Discussion about watercooling and the results, Version 2

antonio
post Sep 13 2005, 03:26 PM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

I'm in now...juz fixed my 'wc setup'...i'm on big water from TT...hihihi..el chepo stuff....

but i noticed there is only slight diffrence compare to my hyper 6....but nevermind...it looks cool at nite....UV....
antonio
post Sep 14 2005, 03:53 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(moderno @ Sep 13 2005, 09:27 PM)
aik...suda bigwater ka...put up some pics la bang...syok sket  laugh.gif
my rig is a mess...pm PCcrazy for details...he know how is the 'inside look' laugh.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif

by the way i'm running the pump on Pwm connector so i can totally switch off the pump when i dun wan to be cool...any problems later if i do that or not???i notce temp increase...Thats great!!!...why u may ask???bcoz i know that actually it workss.... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

i'm looking forward for VGA and northbridge for my rig...but i will built it through the highway and not those 'jalan2' kampung..playing wif a couple more pumps and add resevoir.....hihihihi...
antonio
post Sep 15 2005, 11:53 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Sep 14 2005, 07:36 PM)
You want to know why temps increase?It's cos the pump is only working around 7v instead of the full 12v voltage it needs for max efficiency. And for Bigwater, I'd not recommend going major and using it to cool the VGA and the NB too at the moment as the pump has barely enough flow and head pressure to even cope with those stresses
hihihi...thats why i sengaja put the pump running 1/2 power...to see if any temp changes...just wanna confirm that the water cooling system actually works...

if i would cool down my VGA and NB, i would afix one more kit....and maybe i connect it like this:

resevoir -> pump 1 -> cpu block -> radiator 1 -> pump 2 -> Vga block -> NB -> radiator 2 -> resevoir.... how otai2??? can ahh???

antonio
post Sep 19 2005, 11:05 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Sep 19 2005, 07:25 AM)
Now this is something I found over at Asetek's site
nicee... drool.gif drool.gif ...but surely it will cost in the region of rm5xx-7xx....did u get the estimated price for the item??? thumbup.gif

antonio
post Sep 19 2005, 07:04 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Sep 19 2005, 02:12 PM)
taken from Asetek's site : Manufacturer Suggested Retail Price  ex. VAT [within the EU]  euro 77.50

Gulpppp.... sweat.gif
hmmm...better start clearing my CC balance.... yawn.gif
antonio
post Sep 27 2005, 06:50 PM

4,032 posts

after testing...and testing/...and testing...i found out my max reached temp with this kit is 52c for full load....at 1.625v that is quite medium high i guess....how do i manage the connections in terms of making the water flow much better (quicker)...read at almosthere wc guide i notice he said try to make it shorter...

or do i need to lap the waterblock juz to earn another couple of celsius??? whistling.gif
antonio
post Sep 28 2005, 10:35 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(PeowYong @ Sep 27 2005, 09:21 PM)
r u using all the tubing that come with the kit?
try to cut the tube shorter so that its just long enough to connect to waterblock, pump and radiator...
no need to lap the waterblock as the waterblock is quite nicely lapped...
lapping it would help but i dont think u will earn another couple of celsius....

1 more thing, installing the rad inside the casing will be better cause the tube can be shorten more...
owh..thanks for the tip man... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(almostthere @ Sep 27 2005, 09:36 PM)
Bang Antonio, semknyer rig..huuhuu...anyway kalo pakai stacker, ada cara nak pendekkan gila loop tuh. Nih gambar dia as it's worth a 1000 words

biase ler...baru ler nama rig...klu tak nama demo rig....anyways i did my shorten on 'cacing' tube last nite...and rad is inside not...but still lacks of heat dissipation...still 53c full load....weh camne nieee....klu are 45c ok gak...takle risau sangat nak upped vcore lagik....

QUOTE(amok @ Sep 28 2005, 12:39 AM)
^.. ehem-ehem.. upstairs is showing off his rig... just wait till the G4 get into action.. if not mebbe a G-string will do biggrin.gif .

