Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

naleh33
post Nov 27 2011, 07:53 PM

1,021 posts

Hey guys, chill chill biggrin.gif

This is a place for sharing and not character assassination battlefield. I graduated from Aust UNI and now is working in Australia as well. IMHO, racism is happening everywhere. I believe this is human nature. You will tend to side your own race and try to benefit your own 'people' first than the others.

I agree to a certain extend with Mercury that the 'whites' are racist. BUT NOT everyone. No doubt about it, they are humans as well. But, on the other hand, they are the one who are friendly, polite and treat others with respects. It is very obvious and you can see it through daily conversation. I do not condemn them because of their racism. Look at our own mother country, Malaysia. Chinese is one of the race fighting for Malaysia's independence, but till today some minister is still saying 'Chinese' are foreigners/pendatang asing. That is really an insult and much worse compared to the racism happened in Australia. vmad.gif

Mercury, just because you overheard some/minority whites' conversation, you basically generalized the entire situation saying the whites are racist. That is not fair. I am working in IT telco industry here. I can tell you that the senior management level in this industry in fact consists more of Indians than the whites. Although the top management (the C levels) is still dominated by whites. As I said, it is understandable, you want your own people to hold all the important positions.
naleh33
post Nov 27 2011, 08:21 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 27 2011, 08:15 PM)
+1

I working in IT industry as well and I'm the only chinese in the department where most of them are Indians, whites and vietnamese. They are all friendly and helpful but when dealing with customers who mostly white, you can hear their arrogance voice and they can't hold their temper properly.

In term of securing job, it's quite common sense that Asian need to put more efforts to secure job interview compare to whites. Most of the whites are local and would you hire Asians that not local/PR when you looking for people? Would you hire Asians that most of their native language is not English?

You want a job in Australia, you should know you will get less advantage compare to locals and learn to suck it up. Can't hold any longer? go back to where you came from. You own a company, hire Asians only and throw all white's resume to the bin.

+2 well said.

Yes, I totally agree with you. The whites are more straightforward and blunt in their conversation, but the thing is that they do not take those words personally. Whites who are capable are arrogant, no doubt. I worked with a few of them. As you said, suck it up and also be positive. Learn a few tricks/knowledge from them as well and it will definitely benefit you. thumbup.gif
naleh33
post Dec 31 2011, 07:46 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(henryhing @ Dec 20 2011, 04:15 PM)
Hi Xander, Im not sure what is a decent house as its very subjective, but would u consider a 4 bed room + 1 games room bungalow(single storey) on a 370square metre land a decent house?? If yes then I can sell u my house in perth( success WA 6164) to u for Aud 650K anytime. Its not very far from perth city..Good hous no, facing field, supermarket, station etc is all nearby
If you are talking about Sydney, then 650K, you can get a 2 bed room apartments with 2 bathrooms in areas like Ashfield, Strathfield, 10-20KM away from Sydney CBD. if you are lucky, probably a 3 bedrooms apartments. The house price in Sydney is very high.
naleh33
post Feb 7 2012, 05:29 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 3 2012, 10:10 PM)
Just get him to convert to Muslim, speak a bit of BM, and tell everyone how he is 'practicing' Malay customs. Not only will he get PR, he will get citizenship, 15% off when buying residential property and a bank loan to buy ASN/ASB based on the collateral of those bonds themselves and the instalment is equal only to the dividend paid by those bonds.... ie. free windfall paid by the other bank customers not entitled for those sweeeet loans.
Being 'muslim' does not give him the bumiputera rights, he will be just a normal citizen. Sometimes, I do not understand how the government thinks. They should be happy that foreigners/expatriates are keen to become the Malaysia PR because they are the higher income group.
naleh33
post Feb 7 2012, 08:30 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(powercolor @ Feb 7 2012, 07:53 PM)
just have one question, is it worth it to left my job in aussie to go back to malaysia ???

im so bored working here, whenever i go back to msia for holiday, i felt like not coming back at all ... yeah the currency is high , but whats the point of having a lot of money when u're not happy ?

