126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v7

Lester1987
post Jul 13 2011, 11:22 PM

2,017 posts

Just to clarify u guys though on cars and driving license.

Driving license.

A work pass holder can drive their Malaysian car in with their Malaysian license no matter how long u have worked here. But you can only drive a SG registered car with ur Malaysian license for the 1st year.

Bringing in ur foreign vehicle.

You can bring in a foreign vehicle into SG but the car must leave the country 6 hours a day.
that is the written rule. the unwritten rule is your car can stay in SG for 1 week. after 1 week must leave and enter again.
This unwritten rule is like the cigarette thing, so not much ppl know about this. I asked the LTA officer at Woodlands checkpoint before. so i know.
monsta2011
post Jul 13 2011, 11:23 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2011, 11:15 PM)
with a wife and a young kid? cannot lor... rclxub.gif
Ya lor. I misunderstood tongue.gif I thought he said he's not bringing his wife along.
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2011, 11:31 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 13 2011, 11:22 PM)

Driving license.

A work pass holder can drive their Malaysian car in with their Malaysian license no matter how long u have worked here. But you can only drive a SG registered car with ur Malaysian license for the 1st year.

You can bring in a foreign vehicle into SG but the car must leave the country 6 hours a day.
that is the written rule. the unwritten rule is your car can stay in SG for 1 week. after 1 week must leave and enter again.
This unwritten rule is like the cigarette thing, so not much ppl know about this. I asked the LTA officer at Woodlands checkpoint before. so i know.
A work pass holder can drive their Malaysian car in with their Malaysian license no matter how long u have worked here, provided you are NOT a residence of Sg. But you can only drive a SG registered car with ur Malaysian license for the 1st year.

the 'unwritten' rule is the dangerous part. You could never defend yourself in court if you are charge in court since there's no black and white.

Added on July 13, 2011, 11:34 pm
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2011, 11:15 PM)
lucky didnt take that offer lor... would be totally stupid then... my bonus is more than the depreciation... and for this month i am only in sg for the weekends.... lol, so car will just park at the hdb and incur parking fees  doh.gif

no problem, i could always bring it for a spin for you laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 13 2011, 11:39 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 13 2011, 11:40 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 13 2011, 11:22 PM)

Driving license.

even if it is not your car and your residential address is in sg? hmm.gif
jungyu
post Jul 13 2011, 11:42 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(alvin227 @ Jul 13 2011, 09:01 PM)
I was in service, currently in IT. I guess both NUS and NTU MBA are reputable, at least to me.
Do you mean SIM or SMU? I've a chat with my colleague, he did tell me that SMU MBA is kind of renowned, but i just not really sure about it. SIM do offer lots of joint degree as what you mention, got a few ex-colleague taking that undergraduate course , but you're not looking at that right?
I wanna have a break on pure technical stuff, looking forward some managing and analysis skill, enlarge my network circle, gonna be hard for part times.. my colleague already warn me for that.
SMU focus mainly on management right? Is it local uni?
part time is difficult especially when working hour until 6pm...
my ex-colleague studying in SIM and working at changi and classes start at 7pm. He has got to take 1 hour early off 3 times a week blush.gif imagine what will the boss say....
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2011, 11:42 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2011, 11:40 PM)
even if it is not your car and your residential address is in sg?  hmm.gif
cannot. must fully comply with the criteria mentioned earlier.
ivanswk
post Jul 13 2011, 11:56 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Jul 13 2011, 11:42 PM)
my ex-colleague studying in SIM and working at changi and classes start at 7pm. He has got to take 1 hour early off 3 times a week  blush.gif imagine what will the boss say....
can consider private school, here the list of school which is recognized in singapore rclxms.gif
http://www.edupoll.org/content/category/4/16/56/
http://www.edupoll.org/

always motivated seeing people constantly upgrading, my kiasu side also dun want to lose rolleyes.gif

Lester1987
post Jul 14 2011, 12:10 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2011, 11:40 PM)
even if it is not your car and your residential address is in sg?  hmm.gif
my residential address in MOM record shows that I am staying in Bishan (my aunty house), but i am riding my bike in and out daily for 8-9 months d.
LTA definitely have my records, so if they wanna catch, I am in deep shyt d. that's why i say. there are unwritten rules there.
u can say that when bring it to court, u will lose, but that the norm practice that they do at the check point.

I have a colleague that drive his Malaysia car in once in a while also. because he go back Melaka every week, so there was once that he bring his car
into SG for the whole week, no problem as well.

PS : most importantly, you were not guilty unless you are caught.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 14 2011, 12:27 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Jul 13 2011, 11:42 PM)
my ex-colleague studying in SIM and working at changi and classes start at 7pm. He has got to take 1 hour early off 3 times a week  blush.gif imagine what will the boss say....
more on business courses, yes local... surprised me, although not rank well internationally considering it is a new school... its bachelors seems to be highly regarded by local companies... their grads command higher salaries...

wont recommend SIM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 14 2011, 12:10 AM)
my residential address in MOM record shows that I am staying in Bishan (my aunty house), but i am riding my bike in and out daily for 8-9 months d.
LTA definitely have my records, so if they wanna catch, I am in deep shyt d. that's why i say. there are unwritten rules there.
u can say that when bring it to court, u will lose, but that the norm practice that they do at the check point.

