Working in Singapore v7

wseng
post Jul 13 2011, 06:06 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(toda6866 @ Jul 13 2011, 08:53 AM)
Errr... i thought of it b4 but paiseh la in case u all r young guys im the only uncle here... anybody in the group past 30yrs old?  sweat.gif
ngam ngam 30 here can ar ?? rclxms.gif
haha... wish to join you guys for gathering but job load very busy sad.gif
vincent3
post Jul 13 2011, 06:17 PM

QUOTE(jungyu @ Jul 13 2011, 05:59 PM)
try to land in singapore for 1 week and get a laptop and a sgp no. and put it in you resume/email and make sure check the grammar and do not type YYYYYY in the emails.
haha....sure i wont use broken language when applying jobs. sweat.gif

ya. maybe i will go there and stay for a period.
wseng
post Jul 13 2011, 06:24 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(animorphs @ Jul 13 2011, 02:21 PM)
Guys and gals,

I've a question here. I'm non PR and wish to bring my Malaysian car into Singapore to drive for long term.

Is this possible and how do I go about?
What's the charges like per day?
Do I need a Singaporean Driving License?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
Amos
I have a friend who drives MY car in SG too.. She got car allowance from company so it's a good compensation.
But you need to go out every 14 days... besides paying the daily charge of SGD 30 and also parking coupons as it's not possible to get a season parking in hdb due to malaysian car.

If you are first year EP, you can drive with your Malaysian license for 1 year. after that you need to take the license conversion basic theory test.
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2011, 06:30 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Jul 13 2011, 06:24 PM)
I have a friend who drives MY car in SG too.. She got car allowance from company so it's a good compensation.
But you need to go out every 14 days... besides paying the daily charge of SGD 30 and also parking coupons as it's not possible to get a season parking in hdb due to malaysian car.

If you are first year EP, you can drive with your Malaysian license for 1 year. after that you need to take the license conversion basic theory test.
IIRC WP, S Pass & EP not allow to drive any foreign registered vehicle in Sg if they have a Sg residential address, in other words, you have to stay in JB
hmm.gif .

can you even meet the b & c criteria ?

Any work pass holder, who is neither a Singapore Permanent Resident (SPR) nor a resident of Singapore, may drive a foreign-registered car and motorcycle in Singapore only if ALL these conditions are met:

a) he is the registered owner of the vehicle ;
b) he resides outside Singapore;
c) the vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more everyday ;
d) he has a valid insurance certificate and road tax for the use of the vehicle on Singapore roads ; and
e)the vehicle has an Autopass Card to validate its entry/exit at Woodlands and Tuas checkpoints and for payment of Vehicle Entry Permit/Toll charges.

Please note that a work pass holder who is also a SPR or resident of Singapore is not allowed to drive a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 13 2011, 06:36 PM
wseng
post Jul 13 2011, 06:48 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 13 2011, 06:30 PM)
IIRC WP, S Pass & EP not allow to drive any foreign registered vehicle in Sg if they have a Sg residential address, in other words, you have to stay in JB
hmm.gif  .

Any work pass holder, who is neither a Singapore Permanent Resident (SPR) nor a resident of Singapore, may drive a foreign-registered car and motorcycle in Singapore only if ALL these conditions are met:

c) the vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more everyday ;
d) he has a valid insurance certificate and road tax for the use of the vehicle on Singapore roads ; and
e)the vehicle has an Autopass Card to validate its entry/exit at Woodlands and Tuas checkpoints and for payment of Vehicle Entry Permit/Toll charges.

Please note that a work pass holder who is also a SPR or resident of Singapore is not allowed to drive a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore
I do hear about the 6 hours limitation.. But the fact is that she has been driving here for around 1 year. I believe many know that we need the Autopass card to register the car. And she also has been saman for coming out from Singapore on the 14th day ... She usually goes to Jb to re-fuel... on the 13th day. So this case the LTA at SG customs tahan her and ask her to pay SGD 10 admin fee per day. Nothing more than that. So since this is happening, I am not sure how the 6 hours limit will take effect.

She have been parking the car in HDB daily all the time with parking coupon. No other issues.

