129 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Bottom

New Toyota Camry 2012, is Really coming now!

Icehart
post Dec 9 2012, 08:55 PM

14,899 posts

Adui, everytime i hear complaint is about the lack of VSC compared to koreans like optima or passat. But then I see more Camry nowadays.
btw the projection of vw leading or koreans overtaking toyota, or toyota overtaking others, take it with a grain of salt la. last time when i buy my sonata also so many research and projection the sonata is camry killer, but end up sonata is worth only 20k now while camry easily can sell 60k. last time i remember also many report also say sonata outsell camry in usa but the statistic in usa now shows camry at top spot liao for D segment.

car already buy liao, 180k people pay for 2.5 camry must be a reason. sometimes we all say because they buy the badge but when i test drive optima and camry, i prefer camry lo, i like the interior design and the comfort wise, camry is really winner. the only good thing abt koreans is cheap and many gadgets to play with, but then i also learn my lesson because last time i buy sonata also greedy, cheaper and better equipped, but see where am i now? throw my sonata exchange for hilux liao...reliability, seriously is important. u dun was waste so many time at workshop waiting parts to arrive.

my pov. smile.gif
kadajawi
post Dec 9 2012, 09:00 PM

544 posts

Old Koreans were not very good. Newer ones aren't too bad. Also in the past contis were very expensive, now they are reasonably priced. Even better than Japs. Times they are a changing.

And VSC is not a gadget to play with, it is a life saver. The Japs pack gadgets that are not important, like auto folding mirrors.
Icehart
post Dec 9 2012, 09:15 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 9 2012, 09:00 PM)
Old Koreans were not very good. Newer ones aren't too bad. Also in the past contis were very expensive, now they are reasonably priced. Even better than Japs. Times they are a changing.

And VSC is not a gadget to play with, it is a life saver. The Japs pack gadgets that are not important, like auto folding mirrors.
how can u judge if newer koreans aren't too bad? hmm.gif not much history imo.
lol sure vsc is a life saver. which is why i have no idea what toyota doing with their 2.5v model, even my salesman also say wait for refresh model or buy previous gen nod.gif
cybermaster98
post Dec 9 2012, 09:53 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 9 2012, 08:55 PM)
btw the projection of vw leading or koreans overtaking toyota, or toyota overtaking others, take it with a grain of salt la. my pov.  smile.gif
What projection said that the VW or Koreans will overtake Toyota?
Icehart
post Dec 9 2012, 10:08 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 9 2012, 09:53 PM)
What projection said that the VW or Koreans will overtake Toyota?
research papers that look into the future and make prediction and projection of the future automobile leaders
just too damn many factors to consider smile.gif
kadajawi
post Dec 10 2012, 07:51 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 9 2012, 09:15 PM)
how can u judge if newer koreans aren't too bad?  hmm.gif not much history imo.
lol sure vsc is a life saver. which is why i have no idea what toyota doing with their 2.5v model, even my salesman also say wait for refresh model or buy previous gen nod.gif
I've driven the first gen Kia cee'd sports wagon (or whatever ridiculous name they gave it), and it was actually rather decent. I'd say on par with the Golf IV, and not so far behind more recent Golfs and Focuses. Felt like a 5 year old Golf or Focus (at the time it was launched), which is actually rather good. And the particular car I drove had spikes. Now I don't expect a Forte of the same generation to be as good as the cee'd, but it shouldn't be that bad. Reliability... they offer 7 years warranty overseas. Shouldn't be too awful then.

AFAIK Toyota made surveys and found out that their customers do not care about VSC. So they removed the feature (as it costs a few dollars to produce, and if it's not driving sales why keep it?).
Robin Liew
post Dec 10 2012, 07:58 PM

290 posts

dont see mucn new camry on the road

those whom buy it also try hide their ride at home as they malu

maybe ppl condemn the damn car tongue.gif
19 Degree South
post Dec 10 2012, 08:46 PM

1,680 posts

I can see a stirrer here trying to create trouble! Hmm....started a couple of no brainier threads somemore.
Icehart
post Dec 11 2012, 03:33 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 10 2012, 07:51 PM)
I've driven the first gen Kia cee'd sports wagon (or whatever ridiculous name they gave it), and it was actually rather decent. I'd say on par with the Golf IV, and not so far behind more recent Golfs and Focuses. Felt like a 5 year old Golf or Focus (at the time it was launched), which is actually rather good. And the particular car I drove had spikes. Now I don't expect a Forte of the same generation to be as good as the cee'd, but it shouldn't be that bad. Reliability... they offer 7 years warranty overseas. Shouldn't be too awful then.

