124 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Liverpool 2 -1 Wolves : LS7 scored again

RedSiglap56
post Aug 28 2011, 01:46 PM

42 posts

The game has changed so much..like it or not, money does make a difference to a team's fortunes. I'm one of those who don't like it but I cannot argue that being able to buy players like Suarez, Downing, Adam, Henderson, Enrique and even Carroll has made a difference this season ... so far!

Nevertheless, having the money to spend is one thing, spending it is another and knowing how to spend (or invest) the money is critical.

Now KD has a large squad of above average to excellent players, with only 3 domestic tournaments to play in. It will be very interesting to see how he will use the squad.

Well, it doesn't look as if he is going to have 3 separate teams for each tournament, what with him starting Suarez even in the Carling cup. Indeed, it will be very interesting to see how he will juggle his team when Gerrard and Johnson are back, and if he acquires Coates and Bellamy as well ... wow!
aiyish
post Aug 28 2011, 01:47 PM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

IF this team can compete until the final game of the season, it will trumped the team of 2007/08 under Rafa. The first half was superb pass & move football. The way Adam control the midfield was reminiscence of Alonso. Im glad our two new boys are on the scoresheet and im really more happy with how the team play, everyone seems to be smiling biggrin.gif
hfi
post Aug 28 2011, 01:49 PM

598 posts

Just want to say that Lucas was sensational. Yesterday's performance was the best I've seen from him. He's usually already giving top performance but yesterday he was particularly brilliant. The combination of him and Adam was reminiscent of the time when we had Masc and Alonso bossing the midfield. His positioning and movement was world class. He didn't need to slide in, he just kinda did it the Lucas way. He anticipated Bolton's movement like reading it off a book. In the first half, he was breaking down play like a patriot missile intercepting scuds. Zeroing in and clearing danger before it could even happen. At times, the bolton playres had 1 sec max to play the ball before Lucas came and took it way from them. Utter brilliant performance.
daryl23
post Aug 28 2011, 02:11 PM

14 posts

a good performance as there was only one clear winner. the downside is of course the injury of kelly who seemed bright whenever he plays and the goal conceded, carra will be pissed of himself im sure. altho it was a good game, i still feel we should have killed off the game earlier with suarez guilty of missing the one-on-one and a num of decisions that look 50-50. some would've gone our way on another game. sad thing now is its international break !

p.s. i heard coates on spanish commentator as coa-tes. but english commentator as coats. so which ? lol
normeck
post Aug 28 2011, 02:51 PM

3,158 posts

at one time, im worry what happen when Lucas injured.. who will replace him? does our game will be the same?
SquaLL_JB
post Aug 28 2011, 03:03 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(hfi @ Aug 28 2011, 01:49 PM)
Just want to say that Lucas was sensational. Yesterday's performance was the best I've seen from him. He's usually already giving top performance but yesterday he was particularly brilliant. The combination of him and Adam was reminiscent of the time when we had Masc and Alonso bossing the midfield. His positioning and movement was world class. He didn't need to slide in, he just kinda did it the Lucas way. He anticipated Bolton's movement like reading it off a book. In the first half, he was breaking down play like a patriot missile intercepting scuds. Zeroing in and clearing danger before it could even happen. At times, the bolton playres had 1 sec max to play the ball before Lucas came and took it way from them. Utter brilliant performance.
Yups..totally agreed. Lucas is our unsung hero. Tackling in, delaying and stopping opposition play..Brilliant performance by him. And as normeck said, it will be worrying if Lucas got injured..we only have Spearing to act as backup..
ahmar
post Aug 28 2011, 03:12 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(mkaz @ Aug 28 2011, 11:49 AM)
regarding the backpass, actually from the replay u can see dat suarez did touch the ball b4 keeper touch it.. so not consider backpass la, iirc

Added on August 28, 2011, 11:50 amkuyt suarez bellamy combo infront shud be deadly fast infront tongue.gif
bro look at the replay over n over again.. you'll notice that bolton's keeper caught the ball before suarez's feet touched it.. check it out again YNWA! flex.gif
tiSSue_paPer
post Aug 28 2011, 03:15 PM

milo ais KAW..!
1,127 posts

14min highlight

listen to the pundit.. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
RyanHo
post Aug 28 2011, 03:30 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(daryl23 @ Aug 28 2011, 02:11 PM)
a good performance as there was only one clear winner. the downside is of course the injury of kelly who seemed bright whenever he plays and the goal conceded, carra will be pissed of himself im sure. altho it was a good game, i still feel we should have killed off the game earlier with suarez guilty of missing the one-on-one and a num of decisions that look 50-50. some would've gone our way on another game. sad thing now is its international break !

p.s. i heard coates on spanish commentator as coa-tes. but english commentator as coats. so which ? lol
english commentator said coa-tes.
darth6
post Aug 28 2011, 03:58 PM

