126 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v7

Aloong
post Aug 1 2011, 06:52 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 31 2011, 11:10 PM)

no leh, weekdays there're 3 more ppl... the land lord and her bro.... but weekends i am home alone... ajak girl today to go climb hill also kena ffk  cry.gif  forever alone lor  sweat.gif

my friend also having this one room lock thingie at her condo... 3 rooms, but landlord locks 1... so they rent just 2 rooms... get the whole unit to themselves... sometimes we party there too  thumbup.gif
dun worry, there's always geylang. As long as u pay, they won't ffk (wow it rhymes!!)

how come condo oso nid to lock one room? the owner intend to stay there once a while or something?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 1 2011, 08:18 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ Aug 1 2011, 03:30 AM)
so guys. are you going back to your hometown next week during independence day? or watch ndp?
raya shopping lor if there's any doh.gif
QUOTE(Aloong @ Aug 1 2011, 06:52 AM)
dun worry, there's always geylang. As long as u pay, they won't ffk (wow it rhymes!!)

how come condo oso nid to lock one room? the owner intend to stay there once a while or something?
i dun 1 geylang cry.gif not right for me... unsure.gif

owner bought the place to be the parent's holiday home... but they hardly drop by... my friend is so lucky..
danny_ptlm
post Aug 1 2011, 08:35 AM

!@#$%^&*()_+
161 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jul 31 2011, 05:48 AM)
Sad, this is the problem, my landlord refuse to borrow me her fixed phone line for me to register home broadband, really ridiculous...  sad.gif

So, i can only register for mobile broadband.

Since I like to play dota, watch PPS and stream EPL during weekends, so i want a mobile broadband plan that can perform all these tasks.

Still scratching my head of which telcos to go...
E...Dota kaki... Me and lester also dota leg.. Haha
Lester1987
post Aug 1 2011, 09:52 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(danny_ptlm @ Aug 1 2011, 08:35 AM)
E...Dota kaki... Me and lester also dota leg.. Haha
ehy Danny, that day i play with u in UC pro?? ur nick is Eddie001??

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Aug 1 2011, 09:52 AM
ivanswk
post Aug 1 2011, 09:59 AM

+J
2,110 posts

6.52 so early, aloong ?

the condo lock one room cause, heheh, u din watch Sliver before brows.gif

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0108162/

danny_ptlm
post Aug 1 2011, 10:20 AM

!@#$%^&*()_+
161 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 31 2011, 07:52 PM)
ehy Danny, that day i play with u in UC pro?? ur nick is Eddie001??
Aiyayyaya...

U said wan to come to my home fix de UC pro...till now also haven't see your shadow..

Still unable to connect to it. Stick with GG instead..

My nick at GG - 2-sux

Added on August 1, 2011, 10:24 am
QUOTE(venicelim @ Jul 31 2011, 03:22 AM)
Nope. I didnt apply other company at the same time.
first application 11/7 - rejected
first appeal 18/7 - however, till now, the MOM website status still remain at 11/7 reject status. no update on the 18/7
meaning the application date is still put there 11/7,
how come the HR personnel can tell me that the appeal is rejected?
Bcz MOM send another email to them? Or how?
I thought I should be able to see the status update in MOM website myself too at the same time, even for appeal right?
rclxub.gif
I still wonder why the HR personnel said appeal rejected while i cant see the application status update of 18/7 on the MOM website.

Added on July 31, 2011, 5:24 pm

really?
MOM dont reveal the reason even to the employer?
cz the hr personnel emailed me and in email she told me that
"The appeal for your training employment pass is rejected.
The reason – The prospective employee does not meet their criteria for approval."

Honestly, this is a common reason that MOM give when the application Failed.
Plus we really can't get the exact reason behind.

Try your luck with other company.

Good luck thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by danny_ptlm: Aug 1 2011, 10:25 AM
Walaoeh!
post Aug 1 2011, 11:31 AM

304 posts

really? geyland girl can ajak go climb hill?? laugh.gif

Added on August 1, 2011, 11:35 am
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jul 31 2011, 11:56 PM)
R u using MI mobile broadband or fixed home braodband?
using M1 mobile broadband 2Mb, max speed around 180KB/s biggrin.gif

i tried torrent with my iPhone M1 package (personal hotspot) even faster, goes up to 600KB/s (near 5Mb/s) drool.gif

Added on August 1, 2011, 11:38 am
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 31 2011, 11:45 PM)
my starhub ... the other day i torrent at like 1.5MB/second leh.

