
SUSkockroach
post Dec 26 2011, 02:59 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Dec 26 2011, 11:20 AM)
I had to agreed with that. I got into one of the well established group because of the profile i listed in linkedin. Few headhunters approached me and I got the job I chose.

Problem is....... it's freaking stressful compared to all my previous jobs. Damn high expectation and lots of pressure. Just need to grow more balls and tough up.

Merry christmas and happy holiday to y'all
Dude, you don't need to grow more balls and tough up, you are Toughnut ma.

btw I got my job from recommendation by friend met at KTV session. hehe
rexona
post Dec 26 2011, 03:19 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Dec 25 2011, 08:22 PM)
Do you find yourself getting sick of such foods, because from what I gather from other frens of mine, they all came down budgeting SGD500 per month on food, and after a while they just lose it and start spending like SGD900-1500 a month on foods (at fancier places).

You should know yourself and your taste buds. The thing is that generally Singapore hawker food (i.e. cheap) is inferior tasting to Malaysian hawker food. Some people not so particular about food then can tahan. Food at restaurants is great and has huge variety but isn't cheap. Example, some ramen places charge $20 per bowl.

For me, I normally eat cheap on weekdays and splurge a bit on weekends, I end up spending about $900/month on food & groceries (not including special occasion meals which will easily run you into triple digits per meal).

Mackiddo
post Dec 26 2011, 04:42 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(rexona @ Dec 26 2011, 03:19 PM)
You should know yourself and your taste buds. The thing is that generally Singapore hawker food (i.e. cheap) is inferior tasting to Malaysian hawker food. Some people not so particular about food then can tahan. Food at restaurants is great and has huge variety but isn't cheap. Example, some ramen places charge $20 per bowl.

For me, I normally eat cheap on weekdays and splurge a bit on weekends, I end up spending about $900/month on food &amp; groceries (not including special occasion meals which will easily run you into triple digits per meal).
i don't thing Sg food is inferior, just that your taste bud is so used to Msia food. Food at restaurant is not really expensive by Sg standard and if you really compare it with the standard of living, it's actually cheaper than Msia. For imported food like Japs food, Sg is way superior, I could never find a excellent Japs food in Msia.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 26 2011, 04:43 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 26 2011, 04:46 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(cyc85 @ Dec 26 2011, 10:46 AM)
anybody got job to recommend for me?
customer service field....
pm me if you have any....
i got 2 years experiences....
try apple... very high krass... got gym also in their office... very naiz

http://www.apple.com/
ngkl99
post Dec 26 2011, 05:51 PM

18 posts

I don't know about you but the whole, entire reason I came to Singapore in the first place, was so that I don't have to be thrifty in order to save money for my future. By growing my income, I don't have to minimise my expenses to achieve my savings target.

Added on December 26, 2011, 11:41 amOK, 2 years Big4... and if your commercial experience is with a reasonable brand name and your educational background is reasonable - I'd think your profile's okay... somewhere in the middle. If you want to get into the "industry leaders"... then I reckon it's a matter of getting your resume noticed vs the competition. This is the hard part.

in my opinion, financial accounting and mgmt accounting is a good subject, especially mgmt accounting.
I am taking Master Engineering mgmt, and the hardest subject for me is business accounting, because
by backgnd is engineering. U need to argue for each accounting cases, which are unique.
I don't need to know how to prepare financial statement, but how to use the info, and analyze the
potential and opportunity of certain investment.
I respect those working as auditor, in taxation or has lots of experience handling accounting issues,
BTW, I want to work in Sg, as soon as i grad, I had invested 10 yrs of my time in M'sia, not fruitful.
M'sia just sucks in my opinion.
I want to get my 1st house asap, I have this burning desire with me right now smile.gif
seantang
post Dec 26 2011, 06:30 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 26 2011, 04:46 PM)
try apple... very high krass... got gym also in their office... very naiz

http://www.apple.com/
SG office or Cupertino?
wu_shi_han
post Dec 26 2011, 07:07 PM

65 posts

Oh really? Since when do you know what I'm proud of and what I'm not?

Added on December 25, 2011, 11:33 pmIs that so?

A real measurement of your worth is not how good you think you are (or how bad you think others are) but how much someone wants to pay you.

So, let's cut to the chase. How much do you earn from your non-kacang putih qualifications? Lets trade Linkedin profiles. Based on that, we can immediately tell if you're the laughing stock or I am. I want to see if you laugh harder at me, or I laugh harder at you.

Added on December 25, 2011, 11:36 pmIf you have a strong resume, then apply online or respond to job advertisements - as higher profile or front office jobs tend to be advertised.

If your resume is not so strong, it's best if you engage a recruitment agent - most back office and lower profile accounting jobs are not advertised.

