hi,
whats the prospect of a uk fresh grad, with no australian visa, to get an architectural or design related job in australia, especially in a growing city like perth?
Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.
Jan 3 2013, 01:45 PM
172 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
hi,
whats the prospect of a uk fresh grad, with no australian visa, to get an architectural or design related job in australia, especially in a growing city like perth? |
Jan 3 2013, 02:55 PM
Added on January 3, 2013, 2:02 pm QUOTE checked numerous times, no visa is suitable other than the working holiday visa which isn't quite what i am looking for. the key here seems to be whether i can get sponsorship. so i need to rephrase my question, what's the probability of me getting a sponsorship from an architectural firm? i know its difficult to get architectural job in big cities like Melbourne and Sydney, but I've heard Perth is more likely to offer jobs.This post has been edited by xsaintx: Jan 3 2013, 02:56 PM |
Mar 15 2013, 12:22 AM
I'm helping my bf to look for a room to rent around north west of perth, anyone got any recommendation? We've tried gumtree and easyroommate.com but so far haven't been lucky... If anyone knows any website or any ways we can have better luck with finding a place to rent we'd be forever grateful. Thanks in advance! |
Jul 1 2013, 01:01 AM
Hi, can I use Malaysian driving licence to drive / rent a car in Australia?
Jul 1 2013, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Jul 1 2013, 12:04 AM) You are going there for holiday? If yes, then you can use malaysian driving license because my friends do that. Ya just holiday, my research shown different response from different people.. some said we'll need to get international driving permit from JPJ (RM 150) as rental companies require driving licence in English..some said no need, right now Im actually counting on changing to the new driving licence that will be launched in mid July which will be bilingual..If you have just gotten your PR, then you need to get an Australian driving license |
Sep 14 2013, 05:19 AM
Hi guys, here's my plan, please advice if its feasible or I'm being delusional:
step 1. Get my uk architecture degree assessed by architect accreditation council of Australia and hope they recognise as equivalent (if this fail then that's it no more hope ) Step 2. Get IELTS and try my best to get band 8..... step 3. Submit EOI, btw is it possible to show on the same EOI that I want to apply for 2 different types of visa, subclass 189 or 190 (architect is in the list of high demand occupations in WA, and Perth is where I intend to go, so possibly I could use the extra 5 points for skilled-nominated?) Step 4. Wait to get invited.. It's almost close to impossible to get sponsored by employer so I'm counting on this route to get a visa. Yay or nay? Is it advisable to consult agents and how much do they charge? Thanks a bunch! |
Sep 20 2013, 01:41 AM
Who / where should I go to get my documents certified as true copy that will be acceptable by Australian government?
Sep 26 2013, 06:49 PM
Got a call from Rayford, after answering some questions the agent said I have enough points for skilled independent. Tempted to just let them be my runner as my job demands a lot of time but with $2500 charge.. :/
Don't think rayford has very good reviews too as what I've read from other forumers. Also the agent said it'll take about 1year+ for the whole process from application to approval, sigh that's a little disappointing |
Sep 26 2013, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(supercolossal @ Sep 26 2013, 12:43 PM) Yes I do, am most worried about this step tbh, but agent said Uk degree shouldn't have any problems. QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 26 2013, 12:50 PM) skill assessment may take up to 3 months(you may do IELTS,etc in that period) and pr application will normally take up to 3 months depending on how many points you have. normally 65points and above can get a CO in a month time So if I only get ngam ngam 60points it will take longer? |
Sep 27 2013, 10:52 PM
Thanks for all the feedback, think I'll just DIY, since I pretty much know the application process, and I'm sure I can get more info from you guys if I get stucked, I think you guys are more informative than those agents.
