129 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Bottom

New Toyota Camry 2012, is Really coming now!

forter
post Aug 4 2012, 01:47 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(landlily98 @ Aug 4 2012, 12:27 PM)
Well, this is only true provided the person who purchased Forte actually has the extra 30k in pocket to begin with. Otherwise if he/she buy a Forte because Civic 2.0s is above budget, then there shall be no issue whether FD generate any profit or not.

Besides, if using your philosophy to buy car, I think everyone should just buy a Viva, forget all other luxury/expensive/exotic brands, those manufacturers can close shops already.

A Viva owner after reading your reply will probably laughing out: " see, I'm so smart, now I feel that as if have the extra RM 600K-700k to put in FD to generate interest compared to those morons who buy a Porsche, Merc or BMW....."

Everyone has different financial capabilities, needs, standards, preference....., we shall not impose our own value on others. 

Just my 2 cents.
If u are looking for c segment 2.0 car...how come viva can also be considered..lol.. doh.gif
IluvProton
post Aug 4 2012, 02:31 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(landlily98 @ Aug 4 2012, 07:55 AM)
Don't be surprise, there might be some actually will do this.....hahahha!
blush.gif

I'm surprise. he he he

forgive me then, I not in the sales line. Nvr know such will happen. Thanks you for the highlight.
landlily98
post Aug 4 2012, 05:25 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(forter @ Aug 4 2012, 01:47 PM)
If u are looking for c segment 2.0 car...how come viva can also be considered..lol.. doh.gif
When/where did you read that I was giving suggestion to any particular person who is trying to look for a C-segment car?

Let me put in simpler English so that you will understand what I was trying to point out....

Someone suggests that buying a cheaper car instead of a more expensive car can bring extra benefit by putting the extra unspent money in the bank to generate interest. So, Viva is used as an example as it is one of the cheapest car in the market, so buying Viva will be better as you can save more money and put in the bank, besides, no need to take so much loan from the bank.

If you still have difficulty to understand, kindly take tuition class for English alrite?

Added on August 4, 2012, 5:37 pm
QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Aug 4 2012, 01:23 PM)
that is not what i meant. I never say buying forte or viva is smart move or otherwise. Im just saying a parameter has been neglected in the value drop calculation when ppl talk abt RV. Thats all.

Some ppl dont have the actual amt to buy the car in cash, normally takes loan. But, by buying a more expensive car, say in this case, a civic 2.0s is not only 127k, it shud be 127k plus the interest or finance term incurred. Whereas, if buying a forte will incur less interest coz simply loan amt is less.

example :
10% dep for each car, same int 2.45% for 9 years. By the time, the owner completely service the car loan, it shud be:

civic : 12,700 + (114,300 x 9 x 2.45%) = 152,203
forte : 9,700 + (87,300 x 9 x 2.45%) = 116,250

besides the actual car difference of 30k, there is additional difference of RM5,953 consist of 9y int of the car difference. So when u compare RV, it shud be civic selling - 152,203, and for forte, it shud be forte selling price - 116,250.

Again, this is wat i suggest shud be in consideration, nothing more. Im not imposing that everyone shud buy cheaper car aka korean or watever.
Again, by considering only this factor, you have to ignore other added values of buying a more expensive/branded car. For instance, the satisfaction, rewarding experience, the pride, driving pleasure, hassle-free, wide support network etc..... all these can't be valued in terms of money.

And perhaps one should consider that the extra amount of money he/she spent is actually getting them these added values. Personally, I will regard this as paying for those immeasurable factors, and when I'm selling my car, I don't calculate like what you are suggesting. And my definition of Good Resale Value maybe different from others, and as long as I'm happy with the second hand car price during selling, I have nothing to complaint about.

Maybe Civic vs Forte may not show a wide difference in class and status, but if this is a budget brand vs Luxury brand scenario, and same car segment, I don't think a financially capable car enthusiast will settle for something less if he/she can afford something more expensive/branded.