Added on December 25, 2011, 11:46 pmI tend to like someplace farther from the CBD, eg. AMK or Yio Chu Kang up north where the rent is cheaper. And there's really no need to pay a premium and stay near an MRT station. As long as you stay near a feeder bus bus-stop, you can get to the MRT station in 5-10 minutes (5-10 stops). Assuming a 15 minute train ride, you're in town within 30-45 minutes from the moment you step out the door.

My place is about 15-20 minutes walking from the MRT station, but there's a feeder bus bus-stop directly underneath my block. And with a smartphone app that shows next bus arrival time, there's minimal waiting time involved.

Added on December 25, 2011, 11:52 pmYour friends are right. The occasionally frequent "nice" meal will always happen.

Nobody possesses enough will power or underdeveloped taste buds to eat $5 economy meals 3 times a day, 7 days a week. Even if such people exist, they are not very fun to be around.
From your posts, all I can say is u r just good in talking but last in action. If u r so great n always think ur advices r so precise, then go out n setup ur consultancy firm so that u can start to con ppl
Mackiddo
post Dec 26 2011, 08:07 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 26 2011, 06:30 PM)
SG office or Cupertino?
he forgot .sg . Apple Singapore, heard the best place to work in Singapore rclxms.gif
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 26 2011, 08:19 PM

1,569 posts

Added on December 26, 2011, 11:41 amOK, 2 years Big4... and if your commercial experience is with a reasonable brand name and your educational background is reasonable - I'd think your profile's okay... somewhere in the middle. If you want to get into the "industry leaders"... then I reckon it's a matter of getting your resume noticed vs the competition. This is the hard part.

I think you should work both sides... respond to ads as well as engage recruitment agencies. Another avenue is Linkedin... there are lots of Singaporean recruiters hanging out there and contacting people to make new connections. For ads, try www.efinancialcareers.sg as well. Very                        focused for finance (esp. banking) jobs.

what salary should he expect? i think with his exp in my he has already got at least 8k ringgit
seantang
post Dec 26 2011, 08:41 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(wu_shi_han @ Dec 26 2011, 07:07 PM)
From your posts, all I can say is u r just good in talking but last in action. If u r so great n always think ur advices r so precise, then go out n setup ur consultancy firm so that u can start to con ppl

People ask, I answer if I feel like it. They want to listen, fine. They don't want to listen, also fine.

Why your butt so hurt?

In addition, what is this "last in action" bs? I'm just an online nick to you. By definition, you can have absolutely no idea what my actions are.

This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 26 2011, 08:43 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Dec 26 2011, 10:20 PM

1,569 posts

He is ACCA qualfied accountant. you said you don't want to hire ACCA qualifed, you prefer the CPA Australia.

I did a research about him. in March 2011, he said he is qualified ACCA, but in Aug 2011, he said he wanna take Nov'11 exam.

QUOTE(lostintransition @ Oct 12 2011, 11:57 PM)
Well.... truth be told....

I am an Australian graduate with B.Com (Acctg & Finance) but do not opt to do CPA Australia. Instead, I did the ACCA. Let me tell you this..... something from my experience....

ACCA is quite a tough nut to crack, especially P2 and P4 ~ which is widely recognised as one of the toughest papers amongst all the UK accounting professional bodies. It even topped the toughness threshold for ICAEW.

Having graduated from a 2nd tier university, i actually got hammered throughout the final 5 papers for ACCA, especially for Paper P2.

[2nd tier university is a better way of labeling those mickey mouse, money wasting, time wasting university which is more interested in making money, printing degrees than imparting quality education ----------example; .......for final year Advanced Financial Accounting paper..... there are 3 chapters on Accounting AND CULTURE.....Accounting AND Gender...... Accounting and Nationality / Politics .....and the syallabus scantly mention consolidation and deferred tax.......and mind you it is a final year Advanced Accounting Paper........Lesson to impart here ---------> Be careful when enrolling in Australian Universities.... some of them is just a front for selling PRs to HongKies .........some of the campuses is full of asean until you felt you are like in Asia instead of Australia.......and the lecturers actually speak English in a heavy asean dialect.......]
Back to the topic, doing ACCA it is worth all the sacrifice....... because for me, ACCA delivers a rock solid knowledge base that is extremely relevant to my work..... and i actually suffer during the first few years of my career due to graduating from a dumb ass university.......For this, I am proud for not choosing the easier path of doing CPA.