@jurlique mobile broadband a bit tricky also, my singtel 3G (using iphone), when inside my hdb unit the signal is almost useless, can hardly access internet at all (although i'm 5mins walk from bedok town centre).
perhaps depends on location?
if use starhub in CBD area then very fast, 2Mb/s package can goes up to 3Mb/s..
but at the place where i stay, speed is disappointing..

This post has been edited by Walaoeh!: Aug 1 2011, 11:38 AM
crapp0
post Aug 1 2011, 12:55 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ Aug 1 2011, 03:30 AM)
so guys. are you going back to your hometown next week during independence day? or watch ndp?
I planned to go back to hometown but i had to scrap that since i will be going to australia for an emergency inspection audit. Damn sucky timing.
deodorant
post Aug 1 2011, 01:49 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Taken from /k/ http://www.financetwitter.com/2011/06/top-...llionaires.html

No. 1 on the Chart: Singapore
Millionaire households as a share of country’s total households: 15.5%

So almost 1 in 6 households in SG are millionaires. Since there's like at least 20 of us in this thread, by the stats we should have 2 or 3 millionaires, faster identify yourself!
Mackiddo
post Aug 1 2011, 01:56 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 1 2011, 01:49 PM)
So almost 1 in 6 households in SG are millionaires. Since there's like at least 20 of us in this thread, by the stats we should have 2 or 3 millionaires, faster identify yourself!
Alaskanbunny confirmed 1 of them. 2nd is Lester1987 coz he always tell ppl he live like king in JB. 3rd is mercury8400 coz he always have negative remarks on work permit holders like me and washabushi.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 1 2011, 02:03 PM
Tigerr
post Aug 1 2011, 02:29 PM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 1 2011, 01:56 PM)
Alaskanbunny confirmed 1 of them. 2nd is Lester1987 coz he always tell ppl he live like king in JB. 3rd is mercury8400 coz he always have negative remarks on work permit holders like me and washabushi.
I am one of them if you use Rupiah to count. tongue.gif
danny_ptlm
post Aug 1 2011, 02:33 PM

!@#$%^&*()_+
161 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jul 31 2011, 10:55 PM)
I planned to go back to hometown but i had to scrap that since i will be going to australia for an emergency inspection audit. Damn sucky timing.
I'm on my way.. wait for me.. flex.gif flex.gif
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Aug 1 2011, 02:45 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Just checking, some of my friends have landlords in SG that
a) Don't let guests stay over
b) Girls only (no boys allowed)

Are such practices normal? I personally will want to be able to accommodate my friends / gf when they come over, so.. just wondering, other than asking up front and hoping they keep their promises, how do we get the house rules established / fixed so the houseowners dont simply change the terms.
crazy25kid
post Aug 1 2011, 02:57 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Aug 1 2011, 02:45 PM)

Are such practices normal? I personally will want to be able to accommodate my friends / gf when they come over, so.. just wondering, other than asking up front and hoping they keep their promises, how do we get the house rules established / fixed so the houseowners dont simply change the terms.
It is their house, so they have the rights to set the rules.
If you have such a request...PLEASE inform the owner before hand on such requests and decide whether u can live with their decision or not.
This is more towards mutual trust and whether you take their word or not.
They can go against what they said earlier if they think you are doing it a bit too often or something ticked them off.
crapp0
post Aug 1 2011, 03:07 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Aug 1 2011, 01:56 PM)
Nah, the third wheel just attended the Dr House school of being a d1ck.

You cant since its the prerogative of the landlord. Even if you have an agreement in black & white in regards to house rules. Its not legally binding so you have to take the landlords house rules in verbal form and it depends on the landlords character, if that person is nice then good for you but or more often then not, their a bunch of inflexible mofos.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Aug 1 2011, 03:08 PM
r1v3r
post Aug 1 2011, 03:14 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 1 2011, 01:49 PM)
Wish me luck, I'll let you know if I am one of them after 7pm today.

seantang
post Aug 1 2011, 03:25 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Aug 1 2011, 02:45 PM)

Most landlords have this rule if they are also living in the house. Especially if their family is also staying there.