Yes mr anthonio.. shorten those "cacing" tubes a bit it'll increase your heads pressure.
what is head pressure???? shocking.gif whistling.gif doh.gif

antonio
post Sep 28 2005, 12:08 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Sep 28 2005, 12:04 PM)
Just for reference, the specific weight of water is at 9.81 kN/m(cube)

Antonio, rasa kena buat drastic measure sikit whereby you have to do an upside down mobo configuration (You didn't notice meh in my pics the difference?) and from there work out ur tubings so that the pam to block length is about 5"-6" camtuh baru ada improvement. If my AXP Mobile 2.5Ghz can do steady 45C all day at full load using a DD Maze 4, I'd be very disappointed if I got temps like yours.

Buang laaa kipas Smartfan tuh and use some Delta's or Pabst's baru ada cool down of the Rad itself.
hehehe...okies...i'll go home lunchtime take photo's of the new setup...heheheh...actually now aledi lunchtime....yes yes yes... laugh.gif
antonio
post Sep 28 2005, 02:52 PM

4,032 posts

My new setup....

user posted image thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Water block which is decided to open up just now and went for a lil bit of grinding... sweat.gif flex.gif

Radiator is inside...yeahhh babeh.... yawn.gif

This post has been edited by antonio_zth: Sep 28 2005, 02:57 PM
antonio
post Sep 28 2005, 03:16 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Sep 28 2005, 03:05 PM)
Erkkk...bant anotnio....rima gua tengok PC ko nih...huhhuuh

Anyway if temps don't imporve, try converting the Stacker to Semi-BTX which means you flip the whole motherboard pan 180 degrees so that the processor and the radiator kat bawah. That way the pump is very close to the block. You might gain a lot in terms of pressure to supply to the bloock. It's quite easy to do. Just need to unscrew about 12 screws at the motherboard pan's base. IF tak fit flush, just saw the crossmember besi just below the upper PSU slot and it'll fit just nice and won't be noticeable as it will be concealed by the PSU backpanel of the stacker.

And CM punya UV fan? Mak aih, that fan very low cfm laa wei. Dah laaa rad Tt tuh very restrictive. Get that delta I see on the left fitted on instead, sure tak rugi wan
about flipping over aku try last time but something is stuck when i wanted to screw all back together...then i cancelled my intentions and use back ori ATX style...

about the fan i'm still waiting for paycheck then only buy another Delta...the one u saw i for my PWM and Chipset area cooling...which is a must when u run + 0.2v on cpu and 0.1v on the chipset.... thumbup.gif of course la the CM Uv not enuff grunt to blow the radiator laugh.gif ....infront of the rad got the TT fan...so the rad now is sandwiched between 2 slowmo fans.....

i didnt had time to test the temp juz now since not enuff time have to go back office (boss panggil)....maybe tonite try again see got diffrence after lapping or not... laugh.gif
antonio
post Sep 28 2005, 07:19 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(PeowYong @ Sep 28 2005, 04:09 PM)
erm... antonio_zth, u might wanna try arrange ur cable nicely... the air cant seem to ventilate or move well inside...
its the best i can do already...no resources laugh.gif
antonio
post Sep 29 2005, 10:49 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(jujuzombie @ Sep 29 2005, 10:30 AM)
Antonio. have u ever noticed any improvements in fan stacking? i tried once before one CM aluminium pushing and the TT fan pulling. maybe i got 1 degree diff at the usual fan speed i use. but that could be because of normal flux in temp.

i buy another rad from moderno and well got a 3-4 degree drop and i run fans much slower now. heh happy camper here.
reading from aerogate2 probe as close as possible to the core and with a wad of as5 on it. typical temp now are 10 degrees above ambient (from thermometer on table) during idle, which used to be 13 about.

post temps after ur lapping man. i also curious. the block look ok to me so i lazy to lap it .
I'm still looking for the info on fans stacking coz i heard it is not good....since a hair dryer is using the same concept so it mean it is not advidceable to do so...But i run the suck fan (which is the bundled TT Fan) on very slow rpm...Ive switched the Delta for pushing cool air....

