QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 5 2012, 04:47 AM)
Is that nexen tyre? how long your mileage ?
New Toyota Camry 2012, is Really coming now!
Dec 5 2012, 11:10 AM
143 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Dec 5 2012, 11:13 AM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(IluvProton @ Dec 5 2012, 11:10 AM) Is that nexen tyre? Yes Nexen so im not sure if its a tyre defect. Mileage now about 25,000.how long your mileage ? |
Dec 5 2012, 11:14 AM
741 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Kuala Lumpur |
I suspect also his car tire had worned out, since he claim he travel long distance daily.
In that situation, thank god the ESC is working as it should be and averted a serious accident. |
Dec 5 2012, 11:40 AM
Dec 5 2012, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(lcy851031 @ Dec 5 2012, 11:14 AM) I suspect also his car tire had worned out, since he claim he travel long distance daily. Only covered 25,000km la. Car bought 7 months ago only. Tyres are fine. I just did my rotation, allignment and balancing last week also. Im very particular about tyre condition as i drive alot. But yes the ESC was really good.In that situation, thank god the ESC is working as it should be and averted a serious accident. Added on December 5, 2012, 12:56 pm QUOTE(IluvProton @ Dec 5 2012, 11:40 AM) if not mistaken you using the car for almost 1 year? I didnt hit anything. Im quite careful when going into potholes, rough road and avoiding debris on the highway. Im quite sure i didnt hit anything. But then again ive never heard of Nexen tyres before this as well.tyre either got problem or you hit something hard. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 5 2012, 12:58 PM |
Dec 5 2012, 01:23 PM
512 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(kimusu2002 @ Dec 5 2012, 09:17 AM) mechanical failure, rear tyres blewout, K5 doesn't sound so good (in fact it isn't in the first place) afterall..... My wife's old Honda city tires also blew out before. I don't think tires blowing out has anything to do with the mechanics of the car.btw, just saw a white K5 stalling along lok yew road with hazard lights on, the kimchi fans still feel so good about their cars ??!!!! |
Dec 5 2012, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 5 2012, 07:54 AM) Only covered 25,000km la. Car bought 7 months ago only. Tyres are fine. I just did my rotation, allignment and balancing last week also. Im very particular about tyre condition as i drive alot. But yes the ESC was really good. glad to heard you are safe. Added on December 5, 2012, 12:56 pm I didnt hit anything. Im quite careful when going into potholes, rough road and avoiding debris on the highway. Im quite sure i didnt hit anything. But then again ive never heard of Nexen tyres before this as well. |
Dec 5 2012, 01:29 PM
1,475 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Paradise |
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 5 2012, 12:54 PM) Only covered 25,000km la. Car bought 7 months ago only. Tyres are fine. I just did my rotation, allignment and balancing last week also. Im very particular about tyre condition as i drive alot. But yes the ESC was really good. maybe your tyre bengkak somewhere and you didnt noticeAdded on December 5, 2012, 12:56 pm I didnt hit anything. Im quite careful when going into potholes, rough road and avoiding debris on the highway. Im quite sure i didnt hit anything. But then again ive never heard of Nexen tyres before this as well. nexen quite easy to get bengkak when im reading for review last time |
Dec 5 2012, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 5 2012, 08:41 AM) Its pointless explaining to him. Despite all our efforts, its obvious that he does not see the importance of the VSC system. He chooses to use a breakdown of a K5 (which could be a mechanical failure or even something as common as running out of fuel) as an excuse to show that his Camry could 'avoid' despite not having VSC. Its clear that he has not bothered to read up on VSC and how the system works. Thus talking to him is pointless as ure basically dealing with a person who isnt bothered about changing his mindset. Pity. It's not the VSC that makes me pissed. It just doesn't even make sense to pay RM184k for a car that is almost stripped bare bones on essential safety and convenience features. Even more baffling are people actually willing to pay 160k of their hard-earned money for a completely barebones 2.0G car when better options such as the Passat and 508 are available for almost the same amount of money and those Camry owners are all W or B plates. But i wanna share this experience of mine which just happened about 2.5hrs ago. I was driving from KL to Ipoh at about 150kmph and suddenly my rear tyre blew out. This wasnt a gradual loss of air. It was a total immediate blowout. My tire was torn 90% along the rim. I was in the midst of overtaking a trailer just before Gopeng (2 lanes) when it happened. I thought i was about to slam into the guardrail but luckily in a split second the Stability Control engaged and i was able to manoeuvre to safety. There was really no space for me to do a counter steer due to the close proximity of the trailer so im really lucky the stability control system engaged in time. This is my first experience with the system and i must say it worked perfectly. The only justification I can think of buying a Camry right now is for those people who stay in an area where there's no VW/Peugeot/Mazda/Ford 3S center near them (within 40 mins travel time), otherwise... why? This post has been edited by zweimmk: Dec 5 2012, 01:51 PM |
