243 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

jskf01
post Apr 16 2012, 10:24 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(plplpl @ Apr 16 2012, 12:08 PM)
I am in O&G industry now. So far my job is safe but I dont really like the new management. I just found a new job but it is pure luck because coincidentally I have the exact skills that they require.

I had tried searching for new job in the past and found it hard to even land an interview. Probably it is because I am not a PR. Same goes for my wife here. She sent many resumes but not even one single interview. Now only working as process worker in factory.

Sometimes I wonder the reasons it is so difficult to find a job in Aussie. Initially I assumed it was because of the PR status or because I live in small city like Adelaide so not much jobs available. However I talked to one of my colleague who lives in Melbourne, his wife's parents are Sri Lankan but she was born in New Zealand. She had a Law degree from NZ and also is a PR in Aussie. According to my colleague, his wife sent hundreds of resume but cant even get one interview. She ended up working as a retail assistant. Therefore, the only reason I can think of is because we are Asians.
I think 2-4 example of Asians not getting a job hardly qualifies as racism. You have got a job at the moment and a good one I assume so that is very good. You said you are both not PR yet you have a job so I think that is pretty good as its not easy to land a job here as PR is critical. And being in Adelaide you are even luckier as there is hardly any work boom in Adelaide. So considering your situation based on what you have mentioned, I think you are not doing too bad. I assume you two are currently on work visas? Any chance of applying for PR while you are in the country?
plplpl
post Apr 16 2012, 10:38 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(jskf01 @ Apr 16 2012, 10:24 AM)
I think 2-4 example of Asians not getting a job hardly qualifies as racism. You have got a job at the moment and a good one I assume so that is very good. You said you are both not PR yet you have a job so I think that is pretty good as its not easy to land a job here as PR is critical. And being in Adelaide you are even luckier as there is hardly any work boom in Adelaide. So considering your situation based on what you have mentioned, I think you are not doing too bad. I assume you two are currently on work visas? Any chance of applying for PR while you are in the country?
My first job in Australia was due to being transferred from Singapore. It's not that I got a job directly in Australia. So it is different. As I mentioned earlier, my 2nd job was luck and coincidental. My wife is only working in the factory and it's very tiring. You wont understand until you try applying for jobs in Australia yourself and then realised how hard it is.

I remember reading somewhere that a top Asian brain surgeon in Australia gave a speech during Australia day. Even he mentioned during the speech that racism still exists in Australia. You can try to google it.

Yes, I am on work visa and my wife is sponsored under the same visa. I am planning to apply for PR. Already got my IELTS and still waiting for the results of the skills assessment. Not very confident though.

Anyway even though I complained a lot. I will still choose to live in Aussie rather than Malaysia.
jskf01
post Apr 16 2012, 10:48 AM

79 posts

By the way I am currently working in Australia. In my 5th year of work now in construction. I feel bad for your wife it must be hard doing factory work. Yes I remember the Oz day speech you were referring to from Mr Teo. I am not saying there is no racism in Aust. I am just wondering if that is the case in the situations you have mentioned. Glad to know you have started the PR process. Skills assessment....why are you not confident...is your qualifications not suitable or something?
annielee
post Apr 18 2012, 11:37 AM

294 posts

i find it quite funny when u said if they found out that u r 35 they wont hire you...
as that is consider age discrimination..and u should know that union is very strong in Oz..
in my CV, i didnt put age or marital status..and they r not supposed to ask..coz it will be deem as discrimination..

i guess it depends on which field u r in..im in IT and im employed in an Oz company which have quite a lot of asian also...
im not saying no discrimination, they are definitely discrimination everywhere...as long as you are good at your work or skills, then u wont be hard getting a job, but need time lor.. as 1st job will be the hardest..

