377 Pages « < 193 194 195 196 197 > » Bottom

Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

truelife
post Dec 7 2017, 07:57 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Dec 7 2017, 05:34 PM)
Fifteen? OMG I thought the moratorium was supposed to last only until 2019!
30 years. It is like another PLUS expressway story.

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/mytv...-fees-june-2018
While the original concession awarded to MYTV back in January 2014 was for 15 years, this has now been extended to 30 years. Chan confirms the extension but says there are still some technical conditions to be fulfilled.
JohnLai
post Dec 7 2017, 09:14 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

Well.....30 years.....we are screwed....

I propose our government not to think MYTV to be another ASTRO cash cow.
Such scenario will not happen.

Speaking of which....Mytv should really boost Miri city signal. Some place doesn't even have the signal.
nexona88
post Dec 7 2017, 11:45 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,552 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Dec 7 2017, 09:14 PM)
Well.....30 years.....we are screwed....

I propose our government not to think MYTV to be another ASTRO cash cow.
Such scenario will not happen.

Speaking of which....Mytv should really boost Miri city signal. Some place doesn't even have the signal.
Better post at their FB page lor..
Let them know..

But I think, they answer would be.. We trying our best to reach out.. Please wait 😆
izz70
post Dec 8 2017, 08:17 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Dec 7 2017, 06:09 PM)
dude, you're missing my point. I suggest you read carefully.

My original point is, ASTRO's monopoly has screwed up TV broadcasting concept so bad, that people think Astro is TV is Astro. 

DTT is simply an evolution of analog TV of yore, hardly competition to PayTV that is Astro, but since people's concept of TV has been screwed, they think MYTV is a competition to Astro (not directly, anyway). This is so bad that the purveyor of DTT has to point out its FTA nature in order to encourage adoption.

My point has nothing to do with the advantage of one over the other. That is a topic for another day.
I really have to agree with you. The public have to understand that MYTV only provides the infra and rent the services to the content providers. Astro provides content whether reselling programs with TV rights or their own content. MYTV content providers will also be looking to make profits cos nobody goes into business to make losses.
The content providers will be probably the ones to compete with Astro if they provide to the public paid services in future.
We won't be paying MYTV for the transmission other than the decoder (if you buy an IDTV then you won't be paying them anything). Anyway MYTV is still in development stage so you should not be really complaining for free services.
Just my thoughts please correct me if I am wrong.

Low Li Hao
post Dec 8 2017, 06:44 PM

293 posts

https://www.themalaysianinsight.com/s/26350/
http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/medi...ults-disappoint

If that happen, Media Prima goes bankrupt soon...
fairx
post Dec 8 2017, 07:27 PM

162 posts

Hi guys. Can I assume if analog signal suck (can only get 1 channel, washout / grainy at best) means no hope for digital? I live in valley between 2 hills. No clear line of sight. The only signal I can get is from bukit larut.
shaun_kok
post Dec 8 2017, 07:44 PM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(fairx @ Dec 8 2017, 07:27 PM)
Hi guys. Can I assume if analog signal suck (can only get 1 channel, washout / grainy at best) means no hope for digital? I live in valley between 2 hills. No clear line of sight. The only signal I can get is from bukit larut.
Are you using an outdoor TV aerial??? If such condition happens even if you are using an outdoor antenna you would be better getting NJOI as your TV service instead since there is little luck to receive digital signal.

However, if you own the necessary equipment or if your friend have the equipment to lend to you, you can try Channel 45 (666MHz)

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Dec 8 2017, 07:54 PM
nexona88
post Dec 8 2017, 07:52 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,552 posts

Two hills blocking the signal??

Then slim chance of getting clear Digital TV signal..

Your best bet is Astro
9M-MAS
post Dec 8 2017, 07:58 PM

1,423 posts

Not necessarily - I've seen areas where they could only get one analog channel but with the proper outdoor antenna they could get DTT no problem. Where in Perak are you?
fairx
post Dec 8 2017, 09:05 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Dec 8 2017, 07:58 PM)
Not necessarily - I've seen areas where they could only get one analog channel but with the proper outdoor antenna they could get DTT no problem. Where in Perak are you?
I'm in tasik Chendroh area. Kledang blocked by hill at back of my house. Only can get bukit larut signal. I'm using cheap outdoor antenna just to try luck. Test with my Samsung led TV advertised as dvbt2 capable. Tomorrow I'll borrow my friend mytv box and will try again. I'm looking at intenet resources to get info about diy high gain antenna. Will they be any good?

Right now receive TV analog only. I tried raising the antenna no luck getting better signal. Now antenna in ground. Same signal as when raised 20ft.

I have Astro but want to cut chord as only my mom watch TV

Edit
Tried channel 45. It says 0 signal quality.