You can ask any CPA to do P2 and P4 and i bet they will find it extremely challenging......
This post has been edited by Materazzi: Dec 26 2011, 10:26 PM
Gengarbear
post Dec 26 2011, 10:39 PM

hey guys,
Malaysian here with diploma qualification in Physiotherapy and 2 years working experience and a special certificate for skill that a singaporean company requires me to work for them. so the problem is which employement visa should I best apply for ?
the employer told me that might gotta go for S-pass and somehow S-pass is better than EP but I check online EP has a higher salary range and no quota. my salary will be around3k-3.5k SGD so taiko here can give me some advice? if EP needs degree but SP don't need it.
1.so how long will it usually takes for the application process to go through until employement date?
2. will be be hard to get my employement visa to be approved based on my qualification?
3. is 3k-3.5k salary worth for me to quit a 5k job in malaysia?
4. is 3.5k consider high? I'm quitting medical health care field to join this swiss company to be their clinical application specialist for their advanced medical equipment product. so medical healthcare or medical product line has better career prospect in SG?
Def
post Dec 27 2011, 12:34 AM

139 posts

Is that so?

BOTH OF US are the laughing stock in the accounting profession because we have the same kacang putih qualification CPA (Aus) that has no market value. Think a bit lar, no need to sit for exam also can become member...exam is straight forward MCQ rclxm9.gif any retard fella also can pass.
Both of us can laugh hard at each other because CPA (Aus) is a well known laughing stock like a clown in the circus.
Yeap, we can trade Linkedin profile if that's your wish. Your Linkedin profile is under what name? I will put up mine under Def or my actual name. When you want it?

Here's a statement I found from elsewhere:-
My wife is a CA so I've seen the amount of work required to get it, and the ongoing work she has to do to keep it, and it's a big effort!! Well worth it though, if you want to earn the big dollars that's the ticket. CA will give you more of a direction into management and CFO type positions in future.

CPA much easier to get, and as a consequence less regarded in industry.

One of the confusing things you will notice with jobs advertised overseas, is the equivalant to a CA in the USA is actually called CPA over there. It IS NOT the same as the CPA here.

Another statement:-
firstly in australia there is the ICAA and the CPAA. NOTE that the CPA in australia is certified PRACTICING accountant and NOT the american certified PUBLIC accountant which is of a higher league. the programs in australia and quite different in that the CA program is much more demanding with compulsory workshops on which you are scored, presentations, assignments and a written final exam. all 5 modules are set with no electives. this contrast greatly to the CPAA program which has electives, multiple choice exams and no assessments or classes. i guess testament to the CA vs CPA is that the Big 4 firms are all CA firms NOT CPA firms. that in itself i think says a lot! also most ppl who FAIL the CA programs go on to the CPA program instead as it is less demanding. so i think the CA program training is great as you learn to think more about applying concepts whereas the CPA program is easy and very much showing you HOW to do something but not extend it beyond a given situation. i have found this to be the case when using a tax accountant (one was a CPA and the other a CA). many cpa are technically handicapped

When I used to recruit accountants with 3-5 years experience, one of the first things the agent asked was 'do you want a CA or would you be happy with either a CA or a CPA'. (Then again, they still ask me this question for more experienced accountants.)

On that basis, (and talking to the guys who did both CPA and CA, they said they would not hire a CPA...) doing a CA is likely to open more doors for you. I had an instance where I referred a candidate to another manager; he interviewed the guy on the basis that he was doing the CA program. So, I think there are more options when you are doing a CA program.

This is a fallacy created by CPA's. There is clear reasoning why employers choose CA's over CPA's.

What does the CPA give you when you complete the program??? What just a scrap cpa certificate...unwanted by many employers

Did you know that the CA gives you a Graduate Diploma.

Now think of yourself as an employer. You have interviews with two candidates. One has a Graduate Diploma in Accounting issued by a registered provided of Higher Education. The other candidate has a scrap cpa certificate saying he completed the accounting course. Which employee would you choose for your business.

lostintransition
post Dec 27 2011, 12:35 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 26 2011, 10:20 PM)
He is ACCA qualfied accountant. you said you don't want to hire ACCA qualifed, you prefer the CPA Australia.

I did a research about him. in March 2011, he said he is qualified ACCA, but in Aug 2011, he said he wanna take Nov'11 exam.
TO: Materazzi, vmad.gif

Whether a person do CPA or ACCA is a very personal choice. There is no right or wrong to it.

If you read my experience carefully (as you have so diligently quoted but have sorely miss the point), choosing ACCA is more of a personal struggle to fill up the gap in my accounting knowledge - left by an irresponsible university.

Also, it is prove to myself that I can triumph all odds by choosing a harder route. The story is never meant to MOCK or DEGRADE anyone (emphasis added) and above all, is never meant to be QUOTED! vmad.gif

My current boss is CPA and I respect him deeply for his technical abilities in costing. flex.gif

The exams can only go so far to make an accountant. It is the working experience, attitude and EQ that makes a successful accountant. icon_rolleyes.gif

Regarding when I qualify for ACCA, I am still waiting for my last paper – P2 – results to be announced during Feb 2012. Maybe I should amend the phrase…. part qualified accountant with last paper to go…..? So that it sounds better going down your throat? doh.gif

This post has been edited by lostintransition: Dec 27 2011, 12:44 AM

127 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:10 AM