4,414 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 8 2011, 04:42 PM)
31 Fund manager 6,192 5,935
^
Fund manager 6k? hmm.gif

46 Business analyst 5,487 5,150
^
This is me! lol.
Wow, fund manager only 6k? Thats rather low.

Project engineer is around 5k++ coming to 6.
crapp0
post Jul 8 2011, 04:49 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 8 2011, 04:47 PM)
thats why they hire malaysian  sweat.gif 
any that range u already consider elite already notworthy.gif
also both also few hundred different only  icon_rolleyes.gif
5k is not elite. 30K plus a month with allowances and benefits, now thats elite.
crapp0
post Jul 9 2011, 08:19 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Jul 9 2011, 03:10 AM)
Can anyone tell me the difference between a utility room and a common room? Sorry it was my first time looking for accomodation in SG and I have totally no idea what they are. Also, what does PUB stand for?
Utility room is actually a store room that has been modified to be regarded as a living space fit for a person. Its usually very small, just think of a utlity room as a little bit larger then your average malaysian toilet or student accomodation in setapak.

Here is a sample pic of well ventilated room, this type is not so common and more "atas" then the usual 4 walls you get.

http://www.olx.com.sg/utility-room-to-rent-iid-55717820

Added on July 9, 2011, 8:30 am
QUOTE(precursor80 @ Jul 9 2011, 08:17 AM)
Cycling.
Pedestrian hates you when you cycle on the pavement and it's illegal too.
Motorist hates you when you cycle on the road.
There are a lot of bicycle thieves.
Singapore is one big haters club.

This for the haters out there http://www.youtube.com/user/EpicMealTime

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jul 9 2011, 08:30 AM
crapp0
post Jul 9 2011, 09:33 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Carlos888 @ Jul 9 2011, 09:28 PM)

Get my Employment pass finally.

Wanna find a room near Sin Ming road, or near Bradell, Toa Payoh, Ang mo kio. Anybody got room to rent?

Or any good website to search for a room?

Thank you thank you
Dont stay at toa payoh, i used to live there and the people there are less then hospitable, especially the landlords.
crapp0
post Jul 9 2011, 11:06 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ianlti @ Jul 9 2011, 10:49 PM)
Having hard time finding a room for a male in Yishun =( the rental is quite high there. anyone stay near that area?
How high is it and what type of room in which location?

I used to stay near the public swimming pool back in 2008, 400 a month inlcuding PUB.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jul 9 2011, 11:07 PM
crapp0
post Jul 9 2011, 11:12 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ianlti @ Jul 9 2011, 11:12 PM)
about 650 with aircon, anyone stay there without aircon?

by the way what is pub?
utility bills, of course it gonna be high with aircon.

They usually hike the price if one wants air con. So be prepared to pay higher.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jul 9 2011, 11:13 PM
crapp0
post Jul 11 2011, 01:51 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 11 2011, 12:39 AM)
hiya, clubbing doesn't mean only alcohol, sometimes nice food (dining) and my addiction of Starbucks ... all adds up average around that figure per month brows.gif
I find starbucks coffee bland and rather tasteless. Would rather french press my own coffee and buy and grind my own coffee beans when i have the time and its way cheaper with way less sugar as well.
crapp0
post Jul 12 2011, 08:43 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 12 2011, 08:08 AM)
wah so many elite in forum notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Added on July 12, 2011, 8:12 am

wah shipbuilder / engineer  ?  notworthy.gif  big business leh  drool.gif
The margins are only good for the top management echelon in those businesses. If your a normal engineer then its not as great as freelancing.

Btw, rig building is a better pay-off then ship building.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jul 12 2011, 08:43 AM
crapp0
post Jul 12 2011, 09:02 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 12 2011, 08:54 AM)
i can draw  drool.gif  ship and airplane  laugh.gif , hahah just joking
so many elite in the forum, "clash of the elites" rclxms.gif
i am secreatly compiling the list of the elite  notworthy.gif

tayhaithian, u also in the marine industry ? shipbuilding ?
Are you in the marine industry?

I was but im now attached to a rig drilling contractor, much more lucrative both pay and experience wise. Instead of being the subi working for the main contractor, i am the main contractor and i dont need to listen to the BS most shipyards used to give me. Especially singaporean yards.
crapp0
post Jul 12 2011, 03:58 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 12 2011, 03:12 PM)
Hi guys,

Just curious la, anyone here earning at least $5,000 a month (basic salary only, excluding allowances, bonus and AWS)?

May I know wat's your profession and industry is if you don't mind to share?
Its not super hard to earn that amount. Just need to see what qualifications and experience you have and in what field.

Theres a business analyst here under the age of 30 who earns around amount.
crapp0
post Jul 12 2011, 04:17 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 12 2011, 04:05 PM)
haha and marine welding inspector who earn at least tripple that amount  biggrin.gif
Depends. Different clients pay different amounts and you also have to see if your in a strong position to demand a high amount.
crapp0
post Jul 13 2011, 10:12 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 12 2011, 04:32 PM)
so the welding course you took is it from here http://www.aws.org/w/a/certification/index.html
need a degree in engineering or not hah ? to start off ?
interesting trade leh  drool.gif , really niche market

that why you mention about doing some safety cert, it does compliment your existing profile

http://www.ehow.com/about_5167557_welding-...ifications.html

safety cert is it this u looking at ? i am guessing only  sweat.gif

http://www.sp.edu.sg/wps/portal/vp-spws/&#...ety+and+health)

or this http://www.nebosh.org.uk/qualifications/di...sp?cref=69&ct=2

thanks  notworthy.gif
No degree or diploma requirements, but you need to prove that you have worked with weldings for a number of years, either as a Non destructive engineer/inspector or as a certified welder.