I can check more with her if any of u has any further queries on this. And that time when she went out kena saman, I was in her car.. so this is true. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by wseng: Jul 14 2011, 04:29 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 13 2011, 06:49 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jul 13 2011, 03:05 PM)
From an employer perspective, unless yr MBA is from the TOP unis (i.e. Harvard, INSEAD, etc) the rest are just not worth getting (even the local SG ones) You can never hope to get back yr investments if its not from the TOP unis. Might as well spend time working to get more experience and hopefully get more money instead of wasting it.
he didnt mention that he wants to take a mba. anyway getting back investment is just one criteria, some people do it to fulfill their goals, some do it to show off, some do it to meet people, some do it to spend their spare time. it all depends

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 13 2011, 06:30 PM)
hmm.gif  .

whoa, so strict ar. i thought i can drive msian registered car. die, sg also cannot, msian car also cannot. haih, must convert soon.
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2011, 06:55 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Jul 13 2011, 06:48 PM)
I do hear about the 6 hours limitation.. But the fact is that she has been driving here for around 1 year. I believe many know that we need the Autopass card to register the car. And she also has been saman for coming out from Singapore on the 14th day ... She usually goes to Jb to re-fuel... on the 13th day. So this case the LTA at SG customs tahan her and ask her to pay SGD 10 admin fee only. Nothing more than that. So since this is happening, I am not sure how the 6 hours limit will take effect.

She have been parking the car in HDB daily all the time with parking coupon. No other issues.

I can check more with her if any of u has any further queries on this. And that time when she went out kena saman, I was in her car.. so this is true.  icon_rolleyes.gif
we ought to be very careful here. at least know the law. Ignorance of the law is not an excuse. You have 2 separate things here, the LTA regulations and Traffic Police regulations. You can follow her or you can follow the law, it's totally up to individual. I'm just stating facts.

another thing, your statement 'If you are first year EP, you can drive with your Malaysian license for 1 year. after that you need to take the license conversion basic theory test.' is very misleading. Pls know that this statement applies to Singapore registered vehicles.

Added on July 13, 2011, 7:07 pm
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2011, 06:49 PM)
whoa, so strict ar. i thought i can drive msian registered car. die, sg also cannot, msian car also cannot. haih, must convert soon.
bro, can consider your BMW offer now and take me for a spin if you really take it.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 13 2011, 07:07 PM
yiivei
post Jul 13 2011, 08:27 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 13 2011, 06:55 PM)

bro, can consider your BMW offer now and take me for a spin if you really take it.
Walau got BMW offer!!

I got my own BMW too. Bus, MRT and Walking. haha!!
alvin227
post Jul 13 2011, 09:01 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Jul 13 2011, 05:31 PM)
what field are you in? I havent studied local uni info, don't know which course they are renowned with.
I did try to look at SIM as they still quite reputable few years ago with management/business courses, I heard so....and they have degrees from uk/us/aus but fee wise is super high.
I was in service, currently in IT. I guess both NUS and NTU MBA are reputable, at least to me.
Do you mean SIM or SMU? I've a chat with my colleague, he did tell me that SMU MBA is kind of renowned, but i just not really sure about it. SIM do offer lots of joint degree as what you mention, got a few ex-colleague taking that undergraduate course , but you're not looking at that right?
I wanna have a break on pure technical stuff, looking forward some managing and analysis skill, enlarge my network circle, gonna be hard for part times.. my colleague already warn me for that.
yunghui
post Jul 13 2011, 09:14 PM

183 posts

May i know what should i apply in order to work at singapore?
LYR
post Jul 13 2011, 09:25 PM

No one is indispensable
1,866 posts

QUOTE(yunghui @ Jul 13 2011, 09:14 PM)
work pass. you just have to apply for job. once you're offered, your employer will certainly apply for you. they will decide which type of work pass to apply and subject to ministry of manpower's approval.
jae
post Jul 13 2011, 09:33 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Jul 13 2011, 04:47 PM)
The 3 letter firm also paid above 3k already.
Freshies now command at least 3k for their first job already, they can be choosy.
Well then it is either the firms are ripping us off big time, or they are paying substantially different salaries to the A1s (the ones you're referring to vs the ones that I know).

