7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v7

Mackiddo
post Jul 6 2011, 05:49 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 6 2011, 05:42 PM)
sure, if i dun appear here anymore, then u all prepare more "white gold" to donate me ya..
my bike only 178cc. Modenas Elegan 200 smile.gif, quite new bike la, and i service it regularly. tip top condition, should be no prob.
speed can go around 140-150kph la, but if wanna maintain below redline, then 110-120kph lo.
will your MyVi to me biggrin.gif

Mackiddo
post Jul 9 2011, 02:21 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(mea05key @ Jul 8 2011, 09:28 PM)
Who free to come out to yam cha tmr afternoon? my msn jamesyeoh1985@hotmail.com, preferably near to jurong east.
We just had our buffet dinner gathering at Holiday Inn's Windows on the Park yesterday nite follow by drinking/tcss session at Charlie's Tapas Grill and Bar till 0130hrs.
Glad most of the ppl managed to make it, either for the dinner or drinking session or both, RUBBISH ppl like mackiddo (me), lester1987, aloong, yeahs4.1, toughnut, washabushi + gf, reign226, kockroach, argiope & chrisky. Those who couldn't make it this time, pls keep in touch.

Those who wish to join our next session pls leave your contact, nick, name with either mackiddo, lester1987 or washabushi

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 9 2011, 02:27 AM
Mackiddo
post Jul 10 2011, 07:37 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 10 2011, 06:59 PM)
You can buy $1, $2, $3 or $4 per coupon booklet. $1 and the blue $2 are more common. I always keep 50 cent and $1 coupon in car.
there is no $2 and $3 coupon, at least not anymore. only 50cents, $1 and $4 (night parking)

Added on July 10, 2011, 7:40 pm
QUOTE(Argiope @ Jul 10 2011, 06:14 PM)
Kedai runcit nearby your HDB?
i wonder some new HDB blocks without kedai runcit one how ? can carry into MRT if you get it from other place ?

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 10 2011, 07:40 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 11 2011, 12:28 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(iamdrake @ Jul 10 2011, 08:42 PM)
Hello biggrin.gif

Can anyone list out all the latest expenses costs like:

1) Apartment Rental
2) Electric bill
3) Water bill
4) Food
5) Internet bill - $90
6) Minor Medical bill
7) Clubbing or dinning - $1k
contributing 2 drool.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 11 2011, 12:28 AM
Mackiddo
post Jul 11 2011, 12:39 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Jul 11 2011, 12:32 AM)
Wah Mackiddo you spend so much a month on alcohol, u must be earning a lot.
hiya, clubbing doesn't mean only alcohol, sometimes nice food (dining) and my addiction of Starbucks ... all adds up average around that figure per month brows.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 11 2011, 12:40 AM
Mackiddo
post Jul 11 2011, 06:36 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jul 11 2011, 01:51 PM)
I find starbucks coffee bland and rather tasteless. Would rather french press my own coffee and buy and grind my own coffee beans when i have the time and its way cheaper with way less sugar as well.
nah, i find them nice, same kind of standard all over the world. sometimes it's not bout the place but the ppl and I lazy to wash cup also. Robert Timms comes in second.
Mackiddo
post Jul 12 2011, 02:54 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ray86 @ Jul 11 2011, 11:26 PM)
Err.. correction, my comp card is amex charge card not credit card and no it doesnt have limit(at least no one i know reached it), but the liability is with employee and not the company
what good is a Corporate card when the liability is with employee ? At least mine is not.
Mackiddo
post Jul 12 2011, 11:31 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Jul 12 2011, 10:33 PM)
No, PRs' need not serve NS.
2nd generation PR need to serve NS
Mackiddo
post Jul 12 2011, 11:46 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 12 2011, 03:12 PM)
Hi guys,

Just curious la, anyone here earning at least $5,000 a month (basic salary only, excluding allowances, bonus and AWS)?

May I know wat's your profession and industry is if you don't mind to share?
as if anyone willing to admit. shakehead.gif
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2011, 11:40 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(toda6866 @ Jul 13 2011, 08:53 AM)
Errr... i thought of it b4 but paiseh la in case u all r young guys im the only uncle here... anybody in the group past 30yrs old?  sweat.gif
you are welcome to join us for our gathering. it's a cool group, no age, race and gender discrimination. the oldest in the group currently is me I think, at 28 smile.gif . just drop us a pm and leave your contacts.
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2011, 11:54 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 13 2011, 11:47 AM)
Where are you all going? can i join? i am 28 as well...
we occasionally go for road trips, dinners and drinking/tcss session. at least try to keep in touch once a month and widen our circle of friends in Sg. anyone who is interested can pm me. smile.gif
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2011, 02:30 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(animorphs @ Jul 13 2011, 02:21 PM)
Guys and gals,

I've a question here. I'm non PR and wish to bring my Malaysian car into Singapore to drive for long term.

Is this possible and how do I go about?
What's the charges like per day?
Do I need a Singaporean Driving License?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
Amos
www.LTA.gov.sg

which part you don't understand?

