Nokia N900 V10 (Close to 200 owners), New CSSU Update 07/09/2011

hengguowei
post May 31 2011, 06:47 PM

Embracing Android since the demise of Symbian
4,475 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ May 30 2011, 10:53 PM)
Cool!

Btw, anyone tried install MeeGo 1.2 Developer Edition?

At this pace, not sure when MeeGo device going to be launch, an actual MeeGo device that is. Any news about Nokia 1st MeeGo device going to be a real MeeGo device or the 1st instance (Harmattan) as previously mentioned in tmo?

On the side note; future Moto device should have unlocked bootloader, and the Droid/Milestone 3 might be interesting.....

But then,.... WP7 looks promising too..... I like the social network integration, just like Maemo, but "enhanced".
Still lack of Flash for me tough... altough it's been mentioned that they're "still" working on it since Feb 2010?
No news from Nokia but if you respond to Nokia's developer survey, you might stand a chance to win unannounced Meego/Maemo6 or whatever device it may be. Just in short, they said the N900 replacement device. I'm guessing nobody in LYN is bold enough to test Meego yet? biggrin.gif

WP7 looks awesome even before the Mango update. I tried the LG Optimus 7 and it seems pretty sleek. The UI is so smooth and simplicity wise, it might actually be better than iOS. rclxms.gif

At the same time, I'm wondering why LG Optimus 2X though having a Dual-Core proc seems to be having some slow UI Transition or perhaps it is the transition problem and not the hardware limitation, when I pinch out to zoom out of all homescreens, selecting a homescreen will result in some pretty bad transition lag when zooming into the homescreen selected. HTC DHD on the other hand perform far better in this specific transition although having only a single core proc. unsure.gif

Added on May 31, 2011, 6:47 pm
QUOTE(firstknight @ May 30 2011, 11:20 PM)
nice meego... yay for asus... my fav netbook
Really fast booting time biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: May 31 2011, 06:47 PM
Andy214
post May 31 2011, 07:53 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ May 31 2011, 06:47 PM)
No news from Nokia but if you respond to Nokia's developer survey, you might stand a chance to win unannounced Meego/Maemo6 or whatever device it may be. Just in short, they said the N900 replacement device. I'm guessing nobody in LYN is bold enough to test Meego yet? biggrin.gif

WP7 looks awesome even before the Mango update. I tried the LG Optimus 7 and it seems pretty sleek. The UI is so smooth and simplicity wise, it might actually be better than iOS. rclxms.gif

At the same time, I'm wondering why LG Optimus 2X though having a Dual-Core proc seems to be having some slow UI Transition or perhaps it is the transition problem and not the hardware limitation, when I pinch out to zoom out of all homescreens, selecting a homescreen will result in some pretty bad transition lag when zooming into the homescreen selected. HTC DHD on the other hand perform far better in this specific transition although having only a single core proc. unsure.gif

Watch one video on N900 running Meego 1.2 DE RC (SF edition) posted recently. Its presented by a lady (I think HK) similar like previous. In the video, she did mention the upcoming rumoured N9/N950 will be running Meego//Maemo6. She also mention its not a full/complete Meego, but compatible... just like previously discussed in tmo... So, I guess the packaging is still different from Meego which is rpm based?

Actually, I wanted to test the Meego, but this is my primary phone... can't afford to mess with it... didn't even want to play with nitdroid...

As for Android running dual core, from what I know, the OS is not yet optimized for it, and there is many types of different processor, or whatever you call it. Not so well versed with this.
Basically, if there's only one type, everything is easier to control, built and maintain. Thus, one of the many reasons why Apple has the advantage.
retro_rave
post Jun 1 2011, 12:34 AM

QUOTE(Bushido @ May 30 2011, 11:51 PM)
have you tried monitoring your processes using 'top' in your x-terminal?
hi,

i did... same result from conky... the only process that ate up my cpu is from /usr/bin/browserd. i dunno what is that... but it seems my cpu process is low when i use the fon instead of during standby. any recommendation? or what is browserd?
DET_D5t
post Jun 1 2011, 02:25 PM

446 posts

wee!!

