739 posts

QUOTE(babyelf @ Nov 23 2005, 11:45 PM)
selling my corsair cool soon..

MCP655
Swiftech G4
Tygon
Zerex
Maze4 GPU
Dual pass triple radiator (waiting for stacker 830 and mounting behind)
3 120mm fans
fan controller

anything i should be watching out for in that setup?
..well, i think you're good to go, err.. what fans?
babyelf
post Nov 24 2005, 12:33 AM

1,372 posts

thinking of some panaflo (japanese ones .. not made anymore wink.gif)

or some sunon medium speed
MetalZone
post Nov 24 2005, 01:01 AM

2,515 posts

for the rad, if u're gonna go for silence with fans less than 80 CFM u shud get something like the black ice pro III or thermochill PA120.3
if u're gonna go high CFM, then black ice extreme III or thermochill HE120.3
babyelf
post Nov 24 2005, 01:24 AM

1,372 posts

thanks for the tips..

www.radiical.com.au

thinking of the single pass but it's going to be hard to mount behind the case
MetalZone
post Nov 24 2005, 03:14 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(babyelf @ Nov 24 2005, 01:24 AM)
thanks for the tips..

www.radiical.com.au

thinking of the single pass but it's going to be hard to mount behind the case
ah ic... radiical radiators look pretty good to me... but i'd say u need fans with some good CFM (at least above 80 CFM) 38mm fans to be able to work effectively with 45mm thick radiators. normal 25mm fans wont be able to produce enough air pressure. otherwise u may want to do a push pull config with some 70 cfm 25mm fans.
babyelf
post Nov 24 2005, 03:37 AM

1,372 posts

hmm

maybe fan controller and some high speed sunon/panaflo will do it..

i'll see how it goes biggrin.gif still waiting for my case to hit our shores.. no ETA yet
almostthere
post Nov 24 2005, 03:55 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

babyelf, if you can source them out, Panaflo's are the one's to go for interms of cfm Vs. noise. I'm using one of those and I swear I at times forget that my rig's up and running as it's that silent (Well it is compared to my old Delta Triblade 25mm which looks like below)

bmbk
post Nov 24 2005, 02:41 PM

279 posts

i finally bought bigwater and getting around 55 at load.

i am thinking of replacing the pump. any idea where and what better pump to get for bigwater kit ?

SUSAllnGap
post Nov 24 2005, 03:00 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Nov 24 2005, 03:55 AM)
babyelf, if you can source them out, Panaflo's are the one's to go for interms of cfm Vs. noise. I'm using one of those and I swear I at times forget that my rig's up and running as it's that silent (Well it is compared to my old Delta Triblade 25mm which looks like below)

theoretically, at same RPM, tri-blade should be less noisy.
but it still comes to motor design and the RPM.

QUOTE(bmbk @ Nov 24 2005, 02:41 PM)

i am thinking of replacing the pump. any idea where and what better pump to get for bigwater kit ?
congrats !!!....

another victim !!!!

change the pump also useless coz the waterblock is the problem coz it's way too thick and it stores so much heat and it wont release it into the water.

so congrats again !!
babyelf
post Nov 24 2005, 03:44 PM

1,372 posts

thanks for the tips.. i found some old japanese made 120mm panaflo.. now it's china made or something.. the japanese ones are better.. hehe

i'll get that one..
almostthere
post Nov 24 2005, 04:36 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

Here we go again. No disrespect to you, but you should have done some research here before going water. If you read properly, there's NO way bar a total overhaul can you improve the temps. Many have ditched their Bigwater's for a DIY setup or (I can't believe I'm saying this cos ianho will kill me) Corsair's HydroCool set. The reason's for Bigwater's weakness:

1. Horrible pump with poor headpressure and flowrates
2. Very simple and inefficient waterblock
3. Poorly airflow restrictive and waterflow unrestrictive tube and fin based radiator
4. And the biggest flaw of all, 1/4" ID tubings

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Nov 24 2005, 03:00 PM)
theoretically, at same RPM, tri-blade should be less noisy.
but it still comes to motor design and the RPM.
Well allan. those 2 fans I've mentioned are yours actually. The triblade was the one I bought from you and the Panaflo was the one you sold to another MMU Melaka student a year ago but he never got to use it.

