4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Credit Card v16, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

TSalexwsk
post May 23 2011, 11:08 AM, updated 14y ago

4,090 posts

LATEST UPDATE: New Measures on Credit Cards by Bank Negara

Proceed from v15: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1824199

**Those wishing to get an agent to assist with your credit card application please post your request at the service noticeboard section as this section is about discussion on credit card issues and not for promoting or seeking agent.

Knowing your cards > http://www.bankinginfo.com.my
1. Visa
2. Mastercard
3. JCB
4. AMEX - Charge or Credit Card
5. Diners Club
6. China Union Pay (中国银联)
7. Etc.

1. Annual fee
Annual fee free credit cards :
- CIMB Direct Access
- CIMB Bank
- American Express Green charge card & American Express Gold credit card
- Public Bank (**minimum swipes apply)
- Alliance Bank (**minimum swipes apply)
- UOB Bank (**minimum swipes apply)
- Maybank (**certain cards only)
- EON Bank (**minimum swipes apply)
- Citibank Choice (**minimum swipes apply)
- Hong Leong Bank Essential VISA (**swipe at least twice a month OR spend RM8,000/year)
- AmBank (**certain cards only)
- OCBC (**minimum swipes apply)

2. Credit cards payment methods - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1802980

3. Tap and Go Cards - no signature required

4. Credit Card linked to Petrol
- OCBC Titanium MasterCard <> all petrol stations = 5% cash back
- Citibank Cash Back VISA Platinum <> all petrol stations = 5% cash back
- UOB <> BHP Petrol = 2% cash back (UOB One only), 1% cash back (others)
- Citibank <> SHELL (This only applicable for Citibank Shell, Citibank Cashback Plat applies to all petrol stations)
- Maybank/Maybank Islamic <> PETRONAS = 5x Treatpoints
- CIMB Bank/CIMB Islamic <> PETRONAS = 2% cash back
- Public Bank ESSO/Mobil VISA <> ESSO/MOBIL = 0.5 - 5% (tier-based)
- RHB Travel Money <> all petrol stations = 2% cash back (5% cash back every first weekend)
- AMBank Carz <> all petrol stations = 2% cash back (3% for Gold and 5% for Platinum, provided there is an outstanding)
**All range of American Express charge & credit cards give 2x MR/TP on petrol purchases whilst AMEX Gold credit card and Maybankard 2 AMEX give 5x MR/TP. This applies to all petrol brands.
For more info on pumping petrol using cards, please refer to this thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1798403

5. Standard financial charge (interest rate)
Tier 1 > 13.5% p.a.
Tier 2 > 16% p.a.
Tier 3 > 17.5% p.a.
Cash advance: 18% p.a from the date of withdrawal + 5% advance cash withdrawal fees
Late payment: 1% of outstanding or RM 5 whichever is higher.
Minimum payment amount: 5% of outstanding or RM 25/RM 50 whichever is higher.
Sample calculator can be found here
Sample calculator from AKPK

6. Complimentary Cards
1) HSBC Premier - deposit and maintain RM200k
2) Citibank Citigold - deposit and maintain RM200k
3) Standard Chartered Priority Banking - deposit and maintain RM250k
4) UOB Privilege Banking - Opening deposit of RM300k with maintenance of RM200k
5) OCBC Premier Banking - Opening deposit of RM300k with maintenance of RM200k
6) CIMB Bank Preferred Banking - deposit and maintain RM200k
7) Hong Leong Bank Priority Banking - deposit and maintain RM200k
8) Alliance Bank Privilege Banking - deposit and maintain RM200k
9) RHB Bank Premier Banking - deposit and maintain RM200k
10) Public Bank Red Carpet Banking - deposit and maintain RM500k or a Mutual Gold customer with a total combined deposits of RM200k in savings/current/fixed deposits.