+ im at the peak years of my life, and im doing nothing but going to work come back home, sitting in front of pc, surfing doing nothing ... at least in msia people can enjoy mamak during the night, weekend can go jalan2, yeah the money in malaysia not that high, but at least u can enjoy ur life ..

so my question is, is it worth it to leave becoz i know many people would like the opportunity to work in aussie, but i already have it, and now wanna leave, really need your help  ...  (also wanna leave becoz of a gal  wub.gif )

anyway, is there any brissy here wanna hang out, im so bored out of my mind, been staying here since last may, dont know any malaysians at all .... lets lepak2 after work this week ....
I shared the same sentiment as you. I am also currently working in aust but misses the life in Malaysia. The life in aust is really boring. No place to lepak2 after work. I am not a beer drinker at all.

We cannot have the best of both world. If you really cannot take it anymore, just go back to Msia to find your destined 'gal' smile.gif You still always can earn well in Malaysia.
naleh33
post Feb 8 2012, 05:26 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 7 2012, 09:41 PM)
It does. The 3 things I posted is the legal definition of a Malay, which is also by legal definition a bumi. How do you think mamaks rob the country?
That's interesting. I have a couple of friends who are not given bumiputera'ship even though one of the parent is bumiputera. That's why I do not think by just converting to Muslim, practicing 'Malay' custom will get him bumiputera.
naleh33
post Feb 9 2012, 09:46 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Feb 7 2012, 11:24 PM)
You can still go window shopping in wollies or coles?
I think they open until midnight like 10-12. The one at sydney pitt street does. or chinatown...those restaurant close late...
I use to hang around there and people watch...
Window shopping in wollies or coles??!!! What is there to window shop hehe smile.gif Groceries??!! hmm.gif
naleh33
post Apr 15 2012, 10:11 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 15 2012, 09:38 AM)
Nah....i see chemical engineer there BUT was told by many that this profession is not in demand et al.
My friend's son with 1st class hons chem eng could not get a job after 6 months.
Whereas civil engrs are in demand.
Its not for me......just surveying for future for kiddos.
Even the job is listed in the demand list skill, it does not mean that you are able to get a job easily in Oz. Their hiring process is very much different from Malaysia. They paid very detailed attention your experience and always preferred with local experience. So landing the first job is always the toughest.

If it is for your kiddos, you can always send them here to study and apply for PR and eventually get a job. That is the easier path.
naleh33
post Apr 15 2012, 04:25 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 15 2012, 02:58 PM)
How do you apply for PR first without job?
Are you eligible for PR application without a job?

Added on April 15, 2012, 3:00 pm
So maybe its beetter to work in Bolehland first and then  apply for job in Oz?
You still can lodge the PR application offshore, provided you have enough points eg. age bracket, skill and etc warrants you different points, even you do not have a job. The PR application may take from months or years to be approved. Apart from that, you can also get those visiting while working visa. Try to visit the migration website, they provide very comprehensive information on the visas that they offer.

The easiest way to work in Oz is to get your company to sponsor you if you company has an office in Oz. Every year, the government will revise the migration regulations. Of course, candidates with working experience will be preferred but if you think that getting a job in Oz is easy, even you have a PR, then you will be disappointed.
naleh33
post Apr 20 2012, 12:25 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(jess08 @ Apr 19 2012, 04:45 PM)
I personally think racist happens everywhere, even Singaporean look down on Malaysian. I have a question to ask regarding PR, is it easier to apply for PR if you have job sponsorship by AU company? Will it be as easy as getting PR in SG after working for 1 or 2 years in AU, and then you can apply for AU PR?

I might potentially get a job in AU, and need to start looking for accomodation. Company location is in Melbourne. Is anyone here looking for housemate?
It does not matter whether you are a SG, UK PR or whatever, Oz is quite consistent in PR application. Everyone has to go through the same process. You will be awarded PR if your point is sufficient.

Hopefully you get your job. It is not easy to land a job in Oz if that is your first one, what's more you are applying offshore. If the company hires you, you can try to negotiate with the company to sponsor you the PR. Company sponsored PR will give you more edge over others in getting PR.
naleh33
post May 20 2012, 07:02 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(Def @ May 20 2012, 04:22 PM)
sorry to hear that you indirectly admitted that you lost your virginity before marriage. Wish both of you & bf all the best.
Hey dude!! That is a personal attack. Are you her dad? Tell that to your sons or daughters.
naleh33
post May 22 2012, 04:48 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ May 20 2012, 09:25 PM)
Hello,

I might be able to secure a job to Australia thanks to my tutor in uni.

