Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

lostintransition
post Dec 25 2011, 07:36 PM

106 posts

Hi all forumers;
Just asking, how is the job market in Singapore for a qualified accountant working in commerce and industry? Currently, I am working in Penang as an accountant (nothing special or fancy – just a normal accounting job)...at one of the US MNCs in the electronics field…… and thought about relocating and getting a job in Singapore……

Quite flexible…… can do both financial and management accounting (costing, budgeting)….

Please tell me how the job opportunities are like? Thanks.

lostintransition
post Dec 26 2011, 12:40 AM

106 posts

Thanks for the reply. Honestly, my resume does not stand out – it is just an average type of resume.

Do I stand a better chance if;
- I use reputable recruitment agents such as Robert Walters, Michael Page etc...... in addition to the generic job search such as Jobstreet and JobsDB?

Well, I have about 5 years of experience…. About 2 years in auditing (Big 4) and 3 years in commercial…the commercial experience is mostly on transactional accounting and supporting management decision making on financial accounting and costing....

The role I am looking for should have a stronger management accounting component… things like costing, spending and CAPEX, budgeting & FPA, business partnering, pricing, assisting management with decision making,......things that concern about the running of a business....

Hopefully, I can enter a company which is deemed as industry leaders and they are willing to invest in their finance staff…..….

Hahaha… do you think I am too naïve to think something like that?…like, get a clue boy….~!

This post has been edited by lostintransition: Dec 26 2011, 09:03 AM
lostintransition
post Dec 27 2011, 12:35 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 26 2011, 10:20 PM)
He is ACCA qualfied accountant. you said you don't want to hire ACCA qualifed, you prefer the CPA Australia.

I did a research about him. in March 2011, he said he is qualified ACCA, but in Aug 2011, he said he wanna take Nov'11 exam.
TO: Materazzi, vmad.gif

Whether a person do CPA or ACCA is a very personal choice. There is no right or wrong to it.

If you read my experience carefully (as you have so diligently quoted but have sorely miss the point), choosing ACCA is more of a personal struggle to fill up the gap in my accounting knowledge - left by an irresponsible university.

Also, it is prove to myself that I can triumph all odds by choosing a harder route. The story is never meant to MOCK or DEGRADE anyone (emphasis added) and above all, is never meant to be QUOTED! vmad.gif

My current boss is CPA and I respect him deeply for his technical abilities in costing. flex.gif

The exams can only go so far to make an accountant. It is the working experience, attitude and EQ that makes a successful accountant. icon_rolleyes.gif

Regarding when I qualify for ACCA, I am still waiting for my last paper – P2 – results to be announced during Feb 2012. Maybe I should amend the phrase…. part qualified accountant with last paper to go…..? So that it sounds better going down your throat? doh.gif

This post has been edited by lostintransition: Dec 27 2011, 12:44 AM

0.0589sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:39 AM