7. American Express - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1724607

8. International Transactions - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1845691

9. Credit Card Cancellation - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1814307

10. Cash Advance fees

11. Verified by Visa and Mastercard Securecode
Verified by Visa ---> http://www.visa-asia.com/ap/sea/merchants/...vbv_intro.shtml
Participating banks :

MasterCard SecureCode ---> http://www.mastercard.com/au/personal/en/c...code/index.html
Participating banks :

12. Balance Transfer - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1123346

13. RM50 Government Service Tax - Currently STILL IN FORCE
With effect from 1 January 2010, there will be service tax imposed on credit card as follows :
i. RM50 per annum on each Principal Card; and
ii. RM25 per annum on each Supplementary Card
The service tax will be collected on the date the card is issued, or on the completion of each year or on the date of renewal of the card (except HSBC which will be billed 1 month later). This means that the above mentioned service tax shall be levied on new credit card issued effective from 1 January 2010. For existing credit cards issued before 1 January 2010, the service tax shall be levied upon anniversary of card issuance.

14. Airport Lounge Access - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1791878

15. Previous versions

16. Useful information
BNM issued guidelines in 2003 that limits consumer liability in cases of fraud to only RM250. See the actual document here. (Courtesy of tishaban) (thanks awaynoway for the updated link)

Credit information:
CCRIS: http://creditbureau.bnm.gov.my/
CCRIS report - go to Bank Negara yourself and use self-service terminal to get report with MyKard (you need to go as need thumb print).
CTOS: http://www.ctos.com.my/
BRIS: http://bris.com.my/index.html

Swipe Smart with 6E:
http://www.abm.org.my/Swipe_Smart_with_6E_...ffectively.aspx

17. FMB - Financial Mediation Bureau
http://www.fmb.org.my/index.htm

18. AKPK
- An agency set up to provide financial education, financial counseling and debt management
http://www.akpk.org.my/Home/tabid/36/Default.aspx

Link to AKPK thread : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/876712

19. Other Links By Users
A blog about credit cards by Gen-X > My Credit Cards

20. Credit Card/Charge Card Reward Points
Validity of numerous credit card/charge card reward points
1) HSBC - up to 3 years
2) Citibank - reward points are evergreen
3) Maybank - reward points are evergreen
4) CIMB Bank - 3 years
5) Alliance Bank - reward points are evergreen
6) Standard Chartered - 3 years (**SCB VI Choice Points are evergreen)
7) American Express - Membership Rewards Points are evergreen
8) Hong Leong Bank - up to 3 years
9) AmBank - up to 3 years
10) RHB Bank - 3 years for Platinum and 2 years for all cards ranked lower than Platinum
11) UOB - 3 years
12) EON Bank - 3 years

21. Premium Credit Cards and its requirements
1) CIMB & DA World Mastercard/Visa Infinite - Min Income Requirement : RM 200k
2) CIMB Enrich World Mastercard - Strictly by Invitation (those with card usage above RM 500k per annum may be considered)
3) CIMB VISA Signature - Min Income Requirement : RM100k
4) Maybank World Mastercard - Min Income Requirement : RM 240k
5) Maybank Visa Infinite - Min Income Requirement : RM 240k
6) MBF World Mastercard - Min Income Requirement : RM 200k (By Invitation)
7) Standard Chartered Visa Infinite - Only for Priority Banking customer (RM 250k in deposits)
8) RHB Visa Infinite - Strictly by Invitation Only
9) HSBC Premier Mastercard - Only for HSBC Premier customer (RM 200k in deposits)
10) HONG LEONG Bank VISA Signature - Min Income Requirement : RM180k

22. Best Credit Cards and its categories - Click on ME
Please note these are just recommendations based on normal spending. High spending or specific usage individuals might want to look at other cards.
1) Classic Card = Hong Leong Essential
2) Gold Card = Alliance Younique / Maybankard 2 AMEX Gold
3) Titanium Card = OCBC Titanium / Standard Chartered Titanium (**product withdrawn from new application)
4) Platinum Card = Alliance Platinum / SCB Business Platinum / Citibank Cash Back Platinum / AMEX Platinum Charge Card (assuming AF is waiveable) / Maybankard 2 AMEX Platinum
5) Visa Signature = EON VS
6) Visa Infinite = SCB VI
7) World MasterCard = Maybank WMC (assuming AF is waiveable)
8) For 1st time CC applicants with Degree: DA (Direct Access @ CIMB)
Looking for recommendations? Please refer to this thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1792023