After all the lapping+Delta rearrange+Cable/tubes rearrange i got a low 2c from 53 which is now 51c on full load.....ok lar considered kan....mebbe add another radiator should lower the temps more.,...
antonio
post Oct 7 2005, 12:51 AM

4,032 posts

after a week of settling down (not me my proc+waterclock+AS5) i got a max temp of 45c....which is considered a 7-8c decrease from the earlier setup....thanks to almostthere for the tip....

[OT]almostthere...Storm cannot afford lar tongue.gif[/OT]
antonio
post Nov 9 2005, 03:50 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 9 2005, 03:18 PM)
Wahai member member sekalian....

My hunt for a good rad continues..

In theory and from MS Eyeball processing... ini benda (sarjan say oil cooler) boleh jalan or not for my config?

Size is:
160mmX120mmX32mm

Other parts (repeat again)
MCP655
Storm --> K8 winnie
Maze4 Acetal or MCW55 --> 68GT scorching hot.

more likely look like it is taken from either VR4 or EVO series engine...or i maybe wrong... laugh.gif but loil cooler passage is much bigger than radiators...does it kills the effieciency when it comes to low cfm fans...

This post has been edited by antonio_zth: Nov 9 2005, 05:17 PM
antonio
post Nov 9 2005, 05:20 PM

4,032 posts

thats true...oil pump generate high pressure...and it is so too high for our puny pump to do the same as the oil pump from a coventional engine...pressures that is up to 8bars are achieve in normal engine operations.......
antonio
post Nov 15 2005, 09:40 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Nov 15 2005, 02:21 AM)
allan, air masuk mana keluar mana? Give more detailed pics cos I'm kinda interested too. Getting rather irritated with this res of mine actually
nak jugak, nak jugak,...i want one...i want one...!!!!!! laugh.gif

antonio
post Nov 24 2005, 06:30 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(bmbk @ Nov 24 2005, 02:41 PM)
i finally bought bigwater and getting around 55 at load.

i am thinking of replacing the pump. any idea where and what better pump to get for bigwater kit ?
try lapping it...or send to machine shop ask to skim around 0.05-07 mm....if u r brave enough go up to 1mm.... shakehead.gif notworthy.gif
antonio
post Dec 19 2005, 07:14 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(moderno @ Dec 18 2005, 10:47 PM)
simpan dululah the asetek one...nanti i convert to 7800gtx one day nanti....then can used again... huhuhu...  laugh.gif  tongue.gif
fuh...dasyhat nowadays ahh moderno...play asetek summore...we ppl only play air cooling/....

antonio
post Dec 20 2005, 10:46 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(moderno @ Dec 19 2005, 11:20 PM)
what's the water hose 'berjuntai-juntai' inside ur stacker there bang?... ehehe...  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  that one pun WC gaks...ekeke
i'm not that so lucky... cry.gif

btw @ianho : the aquarius II waterblock based on ur experience nice or not in cooling down the gpu?
i'm thinkin of getting 2 blocks for my peltier and another pump (Bigger than the one inlcuded in the big water SE)...the TT pump is like the one in the TAICHI Case from Thermaltake.,..

antonio
post Dec 29 2005, 07:18 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(Evogenix @ Dec 28 2005, 11:22 PM)
yo... WC pro, may i ask where can i found a good quality tubing around KL area?? Tygon very hard to find...

Evogenix

i think i've seen the logo sumwhere near my place...will update soon...

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 29 2005, 11:32 AM)
DIY store in 1Utama new wing. ACE hardware in Ikano oso got. Imported hoses. Very clear, very nice tubes oni bout rm1 per foot.
yerp Ace hardware...tubings are hard as hell...cant even bent t U shape....

0.0481sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:10 PM