146 posts

Pretty sure Suarez is aiming for the golden boot this season, he was overly pissed off yesterday for not scoring, even when we were 3-0 leading. Too bad, he had the chance in that 1-1 and his chip was a bit over the crossbar. On the bright side, he will make sure his name will be in the scoring sheet next match! drool.gif
TSsolstice818
post Aug 28 2011, 04:27 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Latest news has it that Bellamy prefer Spurs over us?
markblurberry
post Aug 28 2011, 05:47 PM

110 posts

Dont think so, unless money talk...Bellamy is a liverpool fan! AS a back-up player, I am fine, but still wish Ngog will stay and given more chance to develop, always thot that Ngog is just a few improvement away from becoming a threat to defense

I tot charlie adam is superb, i rate him higher than alonso...notice alonso is so-so with short passing in the final third of the pitch, but this charlie here is more composed, and the fact that he can dribble into space for a shot on goal, makes him more threatening than alonso...still adam need to show consistency to be confirmed as world class

J. Henderson...altho not gerard when he broke into liverpool squad...but feel that he can develop into a complete midfielder in the mould of gerard, remember that he finished with his left foot for the goal..

Downing, must live with the huge price tag...but so far, a vry potent attacking threat...certainly this year we have 2-3 more penetrative attackers than last year!! During Roy H, we treat J Cole as savior, meirelles was unknown at the time and wasnt much of a threat, altho he weight in with goals later part of the season...but now we easily have Downing, Adam, Henderson, gerard soon to be back...and also wing backs look great with enrique and gln johnson marauding the flanks,,,attacking wise, i personally think we are well equipped this season

Must agree with the commentator, if we can get Andy Carrol to blend into the system, liverpool would be unplayable..i am guessing that becos we play with interchangeable system, you can see Kuyt, in left, right and centre..suarez upfront, on the flank and dropping deep to collect the ball, c.adam working the flank ...just feel that the giant Carrol will take a bit of time to work his way into the system..hope that KD can get carrol sorted soonest, becos he is one hell of a centreforward..still remember we play newcastle against him, we have 2-3 players marking him but still he scored!!

LukeMjstc
post Aug 28 2011, 06:08 PM

50 posts

Just went for a look a MU thread and they're underestimating us...
Tat's a good sign~ whistling.gif whistling.gif
Duke Red
post Aug 28 2011, 06:09 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(daryl23 @ Aug 28 2011, 02:11 PM)
They still haven't agreed on how to pronounce Kuyt.

QUOTE(tiSSue_paPer @ Aug 28 2011, 03:15 PM)
14min highlight

listen to the pundit..  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Lee Dixon? He was very critical of Steinsson's positioning which isn't a surprise as he is part of the legendary Arsenal back four and played in the very same position Steinsson does, rightback. First thing that came to mind was a young Michael Owen bursting past Dixon after a long pass from Paddy Berger to slot in our winning goal against Arsenal back in the FA Cup final of 2001.

Not much more to be said of this morning's game. It was clear that there was only ever going to be one winner but by how many goals? Watched the game in Movida with Flix and Jonno in a semi drunk state and lost count of the number of chances we had until I watched the repeat this afternoon. If you ask me, there was contact both times Suarez went down in the box. Also, it WAS a back pass and Jaaskelainen did get to the ball first.

Hmm what else?

- Charlie Adam has "Arjen Robben Syndrome". He looks 10 years older than he actually is.

- Weird to see Skrtel so far up the pitch. Thing is we played like a well oiled machine and I reckon we could have played Poulsen at rightback and still won.

- Suarez has amazing ability and movement. Not enough superlatives in the English language to describe him really.

- Both Henderson and Adam opened their accounts with their weaker foot.

- When Klasnic got their consolation goal, a grand total of 0 teammates congratulated him.

Here is something I found utterly annoying though. Did anyone watch Maxis Football Extra? There's a prick of a scum hosting it and he keeps making snide remarks like "Oooh Liverpool fans, it's still early days and come end of the season we'll win it again". "Oooppss I just blinked and missed it like Carragher". Eh WTF is your problem? You are hosting a TV programme and are paid to be a host and not a fan. Show some professionalism please. When we lose, we get stick, when we win, we also get stick. Here's another fact I digged up from the latest edition of FourFourTwo. Man Utd have 100 songs involving players, and out of that 25 are aimed at opposition players, the highest amongst all clubs. Seems to me that they believe making others look bad makes them look even better. Is it some coincidence that the scum host on Maxis Football Extra behaves in the same way?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Aug 28 2011, 06:13 PM
digilife
post Aug 28 2011, 06:17 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(markblurberry @ Aug 28 2011, 05:47 PM)

Dont think so, unless money talk...Bellamy is a liverpool fan! AS a back-up player, I am fine, but still wish Ngog will stay and given more chance to develop, always thot that Ngog is just a few improvement away from becoming a threat to defense

I tot charlie adam is superb, i rate him higher than alonso...notice alonso is so-so with short passing in the final third of the pitch, but this charlie here is more composed, and the fact that he can dribble into space for a shot on goal, makes him more threatening than alonso...still adam need to show consistency to be confirmed as world class

J. Henderson...altho not gerard when he broke into liverpool squad...but feel that he can develop into a complete midfielder in the mould of gerard, remember that he finished with his left foot for the goal..

