°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V4 °°,, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !
calvin_ng
Oct 6 2011, 09:26 AM
Here is the calculation, Insight will not save much on highway as it will run on engine all the time... but it will save alot of fuel in traffic start stop situation (traffic jam lah).
Insight can go as low as RM0.06/km
on long term it is a good investment
ongdennis
Oct 6 2011, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(TuX @ Oct 6 2011, 08:06 AM) I need some input... Seriously, how much can Insight save? I've got a Myvi, am going to be done with the loan in 12 months' time. Am still pay RM500 per month for it. Should I sell it, and get an Insight? How much can I save? If I was to trade in my Myvi, and get an Insight, I'm probably paying RM1k per month to the bank. Petrol usage will drop, but is it worth it? I like my Myvi's back seat, and even the boot space when seats are folded. Any input? Please? keep your myvi and be loan free...you will so happy to see that every month u have extra 500 in ur pocket. in term of spacing for both car, i will vote for myvi  petrol saving when u switch from myvi to insight, i guess u wont save much
TuX
Oct 6 2011, 09:42 AM
Well, I'm mostly travelling from Penang to KL, maybe twice a month. In Penang, I drive bout 7kms to my work, plus minus, at most 20 kms a day...
Worth to pay more? Or like ongdennis said, save that extra RM500...?
chizzu
Oct 6 2011, 09:56 AM
If you are happy with your myvi just keep it
rigmortis
Oct 6 2011, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(TuX @ Oct 6 2011, 09:42 AM) Well, I'm mostly travelling from Penang to KL, maybe twice a month. In Penang, I drive bout 7kms to my work, plus minus, at most 20 kms a day... Worth to pay more? Or like ongdennis said, save that extra RM500...? Do not be too over optimistic on the fuel savings you will get from an Insight. Myvi is relatively economical. Whatever savings you will make will be lost during the services. I am assuming your Myvi does not need to be serviced at Perodua SC anymore. Stay debt free... I had to change because my old car is starting to give me hefty repair bills and it is not able to cater for my needs.
iTrump
Oct 6 2011, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(rigmortis @ Oct 6 2011, 11:23 AM) Do not be too over optimistic on the fuel savings you will get from an Insight. Myvi is relatively economical. Whatever savings you will make will be lost during the services. I am assuming your Myvi does not need to be serviced at Perodua SC anymore. Stay debt free... I had to change because my old car is starting to give me hefty repair bills and it is not able to cater for my needs. If your intention is to upgrade to car like vios, city, the < 100k car.. take Honda Insight. If you thinking of saving.. stick to your current myvi car.
DaBestOne
Oct 6 2011, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Oct 6 2011, 09:26 AM) Insight can go as low as RM0.06/km on long term it is a good investment Waa... rm0.06/km...People with alot of city drive can definitely benefit from this..
rigmortis
Oct 6 2011, 01:36 PM

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Oct 6 2011, 12:08 PM) Waa... rm0.06/km...People with alot of city drive can definitely benefit from this.. I am doubtful if we can get RM0.06/KM with city driving. RM0.10/KM is more achievable with combined cycle. This post has been edited by rigmortis: Oct 6 2011, 01:38 PM
jacek
Oct 6 2011, 01:51 PM

QUOTE(TuX @ Oct 6 2011, 09:42 AM) Well, I'm mostly travelling from Penang to KL, maybe twice a month. In Penang, I drive bout 7kms to my work, plus minus, at most 20 kms a day... Worth to pay more? Or like ongdennis said, save that extra RM500...? if ur Myvi is not giving you any problems such as repair on the wear and tear parts, keep the Myvi. Looking at ur driving distance to work and back home, hmm, i think its not worth it as u wont save much. I sold my previous civic EK as it was already 15years old and giving me many problems.
Rhyon
Oct 6 2011, 03:15 PM
erm... if u are city usage and only travel 7km .. i would suggest to be debt free n use ur MYVI.
but to me.. as your saying for travelling highway often PG-KL .. i would prefer an upgrade to a bigger/better car for stability n safety.
SteadyPana
Oct 6 2011, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(alxdc @ Oct 6 2011, 05:22 PM) Posted by someone before
ultramankaiser
Oct 6 2011, 10:21 PM
chizzu
Oct 7 2011, 10:23 AM
That is if they can mass produce the hybrid and ev cars in the next 5 years lol
SteadyPana
Oct 7 2011, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(chizzu @ Oct 7 2011, 10:23 AM) That is if they can mass produce the hybrid and ev cars in the next 5 years lol Sure can mass produce but whether boleh pakai or not, will be another story. But for sure, Powered Windows got Life-time warranty.
TSloonsave
Oct 7 2011, 01:25 PM
Actually the only thing I dun like about Insight is the aircond compressor cut off when engine auto-stop. Other than that, I have no complaint at all. I love every bits of it.
I just enter stage 3 this morning, and somehow the meter easily go dark blue while I drive like usual.
takeshi99
Oct 7 2011, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(TuX @ Oct 6 2011, 08:06 AM) I need some input... Seriously, how much can Insight save? I've got a Myvi, am going to be done with the loan in 12 months' time. Am still pay RM500 per month for it. Should I sell it, and get an Insight? How much can I save? If I was to trade in my Myvi, and get an Insight, I'm probably paying RM1k per month to the bank. Petrol usage will drop, but is it worth it? I like my Myvi's back seat, and even the boot space when seats are folded. Any input? Please? The main objective of Insight is environment friendly with lower carbon emission, not cost saving.. hope u get it right.. Added on October 7, 2011, 1:31 pmQUOTE(ongdennis @ Oct 5 2011, 10:45 AM) yeah...at highway mah...  personally i try up to 170kmh, i would say acceleration after 140kmh is quite slow even with econ mode off. rpm at very high region but the car feel no move  but good thing is i seldom drive at highway and high speed travel also not my aim, i just tell some fact n figure  up to date, no complain on my ride except one thing very annoying n not sure u all face it or not. the car at outside is too quiet...sometime got ppl walking in front (example near parking area, pasar malam...ect), they didnt notice there is car behind. want to horn them but worry they get shock even though the stock horn is so soft my main problem is the Honk too soft la... those idiots still cut me infront eventhough i honk them long enuf.. nit to change to Lorry honk.. zzz This post has been edited by takeshi99: Oct 7 2011, 01:31 PM
chizzu
Oct 7 2011, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(loonsave @ Oct 7 2011, 01:25 PM) Actually the only thing I dun like about Insight is the aircond compressor cut off when engine auto-stop. Other than that, I have no complaint at all. I love every bits of it. I just enter stage 3 this morning, and somehow the meter easily go dark blue while I drive like usual. Same here. Stage 3 like fighting big boss. Abit of stepping on the pedal the meter goes dark blue d