Working in Singapore v7

SUSMaterazzi
post Jul 30 2011, 05:59 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jul 29 2011, 12:37 PM)
When i first came to singapore, i rented with an older single lady, a divorcee mind you and i quickly found out why she became a divorcee and why she constantly blames her husband for her failed marriage. Plus she's the religious type.

So i too would suggest that the last option is to rent from a single older lady. Gay's i;ve found are very accommodating as a landlord. So long as you tell them your straight as an arrow.
I prefer single old lady than the unstable college students.

Added on July 30, 2011, 6:11 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 29 2011, 05:57 PM)
When I was in college, I rented a room from an old lady and her spinster daughter. Suffice it to say, there was very little privacy and I rarely got to do what I wanted.

After that, I have never lived with a landlord/landlady ever again. If I had to work harder, take a night job at 7-11... whatever, I made sure I always rented my own place. Right now, I smell like foreign workers from the MRT, sprawled on my couch, surfing, watching TV, 3 fans on, not wearing any pants... and no one can stop me ;p
are you in a studio meh, no housemate?

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jul 30 2011, 06:11 PM
tayhaithian
post Jul 30 2011, 06:38 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Jul 30 2011, 03:42 PM)
For my ocbc passbook savings account, I had to present to them my passport, EP card, tenancy agreement (to verify mailing address) and S$500 (minimum account opening balance).
What if I dun have tenancy agreement ? (Since I dun need billing statement tho)
seantang
post Jul 30 2011, 07:18 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jul 30 2011, 05:59 PM)
are you in a studio meh, no housemate?
I'm in a 3 room HDB. No housemates.

SUSMaterazzi
post Jul 30 2011, 09:23 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 30 2011, 07:18 PM)
rich guy spotted. and you why don't you rent it to someone? you can get 1k more lol..
you are not frugal, not thinking of financial independence?
seantang
post Jul 30 2011, 09:37 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jul 30 2011, 09:23 PM)
rich guy spotted. and you why don't you rent it to someone? you can get 1k more lol..
Why don't you walk to work instead of taking transport or share your room with someone (or more)? You can save hundreds more.

You are not frugal. Not thinking of financial independence?

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 30 2011, 09:37 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jul 30 2011, 10:48 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 30 2011, 09:37 PM)
Why don't you walk to work instead of taking transport or share your room with someone (or more)? You can save hundreds more.

You are not frugal. Not thinking of financial independence?
why do you ask me back?
My office is in the industrial area, don't have a place to live. You will see Tuas and Kranji does not have HDBs there.
If I have to live near my office, it will be 20 mins and I need a car to drive, no transport there in rural area.
Share room with someone is not comfortable,share a unit is still ok.. Now, I will look for the cheaper housing rental.
Btw, which one is more important for you, TIME or MONEY?

I need to follow you become a single forever alone so I can save more money and living comfortably alone in the big place

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jul 30 2011, 10:50 PM
Lester1987
post Jul 30 2011, 11:05 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jul 30 2011, 10:48 PM)
why do you ask me back?
My office is in the industrial area, don't have a place to live. You will see Tuas and Kranji does not have HDBs there.
If I have to live near my office, it will be 20 mins and I need a car to drive, no transport there in rural area.
Share room with someone is not comfortable,share a unit is still ok.. Now, I will look for the cheaper housing rental.

I need to follow you become a single forever alone so I can save more money and living comfortably alone in the big place
for me, its money, so i stayed in JB. can enjoy more $$. coz even stay in SG, extra time nothing do also. cannot work part time coz not PR.
SUSMaterazzi
post Jul 30 2011, 11:20 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 30 2011, 11:05 PM)
for me, its money, so i stayed in JB. can enjoy more $$. coz even stay in SG, extra time nothing do also. cannot work part time coz not PR.
how cheap to live in JB? you stay with parents or rent? not tired ah?
seantang
post Jul 30 2011, 11:24 PM