Dec 5 2012, 01:51 PM
17,566 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: FFK Division - Klang |
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 5 2012, 01:50 PM) It's not the VSC that makes me pissed. It just doesn't even make sense to pay RM184k for a car that is almost stripped bare bones on essential safety and convenience features. Even more baffling are people actually willing to pay 160k of their hard-earned money for a completely barebones 2.0G car when better options such as the Passat and 508 are available for almost the same amount of money and those Camry owners are all W or B plates. because of thisThe only justification I can think of buying a Camry right now is for those people who stay in an area where there's no VW/Peugeot/Mazda/Ford 3S center near them (within 40 mins travel time), otherwise... why? ![]() slap this thing onto a Pug 508 and watch the sale figure double or triple in no time.. |
Dec 5 2012, 02:22 PM
44 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Dec 5 2012, 03:16 PM
62 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
http://www.livelifedrive.com/malaysia/new-...en-passat-sedan http://www.livelifedrive.com/malaysia/new-...optima-k5-sedan http://www.livelifedrive.com/malaysia/new-...ota-camry-sedan This post has been edited by kepalapening: Dec 5 2012, 03:18 PM |
Dec 5 2012, 04:02 PM
544 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Hm. But quality and reliability the Camry is very bad? Running costs too? I thought that's what the car is good for? In any case just a bit more comfort... if comfort is so important, there is only one choice. Citroen C5.
Dec 5 2012, 04:30 PM
304 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
QUOTE(kepalapening @ Dec 4 2012, 02:18 PM) Now clocked at 10K++ km. As usual , korean car unreliable. Uninspiring[attachmentid=3188400] BTW, last Saturday I saw a new shiny K5 (AJA xxxx) stopped in the middle of the road (east-west highway), after a sharp corner, on top of the mountain with hazard light switched on. Breakdown maybe? Luckily, even though my XV50 was not equipped with whatever special gadget that, that K5 have, it was able to dodged that K5. QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 5 2012, 08:41 AM) Its pointless explaining to him. Despite all our efforts, its obvious that he does not see the importance of the VSC system. He chooses to use a breakdown of a K5 (which could be a mechanical failure or even something as common as running out of fuel) as an excuse to show that his Camry could 'avoid' despite not having VSC. Its clear that he has not bothered to read up on VSC and how the system works. Thus talking to him is pointless as ure basically dealing with a person who isnt bothered about changing his mindset. Pity. I have a high suspicion you were using nexen8000 tyres from korea? Those tyres are damn hopeless and unreliable..i never trust anything from korea and never will..not even samsung..But i wanna share this experience of mine which just happened about 2.5hrs ago. I was driving from KL to Ipoh at about 150kmph and suddenly my rear tyre blew out. This wasnt a gradual loss of air. It was a total immediate blowout. My tire was torn 90% along the rim. I was in the midst of overtaking a trailer just before Gopeng (2 lanes) when it happened. I thought i was about to slam into the guardrail but luckily in a split second the Stability Control engaged and i was able to manoeuvre to safety. There was really no space for me to do a counter steer due to the close proximity of the trailer so im really lucky the stability control system engaged in time. This is my first experience with the system and i must say it worked perfectly. Added on December 5, 2012, 4:44 pm QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 5 2012, 01:50 PM) It's not the VSC that makes me pissed. It just doesn't even make sense to pay RM184k for a car that is almost stripped bare bones on essential safety and convenience features. Even more baffling are people actually willing to pay 160k of their hard-earned money for a completely barebones 2.0G car when better options such as the Passat and 508 are available for almost the same amount of money and those Camry owners are all W or B plates. Let me guide you on why this is happening. Firstly let me inform you that I have 2 VW cars at home. A golf gti and a polo tsi. Lets put things straight, vw , peugeot , hyundai and kia nowadays give very good warrantys and specs ,5 years warranty,, blablabla. But have you ever claimed warranty from them? Do you know how difficult it is to claim warranty? The only justification I can think of buying a Camry right now is for those people who stay in an area where there's no VW/Peugeot/Mazda/Ford 3S center near them (within 40 mins travel time), otherwise... why? Its not as simple as bringing your car in to VW SC and wahlah, they change the parts for u on the spot. First they check , then if spare part is not available, you hv to wait! My previous eos 2.0 had to wait 2 months for the stupid ECU board cuz of their inefficiency. VW , peugeot, ford parts are all damn blardy expensive and difficult to get if they dont have stock. Yes they give warranty, but its a waste of time, money, and effort just to claim warranty. On the other hand, japanese cars have an abundant of spare parts. Easy to maintain and easy to claim warranty. You people keep harping on specifications of the camry . Low specs lah, expensive lah, but the thing is people still buy! Its because its such an easy car to maintain. And you wouldnt give a rats arse anymore about the so called specs when you have owned a toyota. Its such an easy car to own and maintain. Sometimes, you dont even hv to mk an appointment . Just walk in to the SC. I go to vw, every single day i want to service is full and i have to book 2-3 weeks in advance! Pls understand the story and understand the fact that not everyone is so particular about those minor specification differences. Its about a total ownership experience! This post has been edited by Mamapapamsia: Dec 5 2012, 04:44 PM |