This post has been edited by jae: Jul 13 2011, 09:35 PM
Shinichi
post Jul 13 2011, 10:28 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2011, 01:11 AM)
cashback is good ^^ especially if you're spending for your company... hehehe
Yeah, sometimes I took cab and use CC to pay... tongue.gif
I-Kurosaki
post Jul 13 2011, 10:29 PM

195 posts

thx for all of your feedbacks guys, this has help to firm up my decision. I will be working in SG alone, while my wife will stay back in KL if the deal falls thru. She wont be alone at home, parents will accompany her. She will live her life like normal, except that I wont be by her side on weekdays, this sucks. But before that, both of us have to sit down and discuss thoroughly.

The cost of living for a married couple in SG is too much to bear, especially the rental already set me back at least $1.5k. Plan to bring my car down SG, but its impossible unless I stay in JB, after reading the earlier posts.

Time to brush my nego skills, hehe. Btw, anyone has come across this company, FMC Technologies? How are the working environment and benefits?

OOT, this thread is super active man, only 1 day difference already increase another 4 pages.
monsta2011
post Jul 13 2011, 10:37 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(I-Kurosaki @ Jul 13 2011, 10:29 PM)

The cost of living for a married couple in SG is too much to bear, especially the rental already set me back at least $1.5k.

I think if you just rent a room then it's only around S$400, or 650 (with air cond).
studentportal
post Jul 13 2011, 10:39 PM

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Jul 13 2011, 10:37 PM)
I think if you just rent a room then it's only around S$400, or 650 (with air cond).
At the outskirts maybe? Better locations will require at least 700 - 900 per room.
monsta2011
post Jul 13 2011, 10:47 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(studentportal @ Jul 13 2011, 10:39 PM)
At the outskirts maybe? Better locations will require at least 700 - 900 per room.

Outskirts u mean Jurong West or Up north areas? There are many ads on Gumtree with price range of 300-600 if you know how to use the filter function, locations aint far away from CBD... SG is small anyway.
I-Kurosaki
post Jul 13 2011, 10:57 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Jul 13 2011, 10:47 PM)
Outskirts u mean Jurong West or Up north areas? There are many ads on Gumtree with price range of 300-600 if you know how to use the filter function, locations aint far away from CBD... SG is small anyway.
I was looking at whole unit rental (2 rooms) for a family of 3 ppl (plan to have our first child next year) with working location at Jurong West, so accomodation is around the vicinity. Mind recommend any property-for-rent websites that are useful?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 13 2011, 11:15 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 13 2011, 06:55 PM)
we ought to be very careful here. at least know the law. Ignorance of the law is not an excuse. You have 2 separate things here, the LTA regulations and Traffic Police regulations. You can follow her or you can follow the law, it's totally up to individual. I'm just stating facts.

another thing, your statement 'If you are first year EP, you can drive with your Malaysian license for 1 year. after that you need to take the license conversion basic theory test.' is very misleading. Pls know that this statement applies to Singapore registered vehicles.

Added on July 13, 2011, 7:07 pm

but according to the post previously, msian cars totally not allowed unless you have your residence in msia and also the owner of the vehicle even if it is in the first year? hmm.gif

lucky didnt take that offer lor... would be totally stupid then... my bonus is more than the depreciation... and for this month i am only in sg for the weekends.... lol, so car will just park at the hdb and incur parking fees doh.gif
QUOTE(yunghui @ Jul 13 2011, 09:14 PM)
1st step, apply for a job... 2nd step get the job... 3rd dont need to worry rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 13 2011, 10:28 PM)
Yeah, sometimes I took cab and use CC to pay... tongue.gif
whoa, cab drivers dont like people like you XD i pay cash so can tip shakehead.gif
QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Jul 13 2011, 10:37 PM)
with a wife and a young kid? cannot lor... rclxub.gif
monsta2011
post Jul 13 2011, 11:21 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(I-Kurosaki @ Jul 13 2011, 10:57 PM)
I was looking at whole unit rental (2 rooms) for a family of 3 ppl (plan to have our first child next year) with working location at Jurong West, so accomodation is around the vicinity. Mind recommend any property-for-rent websites that are useful?
I see then you are right about the price. smile.gif

Some of the webbies I know are:
www.flathub.com
www.gumtree.sg
www.propertyguru.com.sg

126 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0334sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:35 PM