New cssu update...

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Jun 1 2011, 02:55 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Will be updating frontpage today.
Anyone wants to add their name in fp pm me.

Added on June 1, 2011, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(hengguowei @ May 31 2011, 06:47 PM)

Probably soft reboot.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jun 1 2011, 03:06 PM
takeshi99
post Jun 1 2011, 03:18 PM

!!! GREENPEACE ACTIVIST !!!
1,239 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 1 2011, 02:55 PM)

Probably soft reboot.
Please add me, PMed edi TQ smile.gif

This post has been edited by takeshi99: Jun 1 2011, 03:19 PM
mashimarow
post Jun 1 2011, 05:02 PM

1,742 posts

QUOTE(retro_rave @ Jun 1 2011, 12:34 AM)
hi,

i did... same result from conky... the only process that ate up my cpu is from /usr/bin/browserd. i dunno what is that... but it seems my cpu process is low when i use the fon instead of during standby. any recommendation? or what is browserd?
browserd is your build in browser

you use force terminate it via XT

root -- killall browserd
retro_rave
post Jun 1 2011, 05:20 PM

QUOTE(mashimarow @ Jun 1 2011, 06:02 PM)
browserd is your build in browser

you use force terminate it via XT

root -- killall browserd
okie thanks... funny.. last night i leave my fon in online standby mode, with wifi enable but not connected, it seems that by doing so, browserd does not eat the cpu...
kindredd
post Jun 1 2011, 05:38 PM

14 posts

hey super evil alien,

new N900 user here! please add me on the list.

mashimarow
post Jun 1 2011, 05:45 PM

1,742 posts

QUOTE(retro_rave @ Jun 1 2011, 05:20 PM)
okie thanks... funny.. last night i leave my fon in online standby mode, with wifi enable but not connected, it seems that by doing so, browserd does not eat the cpu...
depends what site it is accessing, might not eat any cpu cycle or might running full...something fishy going on in your phone, I also left my phone wifi enable but not connected to anywhere (I off my router at night), it never connect itself before hmm.gif
hengguowei
post Jun 1 2011, 10:02 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ May 31 2011, 07:53 PM)
Watch one video on N900 running Meego 1.2 DE RC (SF edition) posted recently. Its presented by a lady (I think HK) similar like previous. In the video, she did mention the upcoming rumoured N9/N950 will be running Meego//Maemo6. She also mention its not a full/complete Meego, but compatible... just like previously discussed in tmo... So, I guess the packaging is still different from Meego which is rpm based?

Actually, I wanted to test the Meego, but this is my primary phone... can't afford to mess with it... didn't even want to play with nitdroid...

As for Android running dual core, from what I know, the OS is not yet optimized for it, and there is many types of different processor, or whatever you call it. Not so well versed with this.
Basically, if there's only one type, everything is easier to control, built  and maintain. Thus, one of the many reasons why Apple has the advantage.
Probably because Meego 1.2 still have lots of bugs. Check their log page and you can see so many issues. doh.gif Nokia has the advantage too if you're speaking of standardized processor. tongue.gif ARM 11 in all Symbian devices. doh.gif

Added on June 1, 2011, 10:03 pm
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 1 2011, 02:55 PM)

Probably soft reboot.
Yeah, hahah, most probably soft-reboot. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Jun 1 2011, 10:03 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Jun 1 2011, 10:14 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jun 1 2011, 10:02 PM)
Probably because Meego 1.2 still have lots of bugs. Check their log page and you can see so many issues. doh.gif Nokia has the advantage too if you're speaking of standardized processor. tongue.gif ARM 11 in all Symbian devices. doh.gif