23. Credit Cards with Complimentary Travel & Accident Insurance
1) All HSBC/HSBC Amanah credit cards
2) All Citibank credit cards (except all co-brand cards, cash back)
3) All Public Bank generic credit cards
4) All Maybank generic credit cards
5) All AMEX charge card & AMEX Platinum credit card
6) All EON Bank credit cards
7) Alliance Bank Platinum

24. OCBC Titanium Credit Card rebates - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1791215

25. Reload Touch n Go using credit cards - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1803385

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 29 2011, 11:06 AM
TSalexwsk
post May 23 2011, 11:52 AM

4,090 posts

---reserved---

actually how can I reserve the 2nd post?
it keep on appending to the 1st post sweat.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: May 23 2011, 11:57 AM
TSalexwsk
post May 23 2011, 04:16 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(azam_halim @ May 23 2011, 03:45 PM)
its been a while since the last time i check my maybank2u page. found out today that i've been charged twice for the same transaction! i pump petrol at esso on 14may. in my transaction history, it is posted twice which is on 15may and 18may. i know for sure that i only pump once on that day, in fact the amount is exactly the same (60.02). i only pump once a week. my statement is only on the 28th. should i report now or wait until statement comes out? where to complaint? thanks..
wait for the statement to come out first, call the number behind ur card
TSalexwsk
post May 30 2011, 01:20 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ May 29 2011, 08:08 PM)
Anyone here with PB-Esso Mobil gotten their additional 3% cash back as stated in their latest promotional T&C?
yes, april rebate is credited on 20/05
TSalexwsk
post Jun 1 2011, 10:19 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 1 2011, 07:29 AM)
Latest Promotion from Standard Chartered CC

25% Cash Back for Dining

From 1 June to 31 July 2011, get 25% CashBack on any meal, in any restaurant, at any time, nationwide. All you need to do is register once.

• To register, SMS GET25<space>16-Digit Card Number and send to 33310
For example: GET25 5520123456789000
• Spend at least RM1,500 per month on anything, not just dining. 

URL: http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...ning_cashback25
T&C : http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...back25/tnc.html

Maximum Cashback is RM150 for the Promotion Period (from 1 June 2011 until 31 July 2011), that's a spend of RM600 of dining.
time to defrost my JustOne Tit tongue.gif
TSalexwsk
post Jun 6 2011, 09:08 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Jun 6 2011, 06:25 PM)
Except citibank cash bank, what is another card, which is good.
depends on what u want
generally Maybankard 2 and OCBC titanium shud be gd enough for most
TSalexwsk
post Jun 7 2011, 05:46 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 7 2011, 05:39 PM)
Market base in Singapore is very small with many cc providers to compete with.
Do you also know that MBB and CIMB cards is also aggressively promoted in Singapore ?
what to do, MALAYSIAN products, always cheaper or else better when out of the country sweat.gif

TSalexwsk
post Jun 8 2011, 02:54 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 7 2011, 10:20 PM)
Went to Papa John and when I reached home, found out that the cashier peeled the double sided tape used to conceal the 3-digits. I just paste it last night. I am getting paranoid with the recent case.
better monitor your online banking for that card tongue.gif
TSalexwsk
post Jun 19 2011, 10:54 AM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 19 2011, 09:41 AM)
BUT I remember more than 20 years ago in USA, anyone can go to the banks and withdraw cash with credit cards over the counter with the tellers. If there is a MasterCard or Visa logo on the bank door, most probably I guess you still can do so. Check it out.

My advise to all, get a Debit Card for overseas cash witdrawal, while in US 2 years ago, I had no problems withdrawing cash with my UOB Debit Card at many of the ATM but couldn't do so with my RHB Debit Card  hmm.gif
to add on, if u can find those chinese supermarket, they will let u withdraw from their cashier
pay for whatever u want to buy and then just tell them the additional cash u want to withdraw

they will swipe everything and no cash advance interest will be charge icon_rolleyes.gif
TSalexwsk
post Jun 19 2011, 06:35 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 19 2011, 11:16 AM)
this is really worth to try out, save lots on interest. But does he need to be in chinatown?
no need to be in chinatown, but then i was in California, so asian supermarkets are like everywhere sweat.gif
for example, http://www.99ranch.com/, marina food

since parsona was in china, i doubt he can do this
also not sure whether this can be done at other countries or nor
TSalexwsk
post Jun 21 2011, 10:13 PM