QUOTE(helikev @ Apr 16 2012, 03:10 AM)
i am aussie PR. qualified accountant. back in 2009. cannot find job. every day send application, from CFO position to a/c clerk position, also no proper interview. job agency will interview u, but it's like you just fill in the number for another guy to get the job.

but relative an engineer, got a good job. now proly aud 200k a year. only mining do well. if u over 35 yo. difficult. they dun wan to hire u thinking u will leave after they train u. stupid .

my fren work their in hotel. when he was 30 yo, he went over. had to start from bottom. hardest part, is report to younger & less experienced aussie. they all can talk until bird come down, but when u need doing. maybe 1 out of 10 can do only. he said aussie very rank conscious. once he got a small promotion, people start to see him as a person.

now my fren in perth. another hotel. supervise few aussie. like monkeys he said.

i dun know but i got feeling it's like bangla in msia. they do jobs we dun like to do. u go u become bangla..

my experience, u think they welcome u with open arms ? no.

Polite to u ? yes, if they are not drunk.

all this in perth. maybe melbourne / sydnet better.

but perth is mining town booming.

unless u dun mind work in factory or kitchen. at least get min pay , about aud36000 a year.

stupid, i got skilled migration, but go work for factory. all this for my kids education....? some will do.

maybe better for next generation. otherwise, just go over for easy life. not stress.
extremepower
post Apr 18 2012, 03:24 PM

545 posts

This is a good thing. In Singapore it is damn common for employers to ask. Bloody discriminatory. They ask religion also. That's why so many PMET in SG is suffering. Idiotic HR people. wink.gif

i find it quite funny when u said if they found out that u r 35 they wont hire you...
as that is consider age discrimination..and u should know that union is very strong in Oz..
in my CV, i didnt put age or marital status..and they r not supposed to ask..coz it will be deem as discrimination..
mercury8400
post Apr 18 2012, 05:39 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(annielee @ Apr 18 2012, 11:37 AM)
Even if they discriminate against you base on race or age, they are not going to tell you or anyone else that they did not hire you becuase of your age/race, right?

They are simply gonna tell you "we have found better candidates that more appropriately matches our job scope" or something along those lines. They are not stupid to discriminate against you in front of you and risk having a lawsuit, right? So how to sue?

Discrimination can take many forms and not necessary must be direct.
jskf01
post Apr 18 2012, 09:35 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 18 2012, 07:39 PM)
Even if they discriminate against you base on race or age, they are not going to tell you or anyone else that they did not hire you becuase of your age/race, right?

They are simply gonna tell you "we have found better candidates that more appropriately matches our job scope" or something along those lines. They are not stupid to discriminate against you in front of you and risk having a lawsuit, right? So how to sue?

Discrimination can take many forms and not necessary must be direct.
Yeah but the thing is they are not supposed to ask you discriminatory questions in the first place
mercury8400
post Apr 18 2012, 09:37 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(jskf01 @ Apr 18 2012, 09:35 PM)
Yeah but the thing is they are not supposed to ask you discriminatory questions in the first place
It is how it is.
Like how they ask you what's your last drawn salary so that they can either underpay you or tell you your pay is too high.
It's also another form of discrimination. It happens everywhere.
jskf01
post Apr 18 2012, 09:57 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 18 2012, 11:37 PM)
It is how it is.
Like how they ask you what's your last drawn salary so that they can either underpay you or tell you your pay is too high.
well you dont have to answer if you dont feel comfy doing so. salary wise you can always lie. you will encounter bad hats here and there but they won't be in the majority.
tgrrr
post Apr 18 2012, 10:02 PM

939 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 18 2012, 09:37 PM)
It is how it is.

That's not the same. If a topic e.g. race or gender orientation is considered discriminative, they can't even ask nor talk about it, e.g. you wouldn't see this in the job application forms.
mercury8400
post Apr 18 2012, 10:02 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(jskf01 @ Apr 18 2012, 09:57 PM)
well you dont have to answer if you dont feel comfy doing so. salary wise you can always lie. you will encounter bad hats here and there but they won't be in the majority.
Well, that depends on whether they need you or you need them more. If you need a job more than they need you, do you have a choice?
But if they need you more then you need them, then you can tell them to piss-off and pay you a huge salary. No problem. But judging by the economic and job prospect for most sector in Aus, i think they got more candidate than jobs around.