Downing, must live with the huge price tag...but so far, a vry potent attacking threat...certainly this year we have 2-3 more penetrative attackers than last year!! During Roy H, we treat J Cole as savior, meirelles was unknown at the time and wasnt much of a threat, altho he weight in with goals later part of the season...but now we easily have Downing, Adam, Henderson, gerard soon to be back...and also wing backs look great with enrique and gln johnson marauding the flanks,,,attacking wise, i personally think we are well equipped this season

Must agree with the commentator, if we can get Andy Carrol to blend into the system, liverpool would be unplayable..i am guessing that becos we play with interchangeable system, you can see Kuyt, in left, right and centre..suarez upfront, on the flank and dropping deep to collect the ball, c.adam working the flank ...just feel that the giant Carrol will take a bit of time to work his way into the system..hope that KD can get carrol sorted soonest, becos he is one hell of a centreforward..still remember we play newcastle against him, we have 2-3 players marking him but still he scored!!
++

The new signings are living up to their price tags thumbup.gif

lets hav Coates in our defence too and btw, Skrtel can play a good Wingback too (Left) thumbup.gif
Duke Red
post Aug 28 2011, 06:27 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(markblurberry @ Aug 28 2011, 05:47 PM)
I tot charlie adam is superb, i rate him higher than alonso...
That is high praise indeed. Alonso arrived at Anfield at around the same age. Let's forget that Alonso is a regular with Real Madrid and Spain for awhile. I still rate Alonso at 24 higher than Adam.
I think his passes are more consistent over the course of a game and he's a better defensive player than most people make him out to be. One season, he led the league in tackles made. You won't see him running across the park like Mascherano to make challenges. He's more like Didi Hamann an uses his positional sense to make up for it. Look at what a difference his departure made, amidst other reasons of course. We went from almost winning the league to struggling for a European spot.

I do hope that over time, Adam does fill those rather huge shoes left behind by Alonso but after just 3 Premiere League games, only a bold man would come to the conclusion that he can.
skyz
post Aug 28 2011, 07:07 PM

63 posts

i love adam's fast pace dipping low corners... skrtel's goal somehow proved the old saying "adam's set piece alone worth 10m" is true... and we got him less than that... hope the international break all the players come back in one piece... by the time we also welcome the comeback of our captain marvelous stevie G... a blessing in disguise for the injuries of kelly, gerrard and meireles is that they wont be included in the international games (dun know if there's any portugal game thou)...
HeavenNirvana
post Aug 28 2011, 07:31 PM

849 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Aug 28 2011, 01:47 PM)
IF this team can compete until the final game of the season, it will trumped the team of 2007/08 under Rafa. The first half was superb pass & move football. The way Adam control the midfield was reminiscence of Alonso. Im glad our two new boys are on the scoresheet and im really more happy with how the team play, everyone seems to be smiling biggrin.gif
Ya.. Yesterday seems to be a happy match for liverpool. Saw many liverpool player smiling. I wish the same feel good and excellent performance until the end of the season.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
carloz28
post Aug 28 2011, 07:48 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

I'm just glad that WOY is gone
REDShaun
post Aug 28 2011, 07:56 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Aug 28 2011, 06:09 PM)
Here is something I found utterly annoying though. Did anyone watch Maxis Football Extra? There's a prick of a scum hosting it and he keeps making snide remarks like  "Oooh Liverpool fans, it's still early days and come end of the season we'll win it again". "Oooppss I just blinked and missed it like Carragher". Eh WTF is your problem? You are hosting a TV programme and are paid to be a host and not a fan. Show some professionalism please. When we lose, we get stick, when we win, we also get stick. Here's another fact I digged up from the latest edition of FourFourTwo. Man Utd have 100 songs involving players, and out of that 25 are aimed at opposition players, the highest amongst all clubs. Seems to me that they believe making others look bad makes them look even better. Is it some coincidence that the scum host on Maxis Football Extra behaves in the same way?
Mate, you expected professionalism from a brownie point hunting scum? I don't blame him, he was borned jealous of LFC but I rather blame his producers because if they allowed this kinda of a scum remark, then they are to be held fully accountable. But then again that show is crap ever since Jamie Yeo left. Now they included some scum juice on a crap show means you can now definitely flush it down the sewer, where both of it belongs blush.gif

124 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:02 PM