AFAIK Toyota made surveys and found out that their customers do not care about VSC. So they removed the feature (as it costs a few dollars to produce, and if it's not driving sales why keep it?).
kia cee'd sports wagon? is it available in malaysia?

actually if u think about camry that costs 182k, might as well spend extra 10k to buy the alphard 2.4 new spec. its on sale now on oto.my
zweimmk
post Dec 11 2012, 05:27 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 11 2012, 03:33 PM)

actually if u think about camry that costs 182k, might as well spend extra 10k to buy the alphard 2.4 new spec. its on sale now on oto.my
Actually that's what I thought too. For anyone whose got 180k to splurge on a car, hasn't bought a car yet and it has to be a Toyota, then why not an Alphard instead?

Comfort 5*
Safety 5*
Space 5*
Convenience equipment 5*

Seats 5 to 7 comfortably I believe
Icehart
post Dec 11 2012, 05:53 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 11 2012, 05:27 PM)
Actually that's what I thought too. For anyone whose got 180k to splurge on a car, hasn't bought a car yet and it has to be a Toyota, then why not an Alphard instead?

Comfort 5*
Safety 5*
Space 5*
Convenience equipment 5*

not sure about the new one, but i sit on the old alphard before
very comfortable at high speed even smile.gif

which explains why those aunties drive 160km/h+ on highways
kepalapening
post Dec 11 2012, 07:56 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 11 2012, 05:27 PM)

Comfort 5*
Safety 5*
Space 5*
Convenience equipment 5*

1. It's not a car.
2. With 180k can get new Alphard?

People when they get older, their efficiency reduced. And much faster with car.
I personally would reject a recond car.

I never care much about brands. I even bought one korean car in the past and regreted. What important is what is the best that I can get with that amount of money that suits all my requirements and needs. Also need to consider the environment where the car is going to be used.

This post has been edited by kepalapening: Dec 11 2012, 08:05 PM
Icehart
post Dec 11 2012, 08:08 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Dec 11 2012, 07:56 PM)
1. It's not a car.

as much as i like the new camry 2.5, i cant help but the alphard 2.4 is a better buy, especially if you're buying it for family, more so if stay at KL
but if stay at outside Kl or selangor especially outskirt, where access to repairs of these "special" cars is limited, then camry la

well, if you're afraid of buying a recond car, always insist on the warranty provided by the seller (choose reputable) and bring ur own mechanic to check la biggrin.gif
oto.my now has ongoing promotions on the cheras auto city. i saw one alphard 2008 7 seaters going for 1,5xx per month for 9 years.
e.g: http://www.oto.my/car-for-sale/24863/recon...x-spec-selangor
cybermaster98
post Dec 11 2012, 08:50 PM

4,440 posts

1. It's not a car.

I never care much about brands. I even bought one korean car in the past and regreted. What important is what is the best that I can get with that amount of money that suits all my requirements and needs. Also need to consider the environment where the car is going to be used.
Its clear that u havent really sat in an Alphard or driven one before rite? If ure not sure about stuff, why do u even post comments i wonder? rclxub.gif

The Alphard is considered luxury while the Camry isnt. Comfort, performance, design, convenience, specs and safety wise, the Camry is no match. If i was in the market for a premium MPV/SUV later, i would give serious consideration to the Alphard or other similar makes.

How much do u know about recon makes anyway to say ull reject them outright? Do u even know how grey importers work? Do u know about the warranty terms offered by various grey importers?

Btw, how do u know the best u can get with that money if u dont bother to go around and look at what's on offer? And dont say u dont care much about brands. U placed a booking for yor Camry without even testing the car. That speaks volumes about you aint it?

Its alright to admit u dont know stuff sometimes u know. I dont know alot myself too. U dont need to try very hard to show that u know everything cuz its easy to figure out from your comments that ure not really in touch with the automotive world. Until today u still dont understand what stability control (ESP) is all about and its importance. doh.gif

Sorry but some of your comments just tickle a bit. biggrin.gif
IluvProton
post Dec 11 2012, 11:00 PM

143 posts

MPV is not suit for daily use. especially for working in cities.

those ppl choose primary MPV without a secondary car is purely don't know how hard a MPV to be handle. especially in cities. parking, shopping and go round the cities is pain in the arse.

unless you got 5 ppl above in your family. Not practical for daily purpose for work or etc.

