Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

extremepower
post Jan 17 2012, 02:39 PM

545 posts

Mate,

I studied in Australia mate. Gday mate. A champion there also mate. Banyak mate mate. lol.

The good thing about australia from 'my' perspective is the 4 seasons. Fresh veges and fruits, cheaper cars. Aussie dollar is powderful. Nice b1t.ches... err beaches. Everything is big... cost also big la... rclxms.gif

But taxes are high, safety is a potential issue compared to sg. Same with KL and JB I guess. U are a 2nd class citizen if you don't mix well. Everwhere is so damn far away mate... lol. cry.gif

Anyway, everywhere is similar in western world. If you are in IT, doctor or some niche fields, maybe you are lucky. Else, have to sapu lantai and work your way up. Connection is also important. Many malaysians play badminton, so, if you play badminton, you can easily mix with some of the malaysians there. I know lots of malaysian kakis there playing badminton.

Life is a journey. If you can adapt, enjoy. If not, just pack and come back. In SG, you should be able to survive easily. Initially I don't like SG attitudes, eventually you will become one of them. lol. Take it easy la...

I have friends who are Malaysian Aussies coming to work in Singapore. Like wise, I have friends who went to Australia to work. 2 times already. Now, working for BHP. Nothing is perfect for sure. It's up to you as to whether you enjoy the life there. Having friends who can click is important.

I did when I was studying there and playing badminton tournaments everywhere. But I chose SG coz its nearer to home and I can eat manyak manyak, huntam badminton with them kuat kuat and suka suka, I can slap some friends face. Apa cam? lol. wink.gif Relex la.. enjoy life is a journey. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by extremepower: Jan 17 2012, 02:47 PM
extremepower
post Jan 17 2012, 03:55 PM

545 posts

Again, no country is perfect for everyone. As we speak, people move in and out of each country. If you been to ellis island in New York, you can see the globe with lights in and out of USA. rclxub.gif

Everyone has different tastes. Fair dinkum. What do you reckon mate? Initially I hated this fair dinkum, reckon lah, cricket lah, rubgy league lah, ironman lah.. then later, I got addicted. They got their indiana jones there bradder. In Malaysia, what do we have? Jibby? lol. drool.gif

Not many malaysians have the 'opportunity' to travel or work here and there tho. If you got the chance, considered you are a lucky person for being able to experienced it. You see different types of discrimination as a foreigner and 2nd class citizen. wink.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by extremepower: Jan 17 2012, 03:57 PM
extremepower
post Jan 18 2012, 11:07 AM

545 posts

My advice is if you can go, just go and try it out. Since you are young, there is nothing to loose. I got friends who are Malaysians and has been there for 20-30 years already with kids.

Nothing to loose. If it is a good life like those who enjoyed it, jackpot.

If, not, just pack your bags and balik kampung.

Again, if you feel lonely as a Malaysian there. Just goto some badminton halls like UNSW in Sydney or Monash in Melbourne on saturday afternoon. You will definitely see some Malaysians there to mingle with. wink.gif Hope this helps mate. wink.gif Am sure there are other halls. These 2 halls are places which I have been to.

The experience is worth it. wink.gif Pain is temporary. wink.gif
extremepower
post Jan 18 2012, 11:33 AM

545 posts

Tigerr,
U come to sg la. I piak piak u till u shiok ah.. lol.
I will be in Kuching in cny and Taiping on 25th. I can train you there.

Any taipingkakis here?
see taipingkakis.blogspot.com
Go visit this place lah. Orang Malaysia still not supporting your own great town.

For those in Australia and need coaching. Look for Dr. Ignatius Gan. He is a veteran. Senior to Datuk Punch Gunalan. Now retiring and playing badminton in Wollongong Uni. wink.gif He can also help you to settle into Australia. If you got cancer or blood problem, go and see him. wink.gif
extremepower
post Jan 18 2012, 11:43 AM

545 posts

Oh, tns, didn't know you cilaka stays in Sg. Am coaching in Yishun lah. The YTSS hall is rubberised. You can see the flooring and shuttles waiting for you thro my avatar. wink.gif You FB me already? 'ex pow'.

Other places in Australia is Sydney Uni. Not sure if they fixed the old hall. Melbourne uni also can play. Normally they have tournaments in Liverpool, Sydney and MSAC in Melbourne.
extremepower
post Jan 18 2012, 11:51 AM

545 posts

If you are an aussie graduate, it should be easier with the point system. Extra points. Kelong one.. lol.

For those had trouble going to Australia, get a SPR or Citizenship from Singapore. Then it should make it easier for you. I know of many Indians using singapore and a bouncing ground to USA and Australia. wink.gif
extremepower
post Jan 18 2012, 01:55 PM

545 posts

Like I mentioned earlier. I also have friends working in BHP. Many of you shd know this company. It literally runs most of Australian cities like Wgong.