Added on August 4, 2012, 5:54 pm
QUOTE(IluvProton @ Aug 4 2012, 02:31 PM)
blush.gif

I'm surprise. he he he

forgive me then, I not in the sales line. Nvr know such will happen. Thanks you for the highlight.
After reading through all these replies..... It seems it is very likely to happen rite?? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by landlily98: Aug 4 2012, 05:54 PM
K5WHITE
post Aug 4 2012, 06:25 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(landlily98 @ Aug 4 2012, 05:25 PM)

Again, by considering only this factor, you have to ignore other added values of buying a more expensive/branded car.  For instance, the satisfaction, rewarding experience, the pride, driving pleasure, hassle-free, wide support network etc..... all these can't be valued in terms of money.

And perhaps one should consider that the extra amount of money he/she spent is actually getting them these added values. Personally, I will regard this as paying for those immeasurable factors, and when I'm selling my car, I don't calculate like what you are suggesting.  And my definition of Good Resale Value maybe different from others, and as long as I'm happy with the second hand car price during selling, I have nothing to complaint about.

Maybe Civic vs Forte may not show a wide difference in class and status, but if this is a budget brand vs Luxury brand scenario, and same car segment, I don't think a financially capable car enthusiast will settle for something less if he/she can afford something more expensive/branded.

resale value is monetary, interest incurred is monetary. Satisfaction, the pride, rewarding experience bla bla bla is NOT monetary...again, im tokking abt RESALE VALUE

by neglecting this, it seems like someone who ignore the compounding interest effect on a liability(car), not a prudent act. For me, i calculate a car price with the loan interest factor in as well. How long the loan, and the monthly payment like. What will the TOTAL price be? And of course, wealthy or financially capable ppl wont mind this, but not all are financially capable.

seems like hijacking a camry thread ? tongue.gif hehehe

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Aug 4 2012, 06:28 PM
kepalapening
post Aug 4 2012, 10:44 PM

62 posts

When/where did you read that I was giving suggestion to any particular person who is trying to look for a C-segment car?

Let me put in simpler English so that you will understand what I was trying to point out....

Someone suggests that buying a cheaper car instead of a more expensive car can bring extra benefit by putting the extra unspent money in the bank to generate interest. So, Viva is used as an example as it is one of the cheapest car in the market, so buying Viva will be better as you can save more money and put in the bank, besides, no need to take so much loan from the bank.

If you still have difficulty to understand, kindly take tuition class for English alrite?
Yes, it is true. One of my friend whom make RM240k per annum only drive a second hand kancil. He bought the kancil after his sunny burnt.
landlily98
post Aug 4 2012, 11:09 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Aug 4 2012, 10:44 PM)
Yes, it is true. One of my friend whom make RM240k per annum only drive a second hand kancil. He bought the kancil after his sunny burnt.
Yes of course, there are many kinds of people in this world, naturally we don't expect all behave in the same way.
But as far as myself concerned, I will actually pamper myself with certain affordable rewards when I achieve certain life milestone. Besides, life is short, and money is something you don't bring into grave yards, for me, it is only meaningful if use it with a purpose, eg, investment, travelling, fine cuisine, medical care.... etc etc......

again, this is just me, I'm not asking anyone to agree with me.....

Added on August 4, 2012, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Aug 4 2012, 06:25 PM)
resale value is monetary, interest incurred is monetary. Satisfaction, the pride, rewarding experience bla bla bla is NOT monetary...again, im tokking abt RESALE VALUE

by neglecting this, it seems like someone who ignore the compounding interest effect on a liability(car), not a prudent act. For me, i calculate a car price with the loan interest factor in as well. How long the loan, and the monthly payment like. What will the TOTAL price be? And of course, wealthy or financially capable ppl wont mind this, but not all are financially capable.
seems like hijacking a camry thread ? tongue.gif hehehe
Of course, different point of view or perspective will give rise to different opinion, we shall maintain a healthy platform for open discussion smile.gif