Question on occupation ceiling, say, if the occupation ceiling value is 1320, and the awarded up to date is 70, which is pretty low (?), does that mean there are not many applicants in the occupation or it's harder to get invited with that occupation? This post has been edited by xsaintx: Sep 27 2013, 10:59 PM |
Oct 15 2013, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Oct 14 2013, 03:43 AM) Well, working here almost 3 mths now. Just wanna highlight few things here:- May I know which city you living in? Based on your post I'm guessing you have a family to support, what do you think the life will be like for a young person who migrate there alone? Pros:- 1) work is great. pay also ok 2) can buy gadgets at pretty cheap. due to high purchasing power 3) cars is cheap, bye bye to proton or myvi 4) public transport is good, bring u there on time 5) can get any food u want here 6) nice weather, can try to catch some mudcrab soon 7) medical coverage is good, insurance is good too (compared dollar to dollar) it's worth of getting 1, got bonus on teeth washing and spectacles 8) education for kids, almost free (public school of course); if kids entering uni, special previleage on fees repayment and low fees. 9) gov intensive on kids and wife who doesn't work 10) buying 1st house got intensive 11) great working culture, can go on leave when necessary (cats & dogs died also can take leave) 12) great working hours 13) can go shopping anywhere u want (with kangaroos or koalas of course coz they shut at 5pm) 14) got plenty gimmicks from restaurant, ex. hungry jack shaking ur phone get free burgers....yeah i know it's silly but its free man... 15) fuel price....so so coz floating to worldwide price, sometimes get discount if u shop in coles or woollies (my lowest record is $1.33/litre, ron91, average is 1.44/litre) Cons:- 1) shitty tax structure. ur yearly earning the best dun earn higher than 150k/annum. they'll tax u like mad 2) any income from malaysia rental or watsoever, they'll taxable 3) shares profit taxable; any additional income or money taxable! 4) utility cost is madness! if u own a property, ur yearly utility cost (elec, gas, water, phone, etc) will need to pay admin fees which exclude ur usage somemore, somewhere 5-6k/year? 5) council fees at 1700/year? 6) GST on everything!10% 7) Banking fees charge almost everything! Service is damn slow, banked in cheque takes more than 3 days...got my money almost 5 working days! 8) insurance doesn't really cover everything, want extra? pay lar! 9) if u nd to hospitalize? must get GP recommendation letter. Go into hospital almost half dead still require GP letter....hehe 10) Ozzie working ethnic? slow and not so bright though....try don't make things complicated, make it very*2 extremely simple as they dun like to think and they'll complain u mislead them...hehe (dun play numbers ar..) 11) Very boring place, make sure u got internet connection, tv or get PS3 or Xbox here. If not, u'll bored rotten till death here 12) Even shopping malls tend to open till 9pm, but only ghost shop around yeap, tat's my experience so far. anyone who wanna add something here, feel free to share. Ciao |
Oct 28 2013, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Oct 28 2013, 04:13 AM) Hey, try to take it again. After liberal take over, damn, rules might change again. Is IELTS that difficult? Was hoping to score band 8 in all ha... I'm still in dilemma whether to apply for skilled migration visa! It's not cheap ;/I know it's f*cking hard and IELTS stop people from coming over. Ozzie gov sucks, most of my friend here had same situation as u. some of them is leaving for no choice coz they sit for IELTS 5 times! |
Oct 28 2013, 11:48 PM
Oct 28 2013, 11:55 PM
Oct 29 2013, 12:20 AM
Oct 29 2013, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Oct 29 2013, 03:50 AM) Hi guys, my company is looking for some worker from Malaysia who wish to become a bricklayer or tiler. No experience required as the visa our company offered is 402 lasted for 2 years. It's a training and apprenticeship plus salary. This is meant for anyone who's without degree or certificate who wish to work in Australia and experience the lifestyle here. How much would the pay be for first two years?Once you got 2 years with us, company will apply and convert your visa to 457 which is working visa and the salary will be adjusted to local salary. If anyone interested, please PM me and i'll inform my management. PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS IS LEGALLY DONE AND NOT JUMPING FROM PLANE! WE GO THROUGH PROPER WAY TO GET WORKER FROM OVERSEAS! |
Nov 11 2013, 11:52 PM
I wouldn't say the data is the most accurate tool to measure the safeness of a country.. For example I did the comparison between uk and Malaysia, the crimes in uk is 38times more than Malaysia but I've never felt unsafe or scared walking home alone at midnight when I lived there, nothing bad has ever happened to me, where as in Malaysia I am paranoid every time I drive alone even during day time. In Malaysia. everyone knows someone who's been a victim of a crime here.
Nov 13 2013, 11:40 PM
Nov 14 2013, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(GreenJellyBean @ Nov 14 2013, 12:30 AM) About 1 year but most of my friend who applied together with me got it in less than 6 months. My case was slightly more complicated as I was diagnosed and suspected of a series of health issue which need to be cleared. I was leading an unhealthy lifestyle In less than 6 months! That's fast. If you don't mind me asking, how much roughly did it cost you to get the visa? I'm going to apply but for a fresh grad i think it's more difficult not only in terms of experience but also financially it might take me a while. |
Dec 6 2013, 10:23 PM
| Change to: | 0.0982sec