Added on April 18, 2012, 10:05 pm
QUOTE(tgrrr @ Apr 18 2012, 10:02 PM)
That's not the same. If a topic e.g. race or gender orientation is considered discriminative, they can't even ask nor talk about it, e.g. you wouldn't see this in the job application forms.
Dude, they don't have to ask specifically.
They just interview you and when they see you are not white or whatever within their criteria, you just don't hear from them. That's all.
It's the same everywhere including myself when i hire. I don't tell them you don't get the job becuase you are XXXX. I just interview them and when i find out they are XXX i just don't call them back. You can sue all you want but you got nothing.

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Apr 18 2012, 10:05 PM
jskf01
post Apr 18 2012, 10:23 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 19 2012, 12:02 AM)
Well, that depends on whether they need you or you need them more. If you need a job more than they need you, do you have a choice?
But if they need you more then you need them, then you can tell them to piss-off and pay you a huge salary. No problem. But judging by the economic and job prospect for most sector in Aus, i think they got more candidate than jobs around.

yup thats up to you as the interviewee on how you wanna go about it. if you wanna work in that type of environment then you dont have a choice.

Added on April 18, 2012, 10:05 pm
Dude, they don't have to ask specifically.
They just interview you and when they see you are not white or whatever within their criteria, you just don't hear from them. That's all.
It's the same everywhere including myself when i hire. I don't tell them you don't get the job becuase you are XXXX. I just interview them and when i find out they are XXX i just don't call them back. You can sue all you want but you got nothing.
Yup the employer will discriminate discretely in this case. No biggie here, just move on to the next prospective employer and take it from there.

segamatboy
post Apr 18 2012, 11:27 PM

637 posts

Oz is no different from Canada. You need local experience first. Your Malaysian qualification and work experience come to nought. Unfortunately in a booming economy job hopping is common.Most companies will assume employees will jump ship. Just like this young chap at my place of work. After nearly 1.5 years of training as a maintenance worker, he handed in his resignation yesterday morning. Why?? You guess it. He found another job(hint hint...better paying one) Also the company has a few low skill temporary foreign workers from Phillipines who have worked for 4 years. You think the company dare to 'sponsor' them for PR????
Once they get their papers they can leave anytime. Stupid??? i don't think so

Typical Malaysian or is it Asian mentality who think it is beneath then to report to younger and less qualify people.??? Let me tell you this story. Last year this Malaysian company.....based near Shah Alam or Klang bought manufracturing rights from the company I am with. Sent 2 engineers over to see how stuffs were make(for the oil industry) . Office sent them down to the shop to buddy up with some Vietnamese workers. The Viets were ex refugees(boat people during the 80's), had vietnamese high school education only.Upom arrival in Canada, they took ESL class and worked full time. No uni or college education. Had the feeling the 2 Malaysian enginners were some what indignant as they had to talk to non college nor uni workers Btw... company engineers hardly go down to the shop floor. The only time they go to the shop floor is when those Viet workers(they has the most experience) start making noise because the numbers do not add up(for new custom built products)

OZ like Canada wants skill immigrants. Unfortunately no local experience tough luck

QUOTE(helikev @ Apr 16 2012, 03:10 AM)
i am aussie PR. qualified accountant. back in 2009. cannot find job. every day send application, from CFO position to a/c clerk position, also no proper interview. job agency will interview u, but it's like you just fill in the number for another guy to get the job.

but relative an engineer, got a good job. now proly aud 200k a year. only mining do well. if u over 35 yo. difficult. they dun wan to hire u thinking u will leave after they train u. stupid .

my fren work their in hotel. when he was 30 yo, he went over. had to start from bottom. hardest part, is report to younger & less experienced aussie. they all can talk until bird come down, but when u need doing. maybe 1 out of 10 can do only. he said aussie very rank conscious. once he got a small promotion, people start to see him as a person.

but perth is mining town booming.

unless u dun mind work in factory or kitchen. at least get min pay , about aud36000 a year.

stupid, i got skilled migration, but go work for factory. all this for my kids education....? some will do.