For Brisbane, can try UTQ or UQ lor.. or QBA.

Gold coast can try at Bond Uni or GC Baddy club.

Just a little joke. If you are in Australia and see someone wearing Yonex attires and Banana shoes (yellow). This guy sure malaysian one. Test him if he also talk like lcw.. lol wink.gif
extremepower
post Jan 19 2012, 02:34 PM

545 posts

that avatar bug thingy is bloody annoying mate. I felt like smaking it on my screen. lol.

the doin it from behind is sexy man.. lol. wink.gif
extremepower
post Jan 19 2012, 06:03 PM

545 posts

Eh, dun simply use gua punya nama lah... mahal tau ka?? lol. wink.gif

suka.. suka... use my name... wink.gif Tengok pun benci. Tapi rindu la.. lol. wink.gif
extremepower
post Jan 20 2012, 01:55 PM

545 posts

bros bros bros... pls dun use average lah.. its misleading and open to any definitions. Not everyone have the same level of thoughts.

In the end, explore it. If you happy, stay, if not, just balik kampung and play guli with friends. Keep Is Simple Stupid. lol. Blame it on Citibank CIO. wink.gif

extremepower
post Jan 20 2012, 02:26 PM

545 posts

Bro,

Data is not good enuf la... u think jibby lacks data? he can give you all the data you want. lmao... wink.gif
extremepower
post Jan 20 2012, 03:27 PM

545 posts

IMO, not only pay 300K is only the reason. I think 300K is very good already.

Some may want to migrate because of discriminations, job satisfaction, friends, family, security, future for their kids, environment like air quality, food quality, etc.
extremepower
post Jan 20 2012, 03:42 PM

545 posts

Aussies bloody smart mate... fair dinkum... lol. wink.gif

On Malaysia side. Ada lui manyak lui.. take and cabut la... dia orang mati dia punya pasai... Just like the jipun people. Karma. wink.gif
extremepower
post Feb 3 2012, 09:40 PM

545 posts

Sad case for the narrow mindedness or policy in Malaysia. Money also don't want, they prefer radio active money. Smart choice. wink.gif
extremepower
post Feb 9 2012, 12:05 PM

545 posts

Bro,
Majority Malaysians play badminton. Come singapore learn some baddy and go back there to whack them mate. rclxm9.gif

Normally UQ or UTQ should have malaysians playing badminton to mingle around with. Do ironman la... lol rclxms.gif

QUOTE(naleh33 @ Feb 9 2012, 09:46 AM)
Window shopping in wollies or coles??!!! What is there to window shop hehe  smile.gif  Groceries??!! hmm.gif
extremepower
post Mar 10 2012, 10:01 AM

545 posts

Anyone tried the skill migration application? They charge 2690aud. Is it true? Thanks. wink.gif
extremepower
post Mar 10 2012, 03:31 PM

545 posts

Cut throat fee mate. Crazy. wink.gif

Damn, I should have applied earlier during my uni days in the 90s.

Any other ways? Suggestions? TA.
extremepower
post Apr 18 2012, 03:24 PM

545 posts

This is a good thing. In Singapore it is damn common for employers to ask. Bloody discriminatory. They ask religion also. That's why so many PMET in SG is suffering. Idiotic HR people. wink.gif

i find it quite funny when u said if they found out that u r 35 they wont hire you...
as that is consider age discrimination..and u should know that union is very strong in Oz..
in my CV, i didnt put age or marital status..and they r not supposed to ask..coz it will be deem as discrimination..
extremepower
post Apr 19 2012, 11:56 AM

545 posts

Not sure if Australia have something like this being enforced?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KlpEKTpAIM
extremepower
post Sep 13 2012, 07:33 PM

545 posts

be a student mate. wink.gif

Written by Lim Guan Eng

According to recent news reports, foreign students in Australia will soon be eligible for work visas lasting two to four years after graduation from an Australian university under immigration rules to be introduced next year.
Australian Immigration Minister Chris Bowen was reported to have said that the expansion of the Skilled Graduate visa scheme would “help to enhance the competitiveness” of Australia's A$18bil (RM57.5bil) inbound student industry.
This would potentially allow all 220,000 foreign university students in Australia to work in any job once they graduate.

Final nail in coffin
This new Australian work visa policy for graduates is almost set to be the final nail in the coffin for Malaysia’s 4Ds of Deficits, Debts, Deceits and brain Drain.
There are an estimated 20,000 – 30,000 Malaysian students in Australia, and when this new policy is implemented next year, our country can almost be assured of an exodus of talent as they will definitely stay on to work in Australia where they can enjoy greater salaries, greater freedom and greater prospects in both life and career.
Why is it that the Australian government is able to be so proactive and quick to grab opportunities while our own government is so lackadaisical and merely standing by as droves and droves of Malaysian talent continue to leak out of the country?

0.0257sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:39 PM