Dec 5 2012, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(kepalapening @ Dec 5 2012, 03:16 PM) Well even though this makes the K5 look really good, but im not very sure about certain criteria like handling & performance. I think the VW would be better here for sure.Added on December 5, 2012, 5:48 pm QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Dec 5 2012, 04:30 PM) I have a high suspicion you were using nexen8000 tyres from korea? Those tyres are damn hopeless and unreliable..i never trust anything from korea and never will..not even samsung.. The tyres are stock Nexen CP643a 225-45-R18 95V. And yes i too dont quite like the Nexen tyres especially after using Michelin for a number of years. But in saying that its road grip (both wet & dry) is quite acceptable. But its a darn noisy tyre.Added on December 5, 2012, 5:50 pm QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Dec 5 2012, 04:30 PM) As usual , korean car unreliable. Uninspiring Haha! See 1 Optima break down for reasons unknown to anybody here and ppl start saying Korean unreliable. But 2 Camry's on fire (1 beside Kesas) a few months back in KL and nobody questions quality or reliability. Im sure soon ull see some ppl on LYN claiming they saw a K5 by the roadside at 6.45am this morning before Gopeng exit and also saying that Korean not realiable, bla bla bla. How ironic. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 5 2012, 05:52 PM |
Dec 6 2012, 07:42 AM
QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Dec 5 2012, 04:30 PM) Let me guide you on why this is happening. Firstly let me inform you that I have 2 VW cars at home. A golf gti and a polo tsi. Lets put things straight, vw , peugeot , hyundai and kia nowadays give very good warrantys and specs ,5 years warranty,, blablabla. But have you ever claimed warranty from them? Do you know how difficult it is to claim warranty? I've actually owned 2 previous Toyota and is also very experienced with the previous generation Camry servicing. Yes, I agree. It is really very easy when you own a Toyota, all 3 cars are very fuss free and problem free. I've never really had any major problems with those cars during the years of owning those cars. Whatever problems I had were rectified very quickly and professionally so kudos to the Toyota service team. Servicing, yes, it was also very easy as well but I've never had any success walking in and always had to make my appointment at least a week in advance if I wanted to get the date that I needed to service my car. All in all, the ownership experience was very positive, this I can vouch from personal experience.Its not as simple as bringing your car in to VW SC and wahlah, they change the parts for u on the spot. First they check , then if spare part is not available, you hv to wait! My previous eos 2.0 had to wait 2 months for the stupid ECU board cuz of their inefficiency. VW , peugeot, ford parts are all damn blardy expensive and difficult to get if they dont have stock. Yes they give warranty, but its a waste of time, money, and effort just to claim warranty. On the other hand, japanese cars have an abundant of spare parts. Easy to maintain and easy to claim warranty. You people keep harping on specifications of the camry . Low specs lah, expensive lah, but the thing is people still buy! Its because its such an easy car to maintain. And you wouldnt give a rats arse anymore about the so called specs when you have owned a toyota. Its such an easy car to own and maintain. Sometimes, you dont even hv to mk an appointment . Just walk in to the SC. I go to vw, every single day i want to service is full and i have to book 2-3 weeks in advance! Pls understand the story and understand the fact that not everyone is so particular about those minor specification differences. Its about a total ownership experience! As for the VW, our family actually have a 2010 Polo TSI, my current Passat and a 2010 Audi Q5. All of which share the same VW engine and uses DSG double clutch gearbox. I'm sorry you had a poor ownership experience with VW but my ownership so far has been rather positive. I've actually never had any problems with the gearbox for the Polo but more with the loud wiper noise instead. The Passat has clocked 9k mileage since July and its so far so good. There's no loss of power like you so claimed in your other thread for VW engines. As for the Q5, also problem free so far although the Euromobil servicing is really very far from being top class. Although I haven't serviced my own car yet, the other cars - nothing to complain at all. Hopefully, I won't have to go through what you did in the future. Now if you talk about driver satisfaction. I say this, although my experience with Toyota has been very positive - driving their cars has always made me wish it had this or that when better specced cars drive past. Handling and comfort is alright but power is always lacking when I need that extra oomph to overtake. This applies to both the Vios and Altis that I previously owned. The XV40 Camry which I used to drive every now and then was an exception, although handling wasn't very sharp, it had the comfort, refinement and power. Unfortunately, it was still a rather dull car to drive. With my current ride, although it isn't perfect - aside from adaptive cruise control and that new Audi style daytime running LED lights, there isn't much else that I want to have, I'm actually very happy driving the car as power, comfort and handling is very much inline with my expectations. |