I have a colleague that drive his Malaysia car in once in a while also. because he go back Melaka every week, so there was once that he bring his car
into SG for the whole week, no problem as well.

PS : most importantly, you were not guilty unless you are caught.
i am afraid when i drive my supervisor's car which is company issued from msia might end up in an accident and the insurance co. will use this as an excuse not to pay and i will be fined heavily... not a risk i am willing to take
deodorant
post Jul 14 2011, 12:31 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

speaking of mba's and edupoll, just attaching a singapore mba guide by edupoll that i came across somewhere.

just got back from a day trip to KL (by flight). air asia 10pm, touch down in singapore 11, half hour to clear immigration (me quick n easy, but had to wait for gf to queue), 35 minutes queue for taxi ... $15 taxi ride to bedok thanks to midnight surcharge sad.gif

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Free_guide.pdf ( 1.41mb ) Number of downloads: 13
fbjkl
post Jul 14 2011, 12:50 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(I-Kurosaki @ Jul 13 2011, 10:29 PM)
thx for all of your feedbacks guys, this has help to firm up my decision. I will be working in SG alone, while my wife will stay back in KL if the deal falls thru. She wont be alone at home, parents will accompany her. She will live her life like normal, except that I wont be by her side on weekdays, this sucks. But before that, both of us have to sit down and discuss thoroughly.

there r a lot of my guy frens (with their wives/gfs in msia), travel back to msia every week without fail... tongue.gif GAMBATEH, bro!
john_makaay
post Jul 14 2011, 08:58 AM

216 posts

wat's the fresh grad salary for IT field here? 1st class honours degree can make any difference in salary?
deodorant
post Jul 14 2011, 09:08 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

potential illegal talk, don't judge me!

alvin227
post Jul 14 2011, 09:14 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 14 2011, 09:08 AM)

no...it depend, whether you got warning or not. If no, what stopping you?
Lester1987
post Jul 14 2011, 09:16 AM

2,017 posts

I torrent 1 whole year when i was staying in SG previously, on average, 1 month i DL about 60-70GB. but i DL TVB dramas and also some blueray quality movies la.
They say the authority will catch music and anime DL very strict. others they are a but lenient.
seantang
post Jul 14 2011, 09:18 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

They definitely can track your activity if they wanted to. But they generally don't act without a complaint from the copyright owner. Download porn lah. Zero chance that the porn company will make a report and even if they do, the mda won't act.
ivanswk
post Jul 14 2011, 09:21 AM

+J
2,110 posts

how one live without torrent nowaday tongue.gif those TVB drama is the only thing keep my tigress in check
audio book, ebook, comic, movie, save a lot u know icon_idea.gif
singapore cinema is not exactly cheap

cannot imagine myself watching 3D zen in cinema sweat.gif

crazy25kid
post Jul 14 2011, 09:39 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(I-Kurosaki @ Jul 13 2011, 10:29 PM)
thx for all of your feedbacks guys, this has help to firm up my decision. I will be working in SG alone, while my wife will stay back in KL if the deal falls thru. She wont be alone at home, parents will accompany her. She will live her life like normal, except that I wont be by her side on weekdays, this sucks. But before that, both of us have to sit down and discuss thoroughly.

The cost of living for a married couple in SG is too much to bear, especially the rental already set me back at least $1.5k. Plan to bring my car down SG, but its impossible unless I stay in JB, after reading the earlier posts.

Time to brush my nego skills, hehe. Btw, anyone has come across this company, FMC Technologies? How are the working environment and benefits?

OOT, this thread is super active man, only 1 day difference already increase another 4 pages.
Actually, with this, you can definitely bring your wife down.
Cost of living in JB while earning SGD is definitely affordable, just your travel time will be VERY long.
However, there is just one problem, if you do not have relatives in JB.
Imagine you have to rush from SG back to your wife whenever there is an emergency. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
crapp0
post Jul 14 2011, 09:42 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 13 2011, 10:57 AM)
thanks for the advice, reason i interested is because, my forte is marine underwriting not because i want to join  blush.gif old aldi,  i been in my own industry for 14 years,  cry.gif leg to deep already
i observe the marine industries closely for chui sui (academic)  whistling.gif purposes , shipyard, builder, repairer, oil rig ,shipbroker, cargo, port, marine surveyor and etc.  notworthy.gif
Looks like a large majority of people here is in their mid 30's.

Not much in mid 20's eh?
MPIK
post Jul 14 2011, 09:47 AM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 14 2011, 09:39 AM)
Actually, with this, you can definitely bring your wife down.
Cost of living in JB while earning SGD is definitely affordable, just your travel time will be VERY long.
However, there is just one problem, if you do not have relatives in JB.
Imagine you have to rush from SG back to your wife whenever there is an emergency.  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
This is why working in SG sometimes got pros and cons too lo.
I think most biggest setback is need to stay away from your good buddies and family members.
Indeed for me, I need to deferred my marriage for another 2 yrs to 27 just bcos I wanted to work in SG and I rush back to KL every month after work just to have a look at my mum.
I wish I can bring them all to SG one day too if I got myself a property here in the future.

126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:55 PM