I don't own any MPV but yet, I got drive those Alphard, Vellfire, El Grand and also Starex.
Still rmb while I in kuchai lama to park in Kuchai square...... I need to go out from the back boot. all ppl laughing. some corner I need to reverse few times.
hence, if I were live in big cities. No big car unless travelling. talk about convenience, uh ~? conveniencenotfound.jpg
19 Degree South
post Dec 12 2012, 12:25 AM

1,680 posts

I always travel in alphard from hk airport to the city. I wonder why Malaysian treat alphard as a luxury car. It's just a van! These cars are reject in Japan and when it comes to my, it's like gold. Malaysia boleh!
Icehart
post Dec 12 2012, 01:14 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Dec 11 2012, 11:00 PM)
MPV is not suit for daily use. especially for working in cities.

those ppl choose primary MPV without a secondary car is purely don't know how hard a MPV to be handle. especially in cities. parking, shopping and go round the cities is pain in the arse.

unless you got 5 ppl above in your family. Not practical for daily purpose for work or etc.

I don't own any MPV but yet, I got drive those Alphard, Vellfire, El Grand and also Starex.
Still rmb while I in kuchai lama to park in Kuchai square...... I need to go out from the back boot. all ppl laughing. some corner I need to reverse few times.
hence, if I were live in big cities. No big car unless travelling. talk about convenience, uh ~? conveniencenotfound.jpg
MPV is not for everyone, but i have respect to those aunties who drive alphard with precision driving, merely few cms of margin in gap when turning. i think driving skill is all that matters.
either way u will get used to the big size. i drive a hilux, where the length and width is more than the alphard and i find it easy to drive, not much hassle with parking even without reverse camera

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Dec 12 2012, 12:25 AM)
I always travel in alphard from hk airport to  the city. I wonder why Malaysian treat alphard as a luxury car. It's just a van! These cars are reject in Japan and when it comes to my, it's like gold. Malaysia boleh!
its comfortable compared to a van, seriously. ever sit on a van where most of the rear is equipped with leaf spring? hahaha
kadajawi
post Dec 12 2012, 01:27 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 11 2012, 03:33 PM)

No. But the Forte is. Is the Forte as good as the new cee'd? Probably not. Is it far behind? I don't think so.

Instead of the Camry I'd probably get that small Lexus hybrid or a Prius. Good safety, and not too bad cars.
Icehart
post Dec 12 2012, 01:39 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 12 2012, 01:27 AM)
No. But the Forte is. Is the Forte as good as the new cee'd? Probably not. Is it far behind? I don't think so.

Instead of the Camry I'd probably get that small Lexus hybrid or a Prius. Good safety, and not too bad cars.
I probably would consider Ranger 3.2 WT at RM 116k rather than these two small cars. No offense, but I think the rear seat of the Lexus hybrid is pathetic and the Prius driver compartment is just too small.
zweimmk
post Dec 12 2012, 07:53 AM

512 posts

1. It's not a car.

That's why my statement was directed to those who have yet to buy a new car but have the budget to do so. If a buyer only has 160k or so budget, why get the 2.0L? There are better choices available at that price, besides, it is almost 2013 and there's going to be a selection of new cars coming.

If the buyer has 180k or so, again, the 2.5V Camry is still considered a semi-decent purchase but at this price point, I actually would consider the C180 since it is now priced at RM212k and there are further discounts which drops the price of that car to RM198k. If you do a calculation, the installment difference between the 2 cars is at most RM500 or so if the loan period is 7 years with a downpayment of 80k. It is not as big as the Camry for certain, but it surely does not lose out to the Camry in terms of brand image, safety, comfort and handling. And in my experience unlike BMW, Mercedes have a lot less breakdown or electronic problems which means it's a reliable car as well.

For prospective new buyers, I think it's best to wait if you can. Take a look at the new Mazda 6 and new Honda Accord. Unless you live in a place where only Honda or Toyota is available, then no choice, you have to buy either the Camry or Accord.

129 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:24 PM