125 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

ivanswk
post Aug 26 2011, 11:43 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(sharilazri @ Aug 26 2011, 11:40 AM)
Advance Diploma in Telecommunication Engineering. Maybe I can just ignore this offer..
i think the same cool2.gif

Added on August 26, 2011, 11:44 am
QUOTE(ky_khor @ Aug 26 2011, 11:42 AM)
Hey guys, what's the most effective way to get a room? Websites? Agent?
pull advert from the bustop near to the place u want to stay nod.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Aug 26 2011, 11:44 AM
deodorant
post Aug 26 2011, 12:05 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(sharilazri @ Aug 26 2011, 11:40 AM)
Advance Diploma in Telecommunication Engineering. Maybe I can just ignore this offer..

it's a huge step down lor. 6 years exp you should be already aiming for management-level post on $5k and above imo.
seantang
post Aug 26 2011, 12:14 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 26 2011, 12:05 PM)
it's a huge step down lor. 6 years exp you should be already aiming for management-level post on $5k and above imo.
I don't know about that. My company's a stickler for degrees... in that if you don't have a degree, you're a tech/admin no matter what your experience is. That means lower payscale, fewer benefits and absolutely no chance of becoming a manager (pay scale wise), although we have lots of tech/admin people leaders. In fact these guys lead the biggest teams ie. production workers, secretarial pool, CSRs, help desks etc.
crazy25kid
post Aug 26 2011, 12:34 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 26 2011, 12:14 PM)
I don't know about that. My company's a stickler for degrees... in that if you don't have a degree, you're a tech/admin no matter what your experience is. That means lower payscale, fewer benefits and absolutely no chance of becoming a manager (pay scale wise), although we have lots of tech/admin people leaders. In fact these guys lead the biggest teams ie. production workers, secretarial pool, CSRs, help desks etc.
I kinda agree with sean here.
Sg focus a lot of the papers before experience.
sharilazri
post Aug 26 2011, 12:46 PM

144 posts

Thanks all for the feedback. Yet that comp still didn't reply my email. Moving forward am gonna take other offer hehe.
seantang
post Aug 26 2011, 12:46 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Aug 26 2011, 12:34 PM)
Not exactly papers before experience lah. If you have a degree but no experience, you still will not become highly paid, nor a manager.

But rather, the belief is that degrees are so common nowadays. If there's a non-degree holder with this experience, there is surely a degree holder with the same experience. Why not simply hire the guy with both?

ray86
post Aug 26 2011, 12:50 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 26 2011, 12:46 PM)
Not exactly papers before experience lah. If you have a degree but no experience, you still will not become highly paid, nor a manager.

But rather, the belief is that degrees are so common nowadays. If there's a non-degree holder with this experience, there is surely a degree holder with the same experience. Why not simply hire the guy with both?
I guess it depends on what company you are working with too smile.gif
sharilazri
post Aug 26 2011, 12:55 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(ray86 @ Aug 26 2011, 12:50 PM)
I guess it depends on what company you are working with too smile.gif
Absolutely agree. This comp are just a service provider for vendor n mobile operator. While I'm here working for vendor.
kinwing
post Aug 26 2011, 12:56 PM

559 posts

Have talked to my friends yesterday during yamcha session about my intention on looking forward to work in Sg. But they sound so discourage because Sg's living standard is high.

I can't agree to them, as if I am getting the same pay scale of KL in Sg, I might save less in Sg due to high living standard in Sg, but after currency conversion I still save more (example save SGD1.5K > RM2.5K). Not to mention that Sg might have lower food and transportation cost than KL, so I might be able to save the similar dollar that I can save in KL and this will at least double my saving. As long as I don't own a car (I don't drive in KL either) and have no intention to be permanently settle down in Sg and buy a high-end condo, the so-called high living standard is not a big deal to me.