maybe better for next generation. otherwise, just go over for easy life. not stress.
hihihehe
post Apr 19 2012, 06:34 AM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Apr 18 2012, 05:24 PM)
This is a good thing. In Singapore it is damn common for employers to ask. Bloody discriminatory. They ask religion also. That's why so many PMET in SG is suffering. Idiotic HR people. wink.gif

that is true.
you don need to put all of your personal details in the CV(like what every malaysian like to do).
name,address,email and mobile are sufficient in cv. but is best to include your residency status if you are PR holder.

employers now are smart enough that they will check your detail from social website
extremepower
post Apr 19 2012, 11:56 AM

545 posts

Not sure if Australia have something like this being enforced?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KlpEKTpAIM
mercury8400
post Apr 19 2012, 12:58 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 19 2012, 06:34 AM)
that is true.
you don need to put all of your personal details in the CV(like what every malaysian like to do).
name,address,email and mobile are sufficient in cv. but is best to include your residency status if you are PR holder.

employers now are smart enough that they will check your detail from social website
Yup that's very correct. So please don't post nonsense on yr social website especially with regards to your current/ex employer/boss. It will be career suicide. Nobody want's to hire someone who actively bad mouths their current/ex employer/boss!
jess08
post Apr 19 2012, 04:45 PM

40 posts

I personally think racist happens everywhere, even Singaporean look down on Malaysian. I have a question to ask regarding PR, is it easier to apply for PR if you have job sponsorship by AU company? Will it be as easy as getting PR in SG after working for 1 or 2 years in AU, and then you can apply for AU PR?

I might potentially get a job in AU, and need to start looking for accomodation. Company location is in Melbourne. Is anyone here looking for housemate?

annielee
post Apr 19 2012, 04:58 PM

294 posts

it all depends on your points..doesnt means u r spore PR, u will get priority..
for eg, u can b sponsored by oz company, but if ur points isnt enough, it wont help also..

again, read more n see wat options u have..

QUOTE(jess08 @ Apr 19 2012, 04:45 PM)
I personally think racist happens everywhere, even Singaporean look down on Malaysian. I have a question to ask regarding PR, is it easier to apply for PR if you have job sponsorship by AU company? Will it be as easy as getting PR in SG after working for 1 or 2 years in AU, and then you can apply for AU PR?

I might potentially get a job in AU, and need to start looking for accomodation. Company location is in Melbourne. Is anyone here looking for housemate?
This post has been edited by annielee: Apr 19 2012, 05:01 PM
tester
post Apr 19 2012, 05:04 PM

379 posts

I find it funny that some people think they somehow "deserve" to be hired, as if the employer in Australia has any obligation to hire them, and when that didn't happen, it must be their race that prevents them from getting the job.

To be honest, in a competitive environment, only those who are highly skilled deserve to be employed, and there are many skilled workers in Australia (which is why PR is usually given only to those skills in demand), not to mention that you are also competing with the locals, who have the advantage over you in that without a PR means you can't work for more than two years in the country.

bossnass15
post Apr 19 2012, 08:33 PM

Veni, Vidi, Vici
1,188 posts

QUOTE(tester @ Apr 19 2012, 05:04 PM)
I find it funny that some people think they somehow "deserve" to be hired, as if the employer in Australia has any obligation to hire them, and when that didn't happen, it must be their race that prevents them from getting the job.

To be honest, in a competitive environment, only those who are highly skilled deserve to be employed, and there are many skilled workers in Australia (which is why PR is usually given only to those skills in demand), not to mention that you are also competing with the locals, who have the advantage over you in that without a PR means you can't work for more than two years in the country.
I 2nd that. I think the race card is overplayed. I've been working a total of 9 months now on 2 different projects and it's always on the merit of your capability not on race or whatsoever. (in the SAP field) . It's all about delivering when it matters.

QUOTE(tester @ Apr 19 2012, 05:04 PM)
without a PR means you can't work for more than two years in the country.
My 457 visa is valid for 4 years..but usually employers sponsor your PR after 2 years. ( Mine is a year, but of course, it varies from company to company)

243 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:50 AM