Dec 6 2012, 09:36 AM
433 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 5 2012, 01:50 PM) It's not the VSC that makes me pissed. It just doesn't even make sense to pay RM184k for a car that is almost stripped bare bones on essential safety and convenience features. Even more baffling are people actually willing to pay 160k of their hard-earned money for a completely barebones 2.0G car when better options such as the Passat and 508 are available for almost the same amount of money and those Camry owners are all W or B plates. Do it like how i do it, when i drive pass them i look at them and smirk.....The only justification I can think of buying a Camry right now is for those people who stay in an area where there's no VW/Peugeot/Mazda/Ford 3S center near them (within 40 mins travel time), otherwise... why? I only do this when i see Camry 2.0 owner.... seriously... RM160k for an ancient dinosaur. This post has been edited by Madgeiser: Dec 6 2012, 09:37 AM |
Dec 6 2012, 10:23 PM
544 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Dec 5 2012, 04:30 PM) As usual , korean car unreliable. Uninspiring Well, I can basically just walk into my Renault SC. Though I do call my service advisor first to make sure they have time for me. But usually they do. And I do think it is relatively easy to maintain. VW is also willing to pick up your car if there is anything, you don't even have to send it to the SC. So really, is it that bad?!I have a high suspicion you were using nexen8000 tyres from korea? Those tyres are damn hopeless and unreliable..i never trust anything from korea and never will..not even samsung.. Added on December 5, 2012, 4:44 pm Let me guide you on why this is happening. Firstly let me inform you that I have 2 VW cars at home. A golf gti and a polo tsi. Lets put things straight, vw , peugeot , hyundai and kia nowadays give very good warrantys and specs ,5 years warranty,, blablabla. But have you ever claimed warranty from them? Do you know how difficult it is to claim warranty? Its not as simple as bringing your car in to VW SC and wahlah, they change the parts for u on the spot. First they check , then if spare part is not available, you hv to wait! My previous eos 2.0 had to wait 2 months for the stupid ECU board cuz of their inefficiency. VW , peugeot, ford parts are all damn blardy expensive and difficult to get if they dont have stock. Yes they give warranty, but its a waste of time, money, and effort just to claim warranty. On the other hand, japanese cars have an abundant of spare parts. Easy to maintain and easy to claim warranty. You people keep harping on specifications of the camry . Low specs lah, expensive lah, but the thing is people still buy! Its because its such an easy car to maintain. And you wouldnt give a rats arse anymore about the so called specs when you have owned a toyota. Its such an easy car to own and maintain. Sometimes, you dont even hv to mk an appointment . Just walk in to the SC. I go to vw, every single day i want to service is full and i have to book 2-3 weeks in advance! Pls understand the story and understand the fact that not everyone is so particular about those minor specification differences. Its about a total ownership experience! Spare parts can be easily acquired from Singapore. It is that way with Renault, so surely it will also be like that with VW. @zweimmk: Adaptive xenon lights that have high beam on most of the time and block out the area where other cars are? That's quite nice. RNS 510 is also not bad, though a bit on the slow side. Auto braking, park assist, lane assist, adaptive suspension, the DYNAUDIO sound system. There's quite a bit that the Malaysian Passat is missing out on This post has been edited by kadajawi: Dec 6 2012, 10:31 PM |
Dec 7 2012, 08:31 AM
304 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 6 2012, 10:23 PM) Well, I can basically just walk into my Renault SC. Though I do call my service advisor first to make sure they have time for me. But usually they do. And I do think it is relatively easy to maintain. VW is also willing to pick up your car if there is anything, you don't even have to send it to the SC. So really, is it that bad?! Spare parts can be easily acquired from Singapore. It is that way with Renault, so surely it will also be like that with VW. @zweimmk: Adaptive xenon lights that have high beam on most of the time and block out the area where other cars are? That's quite nice. RNS 510 is also not bad, though a bit on the slow side. Auto braking, park assist, lane assist, adaptive suspension, the DYNAUDIO sound system. There's quite a bit that the Malaysian Passat is missing out on But due to VW SOP they need to go thru the standard diagnostic test. Then only they can replace. That one oso see whether got stock ! So SA told me to leave my car thr for 3 days! 3 freaking days! No need to go work izzit? So this is an example of the hassle in claiming warranty. I have owned toyota and honda b4, nvr ever i had this problem b4 |
Dec 7 2012, 11:45 AM
276 posts Joined: Jun 2012 From: Orient |
| Change to: | 0.0204sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:29 PM |