Then they turn to the topic that Singaporeans are kiasu so working environment will be daunting. Fair enough, it is working life and every work got its nature of pressure. It is not different from what I am doing in an IB at KL now, I worked more than 16 hours everyday (24/7) for few weeks just to catch the deadline for the submission of an IPO project, and words from bosses will be hard to swallow if works not up to their requirements. Getting double pay with the same pressure, good cool2.gif ? Indeed, I could have more fincial job related exposure in Sg for my future career advancement.

Then we also discussed about the distance from hometown. For me it is also no difference if I work in KL or Sg since I am from Ipoh. Maybe Sg is a little further south than KL, if take bus will take another 3 hours longer only, or I should just take budget flight then. Anyway, I have asked my friend to arrange a meeting with his friend who is now working in UOB out to yamcha on this Sunday (he back to KL for long puasa holiday), hope can find out more from him and pass him my CV.
seantang
post Aug 26 2011, 01:08 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Aug 26 2011, 12:56 PM)
I can't agree to them, as if I am getting the same pay scale of KL in Sg, I might save less in Sg due to high living standard in Sg, but after currency conversion I still save more (example save SGD1.5K > RM2.5K). Not to mention that Sg might have lower food and transportation cost than KL, so I might be able to save the similar dollar that I can save in KL and this will at least double my saving. As long as I don't own a car (I don't drive in KL either) and have no intention to be permanently settle down in Sg and buy a high-end condo, the so-called high living standard is not a big deal to me.
They forgot about opportunities. When I left KL, I already had nowhere to go ie. there was no finance job in my company in KL with a higher salary level than the one I was at. When I came to our SG office (with promotion some more), I was merely one of the many at this salary level. The biggest finance guy in SG was 6 levels above me. So the opportunities abound.

QUOTE(kinwing)
Then they turn to the topic that Singaporeans are kiasu so working environment will be daunting. Fair enough, it is working life and every work got its nature of pressure. It is not different from what I am doing in an IB at KL now, I worked more than 16 hours everyday (24/7) for few weeks just to catch the deadline for the submission of an IPO project, and words from bosses will be hard to swallow if works not up to their requirements. Getting double pay with the same pressure, good cool2.gif ? Indeed, I could have more fincial job related exposure in Sg for my future career advancement.
It's the same. You earn this money, you give back this amount of work.

QUOTE(kinwing)
Then we also discussed about the distance from hometown. For me it is also no difference if I work in KL or Sg since I am from Ipoh. Maybe Sg is a little further south than KL, if take bus will take another 3 hours longer only, or I should just take budget flight then. Anyway, I have asked my friend to arrange a meeting with his friend who is now working in UOB out to yamcha on this Sunday (he back to KL for long puasa holiday), hope can find out more from him and pass him my CV.
I take Firefly back to Ipoh once or twice each month. I leave office for the airport at 1pm for the 2:50pm flight and am sucking down an iced white coffee at Sin Hing Loong in old town by 5:00pm.
Mackiddo
post Aug 26 2011, 01:09 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Aug 26 2011, 12:34 PM)
not really, not if you have a special set of skill that comes with experience nod.gif
ivanswk
post Aug 26 2011, 01:20 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 26 2011, 01:09 PM)
not really, not if you have a special set of skill that comes with experience nod.gif
cant help myself to think of something
especially applicable to those aquarium tank workers in between kallang and aljunied area sweat.gif
ryoryo
post Aug 26 2011, 01:21 PM

Guys, I am in deep trouble. This is my first time working in Singapore and I am quite discouraged to learn that my company's management is not what I have expected. I was tipped off (I got to know from the staff who is leaving and that is when after I have signed the in-principle permit) that this company isn't good but during the interview they impressed me so much with their potential and plans. Plus it is an international brand.