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 13 2011, 02:33 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2011, 02:43 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(animorphs @ Jul 13 2011, 02:38 PM)
Got it now. Apparently my source wasn't reliable. Thanks for sharing. smile.gif
it's really expensive to keep and maintain a Malaysia registered car in sg. sgd30 per weekdays.
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2011, 05:34 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(hornbill_78 @ Jul 13 2011, 05:12 PM)
good to working there got PR no need become malaysian..
how can a Singapore PR not a Malaysian ? maybe you would like to elaborate more on that ?
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2011, 06:30 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Jul 13 2011, 06:24 PM)
I have a friend who drives MY car in SG too.. She got car allowance from company so it's a good compensation.
But you need to go out every 14 days... besides paying the daily charge of SGD 30 and also parking coupons as it's not possible to get a season parking in hdb due to malaysian car.

If you are first year EP, you can drive with your Malaysian license for 1 year. after that you need to take the license conversion basic theory test.
IIRC WP, S Pass & EP not allow to drive any foreign registered vehicle in Sg if they have a Sg residential address, in other words, you have to stay in JB
hmm.gif .

can you even meet the b & c criteria ?

Any work pass holder, who is neither a Singapore Permanent Resident (SPR) nor a resident of Singapore, may drive a foreign-registered car and motorcycle in Singapore only if ALL these conditions are met:

a) he is the registered owner of the vehicle ;
b) he resides outside Singapore;
c) the vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more everyday ;
d) he has a valid insurance certificate and road tax for the use of the vehicle on Singapore roads ; and
e)the vehicle has an Autopass Card to validate its entry/exit at Woodlands and Tuas checkpoints and for payment of Vehicle Entry Permit/Toll charges.

Please note that a work pass holder who is also a SPR or resident of Singapore is not allowed to drive a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 13 2011, 06:36 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2011, 06:55 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Jul 13 2011, 06:48 PM)
I do hear about the 6 hours limitation.. But the fact is that she has been driving here for around 1 year. I believe many know that we need the Autopass card to register the car. And she also has been saman for coming out from Singapore on the 14th day ... She usually goes to Jb to re-fuel... on the 13th day. So this case the LTA at SG customs tahan her and ask her to pay SGD 10 admin fee only. Nothing more than that. So since this is happening, I am not sure how the 6 hours limit will take effect.

She have been parking the car in HDB daily all the time with parking coupon. No other issues.

I can check more with her if any of u has any further queries on this. And that time when she went out kena saman, I was in her car.. so this is true.  icon_rolleyes.gif
we ought to be very careful here. at least know the law. Ignorance of the law is not an excuse. You have 2 separate things here, the LTA regulations and Traffic Police regulations. You can follow her or you can follow the law, it's totally up to individual. I'm just stating facts.

another thing, your statement 'If you are first year EP, you can drive with your Malaysian license for 1 year. after that you need to take the license conversion basic theory test.' is very misleading. Pls know that this statement applies to Singapore registered vehicles.

Added on July 13, 2011, 7:07 pm
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2011, 06:49 PM)
whoa, so strict ar. i thought i can drive msian registered car. die, sg also cannot, msian car also cannot. haih, must convert soon.
bro, can consider your BMW offer now and take me for a spin if you really take it.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 13 2011, 07:07 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2011, 11:31 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 13 2011, 11:22 PM)
Just to clarify u guys though on cars and driving license.

Driving license.

A work pass holder can drive their Malaysian car in with their Malaysian license no matter how long u have worked here. But you can only drive a SG registered car with ur Malaysian license for the 1st year.

Bringing in ur foreign vehicle.

You can bring in a foreign vehicle into SG but the car must leave the country 6 hours a day.
that is the written rule. the unwritten rule is your car can stay in SG for 1 week. after 1 week must leave and enter again.
This unwritten rule is like the cigarette thing, so not much ppl know about this. I asked the LTA officer at Woodlands checkpoint before. so i know.
A work pass holder can drive their Malaysian car in with their Malaysian license no matter how long u have worked here, provided you are NOT a residence of Sg. But you can only drive a SG registered car with ur Malaysian license for the 1st year.

the 'unwritten' rule is the dangerous part. You could never defend yourself in court if you are charge in court since there's no black and white.

Added on July 13, 2011, 11:34 pm
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2011, 11:15 PM)
lucky didnt take that offer lor... would be totally stupid then... my bonus is more than the depreciation... and for this month i am only in sg for the weekends.... lol, so car will just park at the hdb and incur parking fees  doh.gif

no problem, i could always bring it for a spin for you laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 13 2011, 11:39 PM
Mackiddo
post Jul 13 2011, 11:42 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2011, 11:40 PM)
even if it is not your car and your residential address is in sg?  hmm.gif
cannot. must fully comply with the criteria mentioned earlier.
Mackiddo
post Jul 14 2011, 10:41 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 14 2011, 09:39 AM)
Actually, with this, you can definitely bring your wife down.
Cost of living in JB while earning SGD is definitely affordable, just your travel time will be VERY long.
However, there is just one problem, if you do not have relatives in JB.
Imagine you have to rush from SG back to your wife whenever there is an emergency.  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
It all boils down to where is your work place and where you going to stay in JB. If your work place in Jurong and you stay in places like Tmn Pelangi in JB, it's actually nearer that traveling to Sengkang or Punggol. Another factor is the traveling time, shift work timing unlikely to encounter jam at checkpoint but office work might.
Mackiddo
post Jul 14 2011, 11:57 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Stefan_Lam @ Jul 14 2011, 11:50 AM)
Hi, I would like to ask how many percentage gov sg take my salary  as a epf?
I heard ppl say is 20% from your salary and 20% from your boss, is it true?

How abt income tax?any reference link?tqtq
www.mom.gov.sg
www.cpf.gov.sg

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:15 AM