Btw, i am cswip 3.1 certified, i wont go near AWS anymore since alot of clients have regarded the AWS cert as trash due to the number of blatant cheating carried out at AWS training centers, especially india.

I am currently undertaking Nebosh international diploma in OHS. Singapore WSQ isnt internationally recognized and i firmly do not trust singapores implmentation of safety standards though their procedures maybe sound.

I find their willingness to adhere to international safety standards are not borne out of the desire to better themselves but to show to clients abroad that their compliant with whatever the client request. This mainly happens in shipyards, jurong island chemical plants have a better safety culture compared to shipyards in general.
crapp0
post Jul 13 2011, 10:19 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 13 2011, 10:16 AM)
notworthy.gif thanks for sharing.. learning something new everyday  icon_rolleyes.gif
You working in singapore as?
crapp0
post Jul 13 2011, 10:50 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 13 2011, 10:21 AM)
just a insurance underwriter  cry.gif
You interested in this field? I wouldnt recommend due to personal experience working with the gen y workforce, their rather undisciplined and prefer to work in an air-conditioned environment. I knew a few malaysians and singaporean who worked with me in my previous job and i wouldnt and couldnt get to know them well since they kept on leaving the company after a month or 2 of working in either the shipyard or chemical plant.
crapp0
post Jul 14 2011, 09:42 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 13 2011, 10:57 AM)
thanks for the advice, reason i interested is because, my forte is marine underwriting not because i want to join  blush.gif old aldi,  i been in my own industry for 14 years,  cry.gif leg to deep already
i observe the marine industries closely for chui sui (academic)  whistling.gif purposes , shipyard, builder, repairer, oil rig ,shipbroker, cargo, port, marine surveyor and etc.  notworthy.gif
Looks like a large majority of people here is in their mid 30's.

Not much in mid 20's eh?
crapp0
post Jul 14 2011, 11:13 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(I-Kurosaki @ Jul 13 2011, 10:29 PM)
thx for all of your feedbacks guys, this has help to firm up my decision. I will be working in SG alone, while my wife will stay back in KL if the deal falls thru. She wont be alone at home, parents will accompany her. She will live her life like normal, except that I wont be by her side on weekdays, this sucks. But before that, both of us have to sit down and discuss thoroughly.

The cost of living for a married couple in SG is too much to bear, especially the rental already set me back at least $1.5k. Plan to bring my car down SG, but its impossible unless I stay in JB, after reading the earlier posts.

Time to brush my nego skills, hehe. Btw, anyone has come across this company, FMC Technologies? How are the working environment and benefits?

OOT, this thread is super active man, only 1 day difference already increase another 4 pages.
Yes i have come across FMC and their competitors in the field of subsea manifolds and assemblys. I used to do inspections for a competitor of theirs and a large number of employees of this company are ex-fmc staff.
crapp0
post Jul 14 2011, 12:45 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 14 2011, 11:40 AM)
hi crapp0
can ask where you doing the nebosh diploma in OHS singapore ? the fees ? thanks
Im doing online from here http://www.sheilds.org/.

The course fees are stated in the website.
crapp0
post Jul 14 2011, 04:16 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jul 14 2011, 04:00 PM)
Porn is totally legal here...
This is why the SG gomen did not ban the new URL standard for eg: www.fark.xxx (new .xxx for porn sites in 2012 instead of .com)
Prostitute is oso legal in SG.

But in Malaysia, all are illegal. Malaysia BOLEH
Dont think so, porn sites are banned by the MDA which is under the government.

Added on July 14, 2011, 4:17 pm
QUOTE(animorphs @ Jul 14 2011, 04:09 PM)
Prostitution is legal, how come porn not? tongue.gif

Plus they are showing porn movie in cinema Sex and Zen 3D soon.
A waste of money if you tell me to watch that movie, better to see jennifer aniston in horrible bosses. Now thats hot.

You have to think like a chinaman businessman, you cant earn money from downloadable porn but you certainly can make it by being a pimp.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jul 14 2011, 04:19 PM
crapp0
post Jul 14 2011, 04:21 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(animorphs @ Jul 14 2011, 04:18 PM)
Visiting pornographic websites and viewing their content is not an offence in Singapore, although it is deemed illegal to provide and/or supply any form of pornography from within the country. It is also an offence to be in possession of pornographic material.

Further reading here:
http://www.ifaq.gov.sg/mda/apps/fcd_faqmai...R9U5NIqaw%3d%3d
If that is the case, then why does MDA block those streaming websites since your not downloading the content, only viewing it from that site?
crapp0
post Jul 14 2011, 04:28 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(animorphs @ Jul 14 2011, 04:23 PM)
Beh zhai. Boh chap.
I still can access my streaming sites. I'm viewing it only. Not saving movie onto my PC. wink.gif
The last time i tried i get starhubs mda message. Must be starhubs policy of being a d***.

At least starhubs service is good during black ops.

0.0435sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:21 AM