I need advise on how to resign. I am just afraid that I wont be able to get another working permit from a new company or MOM due to my early resignation. I am going to start work this saturday and was thinking of leaving within the 3 months probations. And let say if they terminate me will that affect me if I find job again? Will the new company knows? Or should I just tell them and will they believe me? Gosh ....what a luck these days~

Please help me. I need guidance and advice badly now.
Mackiddo
post Aug 26 2011, 01:24 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Aug 26 2011, 01:20 PM)
cant help myself to think of something
especially applicable to those aquarium tank workers in between kallang and aljunied area sweat.gif
i was thinking more like deep sea welder smile.gif
ivanswk
post Aug 26 2011, 01:29 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Aug 26 2011, 12:56 PM)
if take bus will take another 3 hours longer only, or I should just take budget flight then.
8 hours in total, but since u in the elite category soon, fly firefly nod.gif

Added on August 26, 2011, 1:37 pmjust check got 2 flight going back to ipoh daily now
9.30 am and 2.50pm and coming back 11.20 and 4.45pm

Added on August 26, 2011, 1:43 pm
QUOTE(ryoryo @ Aug 26 2011, 01:21 PM)
Guys, I am in deep trouble. This is my first time working in Singapore and I am quite discouraged to learn that my company's management is not what I have expected. I was tipped off (I got to know from the staff who is leaving and that is when after I have signed the in-principle permit) that this company isn't good but during the interview they impressed me so much with their potential and plans. Plus it is an international brand.

I need advise on how to resign. I am just afraid that I wont be able to get another working permit from a new company or MOM due to my early resignation. I am going to start work this saturday and was thinking of leaving within the 3 months probations. And let say if they terminate me will that affect me if I find job again? Will the new company knows? Or should I just tell them and will they believe me? Gosh ....what a luck these days~

what is not good ? hmm.gif start work saturday ? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Aug 26 2011, 01:43 PM
ch_teo
post Aug 26 2011, 01:52 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(ryoryo @ Aug 26 2011, 01:21 PM)

sometime ago, in previous version thread had mentioned, come only if very good offer. there are many behind stories in sg employers especially certain chinaman type, not to discourage but that is the fact at sg if one is a foreigner and the postings that local/ other cheaper people can fill in easily.

take the job & deal with it as a good experience.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Aug 26 2011, 01:56 PM
kinwing
post Aug 26 2011, 02:13 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 26 2011, 01:08 PM)
They forgot about opportunities. When I left KL, I already had nowhere to go ie. there was no finance job in my company in KL with a higher salary level than the one I was at. When I came to our SG office (with promotion some more), I was merely one of the many at this salary level. The biggest finance guy in SG was 6 levels above me. So the opportunities abound.

I take Firefly back to Ipoh once or twice each month. I leave office for the airport at 1pm for the 2:50pm flight and am sucking down an iced white coffee at Sin Hing Loong in old town by 5:00pm.
May I know how much the flight cost you each trip? If below RM200 should be fine. Btw, I thought white coffee of Nam Heong taste better laugh.gif ? It some more list its "Old Town" recently.
siberfriend
post Aug 26 2011, 02:40 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Aug 25 2011, 08:03 PM)
I heard that you must be here for at least a year or 2 before you can apply for SPR? No?
oops.. my bad... typo... should be May 2011....

haven't decide when to go.... have to do medical checkup 1st and wait for the report...
should be Mid Sep.. smile.gif

seantang
post Aug 26 2011, 02:42 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Aug 26 2011, 02:13 PM)
May I know how much the flight cost you each trip? If below RM200 should be fine. Btw, I thought white coffee of Nam Heong taste better laugh.gif ? It some more list its "Old Town" recently.
When it started a couple of years ago, it was about RM380 return. When it became daily flights, it went up to RM440 or so. Now after becoming 2 flights per day, it's RM500-550. I usually book about 3-6 weeks in advance. I have paid RM800 for CNY flight.
animorphs
post Aug 26 2011, 03:06 PM

183 posts

Hi all,

I've common room air condition available for rent/ transient at Yishun from 1st September onwards.

Walking distance < 10 minutes to/ from Yishun/ Khatib MRT, Yishun Bus Interchange, eating house, food court, supermarket, Northpoint Shopping Centre, and Golden Village Cinema.

SMS/ Call me 9088 3577 to enquire. Viewing available.

125 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:03 PM