IMHO, it's understandable. If I were the landlord, I wouldn't want to have strangers (ie. non-tenants or best case, non-regular visitors) having a free run of my house, using my stuff, contaminating my fridge, washing machine, utensils etc. One week, it's this friend. Next week, it's that friend... for instance. And if something is broken or stolen/lost, who's going to blame whom?

I rented 3 rooms in one year when I was in college. 2 out of 3 were okay with me bringing back a gf and she stays over, but had to make sure she doesn't walk around in the middle of the night in her underwear or something (or nothing) etc. All were okay to have my parents stay a night or two if they visited. But none would let me bring back friends to hangout, definitely not overnight.

This post has been edited by seantang: Aug 1 2011, 03:32 PM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Aug 1 2011, 03:28 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Aug 1 2011, 02:57 PM)
It is their house, so they have the rights to set the rules.
If you have such a request...PLEASE inform the owner before hand on such requests and decide whether u can live with their decision or not.
This is more towards mutual trust and whether you take their word or not.
They can go against what they said earlier if they think you are doing it a bit too often or something ticked them off.
Hmmm, definitely won't be often, but I'm just trying to avoid a situation where the landlord is pushing you around despite paying rent and all.

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Aug 1 2011, 03:07 PM)
Nah, the third wheel just attended the Dr House school of being a d1ck.
You cant since its the prerogative of the landlord. Even if you have an agreement in black & white in regards to house rules. Its not legally binding so you have to take the landlords house rules in verbal form and it depends on the landlords character, if that person is nice then good for you but or more often then not, their a bunch of inflexible mofos.
So generally speaking, singaporean landlords are arses? Man.

Added on August 1, 2011, 3:30 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 1 2011, 03:25 PM)
Most landlords have this rule if they are also living in the house. Especially if their family is also staying there.

IMHO, it's understandable. If I were the landlord, I wouldn't want to have strangers (ie. non-tenants or best case, non-regular visitors) having a free run of my house, using my stuff, contaminating my fridge, washing machine, utensils etc. One week, it's this friend. Next week, it's that friend... for instance. And if something is broken or stolen/lost, who's going to blame whom?

I rented 3 rooms in one year when I was in college. 2 out of 3 were okay with me bringing back a gf and she stays over, but had to make sure she doesn't walk around in the middle of the night in her underwear or something (or nothing) etc. All were okay when to have my parents stay a night or two if they visited. But none would let me bring back friends to hangout, definitely not overnight.
Yeah that does put things into perspective. I guess the best way to avoid the whole complication is to get an entire unit to yourself, eh?

This post has been edited by ThanatosSwiftfire: Aug 1 2011, 03:30 PM
Aloong
post Aug 1 2011, 03:31 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Aug 1 2011, 09:59 AM)
6.52 so early, aloong ?

the condo lock one room cause, heheh, u din watch Sliver before  brows.gif

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0108162/
I'm an early person.
Didn't know got such movie, but noticed the basic instinct star is there.
xyyz
post Aug 1 2011, 03:34 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Jul 31 2011, 05:22 PM)
Nope. I didnt apply other company at the same time.
first application 11/7 - rejected
first appeal 18/7 - however, till now, the MOM website status still remain at 11/7 reject status. no update on the 18/7
meaning the application date is still put there 11/7,
how come the HR personnel can tell me that the appeal is rejected?
Bcz MOM send another email to them? Or how?
I thought I should be able to see the status update in MOM website myself too at the same time, even for appeal right?
rclxub.gif
I still wonder why the HR personnel said appeal rejected while i cant see the application status update of 18/7 on the MOM website.

Added on July 31, 2011, 5:24 pm

really?
MOM dont reveal the reason even to the employer?
cz the hr personnel emailed me and in email she told me that
"The appeal for your training employment pass is rejected.
Venice, I can feel your pain and frustration too sad.gif
My application is on 13/7 - rejected
First appeal 22/7 - no update.
I just check with the HR and she mentioned there's no update from MOM yet and in my application status the application date is still remain as 13/7.
My gf's application went tru within 3 days of submission, may be it is because her hiring company is a US MNC with good reputation while mine is a china MNC.
now i'm so worry, eat, sleep or shit also feel uneasy, so torturing,

126 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:51 PM