Was wondering, how does the employee sponsored VISA works? Is it hard to get even if the company in Australia wants to hire me?
If the company in Australia wants to hire you, you can get your employer sponsored visa (457) within 3-4 months which can last you for 4 years before it expires.
naleh33
post Jun 14 2012, 01:27 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(Job2Go @ May 30 2012, 11:05 AM)
lol thank you for the heads up. people pls be aware of such companies, take comfort that my company is not like this. we will have a formal and legal contract with u, that is it will state the amount we charge our clients, AUD$1k to find u a job, once we find u a job, AUD$3k u need to pay. and that is it. if u not happy, get a refund. nothing too sneaky or too difficult for u clever pple.

whatever u and the company discuss is between u and the company, we will have nothing to do with ur agreement w the company..

I believe by hooking up an employee to a company successfully, your company will be earning commission or fees from both parties. It is a workable practice in Oz but definitely not in Msia. For those employees who barely get take home pay of AUD 3-4K, they may have to work 2 - 3 months in order to get some positive earnings. rclxub.gif

If you are planning to extend this methodology to Malaysia, good luck with that. icon_rolleyes.gif
naleh33
post Jun 16 2012, 11:45 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(Raitama @ Jun 16 2012, 10:44 PM)
wah.. what is super .. haha
Super is EPF in Malaysia terms. smile.gif
naleh33
post Aug 26 2012, 07:53 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(mark @ Aug 24 2012, 08:13 PM)
haha, that's true. but at this point i'm not 100% sure if they're telling me the truth/trying to help me or they're just trying to con me out of more money sad.gif
Most of the migration agencies will only charge you the agent fees when your PR application is approved. If your application failed, they will have to refund you fully. You better check that out with your agency. AUD1200 is kind of cheap compared to other agencies that I know. hmm.gif
naleh33
post Sep 21 2012, 06:44 PM

1,021 posts

Working and earning dollars sounds nice. However, the living cost in Oz is also very 'nice' especially these 2 years. Rentals, public transport, utilities bill are getting higher and higher. If the employer here does not offer you a good salary package, I doubt the money you save (even after converting to RM) will be more than what you are saving in Msia. rclxub.gif
naleh33
post Sep 21 2012, 08:05 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 21 2012, 07:43 PM)
yes if you have family or some loans like car and house.

i can save 50% of my salary and even more if didn't buy anythings. the place i'm working will increase the salary every 6 months and just had 4% rise on July
Lucky you! salary increment every 6 months. drool.gif Are you planning to go back to Msia eventually? Where are you base?

naleh33
post Sep 22 2012, 10:37 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 21 2012, 09:23 PM)
i will go back but not for now.

in melbourne working in education sector. i think  is a law that they need to increase the pay every 6 months base on the "market rate". is not that much but better than nothing.

many companies(but not asian) will have performance review every 6 months or 1 year and they will increase your salary based on your performance
half yearly performance review is common but salary review half yearly is not really common, normally is yearly increment. I am not in the education section, never know there is such a law. It is a good policy though, taking care of the employees.

Added on September 22, 2012, 10:39 pm
QUOTE(tatagal @ Sep 22 2012, 01:38 PM)
How about yourself?
I am based in Sydney. I am only having yearly increment. however, the increment really cannot catch up with the inflation/cost of living in Sydney. It is getting out of hands. sad.gif

This post has been edited by naleh33: Sep 22 2012, 10:39 PM
naleh33
post Sep 24 2012, 08:56 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(tatagal @ Sep 24 2012, 12:00 PM)
I believe at least it is better compared to if you are in Msia
Can't really compared that way because we earn and spend in Australia itself. Looking at the bright side, there is at least an increment.
naleh33
post Nov 16 2012, 07:12 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(wilmington @ Nov 15 2012, 12:55 PM)
Hi, anyone applied for 186 visa permanent before? I've just been offered a job in Australia O&g industry. The problem is its on a 457 visa. Read about the risk of 457 temporary visa..
Can anyone share some info on 186 visa? Do you think I can request or convince my prospective employer to sponsor me on this route?

Many thanks
After working for 2 years under Visa 457, you can get the company to sponsor you the permanent visa. Company will also want to safeguard their interest. If they apply for permanent visa for you straightaway, you can always resign anytime and leave for another company, using them as stepping stone.

0.0661sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:33 PM