This post has been edited by landlily98: Aug 5 2012, 12:54 AM
kepalapening
post Aug 5 2012, 12:36 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(landlily98 @ Aug 4 2012, 11:09 PM)
Yes of course, there are many kinds of people in this world, naturally we don't expect all behave in the same way.
But as far as myself concerned, I will actually pamper myself with certain affordable rewards when I achieve certain life milestone. Besides, life is short, and money is something you don't bring into grave yards, for me, it is only meaningful if use it with a purpose, eg, investment, travelling, fine cuisine, medical care.... etc etc......

again, this is just me, I'm not asking anyone to agree with me.....
This is exactly like what my wife keep telling me, and I end up crowning myself with a トヨタ・カムリ. drool.gif

This post has been edited by kepalapening: Aug 5 2012, 12:54 AM
landlily98
post Aug 5 2012, 12:56 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Aug 5 2012, 12:36 AM)
This is exactly like what my wife keep telling me, and I end up crowning myself with a トヨタ・カムリ.  drool.gif
You are fortunate to have a understanding wife! Good for you! smile.gif
forter
post Aug 5 2012, 06:13 AM

47 posts

Again, by considering only this factor, you have to ignore other added values of buying a more expensive/branded car.  For instance, the satisfaction, rewarding experience, the pride, driving pleasure, hassle-free, wide support network etc..... all these can't be valued in terms of money.

And perhaps one should consider that the extra amount of money he/she spent is actually getting them these added values. Personally, I will regard this as paying for those immeasurable factors, and when I'm selling my car, I don't calculate like what you are suggesting.  And my definition of Good Resale Value maybe different from others, and as long as I'm happy with the second hand car price during selling, I have nothing to complaint about.

After reading through all these replies..... It seems it is very likely to happen rite??  tongue.gif
you are really smart. whistling.gif .. i think everybody here know that someone suggest to buy a cheaper car means its in same category....someone who have decide to buy c segment car (2.0) and at the same time try to get as much as he can to save the money/make money from interest or the car with value for money....and our friend also gave the example between civic 2.0 and forte 2.0..comparrison between 2 c segment car regarding the price and also resale value...nothing to do with others car with different category..... rclxub.gif doh.gif

deyy...your viva example for which one cheaper..org gila pun tahu. biggrin.gif ...youre good in english does not mean you have smart brain..go back to polish your brain again.. nod.gif

This post has been edited by forter: Aug 5 2012, 06:29 AM
jchong
post Aug 5 2012, 08:01 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(landlily98 @ Aug 5 2012, 12:56 AM)
You are fortunate to have a understanding wife! Good for you!  smile.gif
Wife also wants to pamper herself when husband doing well tongue.gif
landlily98
post Aug 5 2012, 10:02 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(forter @ Aug 5 2012, 06:13 AM)
you are really smart. whistling.gif .. i think everybody here know that someone suggest to buy a cheaper car means its in same category....someone who have decide to buy c segment car (2.0) and at the same time try to get as much as he can to save the money/make money from interest or the car with value for money....and our friend also gave the example between civic 2.0 and forte 2.0..comparrison between 2 c segment car regarding the price and also resale value...nothing to do with others car with different category..... rclxub.gif  doh.gif

deyy...your viva example for which one cheaper..org gila pun tahu. biggrin.gif ...youre good in english does not mean you have smart brain..go back to polish your brain again.. nod.gif
I think we are not talking in the same frequency, too bad. whistling.gif

Added on August 5, 2012, 10:05 am
QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 5 2012, 08:01 AM)
Wife also wants to pamper herself when husband doing well  tongue.gif
Indeed, as wife also get to enjoy together when husband buy something nice.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by landlily98: Aug 5 2012, 10:05 AM
IluvProton
post Aug 5 2012, 10:09 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(landlily98 @ Aug 5 2012, 05:02 AM)
I think we are not talking in the same frequency, too bad.  whistling.gif

Added on August 5, 2012, 10:05 am
Indeed, as wife also get to enjoy together when husband buy something nice....  biggrin.gif
I won't let my waifu touch my 'waifu'

let her drive cheap cheap car. laugh.gif

cause she prefer in other stuff like renovation, and comfort living.