QUOTE(babyelf @ Nov 24 2005, 03:44 PM)
thanks for the tips.. i found some old japanese made 120mm panaflo.. now it's china made or something.. the japanese ones are better.. hehe

i'll get that one..
Good on you mate. Let us know if you run to any problems or better still PM us if you need any assistance

This post has been edited by almostthere: Nov 24 2005, 04:39 PM
bmbk
post Nov 24 2005, 04:36 PM

279 posts

AllnGap Thanks very much :0

i agree with your theory, it's way to thick and wont release much heat into the water. the contact surface between water and the block is not enough also. 1/2 already taken by arcylic.

Anyway i think my processor at 3.9 @ 1.367V is reasonable to get that temp with this entry level water cooling kit.

it's ok, i admire the sound level as before this i was using 2 X 80mm tornado which ears still can hear the sound.

antonio
post Nov 24 2005, 06:30 PM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

try lapping it...or send to machine shop ask to skim around 0.05-07 mm....if u r brave enough go up to 1mm.... shakehead.gif notworthy.gif
pornstar
post Nov 24 2005, 08:29 PM

All.night.long.
798 posts

but if send to machine shop scared later they do it unevenly..then it`ll be worse.
ianho
post Nov 24 2005, 09:49 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Nov 21 2005, 08:07 PM)
from procooling... one hell of a waterblock...
Holy cow. That looks awesome man. Looks like an F1 exhaust manifold. Haha.

QUOTE(almostthere @ Nov 24 2005, 04:36 PM)
Many have ditched their Bigwater's for a DIY setup or (I can't believe I'm saying this cos ianho will kill me) Corsair's HydroCool set.
Haha. Y wud I kill u. The Corsair Cool is a good kit. It's practically a custom set with all the parts taken from the Swiftech catalog wat. Just that it all comes ready in a box. Just plug n play. I was just really unlucky to get the 1st gen retail kits that came with the 1st gen MCP350 pumps that had inherent design flaws n no RPM sensor wire for safety cut off. The new kits now come with the new revision pump which I received from the RMA. thumbup.gif Yippeekaiyay, gonna crank up my CPU speed again after suffering at 2.25Ghz for 3 months.

This post has been edited by ianho: Nov 24 2005, 09:51 PM
almostthere
post Nov 25 2005, 03:43 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

Update on my rigs setup. After letting the AS5 settle down and fix all the air leaks, full load temps ahve improved a lot. Load temps are 42C now (Assisted by the fact that I opened up the back cover of the pump's housing and fixing on a fan to draw away the heat from the Cyber Aqua pump which gained me another 3C due to reduced heat dump)
babyelf
post Nov 25 2005, 11:13 AM

1,372 posts

got the japanese panaflo... they are bloody awesome.. i can't hear it over my stock cpu fan.. yawn.gif
almostthere
post Nov 25 2005, 11:17 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(babyelf @ Nov 25 2005, 11:13 AM)
got the japanese panaflo... they are bloody awesome.. i can't hear it over my stock cpu fan.. yawn.gif
Told you those Japan-made Panaflo's were awesome. Best buy one can ever have in terms of fans
babyelf
post Nov 25 2005, 11:18 AM

1,372 posts

lol i'm going to get more lol..

not produced anymore

it's about 70 ringgit per fan..
pornstar
post Nov 25 2005, 01:14 PM

All.night.long.
798 posts

that expensive?hmm...are the cm 120 fans silent?and does it push enough air?planning to get pasang it on a BIP..

141 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0143sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:15 PM