6,624 posts

why do you ask me back?
Why not? Quit pro quo.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
My office is in the industrial area, don't have a place to live. You will see Tuas and Kranji does not have HDBs there. If I have to live near my office, it will be 20 mins and I need a car to drive, no transport there in rural area. Share room with someone is not comfortable,share a unit is still ok.. Now, I will look for the cheaper housing rental.
See... you have your reasons. And I have mine... which is I don't like to share anything. No need for you to clever-clever volunteer reasons for me, like I'm not frugal or not thinking of financial independence etc.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
Both are important and they are not mutually exclusive.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 30 2011, 11:25 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 30 2011, 11:27 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 30 2011, 07:18 PM)
not sad meh?... i am in a 5 room hdb and i feel lonely at times... all alone cry.gif

neway.... anybody wanna go climb bukit timah 2molo? 8 am...
tayhaithian
post Jul 30 2011, 11:29 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 30 2011, 11:27 PM)
not sad meh?... i am in a 5 room hdb and i feel lonely at times... all alone  cry.gif

neway.... anybody wanna go climb bukit timah 2molo? 8 am...
Bro, where do you stay with 5 rooms ? @@''
seantang
post Jul 30 2011, 11:32 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 30 2011, 11:27 PM)
not sad meh?... i am in a 5 room hdb and i feel lonely at times... all alone  cry.gif
I said no housemates. Never said I don't have visitors staying over whom I do not collect rental from. It's a bachelor pad.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 30 2011, 11:34 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 30 2011, 11:33 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jul 30 2011, 11:29 PM)
Bro, where do you stay with 5 rooms ? @@''
yew tee rclxms.gif nearby makiddo... lol doh.gif

its actually 3 br la... big living hall, 1 emergency room....

every weekend forever alone cry.gif

Added on July 30, 2011, 11:34 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 30 2011, 11:32 PM)
I said no housemates. Never said I don't visitors staying over whom I do not collect rental from.
female visitors? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by alaskanbunny: Jul 30 2011, 11:34 PM
seantang
post Jul 30 2011, 11:36 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 30 2011, 11:33 PM)
female visitors?
I like people who help me clean up, not make it messier. That should answer your question tongue.gif
SUSMaterazzi
post Jul 30 2011, 11:44 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 30 2011, 11:24 PM)
Why not? Quit pro quo.

Both are important and they are not mutually exclusive.
why don't you buy a studio or 2BR? it's cheaper to pay the maintenance too.
So are you introvert person? How if your neighbour play music loud?
r1v3r
post Jul 30 2011, 11:46 PM

1,305 posts

Went to a MPH in JB. I was surprise to see anti Singapore books, a pro south thai separation book and a whole sections of pro the particular race books place on prominent spot. The worker wear red shirt, I wonder did I accidentally step into a political office.

Don't think I will go there to hunt for good books again.

seantang
post Jul 30 2011, 11:54 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jul 30 2011, 11:44 PM)
why don't you buy a studio or 2BR? it's cheaper to pay the maintenance too.
I'll buy when I'm ready. I can wait.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
So are you introvert person?
Why am I introverted? I just don't like living with strangers. I have no need to.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
How if your neighbour play music loud?
He can do whatever he wants as long as it's within the law.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 31 2011, 12:21 AM
SUSkockroach
post Jul 31 2011, 12:06 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

why do you ask me back?

Let me summarize for you

"I have not reach your income level, so I can't imagine how I will live my life if I reach your level"
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 31 2011, 12:20 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 30 2011, 11:46 PM)
Went to a MPH in JB. I was surprise to see anti Singapore books, a pro south thai separation book and a whole sections of pro the particular race books place on prominent spot. The worker wear red shirt, I wonder did I accidentally step into a political office.

Don't think I will go there to hunt for good books again.
i think u went into 1marehsia bookstore icon_idea.gif
deodorant
post Jul 31 2011, 12:20 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jul 30 2011, 11:15 AM)
okay i guess the requirement for IPA to rent a room is depend
on the landlord/agent
not the Singapore renting law itself

officially, landlords need to get hdb approval to rent out their hdb flats. and hdb will not approve if the tenant has no 'status.' for example if the tenant is on a visitor pass, how can he/she possibly sign a 1-year lease (cos within 30/60 days he/she gotta ciao liao).

my lease, actually signed 2 ppl lease from landlord (me+other). hdb in the end approved only me, cos I had IPA/EP, the 'other' at the time only visitor pass. so the agents had to re-do the lease and me + landlord had to re-sign.

Added on July 31, 2011, 12:24 am
QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jul 30 2011, 09:23 PM)

it's not always about the money mang. when i was searching for a place i thought quite long about renting a whole unit vs renting a room, in the end based on my privacy preferences, and since i can afford, so i rather spend extra to get an entire unit than to have to share with strangers.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jul 31 2011, 12:24 AM

126 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:16 AM