QUOTE(KVReninem @ Dec 5 2013, 02:35 AM)
I'm a quantity surveyor. Working in construction industry. Plenty of job in this sector.Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.
Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.
Dec 5 2013, 11:28 AM
1,066 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
Dec 5 2013, 02:37 PM
13,795 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: stress & confuse world |
Dec 5 2013, 03:30 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 5 2013, 04:14 PM
Dec 6 2013, 10:23 PM
172 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Dec 6 2013, 11:27 PM
106 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Hi, I am also curious to find out how is the job prospect in Australia like for building services engineer.
Dec 7 2013, 12:27 AM
107 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Question: For the people here who applied for a 189 visa (skilled independent), did anyone include a dependent parent?
If so, how did you go about it? I'm reading through the website and using google, but some first-hand accounts would be good |
Dec 7 2013, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(xsaintx @ Dec 6 2013, 10:23 PM) Architecture consider not bad. I suggest you can work as freelance in drafting drawing for council approval ex. house design.Many architect dun wanna work in the firm and work as freelance here for time freedom. Each council drawing approval cost $1.5-2k. Just like 5-8 piece drawing only, if 10 house u design for 10 client, not bad for a freelance earner. Now, they're really high demand in this area. If you wish to come, suggest you apply for PR since architecture profession still in SOL list. Apply thru sub-class 189 or 190 |
Dec 7 2013, 08:59 PM
Dec 8 2013, 07:45 AM
73 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Don't know if any of you here are following the forum I posted a link to a while back.
But here is a thread that might be somewhat relevant http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=2192167 This post has been edited by maxmillion: Dec 8 2013, 07:45 AM |
Dec 8 2013, 09:12 AM
256 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Dec 7 2013, 08:58 PM) Architecture consider not bad. I suggest you can work as freelance in drafting drawing for council approval ex. house design. You sure? There are really lack of originality in most of the houses here. They are mostly project houses with standard design which doesn't need architectural design. From what I heard, architecture is low paying and struggling, that is probably why they goes for freelance as they can't secure a permanent job. My view is from an outsiders view though.Many architect dun wanna work in the firm and work as freelance here for time freedom. Each council drawing approval cost $1.5-2k. Just like 5-8 piece drawing only, if 10 house u design for 10 client, not bad for a freelance earner. Now, they're really high demand in this area. If you wish to come, suggest you apply for PR since architecture profession still in SOL list. Apply thru sub-class 189 or 190 |
Dec 8 2013, 01:39 PM
127 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(maxmillion @ Dec 8 2013, 07:45 AM) Don't know if any of you here are following the forum I posted a link to a while back. Thanks Max.But here is a thread that might be somewhat relevant http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=2192167 |
Dec 8 2013, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(divine061 @ Dec 8 2013, 09:12 AM) You sure? There are really lack of originality in most of the houses here. They are mostly project houses with standard design which doesn't need architectural design. From what I heard, architecture is low paying and struggling, that is probably why they goes for freelance as they can't secure a permanent job. My view is from an outsiders view though. Most of my friends in Melbourne are Architects and I have to agree that the pay is very low compare to other professional jobs but it also depends which company you working with. They mostly deal with high rise building and apartments and not really into landed house. |
Dec 8 2013, 09:02 PM
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory |
Going bek to KL soon. Who wan meet up?
Dec 9 2013, 04:32 AM
1,021 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Dec 8 2013, 05:00 PM) Most of my friends in Melbourne are Architects and I have to agree that the pay is very low compare to other professional jobs but it also depends which company you working with. They mostly deal with high rise building and apartments and not really into landed house. When you say is very low compared to other professionals, do you have a range like X years earning Y amount per annual? Property sector is booming in Oz, I reckon they will be earning quite well as they rides through the boom. |
Dec 9 2013, 06:55 AM
256 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Dec 8 2013, 05:00 PM) Most of my friends in Melbourne are Architects and I have to agree that the pay is very low compare to other professional jobs but it also depends which company you working with. They mostly deal with high rise building and apartments and not really into landed house. Yes, high rise building, which means they are employed and associated with larger companies. My previous reply was towards the lack of chances here in Australia if you wants to go freelancing, which I believe your argument supported too. And naleh33, as I did mentioned, property booming and architectural work are totally different. Properties that change hand are second / third hand properties. Even if they buy it to knock down and rebuild, most people goes for project homes with standard design which does not require an architect. Even with customization, they are minimal that just require a draft man. The pay is probably average/on-par compared to other professionals here locally, but low in the sense that, I would think in Malaysia, architect commands a higher then average salary locally. That being said, if you manage to find a job, it is still all good. |
Dec 9 2013, 08:15 AM
637 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Read the papers..... Look at the warning signs....US natural gas prices, West Texas oil prices vs international oil prices, Obama tax credits and pressure, BBC article in Feb etc. It is your right to remain ignorant
p/s...ask maxmillion if he knows anything about Alix Partners report QUOTE(robertchoo @ Dec 5 2013, 09:51 AM) Wahahahaha. That is the biggest nonsensical joke i've ever heard in my life. Hahaha. US to achieve cost parity with china... hahaha. Yr a real joker. You made my day man. This post has been edited by segamatboy: Dec 9 2013, 08:30 AM |
Dec 9 2013, 08:21 AM
637 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Wood frame houses are pretty forgiving. Screw up...no big deal. Just dismantle it and redo it. Unlike Malaysia's concrete with reinforce steel bars , brick and cement houses.
QUOTE(divine061 @ Dec 9 2013, 06:55 AM) And naleh33, as I did mentioned, property booming and architectural work are totally different. Properties that change hand are second / third hand properties. Even if they buy it to knock down and rebuild, most people goes for project homes with standard design which does not require an architect. Even with customization, they are minimal that just require a draft man. |
Dec 9 2013, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(divine061 @ Dec 8 2013, 09:12 AM) You sure? There are really lack of originality in most of the houses here. They are mostly project houses with standard design which doesn't need architectural design. From what I heard, architecture is low paying and struggling, that is probably why they goes for freelance as they can't secure a permanent job. My view is from an outsiders view though. You're right. Architect here doesn't earn much coz they're living in a damn kampung place and dun wanna go for big city! Draughtmen here earning better than architect.I saw architect like chiplak here, always bullied by supervisor. Some can't stand the pressure, so work freelance lor. Those house design you're saying are those big company using copy and paste design to sell and build. very dull design but better than KL which majority house are uniform. What i'm saying here is the private client who wish to build their own house at their own land. These ppl dun like the unifrom design out there. You get wat i mean? |
Dec 9 2013, 09:52 AM
927 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
earning aud$4.5k
60k a year rent, 1k/month car = 4.5k cash all other stuff cheap.. in proportion to what u make.. |
| Change to: | 0.0289sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:16 PM |