Added on June 1, 2011, 10:03 pm
Yeah, hahah, most probably soft-reboot. biggrin.gif
From my observation only handset version still have issues with basic functions.IMHO it's probably because lack of software contribution support from Nokia.
hengguowei
post Jun 1 2011, 10:31 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 1 2011, 10:14 PM)
From my observation only handset version still have issues with basic functions.IMHO it's probably because lack of software contribution support from Nokia.
Guessing the same thing. Cause Acer just released a Meego Tablet which looks pretty much like Acer Iconia Tab but powered by Meego.
That means Tablet version of the software might have pretty much been fully developed for stable released for consumer usage. >.<

I want to look at mobile phone. >.<
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Jun 1 2011, 11:07 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jun 1 2011, 10:31 PM)
Guessing the same thing. Cause Acer just released a Meego Tablet which looks pretty much like Acer Iconia Tab but powered by Meego.
That means Tablet version of the software might have pretty much been fully developed for stable released for consumer usage. >.<

I want to look at mobile phone. >.<
Tablet & Netbook OS is pretty much ready to rock & roll.But there are still plenty of additional feature planned for the tablet & netbook OS.

Somehow I feel like things are looking up a bit for MeeGo.Acer & Asus released prototypes & committed release date for MeeGo based product,companies like Samsung & few others interested in developing prototypes & LG more or less became Intel's partner for handset version.

Mobile OS seems a bit crowded these days but competitions always good for end users isn't it? smile.gif

For me if combination of MeeGo & Intel Atom brings huge power consumption difference then it'll be in great position in sale.
Personally for me I want my phone battery to last 1 day with super heavy use or 5 days on standby.
Smartphones has come a long way since the Nokia Communicator days but 1 thing I don't see much improvement is the battery consumption section.
No matter what OS you use battery consumptions don't really improve that much.So I think a change in hardware section is necessary.
V429
post Jun 2 2011, 12:39 AM

1,009 posts

Help.. Got problem with my Nitdroid again.. T__T
I uninstalled my old Nitdroid and installed the new N12 by following the below instructions :
http://wiki.maemo.org/Nitdroid_easy_instal...lean_install.29
under the heading : Installing NITDroid N12 to EMMC (clean install)

everything works find.. except for the multiboot part....
It doesnt show my Kernel Power again!
I tried the Frontpage way of apt-get kernel-power kernel-power-flasher and modules, in XTerm, but it says it's already the latest up to date version?

Anyway to solve this?

Another thing : My N12 Nitdroid has no Market app. what gives? blink.gif

This post has been edited by V429: Jun 2 2011, 12:55 AM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Jun 2 2011, 12:53 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Jun 2 2011, 12:39 AM)
Help.. Got problem with my Nitdroid again.. T__T
I uninstalled my old Nitdroid and installed the new N12 by following the below instructions :
http://wiki.maemo.org/Nitdroid_easy_instal...lean_install.29
under the heading : Installing NITDroid N12 to EMMC (clean install)

everything works find.. except for the multiboot part....
It doesnt show my Kernel Power again!
I tried the Frontpage way of apt-get kernel-power kernel-power-flasher and modules, in XTerm, but it says it's already the latest up to date version?

Anyway to solve this?
Type the following in terminal with root access :

CODE
apt-get install kernel-power-bootimg
apt-get install --reinstall multiboot-kernel-power

V429
post Jun 2 2011, 01:06 AM

1,009 posts

Super_Evil_Alien
Your instructions works, but multiboot still doesnt show power kernel.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Jun 2 2011, 01:12 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Which version of power kernel are you using?
V429
post Jun 2 2011, 01:23 AM

1,009 posts

V47.
Bushido
post Jun 2 2011, 03:52 PM

75 posts

Dun nun nun.

http://www.engadget.com/2011/06/02/the-oh-...-abandon-meego/

Btw, quite happy with my battery life now.. after 39 hours from a full charge i'm still having 63% of battery. 60% idle, 40% usage.
rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Bushido: Jun 2 2011, 03:58 PM

126 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:01 PM