4,090 posts

i just noticed we don't have a dedicated thread for citibank cards
anyone wanted to start one? citibank is having their "usual" promotion
http://www.citibank.com.my/english/promo/a...-hdd-momono.htm

i no longer hold any citi cards tongue.gif
TSalexwsk
post Jun 23 2011, 08:10 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(eimane @ Jun 23 2011, 07:34 PM)
sorry if my question sound silly..

I really interested to apply Maybank 2 card...but i'm a bit scared to used AMEX...from what I read...AMEX is charge card rite...and the interest rate is much more higher compare to normal credit card..

Am I rite?..or Maybank 2 card (amex) is same as other credit card?
amex got both charge and credit card
maybankard 2 amex is credit card
TSalexwsk
post Jun 23 2011, 09:33 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(bluffy83 @ Jun 23 2011, 09:00 PM)
hai guys! currently using public bank card now.. where can I redeem all those point? been using it for 2 years but still dont know how to redeem.. sad.gif Cant find it at their website..
http://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/perso...redemption.html
TSalexwsk
post Jun 23 2011, 10:19 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(bluffy83 @ Jun 23 2011, 10:00 PM)
thanks for the answer alex.. I,m using Public Bank Visa Gold (http://www.pbebank.com/en/en_content/personal/cards/visa_gd.html).
What kind of bonus point i collect? VIP/Premium/RedPoint/TAR??
I,m confuse.. cant see anything like that in my statement. Where can I check how much point accumulate till now?
for all pbb visa cards, you'll get monthly cash back instead, hence you'll not receive any points
and if u still want to maintain your pbb card, i suggest that u switch to PBB Mobil Visa Gold instead, no annual fees and flat 0.5% for non esso mobil transactions

else do apply ocbc tit master or maybankard 2, for their benefits, kindly refer their own threads

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jun 23 2011, 10:23 PM
TSalexwsk
post Jun 27 2011, 09:57 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(romariotan82 @ Jun 27 2011, 06:33 PM)
Hi Guys,

i would like to ask wthether anyone get PBB Cash Back ( 8X-8% or 12X- 12 %) for month May ?

i already gave up hope on their promo shakehead.gif
anyway, may cash back not be in so fast, i thk mid of end of july
TSalexwsk
post Jun 28 2011, 03:49 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 28 2011, 03:05 PM)
petrol station allow use of credit card for petrol if the amount is less than rm5 ? eg motorcycle
yes, i pumped b4, shell and petronas
TSalexwsk
post Jul 5 2011, 09:31 PM

4,090 posts

ironically, NO laugh.gif
that's why they must sponsor

i prefer the old layout though yawn.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jul 5 2011, 09:34 PM
TSalexwsk
post Jul 5 2011, 10:12 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jul 5 2011, 09:45 PM)
Yeah ... new layout rather distracting.
But the forum need funds to operate ... so I guess no choice lah.
well, reality bites tongue.gif
TSalexwsk
post Jul 6 2011, 11:40 AM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jul 6 2011, 11:01 AM)
Citibank need to do something to regain their market share. No new products for a long time and existing card offerings are a bore and a mismatch to current consumers needs. I think Maybank is quickly eating into their market share very quickly, especially since MBB2 cards appeared in the market.
yea, instead of Free external harddisk and RM50 cash back banner, i want RM188 cash back and unlimited 5% everyday banner laugh.gif
citibank management, are you reading????
this is the only way to beat everyone else in the industry, no more headache with M2 AMEX

if Maybank management is reading this, time to extend M2 AMEX benefits to your M2 Visa/Master biggrin.gif
TSalexwsk
post Jul 8 2011, 07:30 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(kanethesun @ Jul 8 2011, 05:43 PM)
hey guys, I receive the Super Contest letter from EON Bank & Reader Digest, just want to check is that a scam or a real prize winning?
i'll stay away from RD if i were u
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...9237&sec=nation

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0469sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:12 AM