kepalapening
post Aug 5 2012, 11:59 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Aug 5 2012, 10:09 AM)

let her drive cheap cheap car.  laugh.gif

Your wifey seats at the back like a queen. blush.gif
landlily98
post Aug 5 2012, 12:27 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Aug 5 2012, 10:09 AM)

let her drive cheap cheap car.  laugh.gif

Hahahah, I'm afraid I also agree with you, coz my wife's driving skill is just like average women's driving, if she drives my car it will give me high blood pressure and heart attack...... tongue.gif
IluvProton
post Aug 5 2012, 12:32 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Aug 5 2012, 06:59 AM)
Your wifey seats at the back like a queen.  blush.gif
cool2.gif
she nvr seat behind. and also nvr seat in driver seat when wit me.
I'm her 'ahmad'

QUOTE(landlily98 @ Aug 5 2012, 07:27 AM)
Hahahah, I'm afraid I also agree with you, coz my wife's driving skill is just like average women's driving, if she drives my car it will give me high blood pressure and heart attack......  tongue.gif
true, she always hit divider. laugh.gif
parking worst than new driver
Thats why I only drive when she with me.

pds_disi
post Aug 5 2012, 01:38 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(landlily98 @ Aug 4 2012, 11:09 PM)
I will actually pamper myself with certain affordable rewards when I achieve certain life milestone.
thats exactly why resale value is not a critical criteria for certain bunch of people.
IluvProton
post Aug 5 2012, 01:54 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(pds_disi @ Aug 5 2012, 08:38 AM)
thats exactly why resale value is not a critical criteria for certain bunch of people.
usually old days chinamen will take as major consideration. you know them rich cause 'jimat and kedekut'.
That why, now resell value drop to 2nd that because our mindset = if you want it, go for it. regret later laugh.gif
cause we won't live forever.

pds_disi
post Aug 5 2012, 02:02 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Aug 5 2012, 01:54 PM)
usually old days chinamen will take as major consideration. you know them rich cause 'jimat and kedekut'.
That why, now resell value drop to 2nd that because our mindset = if you want it, go for it. regret later  laugh.gif
cause we won't live forever.
nothing about regret later, this is like :
- if i 'achieve certain life milestone', go for the reward i promise myself.
- if resale value is a concern, then i am not there yet, work harder.
zweimmk
post Aug 5 2012, 02:46 PM

512 posts

I'm more like reach a certain milestone to reward myself yet I also want the car to retain a certain value when its time to sell if off kind of guy.

Can't I have both the cake and the pie at the same time?
kadajawi
post Aug 5 2012, 03:28 PM

544 posts

After reading through all these replies..... It seems it is very likely to happen rite??  tongue.gif
You'd be surprised how many go for Skoda in Europe when they could have bought a higher class car like BMW or Merc. They actually do that because of brand image and status, too, especially businessmen. Apparently if you appear in a Skoda you are seen as smart and they won't try to bargain with you as hard, or something like that. Others want to enjoy luxury, without showing others that they do so. Those would also go for a Skoda for example.

Budget brands can offer cars that can compete with luxury brands, too. Look at the Hyundai Equus. 4.6 liter V8, luxurious interior, excellent NVH (hardly can hear the engine), very comfortable ride with air suspension. Includes big monitor and bar, massage chair, ...

If your wife can't drive... teach her. It's a good skill to have. Don't just always drive when you are with her, cause what will happen when she has to drive alone? Practice makes perfect, and the less she drives the worse her driving will be. Seen it with my mother.

Why do you guys even need to sell off a car? Drive it until it can't go on. No need to concern with resale value. And get a proper car in the first place that will still be considered modern in 10 years time. Compared to what Malaysians drive in the C segment our C segment Xsara is still a modern and comfortable car. Who cares if it is old, it runs well, is fun to drive and comfortable, and has plenty of safety features (of course the structure isn't that safe, but compared to Toyota and Honda?).

129 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0344sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:27 PM