This post has been edited by fairx: Dec 8 2017, 09:23 PM

9M-MAS
post Dec 9 2017, 06:43 AM

1,423 posts

QUOTE(fairx @ Dec 8 2017, 09:05 PM)
I'm in tasik Chendroh area. Kledang blocked by hill at back of my house. Only can get bukit larut signal. I'm using cheap outdoor antenna just to try luck. Test with my Samsung led TV advertised as dvbt2 capable. Tomorrow I'll borrow my friend mytv box and will try again. I'm looking at intenet resources to get info about diy high gain antenna. Will they be any good?

Right now receive TV analog only. I tried raising the antenna no luck getting better signal. Now antenna in ground. Same signal as when raised 20ft.

Edit
Tried channel 45.  It says 0 signal quality.
Tasek Chenderoh / Sungai Siput Area's local transmitter is indeed Bukit Larut. I've set up an antenna for digital TV reception near Trosor once before.

Get a proper multielement UHF antenna (preferably with as many elements as possible). Avoid those rotatable antennas as their cables are of poor quality signals get attenuated too much. Train the head of the antenna exactly towards Bukit Larut (use Google Maps or any of those compass / position pin pointing apps).
joshhd
post Dec 9 2017, 08:01 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(fairx @ Dec 8 2017, 09:05 PM)

Edit
Tried channel 45.  It says 0 signal quality.
Since you said there's a possibility that there are 2 hills may block the signal, outdoor antenna is recommended for sure. If you couldn't get signal from your TV's built-in DVB-T2 tuner, then it won't be any difference if you use MYTV box. If you can't get analogue TV signals clearly, that doesn't guarantee you can't get digital TV signal.

If you can't signal, okay, don't give up first.
If you use any kind of signal boosters, or any cable splitters (e.g. TV reception in different rooms), remove it.

You can try a temporary messy set-up installation. Assuming you're staying in landed house, you go get a new RG6 cable and connect to your TV to your rooftop UHF antenna directly. Get what I mean? The cable will be laying around your house floor and dangling from inside to outside your house window to your rooftop antenna. This is just to check if you can really get digital TV reception or not.

Note: RG6 coaxial cable is the same cable used for Astro. RG6 is recommended cable type for both satellite and terrestrial TV.

Once you done, try aligning the antenna position and make sure it points to Bukit Larut transmitter position like what 9M-MAS said.

And, can you share a picture with us on how's your outdoor antenna look like?
fairx
post Dec 9 2017, 10:59 PM

162 posts

Thanks for the suggestion guys. My antenna is cheap one with around 1.5 feet. So suggestion is to get the most element antenna I can get? If somebody could point me to the pic of suggested antenna type in my situation it'll be very helpful.
Qash-M
post Dec 10 2017, 12:01 AM

#FreePalestine
6,106 posts

QUOTE(fairx @ Dec 9 2017, 10:59 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion guys. My antenna is cheap one with around 1.5 feet. So suggestion is to get the most element antenna I can get? If somebody could point me to the pic of suggested antenna type in my situation  it'll be very helpful.
https://www.lazada.com.my/jp-5e-digital-uhf...m-17254726.html
acesdsi
post Dec 10 2017, 03:55 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Dec 10 2017, 12:01 AM)
Bought the same antenna at pasar road for rm45
9M-MAS
post Dec 10 2017, 03:12 PM

1,423 posts

QUOTE(fairx @ Dec 9 2017, 10:59 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion guys. My antenna is cheap one with around 1.5 feet. So suggestion is to get the most element antenna I can get? If somebody could point me to the pic of suggested antenna type in my situation  it'll be very helpful.
Any decent electrical hardware shop around Kuala Kangsar and Sungai Siput will stock the multi element antenna manufactured by MITO of Sungai Siput. Get the usual 23E model. Should cost you less than RM40 for the antenna alone.
Qash-M
post Dec 10 2017, 04:49 PM

#FreePalestine
6,106 posts

QUOTE(acesdsi @ Dec 10 2017, 03:55 AM)
Bought the same antenna at pasar road for rm45
5E does good job in my area, which is within range of the antenna to receive the signals. thumbup.gif
Qash-M
post Dec 13 2017, 11:14 AM

#FreePalestine
6,106 posts

Wwww... hmm.gif
joshhd
post Dec 13 2017, 05:49 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Dec 13 2017, 11:14 AM)

Wwww... hmm.gif
Plot twist: When MYTV launches pay service in the future, you'll need MYTV Advance box and need to pay PVR recording fee. tongue.gif
shaun_kok
post Dec 14 2017, 01:37 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Dec 13 2017, 05:49 PM)
Plot twist: When MYTV launches pay service in the future, you'll need MYTV Advance box and need to pay PVR recording fee.  tongue.gif
If such things happen people will rather use cheap decoders from overseas which has such function. (unless one need to record Pay TV channel, then there is no choice but use MYTV box)

377 Pages « < 193 194 195 196 197 > » Top

0.0394sec    1.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:15 AM